DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on October 09, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 15, and 17, are currently pending, with Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 15, and 17 being amended, and Claims 2, 4, 8-14, and 16 being canceled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed October 09, 2025, the Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections, withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, and withdraws previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the limitation of maintaining the battery temperature to a maximum temperature (see page 9-10 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Hettrich teaches that the battery is pre-heated to its maximum power capacity, and that the battery operates at a given percentage. Hettrich teaches that the system will compare the actual drive parameters, and battery power used with the predicted values and refine its measurements so that the vehicle can pre-heat its battery to the optimum temperature for an expected or normal trip (see at least Paragraphs [0041], [0089], [0093]-[0094], [0157] of Hettrich). As such, Hettrich teaches the features of the limitation, as currently written, and the Examiner is unpersuaded.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually (see Page 11 of instant arguments), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Hettrich teaches that the vehicle determines an optimum or maximum temperature at which to pre-heat the vehicle. The Office action does not use Hettrich to teach the entering of a sleep mode based on a battery status. Zhu teaches that the vehicle enters a sleep mode when the battery is determined to be above or below a threshold, and the system determines when to awake the vehicle to check the battery status. (see at least Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], Figures 3-4 of Zhu). Zhu explicitly teaches that the determination when to wake the vehicle is based on the battery temperature above or below a designated threshold (see at least Paragraphs [0041], [0047] of Zhu). As such, Hettrich, in view of Zhu, teaches a method for determining when to preheat a battery and to what temperature and power level, and putting the vehicle into a sleep mode and regularly checking the temperature of the battery to determine if a pre-heat cycle needs to be conducted. As such, the Hettrich in view of Zhu, teaches the features of the claims as currently written, and the Examiner maintains the corresponding rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addresses above and/or below and are unpersuasive for essentially the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0305294 A1, to Hettrich, et al (hereinafter referred to as Hettrich), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0274705 A1, to Zhu, et al (hereinafter referred to as Zhu).
As per Claim 1, Hettrich discloses the features of a method for heat preservation of a battery of a vehicle by feeding electric power (e.g. Paragraph [0006]; where the system predictively pre-warms a vehicle battery),
implemented by a computer device (e.g. Paragraph [0094; where the system may include a computer/processor associated with a battery), the method comprising:
determining an expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0052], [0134]; Figure 1B; where the system predicts the likelihood of driving at a particular time (e.g., an expected start time), and also determines the power required for an expected drive at the particular time (i.e. usage))
after charging of the battery of the vehicle has been completed (e.g. Paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0089]; where it is determined whether or not the vehicle is plugged in to an external source (i.e. charging), and when the vehicle is not plugged in (i.e. not charging), the system determines a time at which the vehicle is expected to start being driven, determines a probability threshold of the confidence level that the vehicle will be driven at the certain time, and the battery is pre-heated; and where the vehicle may log all driving history and use such history to determine the probability that the vehicle will be driven at a particular time, based on if the vehicle is expected to require low or high power for driving, such as for an upcoming driving to include driving on a highway) and an
expected activation time of a function of heating (e.g. Paragraph [0052]; Figure 1B; where the system predicts the likelihood of driving at a particular time (e.g., an expected start time), and the system further determines the power required for an expected drive at the particular time (i.e. usage), and the pre-heating lead time, and if the likelihood of driving meets or exceeds the probability threshold, a decision to pre-heat is made) by
feeding electric power for heating the battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0053]-[0055]; Figures 1B, 4; where the battery may heat itself internally by discharging stored energy to another sink of electrical energy, or may provide external power to a heating element), wherein
the expected activation time is prior to the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraph [0092]; Figure 6A; where the system determines the lead time for achieving the optimal degree of pre-heating/ the optimal power level before the predicted time of the upcoming drive); and
controlling, when the expected activation time is reached, the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power to heat the battery according to a current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0105], [0127]; where the vehicle will send a control signal to the battery system so that pre-heating occurs to pre-warm a battery to a desired temperature at the desired time) in order that
the current temperature of the battery reaches a safety temperature upper threshold, or stopping heating the battery when the expected vehicle usage time is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0076], [0151], [0155]; Figure 3B, 6A; where the system determines the minimum safe power level and probability thresholds for safe driving prior to driving); wherein
the safety temperature upper threshold is configured as a maximum temperature value at which a normal performance of the battery is maintained (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0157]; where the battery is pre-heated to its maximum power, and operating at 100%), wherein the controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power according to the current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time comprises:
detecting whether the current temperature of the battery is below a safety temperature lower threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting); and
controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power to heat the battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting) when
a detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is below the safety temperature lower threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting), and
stopping the heating of the battery when the current temperature of the battery reaches the safety temperature upper threshold or the expected vehicle usage time is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0063], [0107]; where the system, determines whether to heat to the pre-heating end temperature, and the system ceases pre-heating when the probability threshold is raised above the confidence level);
wherein the safety temperature lower threshold is configured as a minimum temperature value at which the normal performance of the battery is maintained (e.g. Paragraphs [0042], [0151]; where the minimum power level required for safe driving is determined).
Hettrich fails to disclose every feature of wherein the expected vehicle usage time comprises: controlling the vehicle to enter a sleep mode when one of following conditions is met, wherein the conditions comprises: the detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is equal to or higher than the safety temperature lower threshold when the current temperature of the battery has reached the safety temperature upper threshold by heating and the expected vehicle usage time is not reached; wherein the sleep mode is configured to enable electric equipment of the vehicle to be in a power-down sleep state; and waking the vehicle that enters the sleep mode from the sleep mode when the expected vehicle usage time is reached.
However, Zhu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein the expected vehicle usage time comprises: controlling the vehicle to enter a sleep mode.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the heater controller enters a sleep or suspend mode in response to determining the key-off condition (i.e. the vehicle is in a powered down state) (e.g. Paragraph [0012], [0016]; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of using a sleep mode in the system of Zhu, in order to prevent over-heating of the vehicle battery when it is not operating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0013] of Zhu).
Zhu further teaches the features of when one of following conditions is met, wherein the conditions comprises: the detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is equal to or higher than the safety temperature lower threshold when the current temperature of the battery has reached the safety temperature upper threshold by heating and the expected vehicle usage time is not reached.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the battery temperature is determined to be greater than a threshold, the heater is turned on; and where the battery temperature is determined to be greater than a threshold, and the time since key-off is less than a threshold (i.e. usage time is not reached), the heater is not turned on (e.g. Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of using a detecting if the battery level is above or below a threshold, in the system of Zhu, in order to prevent over-heating of the vehicle battery when it is not operating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0013] of Zhu).
Zhu further teaches the features of wherein the sleep mode is configured to enable electric equipment of the vehicle to be in a power-down sleep state; and waking the vehicle that enters the sleep mode from the sleep mode when the expected vehicle usage time is reached.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the sleeping controller can be placed into an active mode to determine whether the battery needs to be heated; and where the controller is woken up from the suspend mode condition to place it in the active mode after a predetermined period of time after a shutdown condition (e.g. Paragraph [0012]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of awakening the vehicle battery, in the system of Zhu, in order to determine when the vehicle battery needs heating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0016] of Zhu).
As per Claim 15, and similarly for Claim 17, Hettrich discloses the features of a computer device (e.g. Paragraph [0094; where the system may include a computer/processor associated with a battery), comprising:
one or more of a plurality of processors; and a memory which stores a computer readable code (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0164]; Figure 9; where the user’s driving history may be stored on a memory device on the vehicle, or may be stored in a cloud, remote server, or a computer, including a smart phone or other portable device, remotely associated with, or wired, to a battery; and where the controller includes control logic, which may be implemented using a processor with instructions stored in the memory for executing program code), that, when executed by the one or plurality of processors, causes the one or plurality of processors to perform method steps of a method for heat preservation of a battery of a vehicle by feeding electric power, comprising:
obtaining an expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0052], [0134]; Figure 1B; where the system predicts the likelihood of driving at a particular time (e.g., an expected start time), and also determines the power required for an expected drive at the particular time (i.e. usage))
after charging of the battery of the vehicle has been completed (e.g. Paragraph [0062]-[0064], [0089]; where it is determined whether or not the vehicle is plugged in to an external source (i.e. charging), and when the vehicle is not plugged in (i.e. not charging), the system determines a time at which the vehicle is expected to start being driven, determines a probability threshold of the confidence level that the vehicle will be driven at the certain time, and the battery is pre-heated; and where the vehicle may log all driving history and use such history to determine the probability that the vehicle will be driven at a particular time, based on if the vehicle is expected to require low or high power for driving, such as for an upcoming driving to include driving on a highway) and an
expected activation time of a function of heating (e.g. Paragraph [0052]; Figure 1B; where the system predicts the likelihood of driving at a particular time (e.g., an expected start time), and the system further determines the power required for an expected drive at the particular time (i.e. usage), and the pre-heating lead time, and if the likelihood of driving meets or exceeds the probability threshold, a decision to pre-heat is made) by
feeding electric power for heating the battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0053]-[0055]; Figures 1B, 4; where the battery may heat itself internally by discharging stored energy to another sink of electrical energy, or may provide external power to a heating element), wherein
the expected activation time is prior to the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraph [0092]; Figure 6A; where the system determines the lead time for achieving the optimal degree of pre-heating/ the optimal power level before the predicted time of the upcoming drive); and
controlling, when the expected activation time is reached, the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power to heat the battery according to a current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0105], [0127]; where the vehicle will send a control signal to the battery system so that pre-heating occurs to pre-warm a battery to a desired temperature at the desired time) in order that
the current temperature of the battery reaches a safety temperature upper threshold, or stopping heating the battery when the expected vehicle usage time is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0076], [0151], [0155]; Figure 3B, 6A; where the system determines the minimum safe power level and probability thresholds for safe driving prior to driving); wherein
the safety temperature upper threshold is configured as a maximum temperature value at which a normal performance of the battery is maintained (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0157]; where the battery is pre-heated to its maximum power, and operating at 100%);
wherein the controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power according to the current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time comprises:
detecting whether the current temperature of the battery is below a safety temperature lower threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting); and
controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power to heat the battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting) when
a detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is below the safety temperature lower threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0115], [0125]-[0126], [0128]; where the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting), and
stopping the heating of the battery when the current temperature of the battery reaches the safety temperature upper threshold or the expected vehicle usage time is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0063], [0107]; where the system, determines whether to heat, the pre-heating end temperature, and the system ceases pre-heating when the probability threshold is raised above the confidence level);
wherein the safety temperature lower threshold is configured as a minimum temperature value at which the normal performance of the battery is maintained (e.g. Paragraphs [0042], [0151]; where the minimum power level required for safe driving is determined).
Hettrich fails to disclose every feature of wherein the controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power according to the current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time comprises: controlling the vehicle to enter a sleep mode when one of following conditions is met, wherein the conditions comprises: the detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is equal to or higher than the safety temperature lower threshold; when the current temperature of the battery has reached the safety temperature upper threshold by heating and the expected vehicle usage time is not reached; wherein the sleep mode is configured to enable electric equipment of the vehicle to be in a power-down sleep state; and waking the vehicle that enters the sleep mode from the sleep mode when the expected vehicle usage time is reached.
However, Zhu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein the controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power according to the current temperature of the battery and the expected vehicle usage time comprises: controlling the vehicle to enter a sleep mode when one of following conditions is met.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the heater controller enters a sleep or suspend mode in response to determine the key-off condition (i.e. the vehicle is in a powered down state) (e.g. Paragraph [0012], [0016]; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of using a sleep mode in the system of Zhu, in order to prevent over-heating of the vehicle battery when it is not operating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0013] of Zhu).
Zhu further teaches the features of when one of following conditions is met, wherein the conditions comprises: the detection result indicates that the current temperature of the battery is equal to or higher than the safety temperature lower threshold; when the current temperature of the battery has reached the safety temperature upper threshold by heating and the expected vehicle usage time is not reached.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the battery temperature is determined to be greater than a threshold, the heater is turned on; and where the battery temperature is determined to be greater than a threshold, and the time since key-off is less than a threshold (i.e. usage time is not reached), the heater is not turned on (e.g. Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of using a detecting if the battery level is above or below a threshold, in the system of Zhu, in order to prevent over-heating of the vehicle battery when it is not operating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0013] of Zhu).
Zhu further teaches the features of wherein the sleep mode is configured to enable electric equipment of the vehicle to be in a power-down sleep state; and waking the vehicle that enters the sleep mode from the sleep mode when the expected vehicle usage time is reached.
Zhu teaches a method for vehicle battery temperature control, where the sleeping controller can be placed into an active mode to determine whether the battery needs to be heated; and where the controller is woken up from the suspend mode condition to place it in the active mode after a predetermined period of time after a shutdown condition (e.g. Paragraph [0012]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the battery thermal management system of Hettrich, with the feature of awakening the vehicle battery, in the system of Zhu, in order to determine when the vehicle battery needs heating (e.g. see at least Paragraph [0016] of Zhu).
As per Claim 3, Hettrich, in view of Zhu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Hettrich further discloses the features of wherein the controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power to heat the battery comprises: controlling the vehicle to get electric energy from a power grid to heat the battery in response to an activation of the function of heating by feeding electric power (e.g. Paragraphs [0057], [0062], [0107]; where the system determines grid connection status, and determines whether or not the vehicle is plugged into an external power source to provide energy to heat the battery).
As per Claim 5, Hettrich, in view of Zhu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Hettrich further discloses the features of wherein after the controlling the vehicle to enter the sleep mode, the method for heat preservation of the battery of the vehicle by feeding electric power further comprises:
continuing to detect whether the current temperature of the battery is below the safety temperature lower threshold when a preset continuous detection time is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0092], [0158]; where the data can be continuously updated, and the battery system may continuously monitor the drive that is actually occurring, compare it to the predicted drive, and make updated heating decisions based on the information), wherein
the preset continuous detection time is set to be between the expected activation time and the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraph [0207]; where the confidence level is compared to the probability threshold, and the probability threshold is dynamically determined, and if the confidence level that a drive will occur at a particular time exceeds the probability threshold, a decision to pre-warm is made); and
controlling the vehicle to activate the function of heating by feeding electric power, if a continuous detection result is indicates that the current temperature of the battery is below the safety lower temperature threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0207]; where the confidence level is compared to the probability threshold, and the probability threshold is dynamically determined, and if the confidence level that a drive will occur at a particular time exceeds the probability threshold (i.e. is positively determined), a decision to pre-warm is made).
As per Claim 6, Hettrich, in view of Zhu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Hettrich further discloses the features of wherein
the battery comprises a fuel cell and a power battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0057], [0059], [0120]; where the system can be applied to battery cells, batteries, battery packs; and where the battery is heated by energy sourced from another energy storage system such as an additional battery (i.e. power battery)), and the method for heat preservation of the battery of the vehicle by feeding electric power further comprising:
obtaining a positive detection result when a current temperature of one of the fuel cell and power battery is below the safety temperature lower threshold, or obtaining a negative detection result when the current temperature of one of the fuel cell and the power battery is higher than the safety temperature lower threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0125]-[0126], [0128], [0207]; where the system, determines whether to heat to the pre-heating end temperature, and the battery is pre-heated when the battery falls below a predetermined temperature setting (i.e. is positively determined) and the system ceases pre-heating when the probability threshold is raised above the confidence level).
As per Claim 7, Hettrich, in view of Zhu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Hettrich further discloses the features of wherein the obtaining the expected vehicle usage time and the expected activation time of the function of heating by feeding electric power for heating the battery after the charging operation for the battery of the vehicle has been completed comprises:
determining the expected vehicle usage time corresponding to a current vehicle usage condition (e.g. Paragraph [0073]-[0074], [0078]-[0079]; Figure 2; where current inputs such as current traffic and weather data, and calendar data, as well as current temperature of the battery, the battery state of charge, the current location of the user or vehicle are input to determine the likelihood for heating the battery; and where the system may take into account)
according to a historical vehicle usage data of a user (e.g. Paragraphs [0134]-[0135]; Figures 2, 5A-B; where historical data of driving is used to determine the likelihood the vehicle will be driven at a certain time), wherein
the historical vehicle usage data comprises a corresponding relationship between a vehicle usage condition and a historical vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0134]-[0135]; Figure 2, 5A-B; where historical data of driving is used to determine the likelihood the vehicle will be driven at a certain time), and
the vehicle usage condition comprises at least one from a group consisting of driving behavior data, driving demand data, vehicle usage area data, and vehicle usage environment data (e.g. Paragraphs [0104], [0127]-[0128]; Figures 5A-F; 7; where the usage data includes determining the confidence level for pre-warming the battery based on driving history, distance, time of day, day of week, and current traffic and weather conditions); and
determining the expected activation time of the function of heating by feeding electric power according to a current ambient temperature and the expected vehicle usage time (e.g. Paragraphs [0105]; Figures 3A-B, 4; where a control signal may be sent to begin pre-heating the battery, based on the expected started time for the vehicle).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Clark, et al (U.S. 2014/0129063 A1), which teaches a method for adapting an energy storage system based on historical usage for a vehicle battery.
Gao, et al (U.S. 2014/0012447 A1), which teaches a thermal management of a vehicle battery while charging based on a preset upper and lower temperature threshold.
Kohn (U.S. 2010/0134073 A1), which teaches a method for determining and optimizing battery charging based on usage.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT E LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666