DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Amendments filed December 2, 2025.
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 19 and 20 have been added. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Moriya does not disclose disabling access to information stores in the network node. Paragraph [0038] of Applicants published specification recites “temporarily disabling the access to the application control hub entries is performed by blocking, stubbing or queuing the outgoing traffic to the application control hub’s address until it is again available.” Paragraph [0154] of Moriya discloses Note that to disable one of the communication modes, communication in the communication mode to be disabled is simply stopped. Stopping communication of the communication mode is reasonably blocking the communication and thus reads on applicants disabling.
Applicant argues Deng does not disclose storing routing data of control node entries. Paragraph [0037] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can receive “pairing” signals used to pair a home-automation controller. Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller. The device is paired with the controller and then is able to send control signals to the controller. This requires storing the identity of the controller and how to route a message to the controller
Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill would have no motivation to modify the smart switch module of Deng to disable access. Deng and Moriya similarly disclose using alternative communication in the situation that one mode is not functioning. Accordingly, Deng would be readily modified by Moriya to disable access.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2019/0353337 to Deng et al. (hereinafter “Deng”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2015/0077021 to Smith et al. (hereinafter “Smith”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2019/0050175 to Moriya et al. (hereinafter “Moriya”).
As to Claim 1, Deng discloses a network node for communicating in a wireless communication network, the network node comprising:
an application unit configured to perform one or more predetermined application functions and configured to generate and provide application-specific wireless communication signals for reception within the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller. While operating in the switch mode, universal light switch 200 does not directly control current or voltage applied to the light socket. Instead, wireless transmitter 204 transmits a control signal, which can be generated based on the user's manual control, to the home-automation controller (e.g., the super sensor));
an input interface configured to receive respective availability signals indicative of an availability or non-availability of one or more application control hubs for centralized control of data exchange within the wireless communication network with respect to the respective predetermined application function (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals);
an operation-control unit connected to the input interface and configured to switch operation of the application unit from a centralized-operation mode to a distributed operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function upon determining that the availability signal is indicative of the non-availability of the respective application control hub (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control);
in the centralized-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function, the application unit is configured to generate first application-specific wireless communication signals for communicating via the respective application control hub, wherein the first application-specific wireless communication signals include a first payload (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller. While operating in the switch mode, universal light switch 200 does not directly control current or voltage applied to the light socket. Instead, wireless transmitter 204 transmits a control signal, which can be generated based on the user's manual control, to the home-automation controller (e.g., the super sensor)); and
in the distributed-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function, the application unit is configured to generate second application-specific communication signals for directly communicating with at least one target network node within the wireless communication network and to send them directly to one or more of the at least one target network node, wherein the second application-specific [wireless] communication signals include a second payload, and wherein the first payload differs from the second payload (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control. Such a direct control is often implemented through adjusting the current and/or voltage applied to a light socket, within which the light bulb is placed); and
the network node further comprising:
a storage unit for (1) storing network-data indicative of the network nodes of the wireless communication network, the network-data comprising one or more application control hub entries pertaining to the respective application control hubs, and (2) storing routing-data indicative of available communication routes within the wireless communication network, the routing data comprising one or more control-node entries pertaining to communication routes between the network node and the respective application control hub (Paragraph [0037] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can receive “pairing” signals used to pair a home-automation controller. Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller);
wherein the application unit is connected to the storage unit and configured to provide the first application-specific wireless communication signals in dependence on the network-data (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller); and
[the operation-control unit is configured, in the distributed-operation mode to disable access of the application unit to the control-node entries for a predetermined time span].
Deng does not explicitly disclose second wireless signals.
However, Smith discloses this. Paragraph [0007] of Smith discloses Control circuitry in the smart light bulb can then turn the smart light bulb on and off according to the wireless signals transmitted by the wireless transmitter of the light switch plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the smart lighting system as disclosed by Deng, with wirelessly controlling the light as disclosed by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Deng and Smith are directed toward smart lighting systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses direct control is often implemented through adjusting the current and/or voltage applied to a light socket. Smith discloses a known alternative to adjusting the current and/or voltage is to wirelessly send a signal.
Deng does not explicitly disclose the operation-control unit is configured, in the distributed-operation mode to disable access of the application unit to the control-node entries for a predetermined time span.
However, Moriya discloses this. Paragraph [0115] of Moriya discloses when switching to P2P mode the wireless infrastructure mode is disabled. Paragraph [0154] of Moriya discloses Note that to disable one of the communication modes, communication in the communication mode to be disabled is simply stopped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the connection changing system as disclosed by Deng, with in the distributed operation mode as disclosed by Moriya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Deng and Moriya are directed toward connection changing systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0089] of Moriya discloses it is possible to use wireless communication without impairing user convenience of the wireless device.
As to Claim 2, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the operation control unit is further configured, when the application unit is operated in the distributed-operation mode with respect to the predetermined application function, to switch operation of the application unit from the distributed operation mode to the centralized-operation mode upon determining that the availability signal is indicative of the availability of the respective application control hub (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that heartbeat signals have been received, it places universal light switch 200 in the switch mode to allow universal light switch 200 to control the smart light bulb by sending control signals to the home-automation controller).
As to Claim 3, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 1, further comprising: an application control hub detection unit, configured to ascertain the availability or the non-availability of the one or more application control hubs within the wireless communication network and to provide the respective availability signal to the input interface (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals).
As to Claim 4, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 3, wherein the application control hub detection unit comprises a network-monitoring unit configured to monitor application-specific wireless communication signals within the wireless communication network and to ascertain the availability or the non-availability of the application control hub using the monitored application-specific wireless communication signals in accordance with a predetermined algorithm (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals).
As to Claim 6, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 1, further comprising:
a receiver unit for receiving wireless communication signals from the application control hub of the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller); and
a functional unit connected to the receiver unit and configured to perform a wirelessly controllable node-function (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals); and
wherein, the first application-specific wireless communication signals and the second application-specific communications signals generated by the application function comprise respective control-data for controlling the functional unit and wherein, the operation-control unit is further configured, in the distributed-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function, to provide the second application-specific communication signals directly to the functional unit for performing the node-function (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control. Such a direct control is often implemented through adjusting the current and/or voltage applied to a light socket, within which the light bulb is placed. On the other hand, if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that heartbeat signals have been received, it places universal light switch 200 in the switch mode to allow universal light switch 200 to control the smart light bulb by sending control signals to the home-automation controller).
As to Claim 8, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 1, further comprising: a user-input interface for receiving a user-input signal (Paragraph [0008] of Deng discloses the switch-signal-transmitting module is configured to transmit a switch signal to the central controller in response to the manual control receiving the user manual operation, thereby allowing the central controller to control the light source based on the received user manual operation); and
wherein the application unit is connected to the user-input interface and configured to generate and provide the first application-specific wireless communication signals and the second application-specific communication signals in dependence on the received user-input signals (Paragraph [0008] of Deng discloses the switch-signal-transmitting module is configured to transmit a switch signal to the central controller in response to the manual control receiving the user manual operation, thereby allowing the central controller to control the light source based on the received user manual operation).
As to Claim 9, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses a wireless communication network comprising: at least one network node according to claim 1 (Examiner refers to the rejection of claim 1 above); and at least one application control hub configured to receive from the network nodes the first application-specific wireless communication signals as incoming wireless communication signals comprising payload indicative of a control-instruction for controlling operation of one or more target network nodes and to provide output wireless communication signals comprising the control-instruction to the one or more target network nodes (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can transmit a switch level report to the home-automation controller, which then control the smart light bulb based on the switch level report).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 10, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the wireless communication network of claim 9, wherein: the at least one application control hub is configured to provide to the input interface of the at least one network node, an availability signal indicative of an expected non-availability of the application control hub within the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals); and
wherein the operation-control unit of the at least one network node is configured to switch operation of the network node from the centralized-operation mode to the distributed operation mode upon reception of the availability signal indicative of an expected non-availability of the application control hub (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control).
As to Claim 11, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the wireless communication network of claim 9: wherein the application control hub, when temporarily disconnected from the wireless communication network is configured to provide to the at least one network node, an availability signal indicative of an expected availability of the application control hub within the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that heartbeat signals have been received, it places universal light switch 200 in the switch mode to allow universal light switch 200 to control the smart light bulb by sending control signals to the home-automation controller); and
wherein the operation-control unit is configured to switch operation of the application unit from the distributed operation mode to the centralized-operation mode with respect to the respective application function upon reception of the availability signal indicative of an expected availability of the application control hub (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that heartbeat signals have been received, it places universal light switch 200 in the switch mode to allow universal light switch 200 to control the smart light bulb by sending control signals to the home-automation controller).
As to Claim 12, Deng discloses a method for operating a network node for communicating in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
generating and providing application-specific wireless communication signals for reception within the wireless communication network (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller. While operating in the switch mode, universal light switch 200 does not directly control current or voltage applied to the light socket. Instead, wireless transmitter 204 transmits a control signal, which can be generated based on the user's manual control, to the home-automation controller (e.g., the super sensor));
receiving respective availability signals indicative of an availability or non-availability of one or more application control hubs for centralized control of data exchange within the wireless communication network with respect to a respective predetermined application function (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals);
switching operation of an application unit of the network node from a centralized-operation mode to a distributed operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function upon determining that the availability signal is indicative of the non-availability of the respective application control hub (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control);
wherein operating in the centralized-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function comprises generating first application-specific wireless communication signals for communicating via the respective application control hub, wherein the first application-specific wireless communication signals include a first payload (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller. While operating in the switch mode, universal light switch 200 does not directly control current or voltage applied to the light socket. Instead, wireless transmitter 204 transmits a control signal, which can be generated based on the user's manual control, to the home-automation controller (e.g., the super sensor)); and
operating in the distributed-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function comprises generating second application-specific communication signals for directly communicating with the at least one target network node and sending them directly to one or more of the at least one target network nodes, wherein the second application-specific [wireless] communication signals include a second payload, and wherein the first payload differs from the second payload (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control. Such a direct control is often implemented through adjusting the current and/or voltage applied to a light socket, within which the light bulb is placed);
the network node comprising:
a storage unit for (1) storing network-data indicative of the network nodes of the wireless communication network, the network-data comprising one or more application control hub entries pertaining to the respective application control hubs and (2) storing routing-data indicative of available communication routes within the wireless communication network, the routing data comprising one or more control-node entries pertaining to communication routes between the network node and the respective application control hub (Paragraph [0037] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can receive “pairing” signals used to pair a home-automation controller. Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller);
wherein the application unit is connected to the storage unit and configured to provide the first application-specific wireless communication signals in dependence on the network-data (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can be responsible for transmitting wireless control signals to a home-automation controller); and
[an operation control unit of the network node is configured, in the distributed-operation mode to disable access of the application unit to the control-node entries for a predetermined time span].
Deng does not explicitly disclose second wireless signals.
However, Smith discloses this. Paragraph [0007] of Smith discloses Control circuitry in the smart light bulb can then turn the smart light bulb on and off according to the wireless signals transmitted by the wireless transmitter of the light switch plate.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Deng does not explicitly disclose an operation control unit of the network node is configured, in the distributed-operation mode to disable access of the application unit to the control-node entries for a predetermined time span.
However, Moriya discloses this. Paragraph [0115] of Moriya discloses when switching to P2P mode the wireless infrastructure mode is disabled. Paragraph [0154] of Moriya discloses Note that to disable one of the communication modes, communication in the communication mode to be disabled is simply stopped.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 13, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: when operating in the centralized-operation mode with respect to the respective predetermined application function, receiving from the network nodes the first application-specific wireless communication signals as incoming wireless communication signals comprising payload indicative of a control-instruction for controlling operation of one or more target network nodes and providing output wireless communication signals comprising the control-instruction to the one or more target network nodes (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can transmit a switch level report to the home-automation controller, which then control the smart light bulb based on the switch level report).
As to Claim 14, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, which, when the instructions are executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 12 (Examiner refers to the rejection of claim 12 above).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 15, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 4, wherein at least a portion of the application-specific wireless communication signals monitored by the network-monitoring unit correspond to one or more additional network nodes (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals).
As to Claim 16, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the network node further comprises an application control hub detection unit configured to ascertain the availability or the non-availability of the one or more application control hubs within the wireless communication network and to provide the respective availability signal to the input interface (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals), wherein the application control hub detection unit comprises a network-monitoring unit configured to monitor application-specific wireless communication signals within the wireless communication network and to ascertain the availability or the non-availability of the application control hub using the monitored application-specific wireless communication signals in accordance with a predetermined algorithm (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals), and wherein at least a portion of the application- specific wireless communication signals monitored by the network-monitoring unit correspond to one or more additional network nodes (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses wireless receiver 202 can be configured to receive “heartbeat” signals sent from the previously paired home-automation controller. Operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine the current mode of operation based on the presence or absence of the heartbeat signals).
As to Claim 17, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses The network node of claim 1, wherein the first payload comprises state information regarding a switch or a sensor corresponding to the network node (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can transmit a switch level report to the home-automation controller, which then control the smart light bulb based on the switch level report), and wherein the second payload comprises instructions for directly controlling the target network node (Paragraph [0007] of Smith discloses Control circuitry in the smart light bulb can then turn the smart light bulb on and off according to the wireless signals transmitted by the wireless transmitter of the light switch plate).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 18, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the first payload comprises state information regarding a switch or a sensor corresponding to the network node (Paragraph [0039] of Deng discloses wireless transmitter 204 can transmit a switch level report to the home-automation controller, which then control the smart light bulb based on the switch level report), and wherein the second payload comprises instructions for directly controlling the target network node (Paragraph [0007] of Smith discloses Control circuitry in the smart light bulb can then turn the smart light bulb on and off according to the wireless signals transmitted by the wireless transmitter of the light switch plate).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 19, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses The network node of claim 1, wherein disabling access to the control-node entries is performed by blocking, stubbing, or queuing outgoing traffic from the network node to the application control hub for the predetermined time span, and/or wherein disabling access to the control-node entries is performed by removing the control- node entries from the routing-data (Paragraph [0115] of Moriya discloses when switching to P2P mode the wireless infrastructure mode is disabled. Paragraph [0154] of Moriya discloses Note that to disable one of the communication modes, communication in the communication mode to be disabled is simply stopped).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 20, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses The method of claim 12, wherein disabling access to the control-node entries is performed by blocking, stubbing, or queuing outgoing traffic from the network node to the application control hub for the predetermined time span, and/or wherein disabling access to the control-node entries is performed by removing the control- node entries from the routing-data (Paragraph [0115] of Moriya discloses when switching to P2P mode the wireless infrastructure mode is disabled. Paragraph [0154] of Moriya discloses Note that to disable one of the communication modes, communication in the communication mode to be disabled is simply stopped).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng-Smith-Moriya and further in view of US Pub. No. 2016/0007401 to Ida et al. (hereinafter “Ida”).
As to Claim 5, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 3. Deng-Smith-Moriya does not explicitly disclose wherein: the application control hub detection unit is further configured to ascertain an expected-disconnection time span of the application control hub from the wireless communication network and to provide a disconnection-time signal indicative thereof; and
wherein the operation-control unit is further configured to receive the disconnection-time signal and to switch operation from the respective centralized-operation mode to the respective distributed operation mode further upon determining that the expected-disconnection time span is longer than a predetermined threshold time-span amount.
However, Ida discloses this. Paragraph [0081] of Ida discloses in a case where the estimated disconnection continuation time is shorter than the threshold time, the controller 14 executes a direct communication continuation process. On the other hand, in a case where the estimated disconnection continuation time is longer than the threshold time, the controller 14 executes the indirect communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the connection changing system as disclosed by Deng, with using an expected disconnection time as disclosed by Ida. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Deng and Ida are directed toward connection changing systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Using Ida’s technique Deng can avoid switching unnecessarily.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng-Smith-Moriya and further in view of US Pub. No. 2013/0142170 to Sakai (hereinafter “Sakai”).
As to Claim 7, Deng-Smith-Moriya discloses the network node of claim 1. Deng-Smith-Moriya does not explicitly disclose wherein while the application unit is operated in the distributed operation mode with respect to the predetermined application function, the second communication signals are sent directly to one or more of the target network nodes [as a wireless broadcast or a wireless groupcast signal with a predetermined maximum number of allowed hops] (Paragraph [0038] of Deng discloses if operation-mode-configuration module 206 determines that wireless receiver 202 have not receive the heartbeat signals for a predetermined duration, operation-mode-configuration module 206 can then determine that universal light switch is coupled to a conventional light bulb or that the home-automation controller is malfunctioning. In both scenarios, operation-mode-configuration module 206 places universal light switch 200 in the dimmer mode, thus allowing universal light switch 200 to directly control a conventional light bulb or a smart light bulb that has lost control. Such a direct control is often implemented through adjusting the current and/or voltage applied to a light socket, within which the light bulb is placed).
Deng-Smith-Moriya does not explicitly disclose as a wireless broadcast or a wireless groupcast signal with a predetermined maximum number of allowed hops.
However, Sakai discloses this. Paragraph [0039] of Sakai discloses a broadcast message is transmitted to the ad-hoc network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the connection changing system as disclosed by Deng, with broadcasting as disclosed by Sakai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Deng and Sakai are directed toward connection changing systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Direct messaging and broadcasting are well known alternatives of each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499