DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on one or more references not previously applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission, dated 12 Nov. 2025, in which claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, 14, 15, 20, 22, 24, 25, and 30 are amended, claims 33 and 34 are canceled, and claims 42-49 are added, has been entered into the record and are considered herein. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, 14, 15, 20, 22, 24, 25, 30, and 42-49 are pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 22 recites the limitations "B1," “B2,” “the first value,” and “the second value.” These limitations have insufficient antecedent bases in the claim (or in the base claim).
Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 20, 43, 44, 47, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2001383, Agenda Item 7.2.5.7, “Outcome of Email Thread” (hereinafter, “LG NPL”)(copy submitted with IDS dated 21 Nov. 2023) in view of US 2023/0118930 (hereinafter, “ZHANG”)
Regarding claim 1, LG NPL discloses:
A Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback method (HARQ-ACK, p. 6), applied to a terminal (UE, p. 6) and comprising:
in response to determining that a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) resource release (p. 6, Samsung: SPS release DCI) is received in a slot for receiving an SPS Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission, and . . . (p. 6, Samsung: gNB can send a SPS release DCI in a slot instead of a SPS PDSCH)
mapping a HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release (p. 6, Samsung: The HARQ-ACK of SPS PDSCH and SPS release will be multiplexed in a same UL slot), to a feedback position determined according to a reference time domain resource in a HARQ-ACK feedback sequence; (p. 7, Samsung: K1 = 2)
transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence comprising the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (p. 6, Samsung: The HARQ-ACK of SPS PDSCH and SPS release will be multiplexed in a same UL slot)
LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority, and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be received perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHANG teaches:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority, and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be received perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met (¶ 0022: When there is an aperiodic CSI report multiplexed in a PUSCH in the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs, S0 is not before a seventh symbol, a CP of the seventh symbol starts at a seventh time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same first priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same first priority index; and/or S0 is not before an eighth symbol, a CP of the eighth symbol starts at an eighth time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same second priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same second priority index; ¶ 0085: [W]hen a terminal would transmit multiple overlapping Physical Uplink Control Channels (PUCCHs) and/or Physical Uplink Shared Channels (PUSCHs) in a same slot or sub-slot, if one of the PUCCH transmissions or PUSCH transmissions is in response to a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format detected by the terminal, the terminal expects that a start symbol S0 of an earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs satisfies a first condition)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LG NPL’s HARQ-ACK feedback procedure to provide means of determining processing timelines for different services respectively as taught by ZHANG such that removing the PUCCH resource that does not satisfy the processing timelines or latency from a PUCCH resource set and coding different uplink services respectively, error can be avoided, the processing case that a base station cannot control a terminal can be avoided, and the latency and reliability requirements of URLLC services can also be satisfied, thereby improving system spectral efficiency. See ZHANG, at ¶ 0097.
Regarding claim 11, LG NPL discloses:
A Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback method (HARQ-ACK, p. 6), applied to a base station (gNB, p. 6) and comprising:
in response to determining that a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) resource release (p. 6, Samsung: SPS release DCI) is sent in a slot for sending an SPS Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission, and . . . (p. 6, Samsung: gNB can send a SPS release DCI in a slot instead of a SPS PDSCH) determining that a HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release (p. 6, Samsung: The HARQ-ACK of SPS PDSCH and SPS release will be multiplexed in a same UL slot) is mapped to a feedback position determined according to a reference time domain resource in a HARQ-ACK feedback sequence; and (p. 7, Samsung: K1 = 2)
receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence comprising the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (p. 6, Samsung: The HARQ-ACK of SPS PDSCH and SPS release will be multiplexed in a same UL slot)
LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be sent and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority; and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be sent perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHANG teaches:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be sent and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority; and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be sent perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met (¶ 0022: When there is an aperiodic CSI report multiplexed in a PUSCH in the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs, S0 is not before a seventh symbol, a CP of the seventh symbol starts at a seventh time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same first priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same first priority index; and/or S0 is not before an eighth symbol, a CP of the eighth symbol starts at an eighth time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same second priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same second priority index; ¶ 0085: [W]hen a terminal would transmit multiple overlapping Physical Uplink Control Channels (PUCCHs) and/or Physical Uplink Shared Channels (PUSCHs) in a same slot or sub-slot, if one of the PUCCH transmissions or PUSCH transmissions is in response to a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format detected by the terminal, the terminal expects that a start symbol S0 of an earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs satisfies a first condition)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LG NPL’s HARQ-ACK feedback procedure to provide means of determining processing timelines for different services respectively as taught by ZHANG such that removing the PUCCH resource that does not satisfy the processing timelines or latency from a PUCCH resource set and coding different uplink services respectively, error can be avoided, the processing case that a base station cannot control a terminal can be avoided, and the latency and reliability requirements of URLLC services can also be satisfied, thereby improving system spectral efficiency. See ZHANG, at ¶ 0097.
Regarding claim 20, LG NPL discloses:
A terminal (UE, p. 6), comprising:
a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform: [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a transceiver, a processor, a memory, and an executable-program are implicitly disclosed elements of a UE.]
in response to determining that a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) resource release is received in a slot for receiving an SPS Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission, (¶ 0045: [An] “SPS PDSCH release” may refer to a “PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release”; ¶ 0012: [A] PDSCH scheduled by using a PDCCH and a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release occur in the same slot) mapping a HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, to a feedback position determined according to a reference time domain resource in a HARQ-ACK feedback sequence; and (¶ 0010: A user terminal according to an aspect of the present disclosure includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, and a control section, wherein if a reception of no more than one unicast downlink shared channel per slot is supported, a semi-static Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook is configured, and the SPS is configured, then the control section generates one HARQ-ACK bit for reception of the downlink control information)
transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence comprising the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (p. 6, Samsung: The HARQ-ACK of SPS PDSCH and SPS release will be multiplexed in a same UL slot)
LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority, and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be received perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHANG teaches:
conditions that the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release have the same priority, and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release and the SPS PDSCH to be received perform a HARQ-ACK transmission in the same slot or sub-slot are met (¶ 0022: When there is an aperiodic CSI report multiplexed in a PUSCH in the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs, S0 is not before a seventh symbol, a CP of the seventh symbol starts at a seventh time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same first priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same first priority index; and/or S0 is not before an eighth symbol, a CP of the eighth symbol starts at an eighth time after the last symbol of any PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling an overlapping PUSCH and any PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release, where the HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH or the SPS PDSCH release is in an overlapping PUCCH and has the same second priority index, and the any PUSCH has the same second priority index; ¶ 0085: [W]hen a terminal would transmit multiple overlapping Physical Uplink Control Channels (PUCCHs) and/or Physical Uplink Shared Channels (PUSCHs) in a same slot or sub-slot, if one of the PUCCH transmissions or PUSCH transmissions is in response to a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format detected by the terminal, the terminal expects that a start symbol S0 of an earliest PUCCH or PUSCH among the overlapping PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs satisfies a first condition)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LG NPL’s HARQ-ACK feedback procedure to provide means of determining processing timelines for different services respectively as taught by ZHANG such that removing the PUCCH resource that does not satisfy the processing timelines or latency from a PUCCH resource set and coding different uplink services respectively, error can be avoided, the processing case that a base station cannot control a terminal can be avoided, and the latency and reliability requirements of URLLC services can also be satisfied, thereby improving system spectral efficiency. See ZHANG, at ¶ 0097.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 1. LG NPL further discloses:
wherein the reference time domain resource is not overlapped with the time domain resource of the SPS PDSCH to be received, or the reference time domain resource and the SPS PDSCH to be received do not correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity;
or,
in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is overlapped with the time domain resource of a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received or the reference time domain resource and a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity, not performing a HARQ-ACK feedback for the target SPS PDSCH. (Proposal 2-1: HARQ-ACK feedback for a SPS PDSCH should not be included in the HARQ-ACK codebook if the SPS PDSCH is not decoded among overlapping SPS PDSCHs)
Regarding claim 44, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 43. LG NPL further discloses:
wherein the not performing a HARQ-ACK feedback for the target SPS PDSCH in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is overlapped with the time domain resource of a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received or the reference time domain resource and a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity further comprises:
transmitting the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, no later than a position of a starting symbol or an ending symbol of the target SPS PDSCH. (P. 2, ZTE: [F]or the SPS PDSCH is not decoded due to UL-DL conflict or overridden by DG PDSCH, NACK should be feedbacked. And HARQ-ACK feedback for the not decoded higher index of multiple SPS PDSCHS should not be included the HARQ-ACK codebook [See proposed pseudo code])
Regarding claim 47, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 15. LG NPL further discloses:
wherein the reference time domain resource is not overlapped with the time domain resource of the SPS PDSCH to be received, or the reference time domain resource and the SPS PDSCH to be received do not correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity;
or,
in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is overlapped with the time domain resource of a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received or the reference time domain resource and a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity, not performing a HARQ-ACK feedback for the target SPS PDSCH. (Proposal 2-1: HARQ-ACK feedback for a SPS PDSCH should not be included in the HARQ-ACK codebook if the SPS PDSCH is not decoded among overlapping SPS PDSCHs)
Regarding claim 48, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 17. LG NPL further discloses:
wherein the not performing a HARQ-ACK feedback for the target SPS PDSCH in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is overlapped with the time domain resource of a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received or the reference time domain resource and a target SPS PDSCH within the SPS PDSCH to be received correspond to the same index of downlink transmission opportunity further comprises:
transmitting the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, no later than a position of a starting symbol or an ending symbol of the target SPS PDSCH. (P. 2, ZTE: [F]or the SPS PDSCH is not decoded due to UL-DL conflict or overridden by DG PDSCH, NACK should be feedbacked. And HARQ-ACK feedback for the not decoded higher index of multiple SPS PDSCHS should not be included the HARQ-ACK codebook [See proposed pseudo code])
Claims 5, 14, 22, 24, 30, 42, 46, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over LG NPL in view of ZHANG, and further in view of US 2021/0153204 (hereinafter, “TAKEDA”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 1. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the method further comprises:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
or
a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
or
a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LG NPL’s HARQ-ACK feedback procedure to provide configuration of semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS PDSCH as taught by TAKEDA such that transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the UE, so as to appropriately transmit a HARQ-ACK even when semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and thereby avoid degradation of communication throughput, frequency use efficiency, and the like. See TAKEDA, at ¶¶ 0008, 0010.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 11. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the method further comprises:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
or
a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
or
a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal of claim 20. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the terminal does not expect to receive B2 PDCCHs indicating the SPS resource release in a slot containing B1 SPS PDSCH transmissions to be received, and the sum of B1 and B2 exceeds the first value,
or
the terminal does not expect to receive B2 PDCCHs indicating the SPS resource release in a slot containing B1 SPS PDSCH transmissions to be received, and the sum of B1 and B2 exceeds the second value.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
wherein the terminal does not expect to receive B2 PDCCHs indicating the SPS resource release in a slot containing B1 SPS PDSCH transmissions to be received, and the sum of B1 and B2 exceeds the first value, (Claim 8 - The terminal according to claim 7, wherein the processor does not expect to receive both the unicast downlink shared channel and the downlink control information in a same slot)
or
the terminal does not expect to receive B2 PDCCHs indicating the SPS resource release in a slot containing B1 SPS PDSCH transmissions to be received, and the sum of B1 and B2 exceeds the second value. (Claim 8 - The terminal according to claim 7, wherein the processor does not expect to receive both the unicast downlink shared channel and the downlink control information in a same slot)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal of claim 20. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
or
a time domain resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
determining the reference time domain resource as one of:
a time domain resource indicated by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
or
a time domain resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release. (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, discloses the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claim 11. LG NPL further discloses:
A base station (gNB, p. 6),
LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and executable on the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 11;
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
a transceiver (communication apparatus 1004), a memory (memory 1002), a processor (processor 1001), and a program (storage 1003) stored in the memory and executable on the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 11; (¶ 0045: [An] “SPS PDSCH release” may refer to a “PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release”; ¶ 0012: [A] PDSCH scheduled by using a PDCCH and a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release occur in the same slot)
Regarding claim 42, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 1. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the method further comprises:
mapping the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions is further met:
the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release does not include any one of the SPS PDSCH to be received;
the SPS PDSCH to be received does not include a target SPS PDSCH;
the target SPS PDSCH is the SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index in the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be received comprises a part of the SPS PDSCHs indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release are transmitted on the same carrier;
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1;
or
the terminal configures a semi-static hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information transmission mode.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
mapping the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions is further met:
. . .
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1; (¶ 0029: [T]he UE transmits capability information indicating that the UE receives more than one unicast PDSCH per slot, the UE may determine the maximum number of non-overlapping candidate unicast PDSCH occasions per slot)
Regarding claim 46, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claim 11. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release is mapped to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions are further met:
the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release does not include any one of the SPS PDSCH to be sent;
the SPS PDSCH to be sent does not include a target SPS PDSCH;
the target SPS PDSCH is the SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index in the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be sent comprises a part of the SPS PDSCHs indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be sent and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release are transmitted on the same carrier;
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1;
or
the terminal configures a semi-static hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information transmission mode.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
determining that the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release is mapped to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions are further met:
. . .
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1; (¶ 0029: [T]he UE transmits capability information indicating that the UE receives more than one unicast PDSCH per slot, the UE may determine the maximum number of non-overlapping candidate unicast PDSCH occasions per slot)
Regarding claim 49, the combination of LG NPL and ZHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal of claim 20. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform mapping the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions is further met:
the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release does not include any one of the SPS PDSCH to be received;
the SPS PDSCH to be received does not include a target SPS PDSCH;
the target SPS PDSCH is the SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index in the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be received comprises a part of the SPS PDSCHs indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release;
the SPS PDSCH to be received and the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release are transmitted on the same carrier;
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1;
or
the terminal configures a semi-static hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement information transmission mode.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to read the program stored in the memory to perform mapping the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release to the feedback position determined according to the reference time domain resource in the HARQ-ACK feedback sequence in response to determining that at least one of the following conditions is further met:
. . .
a maximum quantity of unicast PDSCH capable of being received by the terminal in one slot is greater than 1 or equal to 1; (¶ 0029: [T]he UE transmits capability information indicating that the UE receives more than one unicast PDSCH per slot, the UE may determine the maximum number of non-overlapping candidate unicast PDSCH occasions per slot)
Claims 6, 15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over LG NPL in view of ZHANG and TAKEDA, and further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #100, R1-2000776, Agenda Item 7.2.5.7, “Remaining Issues on DL SPS Enhancements” (hereinafter, “APT NPL”)(copy submitted with IDS dated 21 Nov. 2023).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of LG NPL, ZHANG, and TAKEDA, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 5. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH;
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, APT NPL teaches:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [J]ointly releasing multiple SPS PDSCH configurations by using one joint release DCI)
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [I]f a joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-2 which jointly release SPS PDSCH configuration 0 and SPS PDSCH configuration 1, then the HARQ-ACK bit for the joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-1. Since it was agreed that one HARQ-ACK bit is generated for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI and the HARQ-ACK bit location for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI is derived based on the TDRA table row index indicated in the activation DCI for SPS PDSCH with the lowest SPS configuration index among the jointly released configurations)
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs. [The limitation if not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LG NPL’s HARQ-ACK feedback procedure to provide a joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-2 which jointly release SPS PDSCH configuration 0 and SPS PDSCH configuration 1 as taught by APT NPL such that the HARQ-ACK bit for the joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-1, so as to provide a joint release DCI is derived based on the TDRA table row index indicated in the activation DCI for SPS PDSCH with the lowest SPS configuration index among the jointly released configurations. See APT NPL, at § 2.1.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of LG NPL, ZHANG, and TAKEDA, as applied above, renders obvious the HARQ-ACK feedback method according to claim 14. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH;
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the slot in the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, APT NPL teaches:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [J]ointly releasing multiple SPS PDSCH configurations by using one joint release DCI)
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [I]f a joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-2 which jointly release SPS PDSCH configuration 0 and SPS PDSCH configuration 1, then the HARQ-ACK bit for the joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-1. Since it was agreed that one HARQ-ACK bit is generated for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI and the HARQ-ACK bit location for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI is derived based on the TDRA table row index indicated in the activation DCI for SPS PDSCH with the lowest SPS configuration index among the jointly released configurations)
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs. [The limitation if not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim]
Regarding claim 25, the combination of LG NPL, ZHANG, and TAKEDA, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal of claim 24. LG NPL does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH;
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs,
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TAKEDA teaches:
wherein in response to determining that the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH indicated to be released by the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release, the determining the reference time domain resource is performed as follows:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates releasing one SPS PDSCH, the reference time domain resource is the time domain resource corresponding to the released SPS PDSCH; (¶ 0119: When a certain user terminal 20 supports reception of up to one unicast downlink shared channel (PDSCH) per slot, and semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook is configured and SPS (for example, an SPS PDSCH) is configured, the transmitting/receiving sections 103 may receive one HARQ-ACK bit generated for reception of DCI indicating an SPS PDSCH release in the user terminal 20)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, APT NPL teaches:
in response to determining that the PDCCH indicating the SPS resource release indicates jointly releasing a plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [J]ointly releasing multiple SPS PDSCH configurations by using one joint release DCI)
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs, (§ 2.1: [I]f a joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-2 which jointly release SPS PDSCH configuration 0 and SPS PDSCH configuration 1, then the HARQ-ACK bit for the joint release DCI is transmitted in slot #n-1. Since it was agreed that one HARQ-ACK bit is generated for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI and the HARQ-ACK bit location for SPS PDSCH release with a joint release DCI is derived based on the TDRA table row index indicated in the activation DCI for SPS PDSCH with the lowest SPS configuration index among the jointly released configurations)
or
the reference time domain resource is a time domain resource corresponding to an SPS PDSCH transmitted in the slot with a minimum or maximum SPS configuration index within the jointly released plurality of SPS PDSCHs. [The limitation if not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644