DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Rejected Claims: 16-30
Cancelled Claims: 1-15
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08 JANUARY 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to claim 16, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08 JANUARY 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding claim 16, that the previously cited prior art does not read upon claim 16 and so claim 16 and the dependent claims 17-30 are allowable (Arguments filed 08 JANUARY 2026, Pages 6-11).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New prior art has been cited that more clearly demonstrates the features of instant claim 16 and so claim 16 is not allowable. Since claim 16 is not allowable, claims 17-30 are also not allowable as dependent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 16, “the filter plate body” in line 15 of the claim should read “the rigid plate-like body of the filter plate” or just “the rigid plate-like body” to agree with previous references to the filter plate body.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19-20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Partti (International Patent Application No. WO 2017162924 A1) hereinafter Partti.
Regarding Claim 16, Partti discloses filter plates for horizontal pressure filters (i.e., A filter plate for a horizontal plate and frame-type filter; Page 1, Lines 5-10) wherein the filter plate element is (i.e., the filter plate comprising; Fig. 5, #6)
formed of plate (i.e., a rigid plate-like body) and has a closed filter chamber (i.e., with a frame side; Fig. 5, #6d) and a filtrate vat (i.e., and a vat side; Fig. 5, #6a; Page 4, Line 23 to Page 5, Line 13)
in which the vat side receives filtrate through the filter element (Fig. 5, #7) when the when the filter plates are pushed together (Page 5, Lines 3-13), which means the vat side has a lateral wall with an upper surface such that the filter element can be supported (i.e., a border on the vat side of the body having at least an inner lateral wall and an upper surface, the border being elevated a distance from a portion of the filter plate delimited within the border), wherein the filtrate vat is not a separate component, but is formed on the plate element (i.e., wherein the border is integrally formed by the rigid plate-like body of the filter plate; Page 12, Lines 5-13)
wherein the filtrate vat is not a separate component, but is formed on the plate element (i.e., wherein a filtrate vat is formed by the filter plate, wherein the inner lateral wall of the border forms a lateral wall of the filtrate vat, and a portion of the filter plate delimited by the border forms a bottom of the filtrate vat; Page 12, Lines 5-13), as the filtrate vat is formed as part of the filter plate the borders of the filtrate vat with lateral walls and upper surfaces and bottom of the filtrate vat must be created by the filter plate,
wherein the filter plates have a drainage duct (Fig. 5, #6c) with a drainage outlet (i.e., wherein a gap is provided in the border, such that an outlet opening extending laterally through the border is formed by the gap; Fig. 5, #6b) that discharges filtrate out of the filtrate vat (i.e., thereby providing a fluid drainage route from the filtrate vat; Page 12, Lines 5-13)
and that the filtrate vat elements are formed on the plate elements as recessed portions of the plate elements (Page 5, Lines 3-20) wherein Fig. 5 demonstrates that the outlet channel (Fig. 5, #6c) is recessed compared to the filtrate vat (Fig. 5, #6a), shown below (i.e., wherein the filter plate comprises, on the var side of the filter plate, a recessed portion of the rigid plate-like body of the filter plate situated at the outlet opening, the recessed portion being recessed with respect to the bottom of the filtrate vat).
Regarding Claim 19, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Parti further discloses that the filtrate vat is formed on the plate element (Page 12, Lines 5-7) wherein filtrate is separated from a slurry and led to the collector elements through the outlet ducts (i.e., wherein the border has an outer lateral wall, wherein the border is elevated for a distance at least from a portion of the filter plate delimiting the border; Page 8, Lines 17-30). As described, the border clearly has an outer lateral wall and the border is elevated such that the filtrate vat can accommodate filtrate within.
Regarding Claim 20, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Parti further discloses that the filtrate vat is formed on the plate element (Page 12, Lines 5-7) wherein filtrate is separated from a slurry and led to the collector elements through the outlet ducts (i.e., wherein the border is solid; Page 8, Lines 17-30). As described, the border must be solid, otherwise filtrate would leak in places other than the outlet ducts.
Regarding Claim 27, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Partti further discloses that through-holes are provided on the filter plate element for mounting the collector elements (Fig. 5, #1), where the collector elements are located on the periphery of the filter plate (i.e., wherein the filter plate comprises a plurality of attachment holes running along the periphery of the filter plate and extending therethrough; Page 10, Lines 11-18) wherein the holes on the collection element are shown to interface with the side of the filter plate and not contacting the filtrate vat (i.e., wherein the plurality of attachment holes are not in contact with filtrate within the filtrate vat, when in use; Fig. 7a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partti (International Patent Application No. WO 2017162924 A1) hereinafter Partti.
Regarding Claim 17, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Parti does not explicitly teach wherein the border is elevated for a distance of between 10 mm - 40 mm from the portion of the filter plate delimited within the border. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than Partti, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 18, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Parti does not explicitly teach wherein the width of the border is between 15mm- 200 mm. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than Partti, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 21, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Parti does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the gap is between 150 mm- 300 mm. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than Partti, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partti as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hermann et al (German Patent No. DE 19905674 C1) hereinafter Hermann.
Regarding Claim 22, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Partti teaches a plate shape but does not explicitly teach wherein the filter plate is of a generally rectangular shape having a first flank side and a second flank side parallel to the first flank side, and a first end side and a second end side parallel to the first end side, wherein the first and second end sides extend in a direction transverse to a direction in which the first and second flank sides extend, wherein the first and second flank sides have a length greater than that of the first and second end sides wherein one or more gaps of the border are formed on either or both of the first flank side and the second flank side.
However, Hermann teaches in Fig. 1 (modified Fig. 1 seen below) that the shape of the filter plate for a horizontal filter press (Paragraph 0001, Machine Translation) is rectangular in shape (i.e., wherein the filter plate is of a generally rectangular shape having a first flank side and a second flank side parallel to the first flank side, and a first end side and a second end side parallel to the first end side, wherein the first and second end sides extend in a direction transverse to a direction in which the first and second flank sides extend, wherein the first and second flank sides have a length greater than that of the first and second end sides) with the long sides containing the inlet and exit holes (i.e., wherein one or more gaps of the border are formed on either or both of the first flank side and the second flank side; Paragraphs 0014-0015, Machine Translation). Figs. 4 and 5 show the tubes for the feed channel (Fig. 4, #21) in connecting part (Fig. 4, #18) and connector (Fig. 5, #33) with comparable structure to connector (Fig. 4, #18) is for filtrate discharge with a guide channel (Fig. 5, #37; Paragraphs 0014-0015, Machine Translation). Hermann further teaches that the filter plate shape is such that the filter plate is held by the frame in a way that unimpeded thermal expansion is ensured and bending of the plate corner areas is avoided (Paragraph 0002, Machine Translation).
Hermann is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to filter plates for a horizontal filter press (Paragraph 0002, Machine Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter plate as taught by Partti with the shape and placement of inlet and outlets on the long side as taught by Hermann because the shape and placement of inlet and outlets on the long side would allow the frame to hold the filter plate in a way that does not impede thermal expansion and prevents bending of the filter plate.
Regarding Claim 23, Partti in view of Hermann makes obvious the filter plate of claim 22. Partti in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the first and second flank side is 1.5 to 3 times that of the first and second end side. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than Partti in view or Hermann, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 24, Partti in view of Hermann makes obvious the filter plate of claim 22. Partti further teaches that collector elements (Fig. 1, #1) can be seen on both sides of the plate elements (Fig. 1, #6) at the corners, which is where the outlet ducts discharge the filtrate (i.e., wherein a gap of the border is formed in a corner region between a flank side and an end side; Page 2, Lines 15-24).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partti in view of Hermann as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of C. Lynn Peterson (US Patent No. 2933190 A) hereinafter Peterson.
Regarding Claim 25, Partti in view of Hermann makes obvious the filter plate of claim 22. Partti in view of Hermann does not teach wherein the filter plate comprises one or more lateral indentation portion provided on either or both of the first flank side and the second flank side, wherein the lateral indentation portion is arranged to circumvent suspension elements and/or support elements of a filter plate frame on which the filter plate is to be supported.
However, Peterson teaches a filter press plate and frame for a horizontal filter press with ears or lugs (Fig. 10, #54) on the sides to suspend the plates and frames in a vertical position (i.e., wherein the filter plate comprises one or more lateral indentation portion provided on either or both of the first flank side and the second flank side, wherein the lateral indentation portion is arranged to circumvent suspension elements and/or support elements of a filter plate frame on which the filter plate is to be supported; Col. 6, Lines 7-29). See modified Fig. 10 below for indication of the indentations. Peterson further teaches that the invention provides a filter press plate and frame design that is faster and less labor intensive to clean (Col. 1, Lines 30-48).
Peterson is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to plate and fame filter presses (Col. 1, Lines 15-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter plate made obvious by Partti in view of Hermann with the ears or lugs that have indentations as taught by Peterson because the filter plate would be faster and easier to clean.
Regarding Claim 26, Partti in view of Hermann in view of Peterson makes obvious the filter plate of claim 25. Peterson further teaches a filter press plate and frame for a horizontal filter press with ears or lugs (i.e., wherein the filter plate comprises one or more lateral widening portions provided on either or both of the first flank side and the second flank side; Fig. 10, #54) on the sides to suspend the plates and frames in a vertical position (i.e., wherein the lateral widening portions are arranged between lateral indentation portions adjacent to the widening portion, wherein the lateral widening portions are arranged to laterally overhang a filter plate frame intended to support the filter plate; Col. 6, Lines 7-29).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partti as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Haberle (US Patent No. 6365043 B1) hereinafter Haberle.
Regarding Claim 28, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Partti does not teach wherein the filter plate comprises a creeping-resistant material, chosen from a group comprising metals, FRP (fibre- reinforce plastics) materials, reinforced composite materials with a thermoset or thermoplastic matrix, and thermoset materials.
However, Haberle teaches that the support wall with plate frame can be molded using thermoplastic material (i.e., wherein the filter plate is of creeping-resistant material, chosen from a group comprising thermoset materials; Col. 2, Lines 38-44) with the benefit of simplifying the manufacturing process of the filter plate (Col. 1, Lines 15-63).
Haberle is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a filter plate for a filter press (Col. 1, Lines 3-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter plate taught by Partti to be molded using thermoplastic material as taught by Haberle because molding using thermoplastic material would simplify the manufacturing process of the filter plate.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partti as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Eisinga (US Patent No. 5792348 A) hereinafter Eisinga.
Regarding Claim 29, Partti anticipates the filter plate of claim 16. Partti does not teach wherein at least the filtrate vat is coated or lined with a vat liner the coating or vat liner being of a wear-resistant material chosen from a group comprising wear resistant polymers, such as thermoplastics including thermoplastic vulcanizates and thermoplastic elastomers, PUR and rubber.
However, Eisinga teaches filter plates constructed with an inner steel sheet with front and back panels composed of thermoplastic resin (i.e., wherein at least the filtrate vat is coated or lined with a vat liner the coating or vat liner being of a wear-resistant material chosen from a group comprising wear resistant polymers, such as thermoplastics including thermoplastic vulcanizates and thermoplastic elastomers; Abstract) with the benefit of a polypropylene coating being resistance to abrasion, heat, and chemicals (Col. 1, Lines 32-50).
Eisinga is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a plate for a filter press (Col. 1, Lines 5-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter plate as taught by Partti with the thermoplastic coating taught by Eisinga because the thermoplastic coating would enhance the resistance of the filter plate to abrasion, heat, and chemicals.
Regarding Claim 30, Partti in view of Eisinga makes obvious the filter plate of claim 29. Eisinga further teaches that the thermoplastic resin encompasses all of the exposed surfaces of the filter plate (i.e., wherein the coating or vat liner additionally covers either or both of the upper surface and the outer lateral wall of the border; Abstract).
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772