DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the submission, claims 62-24, 70-74, 79, 81 and 91 have been amended. Claims 67 and 89-90 remain withdrawn as being directed to un-elected inventions. Accordingly, claims 62-65, 68-76, 79-81, 83-84, 86-87 and 91-98 are pending and under current examination.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT application PCT/US2021/026731, filed 10/10/2022 under 35 USC 371. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's claim for benefit to prior-filed U.S. provisional patent applications 63/007,803 (filed 04/09/2020), 63/007,797 (filed 04/09/2020), 63/045,032 (filed 06/26/2020), 63/045,033 (filed 06/26/2020), and 63/136,087 (filed 01/11/2021).
Status of Prior Rejections /Response to Arguments
The rejection to claims 62-65, 68-72, 75-76, 79-81, 83-84, 87, 91-94 and 96-98 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) over Yin et al., as evidenced by Nowak et al. and NCBI Reference Sequence WP_306789577.1 is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 62 adds the limitations that at least 30% of the nucleotides of the tracr sequence are chemically modified nucleotides, the positions of chemically modified nucleotides and unmodified nucleotides, as well as the phosphorothioate linkages in the single guide polynucleotide. Yin et al. teach the method of structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA’s invariable part, but do not teach any specific example which reads on all the amended limitations. Therefore Applicant’s amendment obviates the rejection on record. The rejection is withdrawn.
The rejection to claims 62-65, 68-72, 75-76, 79-81, 83-84, 87, 91-94 and 96-98 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yin et al., as evidenced by Nowak et al. and NCBI Reference Sequence WP_306789577.1 is maintained:
The rejection to claims 62-65, 68-72, 75-76, 79-81, 83-84, 87, 91-98 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yin et al., as evidenced by Nowak et al. and NCBI Reference Sequence WP_306789577.1, further in view of Ran et al. is maintained:
Applicant has traversed the rejection, asserting that the references do not describe or render obvious a single guide polynucleotide including a tracr sequence with at least 30% of chemically modified nucleotides selected from the recited positions, one or more unmodified nucleotides at one or more position(s) 13, 53, or 61, and phosphorothioate linkage features according to amended claim 62 (Remarks, p10-11).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In the instant case, Yin et al. not only teach the chemical modification of special combination of nucleotides, but also teach the principle of structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA’s invariable part, which is 21 to 101 nucleotides from the 5′ end (corresponding to 1-80 nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:61 as recited in instant claims), including the bona fide Cas9 protein-binding region and the tail region (p1180, left column). Yin et al. teach ~20 nucleotides in the invariable region of sgRNA interact with the Cas9 protein at the 2′ hydroxyl (OH) group, if avoiding modifying these ‘interacting’ 2' OH groups, instead modifying the remaining nucleotides that do not interact with Cas9 protein at the 2′OH, then this structure-guided (SG) chemical modification pattern would retain the genome editing activity of sgRNA (p1180, right column). The ~20 nucleotides in the invariable region of sgRNA interact with the Cas9 protein at the 2′ hydroxyl (OH) group are at the positions of 2-7, 23-25, 27, 29, 31, 38-39, 42-45, 48-49 and 62 corresponding to SEQ ID NO:61. Following Yin et al.’s principle, the chemical modification of the sgRNA needs to avoid these positions. Applicant’s chemically modified nucleotides as recited in the claims do not include any of the nucleotides listed above. Since 20 out of 80 nucleotides can’t be modified in the sgRNA (otherwise disturbing the activity of sgRNA), the nucleotides which can be chemically modified are up to 75% (60/80) of the SEQ ID NO:61, and the chemically modified nucleotides can be any position outside of the interacting region, such as 8-12 as numbered in SEQ ID NO: 61 as recited in instant claim. Regarding unmodified nucleotides, they can be the nucleotides in the interacting region (the ~20 nucleotides as listed above) as well as any of the nucleotides outside of the invariable region (i.e., position 13 of SEQ ID NO:61 as recited in instant claims). Besides, Yin et al. teach the PS modification can be conducted in the tail region, which has minimal interaction with Cas9 protein (i.e., at the positions of 70-101, corresponding to 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61, see p1180, right column), so the PS modification can be in any or all of the 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61. Given the reasons stated above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted Yin et al.’s chemical modified sgRNAs, and chemically modify the sgRNA as needed while following Yin et al.’s principle, which is avoiding modifying the nucleotides which can’t be modified (otherwise disturbing sgRNA’s activity) and obtain the sgRNA as recited in instant application. Therefore Yin et al. render obvious to instant claims. The rejection is maintained and amended to encompass the claims as currently written.
New/Modified Rejections
New Claim Objections
Claim 62 is newly objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 62 recites “interal positions” in lines 16 and 18, they should be “internal positions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 72 and 75 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim 72 recites “(iv) positions 39 and 45” renders instant claim indefinite. Claim 62, which claim 72 depends from, recites that chemically modified nucleotides are selected from positions 1, 8-12, 14-22, 26, 28, 30, 32-34, 37, 41, 46, 47, 50-52, 54-60, 63-67, 69, or 72-76 as numbered in SEQ ID NO: 61 or a corresponding position thereof. Since positions 39 and 45 are not included in the positions recited in claim 62, it is unclear whether claim 72 “further” having positions 39 and 45 chemically modified, or having positions 39 and 45 chemically modified “instead of” the positions recited in claim 62. The scope of claim 72 is therefore indefinite.
Similarly, claim 75 recites “(i) positions 6, 7, 25, 27, 29, 45, 48, and 49” and “(iii) positions 6, 7, 25, 27, 29, 45, 48, 49, and 62” renders instant claim indefinite. Based on the same reason as stated above, since claim 62 recites “one or more unmodified nucleotides at least at one or more position(s) 13, 53, or 61, and optionally at any one or more of positions 35, 36, 40, 68, 70, or 71, as numbered in SEQ ID NO: 61 or a corresponding position thereof”, it is unclear whether claim 75 “further” having “(i) positions 6, 7, 25, 27, 29, 45, 48, and 49” or “(iii) positions 6, 7, 25, 27, 29, 45, 48, 49, and 62”, or having these unmodified nucleotides “instead of” the positions recited in claim 62. The scope of claim 75 is therefore indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 72 and 75 are indefinite. In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims are interpreted as “further” comprising the recited nucleotides positions.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 62-65, 68-76, 79-81, 83-87, 91-94 and 96-98 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Nat Biotechnol. 2017 Dec;35(12):1179-1187, cited in IDS), as evidenced by Nowak et al. (Nucleic Acids Res. 2016 Nov 16;44(20):9555-9564) and NCBI Reference Sequence: WP_306789577.1 (available 2005). The rejection is modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Yin et al. teach that guided by the structure of the Cas9–sgRNA complex, they identify regions of sgRNA that can be modified while maintaining or enhancing genome-editing activity, and develop an optimal set of chemical modifications for in vivo applications (Abstract).
Regarding claim 62, Yin et al. teach targeting of the Cas9 complex is guided by sgRNAs, which combines CRISPR RNA (crRNA) and trans-activating crRNA (tracrRNA). These sgRNAs are about 100 nucleotides (nt) long, with 20 nt at the 5′ end hybridizing the complementary DNA sequence and the remaining structure for Cas9 recognition and binding (p1180, left column). Yin et al. also teach the Cas9 they used to be spCas9 (see p1180, left column). CrRNA comprises a spacer sequence is evidenced by Nowak et al.. Nowak et al. teach Streptococcus pyogenes CRISPR-SpCas9 guide RNA and synthetic sgRNA anatomy (p9556, figure 1), and the 20 nt at the 5′ end hybridizing the complementary DNA sequence which referred in Yin et al. is the spacer sequence (orange color) in figure 1B. In addition, Nowak et al. teach SpCas9 is CRISPR type II-A protein (see p9555, right column), and SpCas9 interacts with the sgRNA in both sequence dependent and independent manners––the guide region is recognized in a sequence-independent mechanism, whereas SpCas9 recognition of the sgRNA repeat: anti-repeat duplex
involves sequence-dependent interactions (p9556, right column). This teaching reads on a single guide polynucleotide, comprising: (a) a spacer sequence and (b) a tracr sequence, wherein the tracr sequence serves as a binding scaffold for a Type II Cas protein, as recited in instant claim.
Yin et al. also teach native strand sgRNA without modifications (101 nt, see Supplementary Table 5), the 21-100 nucleotide sequence of the native strand sgRNA is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:61 of instant claim. This teaching reads on a tracr sequence having a nucleotide base sequence, wherein the nucleotide base sequence is 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 61.
Yin et al. further teach various modifications of sgRNA (see i.e., Supplementary Table 5). For instance, Yin et al. teach native crRNA and 2’OMe_1-20 nt (Supplementary Table 5), shows the 1-20 nt of crRNA is the guide sequence (spacer sequence). Yin et al. teach 2’OMe_1-10 nt (Supplementary Table 5) has 1-10 nt of spacer sequence modified and 11-20 nt of spacer sequence unmodified. This teaching reads on “(a) the spacer sequence comprises (i) one or more chemical modification(s) and (ii) one or more unmodified nucleotide(s) at select position(s)” as recited in instant claim.
Moreover, Yin et al. teach ~20 nucleotides in the invariable region of sgRNA interact with the Cas9 protein at the 2′ hydroxyl (OH) group, mostly through hydrogen bonds (p1180, right column), a 2′Ome modification at all nucleotides of the invariable region or selectively at the ‘interacting’ 2′OH groups (Reverse-SG-2′OMe) fully abolished the genome editing activity of sgRNA (p1180, right column). Supplementary table 5 shows the sequence of Reverse-SG-2′Ome, wherein the nucleotides of interacting region (the modified nucleotides) are at the positions 2-7, 23-25, 27, 29, 31, 38-39, 42-45, 48-49 and 62 corresponding to SEQ ID NO:61. According to Yin et al.’s teaching, these positions above need to be avoided to be modified, while modifying the remaining nucleotides would retain the genome editing activity of sgRNA (see p1180, right column). The interacting region includes 20 nucleotides, therefore the other 60 nucleotides can be chemically modified (i.e., by 2’OME) with retained activity. Besides, the PS modification can be conducted in the tail region, which has minimal interaction with Cas9 protein (i.e., at the positions of 70-101, corresponding to 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61). Therefore the modified nucleotides can be up to 75% (60/80) of the SEQ ID NO:61 or a corresponding position thereof, and the chemically modified nucleotides can be any position outside of the interacting region, such as 8-12 as numbered in SEQ ID NO: 61 or a corresponding position thereof, as recited in instant claim. It is noted that none of the chemically modified nucleotides recited in instant claim is the “DO NOT MODIFIY” nucleotide in Yin et al.’s teaching. Meanwhile the unmodified nucleotides would be the interacting nucleotides as well as any of the nucleotides outside of the interacting region (i.e., position 13 of SEQ ID NO:61 as recited in instant claim).
Yin et al. further teach modifying part of the tail region with phosphorothioate bond (PS) modification, which has minimal interaction with Cas9 protein (PS_70-101nt,) (p1180, right column). The tail region comprises nucleotides 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61, which are 30 phosphorothioate linkages at the 3’ end. Yin et al. do not teach the 3' end having at least one and up to 10 phosphorothioate linkages. However, according to Yin et al.’s teaching, the PS modification can be in any or all of the nucleotides 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61 or a corresponding position thereof without disturbing the activity of the sgRNA, wherein including at least one and up to 10 phosphorothioate linkages at the 3’ end, as recited in instant claim. Moreover, Yin et al. teach an example: 5’&3’-sgRNA, which has chemical modification of both the 5′ and 3′ ends (2′OMe and PS modifications of 3 nt at the 5′ and 3′ end, respectively). The Supplemental Table 5 discloses the detailed sequence of 5’&3’-sgRNA, shows that the single guide RNA comprises three phosphorothioate bond at the 3’ end.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin et al.’s sgRNAs, and make chemical modifications following Yin et al.’s principle regarding the structure-guided chemical modification. The only difference between instant claim and Yin et al.’s chemical modification is instant claim listing different unmodified nucleotides, as well as various numbers of nucleotides having PS modification at the 3’ end of sgRNA. Given that Yin et al. teach the principle of the structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted Yin et al.’s chemical modified sgRNAs, and chemically modified the sgRNA as needed while avoiding modifying the nucleotides which can’t be modified (otherwise disturbing sgRNA’s activity). This simple substitution of chemical modified/unmodified nucleotides is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 — 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 63, as stated above, the modified nucleotides can be up to 75% (60/80) of the SEQ ID NO:61 or a corresponding position thereof, reads on the limitation of instant claim.
Regarding claim 64, following the discussion above, the nucleotides which can be chemical modified are up to 60 (0-60) nucleotides, which is broader than the claimed range. In situations where the claimed range lies inside the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 65, 70 and 72, the claims disclose special combinations of chemically modified nucleotides, However, this combination follows the principle taught by Yin et al., based on the rationale discussed in claim 62, Yin et al. render obvious to instant claim.
Regarding claim 68, following the discussion above, Yin et al. teach generating a number of sgRNAs modified with 2′-deoxy-2′-fluoro-ribonucleotide (2'F RNA), 2′ O-methyl ribonucleotide (2'OMe RNA) and the phosphorothioate bond (PS) at different positions (p1180, left column), as well as an modification example named SG-2’OMe (see Supplementary Table 5), reads on the one or more chemical modification(s) in the tracr sequence is a 2'-OMe-ribose sugar on the modified nucleotides, as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 69, following the discussion above, Yin et al. teach modifying part of the tail region, which has minimal interaction with Cas9 protein (PS_70-101nt) (p1180, right column), shows that the 3'- terminal region of the tracr sequence comprises a repeating phosphorothioate linkages (phosphorothioate bond) in a backbone of the tracr sequence.
Regarding claims 71 and 73-75, following the discussion of claim 62, the claims are directed to specific combinations of unmodified nucleotides in the tracr sequence, wherein any combination of the nucleotides can be stay unmodified (i.e., compared to native tracr sequence) according to Yin et al.’s teaching.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin et al.’s sgRNAs, and make chemical modifications following Yin et al.’s principle regarding the structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA. The only difference between instant claims and Yin et al.’s chemical modification of sgRNAs is instant claims have different combinations of unmodified nucleotides. Given that Yin et al. teach the principle of the structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted Yin et al.’s chemical modified sgRNAs, and chemically modified some nucleotides in the sgRNA as wanted while avoiding modifying the nucleotides which can’t be modified, and obtain a combination of chemically modified/unmodified nucleotides as recited in instant claims. This simple substitution of unmodified nucleotides is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 — 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 76, following the discussion above, Yin et al. teach generating a number of sgRNAs modified with 2'F RNA, 2'OMe RNA and the phosphorothioate bond (PS) at different positions (p1180, left column), reads on the chemical modification comprises a 2'-OMe modification and phosphorothioate linkage as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claims 79-81 and 91, following the discussion of claim 62, Yin et al. teach PS modification can be in the tail region, which has minimal interaction with Cas9 protein (i.e., at the positions of 70-101, corresponding to 50-80 of SEQ ID NO:61, see p1180, right column), which indicates that the single guide polynucleotide can have multiple phosphorothioate linkages (i.e., three contiguous phosphorothioate linkages) at the 3’ end, as recited in instant claims. Moreover, Yin et al. teach an example: 5’&3’-sgRNA, which has chemical modification of both the 5′ and 3′ ends (2′OMe and PS modifications of 3 nt at the 5′ and 3′ end, respectively). The Supplemental Table 5 discloses the detailed sequence of 5’&3’-sgRNA, shows that the single guide RNA comprises three contiguous phosphorothioate bond at the 3’ end (first two phosphorothioate bonds are at corresponding positions 79-80 of SEQ ID NO:61), and does not have phosphonothioate linkages at corresponding positions 1-76 of SEQ ID NO: 61.
Regarding claim 83, following the discussion above, Yin et al. teach use of a cell reporter system to test the editing efficiency of modified sgRNAs. HEK293 cells were engineered to stably express GFP and spCas9 (p1180, left column). spCas9 the most commonly used form of Cas9 (p11179, left column). Moreover, Nowak et al. provide evidence that SpCas9 is CRISPR type II-A protein (see p9555, right column). This teaching reads on the Cas9 protein as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claims 87, 94, 97, following the discussion above, Yin et al. teach using lipid nanoparticle formulations of the enhanced sgRNAs (e-sgRNA) and mRNA encoding Cas9 (Abstract), and Nowak et al. provide evidence that SpCas9 is CRISPR type II-A protein (p9555, right column), and the principle of structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNA’s invariable part comprises chemical modification outside the interacting region but keep the interacting region unmodified, therefore Yin et al. renders obvious the composition as recited in instant claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin et al.’s composition of the enhanced sgRNAs (e-sgRNA) and mRNA encoding Cas9, and make chemical modifications following Yin et al.’s principle regarding the structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNAs to obtain a composition comprising the single guide polynucleotide and Cas protein as recited in instant claims. The only difference between instant claims and Yin et al.’s chemical modified is instant claims have different unmodified nucleotides, as well as various nucleotides having PS modification at the 3’ end in the sgRNAs. Given that Yin et al. teach the principle of the structure-guided chemical modification of sgRNAs, one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted Yin et al.’s chemical modified sgRNAs, and chemically modified the sgRNA as wanted while avoiding modifying the nucleotides which can’t be modified to obtain the composition for gene modification as recited in instant claims. This simple substitution is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 — 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claims 84 and 96, Yin et al. teach using spCas9, do not teach the amino acid sequence of spCas9. However, it is evidenced by NCBI Reference Sequence: WP_306789577.1. WP_306789577.1 discloses type II CRISPR RNA-guided endonuclease Cas9 [Staphylococcus aureus], wherein SEQ ID NO: 40 in instant claim is 100% identical to the NCBI Reference Sequence: WP_306789577.1 (sequence alignment is provided).
Regarding claim 86, Yin et al. do not teach the exact sequence of the sgRNAs because of different spacer sequence (guide RNA) target to different gene of interest. However, Yin et al. teach the same principle of the modification. For instance, regarding gRNA ID GA004 in Table 1 of instant claim, there are 5’-PS-2’OMe modification on the 5’ end (see 5’&3’ sgRNA and e-sgRNA in figure 3, p1183), and modification of tracr sequence (nt 21-101 of SEQ ID NO: 255 in gRNA ID GA004) with same pattern as SG-2’OMe (Supplemental Table 5) of Yin et al.(yellow part shows the same modification of tracr sequence).
GA004:
SG-2’OMe:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin et al.’s sgRNA, use different spacer sequence (guide sequence) in order to target to different DNA fragment, and use the same modification in tracr sequence. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the same modification in tracr sequence since Yin et al. teach this modification can enhance CRISPR genome- tracr sequence since Yin et al. teach the sequence of tracr sequence and the modification of tracr sequence (i.e., supplementary Table 5).
Regarding claim 92, Yin et al. teach 20 nt at the 5′ end hybridizing the complementary DNA sequence and the remaining structure for Cas9 recognition and binding (p1180, left column). Combining with the figure 1 of Nowak et al. shows the spacer sequence, the teachings read on “the spacer sequence hybridizes with a target polynucleotide sequence when contacted with the target polynucleotide sequence” as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 93, Yin et al. teach sgRNAs, which combines CRISPR RNA (crRNA) and trans-activating crRNA (tracrRNA). These sgRNAs are about 100 nucleotides (nt) long, with 20 nt at the 5′ end hybridizing the complementary DNA sequence and the remaining structure for Cas9 recognition and binding (p1180, left column). Figure 1a (p1181) shows the connection for 5’-3’ of sgRNA. The spacer sequence (1-20 nt) is covalently linked to the tracr sequence.
Regarding claim 98, instant claim is directed to a GC% content of “a portion of” the mRNA that encodes the protein is at least 60%. Without a definition in the specification about the length of “a portion” the sequence, it is interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as two or more contiguous RNA sequences, therefore any RNA fragment “GC”, or a RNA fragment comprises three RNAs , wherein two out of the three RNAs are “G” and “C” in Yin et al.’s Cas9 mRNA have a GC% content more than 60%.
Claims 62-65, 68-76, 79-81, 83-84, 86-87 and 91-98 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Nat Biotechnol. 2017 Dec;35(12):1179-1187, cited in IDS), as evidenced by Nowak et al. (Nucleic Acids Res. 2016 Nov 16;44(20):9555-9564) and NCBI Reference Sequence: WP_306789577.1 (available 2005), as applied to 62-65, 68-76, 79-81, 83-84, 86-87, 91-94 and 96-98 above, in view of Ran et al. (Cell. 2013 Sep 12;154(6):1380-9).
The teaching of Yin et al. is set forth above.
Regarding claim 95, Yin et al. do not teach the Cas9 protein comprises a Cas9 nickase (nCas9). However, this was disclosed by Ran et al. at the time of instant invention.
Ran et al. describe an approach that combines a Cas9 nickase mutant with paired guide RNAs to introduce targeted double- strand breaks (Abstract).
Regarding claim 95, Ran et al. teach to improve the specificity of Cas9-mediated genome editing, they developed a strategy that combines the D10A mutant nickase version of Cas9 (Cas9n) with a pair of offset sgRNAs complementary to opposite strands of the target site (p1381, left column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan et al.’s spCas9, and use the D10A mutant nickase version of Cas9 as taught by Ran et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the D10A mutant nickase version of Cas9 since Ran et al. teach the Cas9 nickase involved double nicking maintains high on-target efficiencies while reducing off-target modifications to background levels (p1387, left column). There would be a reasonable expectation of success of using the D10A mutant nickase version of Cas9 since Ran et al. teach the method of providing a Cas9 nickase: mutations of the catalytic residues (D10A in RuvC and H840A in HNH) convert Cas9 into DNA nickases (p1382, left column).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Q.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633