DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 7, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-19 and 21-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 7, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 2, “a second resolution” should read “at a second resolution”
In claim 1 line 5, “face detection confidence score” should read “face detection confidence scores”
In claim 5 line 2, “second, higher resolution” should read “the second, higher resolution”
In claim 11 line 3, “receiving the image at a second, higher resolution” is duplicate matter and should be deleted
In claim 22 lines 2-3, “receiving the image at a first resolution and at a second resolution higher than the first resolution” is duplicate matter and should be deleted
In claim 22 line 14, “to provide the head identification confidence score” should be deleted
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. All of the claims are method claims under Step 1, but under Step 2A all of these claims recite abstract ideas and specifically mental processes—concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion; these mental processes are more particularly:
Recited in claim 1 as:
performing face detection on the image
providing face detection confidence scores of candidate faces
evaluating the face detection confidence score to a lower threshold
based on the face detection confidence score being below the lower threshold, discarding the candidate face
evaluating the face detection confidence score to a higher threshold
based on the face detection confidence score being above the higher threshold, accepting the candidate face
evaluating the face detection confidence score to the lower threshold and the higher threshold
based on the face detection confidence score being between the lower threshold and the higher threshold, performing head identification on the candidate face using the image
providing a head identification confidence score for the candidate face
based on the head identification confidence score, accepting or discarding the candidate face
Recited in claim 2 as:
evaluating the provided head identification confidence score to a third threshold
discarding the candidate face with the head identification confidence score below the third threshold
accepting the candidate face with the head identification confidence score above the third threshold
Recited in claim 3 as:
provides a bounding box for the candidate face
enlarging the bounding box of the candidate face
Recited in claim 4 as:
determining the size of the image in the enlarged bounding box
comparing the size of the image in the enlarged bounding box with a predetermined size
cropping the image in the enlarged bounding box to the predetermined size when the size exceeds the predetermined size
providing the cropped image for the head identification performance
Recited in claim 5 as:
sampling the image in the enlarged bounding box from the second, higher resolution image when the image size in the enlarged bounding box is below the predetermined size
providing the sampled image for head identification performance
Consider also that “If a claim recites a limitation that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper, the limitation falls within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea” as per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B). The limitations detailed above may be practically performed in the human mind with the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (e.g. drawing the bounding boxes for each candidate face with a pen).
Under Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because each of claims 1-6 and 21 do not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application. The additional element (receiving an image at a first resolution and at a second resolution higher than the first resolution in claim 1) is adding insignificant pre-solution activity of acquiring image data to the judicial exception, which is not indicative of integration into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional element (videoconferencing endpoint in claim 6) is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, which is not indicative of integration into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05(h). The additional elements (head identifier convolutional neural network in claim 1; and machine learning model in claim 21) are recited at a high level of generality and merely equate to “apply it” or otherwise merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea which are not indicative of integration into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05(f). See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) with respect to Mental Processes: “Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer”. See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(3) Using a computer as tool to perform a mental process and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(D) as well as the case law cited therein.
Under Step 2B, each of claims 1-6 and 21 do not recite additional elements that are indicative of an inventive concept. The additional elements detailed above are simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception as per MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.07(a)III. In other words, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
For all of the above reasons, taken alone or in combination, claims 1-6 and 21 recite a non-statutory mental process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andalo et al. (US 2019/0278894 A1) in view of Bigioi et al. (US 2009/0080713 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Andalo discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions (Andalo paragraph 0052: “the software instructions may be transferred from a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to a memory, such as the memory 120”) that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method of face detection (Andalo paragraph 0035: “method 500 for performing a multiple-tiered facial recognition technique”), the method comprising: receiving an image at a first resolution (Andalo paragraph 0035: “probe image data 210 associated with a biometric authentication request is received in the mobile device 100”); performing face detection on the image at the first resolution (Andalo paragraph 0015: “detects the face in the probe image”) and providing a face detection confidence score of a candidate face (Andalo paragraph 0036: “a first classifier 175 is employed to generate a first probability metric of the probe image data being associated with an authorized user”); evaluating the provided face detection confidence score to a lower threshold (Andalo paragraph 0038: “The first probability metric is compared to a second threshold (Thr2-true negative)”) and a higher threshold (Andalo paragraph 0037: “The first probability metric is compared to a first threshold (Thr1-true positive)”); based on the face detection confidence score being between the lower threshold and the higher threshold (Andalo FIG. 5, paragraph 0039: “If the first probability metric lies between the first and second thresholds”), providing the candidate face to a head identifier neural network trained to detect a head in an image, performing head identification on the candidate face with the head identifier neural network (Andalo FIG. 4, paragraph 0030: “The data-driven pairwise classifier (PWC) 180B employs a convolutional neural network (CNN) classifier…with the goal of classifying if two face images belong or not to the same identity”; Examiner notes under broadest reasonable interpretation, head identification encompasses face identification since identifying a face implies a head is also identified) and providing a head identification confidence score for the candidate face (Andalo paragraph 0040: “a second classifier 180 is employed to generate a second probability metric of the probe image data being associated with an authorized user”), the head identifier neural network outputting the head identification confidence score (Andalo paragraph 0034: “The output of the HF-CNN network is the 2nd tier probability”); evaluating the provided head identification confidence score to a third threshold (Andalo paragraph 0041: “the second probability metric is compared to a third threshold (Thr3)”); and at least one of: based on the head identification confidence score being below the third threshold, discarding the candidate face with the head identification confidence score below the third threshold (Andalo paragraph 0041: “Otherwise, the biometric authentication request is denied”); or based on the head identification confidence score being above the third threshold, accepting the candidate face (Andalo paragraph 0041: “If the second probability metric is greater than the third threshold in method block 540, the biometric authentication request is approved”). However, Andalo fails to explicitly disclose receiving the image at a second resolution higher than the first resolution; and based on the face detection confidence score being between the lower threshold and the higher threshold, performing head identification on the candidate face using the image at the second resolution. In the related art of face detection, Bigioi discloses receiving the image at a second resolution higher than the first resolution (Bigioi paragraphs 0012, 0034: “A relatively high resolution image of nominally the same scene is also received” where “the apparatus 10 automatically captures and stores a series of images at close intervals so that sequential images are nominally of the same scene. Such a series of images may include a series of preview images [low resolution images], post-view images, or a main acquired image [higher resolution image]”); and based on the face detection confidence score being between the lower threshold and the higher threshold (Andalo teaches in paragraph 0039, if the first probability metric lies between the first and second thresholds, a high confidence decision cannot yet be made; in Bigioi, a high confidence decision cannot be made in the case of smaller sized faces since they comprise fewer pixels and “As such, detection of smaller sized faces is inherently less reliable” – see Bigioi paragraph 0030), performing head identification on the candidate face using the image at the second resolution (Bigioi paragraph 0016: “The second processor is arranged to receive a relatively high resolution image of nominally the same scene and to apply at least one high quality face classifier to at least one identified small sized face region in the higher resolution version of the image”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Andalo to incorporate the teachings of Bigioi to achieve more accurate results while optimizing the efficiency of the face detection (Bigioi paragraphs 0027-0028).
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andalo and Bigioi in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0039853 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Andalo, modified by Bigioi, discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 7. However, Andalo fails to disclose providing a bounding box for the candidate face; and enlarging the bounding box of the candidate face before performing the head identification on the image defined by the bounding box. In the related art of object detection, Liu discloses providing a bounding box for the candidate face (Liu paragraph 0002: “detect and localize all instances of pre-defined object classes in the form of bounding boxes with confidence values for given input images”); and enlarging the bounding box of the candidate face before performing the head identification on the image defined by the bounding box (Liu FIG. 4A, paragraph 0028: “enlarges the proposal box 15 by seven times in both x and y directions to obtain the context box 20…The resized context image 21 is transmitted to the second DCNN 220”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Andalo to incorporate the teachings of Liu to improve detecting small objects because extracting features from greater areas in the image helps to incorporate context information (Liu paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 10, Andalo, modified by Bigioi and Liu, discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, the method further comprising: determining a size of the image in the enlarged bounding box before performing head identification (Liu FIG. 4A, paragraph 0030: the context box 20 has a width w’ and a height h’); comparing the size of the image in the enlarged bounding box with a predetermined size (Liu FIG. 4A, paragraph 0025: “the predetermined identical size may be 227x227 (224x224 for VGG16) patches (pixels)”); cropping the image in the enlarged bounding box to the predetermined size when the size exceeds the predetermined size (Liu FIG. 4A, paragraph 0025: “the context region image corresponding to the context box 20 is resized, using the resize module 14, to a resized context image 21 having the predetermined size”); and providing the cropped image for the head identification performance (Liu FIG. 4A, paragraphs 0025-0026: “and transmitted to the ContexNet 250…As a result, the object detection of the target object image corresponding to the proposal box 15 is obtained”).
Regarding claim 11, Andalo, modified by Bigioi and Liu, discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, the method further comprising: sampling the image in the enlarged bounding box from the second, higher resolution image when the image size in the enlarged bounding box is below the predetermined size (Bigioi paragraph 0012: “one or more identified small sized face regions in the higher resolution version of the image”); and providing the sampled image for head identification performance (Bigioi paragraph 0045: “retests the face regions identified by the relaxed small face classifier on the larger (higher resolution) main image…with a high quality classifier”).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andalo and Bigioi in view of Fan et al. (US 2011/0274315 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Andalo, modified by Bigioi, discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 7. However, Andalo fails to disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium and the processor are used in a videoconferencing endpoint. In the related art of face and head detection, Fan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium and the processor are used in a videoconferencing endpoint (Fan paragraph 0041: “in a case of human detection, in a video conference scene”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Andalo to incorporate the teachings of Fan to improve the detection accuracy and reduce the detection error rate (Fan paragraph 0011).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15-19 are allowed.
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art either alone or in combination fails to disclose, teach, or suggest: for each face detection confidence score being between the lower threshold and the higher threshold, providing the candidate face to a head identifier convolutional neural network trained on head bounding-box annotations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 101 rejection of claims 1-6 and 21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the additional elements “integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and provide significantly more than the alleged abstract idea…because they improve the functioning of a computer or another technology or technical field”, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While receiving the image at a second, higher resolution is recited, there are no additional details on what processing is being performed on the second, higher resolution image, if any, to result in the improvement to the relevant technology or technical field. Examiner notes in reference to independent claims 7 and 13, they additionally recite performing head identification on the candidate face using the image at the second resolution. Examiner recommends incorporating such an amendment to overcome the 101 rejection of independent claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of independent claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of independent claim 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that “Determining whether a face belongs to an authorized user is a fundamentally different inquiry from determining whether a head is present in an image region. Andalo's classifier cannot output a head identification confidence score”, MPEP 2111.01 Plain Meaning sections I, II, and III disclose the words of a claim must be given their “plain meaning” unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, and “plain meaning” refers to the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art, respectively. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, head identification encompasses face identification since identifying a face implies a head is also identified. Thus, Andalo’s second-tier classifier as a face identification classifier teaches head identification.
In response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Andalo teaches if the first probability metric lies between the first and second thresholds, a high confidence decision cannot yet be made (Andalo paragraph 0039). Bigioi teaches a high confidence decision cannot be made in the case of smaller sized faces since they comprise fewer pixels (Bigioi paragraph 0030). Thus, while Andalo provides a solution for intermediate confidence scores, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Bigioi’s solution of using a higher resolution image to achieve more accurate results while optimizing the efficiency of the face detection (Bigioi paragraphs 0027-0028).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of independent claim 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claims 13 and 15-19 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677