DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 11/20/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kanou (WO 2004045941) and Li (CN 106080079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,5,6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 2010/0270871) in view of Yeon (KR 20110113929) and Kanou (WO 2004045941 Machine Translation and Original Patent provided in present Office Action) and Li (CN 106080079 Machine Translation and Original Patent provided in present Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches a pair of shock absorber frame housings (10 Fig 4 shows a hollowed interior of the shock absorbers, para 0027), each having a cylindrical hollow inside (“The bicycle (A) further includes a driving unit 11 connected to the inner tube 10, and a housing 22 connected to the outer tube 20.” Para 0027, Fig 4 shows a hollowed interior where a spring is inserted ), [a closed upper end portion] (Fig 4 shows the tubing 10 being connected to a solid bicycle top component), and self-powered generators (30, Fig 4 para 0027) respectively [mounted on both sides of the outer wall] (Fig 4 shows two self-powered generators being mounted on the exterior of the shock absorbing frames of each shock absorber) , [the pair of shock absorber frame housings being mounted to face each other] (See Figure 4, where each shock absorbing frame is mounted to face one another on the bicycle);
a pair of shock absorber frames (20 Fig 4, para 0027) of which [upper end portions are respectively inserted into the cylindrical hollow interiors of lower end portions of the two shock absorber frame housings (10 Fig 4, para 0027)] (“The inner and outer tubes 10, 20 are movable reciprocatingly and linearly relative to each other.” Para 0024, embodiment 1 of Chou and embodiment 2 are similar minus the distinctions present in para 0027) and the [lower end portions are respectively fixed to both ends of a wheel rotating axle] (“…bicycle (A) includes a shock-absorbing type front fork that has at least two mechanical components which are capable of reciprocating movements relative to each other.”, para 0024) so as to interlock each other in a [vertical direction] (“When the bicycle moves upwardly and downwardly on a road having rising and indenting surfaces, the outer tube 20 moves reciprocatingly and linearly relative to the inner tube 10”, para 0024);
a shock absorbing spring (103) and a spring guide (104) disposed within each shock absorber frame:
disc-shaped partitions (102c) disposed at lower portions of the shock absorber frame housings and defining a separation between a shock absorbing space containing the spring guide and a generator accommodation space
anti-rotation protrusions (104a) formed at both sides of the spring guide in a longitudinal direction; and anti-rotation protrusion guide holes (102b) formed at both sides of the shock absorber frame, the anti-rotation protrusions being inserted into and movable within the guide holes, the guide holes receiving and guiding the protrusions to restrict rotation of the spring guides while permitting linear movement of the shock absorber frames.
Chou does not teach a shock absorbing spring (103) and a spring guide (104) disposed within each shock absorber frame: or disc-shaped partitions (102c) disposed at lower portions of the shock absorber frame housings and defining a separation between a shock absorbing space containing the spring guide and a generator accommodation space, or anti-rotation protrusions (104a) formed at both sides of the spring guide in a longitudinal direction; and anti-rotation protrusion guide holes (102b) formed at both sides of the shock absorber frame, the anti-rotation protrusions being inserted into and movable within the guide holes, the guide holes receiving and guiding the protrusions to restrict rotation of the spring guides while permitting linear movement of the shock absorber frames.
Yeon teaches a shock absorbing spring 41 (Fig 3) and a spring guide 42 (Fig 3) [disposed within each shock absorber frame] (“A slide bar 42 which is mounted on the upper portion of the spring 41 and which operates in conjunction with the spring 41 when the spring 41 is interlocked with the slide bar 42;” para 0042 ); disc-shaped partitions 73 (Fig 3 para 0028, “A spring support bar 73 which is mounted inside the inclined frame 21c and supports the lower portion of the spring 41 ....”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the shock absorbing spring and spring guide partitions and rack gear moving holes of Yeon with the shock absorber assemblies of Chou with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved alignment between the shock absorbers and the self-generator. By including the spring and spring guides with the shock absorber assembly, the shock absorbers are limited to movement in the vertical direction and a more direct energy transfer can occur in the vertical direction.
The combination of Chou and Yeon teach a shock absorbing element that do not teach disc-shaped partitions disposed at lower portions of the shock absorber frame housings and defining a separation between a shock absorbing space containing the spring guide and an anti-rotation protrusions (104a) formed at both sides of the spring guide in a longitudinal direction; and anti-rotation protrusion guide holes (102b) formed at both sides of the shock absorber frame, the anti-rotation protrusions being inserted into and movable within the guide holes, the guide holes receiving and guiding the protrusions to restrict rotation of the spring guides while permitting linear movement of the shock absorber frames.
Additionally, Li teaches disc-shaped partitions (22 Fig 1) [disposed at lower portions of the shock absorber frame housings and defining a separation between a shock absorbing space containing the spring guide and a generator accommodation space] (“The spring seat 22 is a disc-shaped part…” Pg 5 para 2 and “The lower end of the spring 21 is in contact with the upper surface of the spring seat 22, and the annular boss on the side of the spring seat 22 functions to circumferentially position the spring 21.” Pg 5 para 6 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the disc-shaped partitions of Li to separate the shock absorbing space (spring) with the generator accommodating space of the shock absorber assemblies of Chou and Yeon with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for vertical limitations of the spring assembly. By including the disc-shaped partitions as a part of the shock absorber frame housing, the shock absorber springs are limited to movement in the vertical direction and will be partitioned away from the rest of the shock absorber assembly.
Additionally, Kanou teaches anti-rotation protrusions 46 (Fig 7) formed at both sides of the spring guide in a longitudinal direction; and anti-rotation protrusion guide holes 45 (Fig 7), [the anti-rotation protrusions being inserted into and movable within the guide holes] (“Shaped concave portion 45 and a convex portion 46 which is provided on the other side and which is a key-shaped protrusion fitted in the concave portion 45. The convex portion 46 is engaged with the lower end of the concave portion 45 in the maximum state between the base portion 11 and the front wheel support portion 12. The convex portion 46 may be formed on the base portion 11 and the concave portion 45 may be formed on the front wheel supporting portion 12” , pg 5 para 3), the guide holes 45 (Fig 7) receiving and guiding the protrusions 46 (Fig 7) [to restrict rotation of the spring guides while permitting linear movement of the shock absorber frames] (“…the rotation prevention means 43 is provided on one of the stationary shaft-shaped body 1 1 A and the moving shaft-like body 1 2 A, in the present embodiment in the fixed shaft-shaped body 1 1 A, Shaped concave portion 45 and a convex portion 46 which is provided on the other side and which is a key-shaped protrusion fitted in the concave portion 45…” pg 5 para 3, additionally, “The concave portion 45 can be formed in a slot shape which cuts the wall thickness of the cylindrical body of the front wheel supporting portion 12, and at that time, it is preferable to provide an appropriate water intrusion preventing means…” pg 5 para 3 ). The guide holes 45 (Fig 7) extending along a length of the shock absorber frame (Fig 7 shows the guide holes 45 extending along a length of the shock absorbing members 40). The anti-rotation protrusions 46 (Fig 7) engage the anti-rotation guide holes 45 (Fig 7) [to maintain the spring in a fixed rotational orientation during linear movement] (“Shaped concave portion 45 and a convex portion 46 which is provided on the other side and which is a key-shaped protrusion fitted in the concave portion 45. The convex portion 46 is engaged with the lower end of the concave portion 45 in the maximum state between the base portion 11 and the front wheel support portion 12.” Pg 5 para 3- Fig 7 shows the engagement of the protrusion and guide hole maintaining a fixed orientation with one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the anti-rotation system of Kanou with the shock absorber assemblies of Chou/Yeon and Li with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow anti-rotation measures of the shock absorber assembly. By including the anti-rotation measures the shock absorber springs are limited to movement to the vertical direction and will not rotate inside the absorber to prevent undo forces from being applied to the exterior of the shock absorber.
Additionally, Chou/Yeon/Li/Kanou discloses the claimed invention except for anti-rotation protrusions formed at both sides of the spring guide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have an anti-rotation protrusion and guide on both sides of the spring guide since it has been held that the duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Chou/Yeon/Li/Kanou fully teach each disc-shaped partition forms a barrier between the shock absorbing space and the generator accommodation space (See modification of Chou with Yeon, Li and Kanou in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Chou/Yeon/Li/Kanou fully teach each anti-rotation protrusion guide hole extends along a portion of the length of the shock absorber frame (See modification of Chou with Yeon, Li and Kanou in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Chou/Yeon/Li/Kanou fully teach the anti-rotation protrusions engage the anti-rotation protrusion guide holes to maintain the spring guide in a fixed rotational orientation during linear movement (See modification of Chou with Yeon, Li and Kanou in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Chou/Yeon/Li/Kanou fully teach the disc-shaped partitions are formed as part of the shock absorber frame housing (See modification of Chou with Yeon, Li and Kanou in claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,4,7,8 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record fails to teach a self-powered motorcycle having all limitations claimed, particularly as follows:
Claim 2 : a generator having a pair of stator bodies respectively attached to both sides of the shock absorber that centers the absorber frame housings, and rotors and a rotary shaft integrally coupled within one another.
Since the prior art (e.g. Chou (US 20100270871 A1) teaches a rack and pinon motor installed on one side of the shock absorber that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Figs 9 and 10 of the examined disclosure shows the generators having an internal rotor and stator system with a rack and pinon gear which is different than the generator taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 4 of Chou).
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611