Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al (USPGPUB 2014/0071934) in view of SAYANA et. al. (USPGPUB 20130308572; cited by Applicant on November 11, 2022.)
Regarding claim 1 and 19, Frenne disclose method for configuring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see abstract, para: 0013, 0015-0018, 0020, 0034, decoding/configuration of PDCCH), comprising:
determining a subset of aggregation levels from a first set of aggregation levels (see abstract, para: 0138-0140, subset from set of aggregation levels); and
transmitting configuration information of the subset of aggregation levels to a user equipment (UE) (see para: 0053, communicate subset data associated with aggregation levels.)
In addition, Frenne further disclose a memory, a processor; and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor (see figs. 0029, 0030; para: 0149-0151.)
Although Frenne is not clear on teaching wherein the first set of aggregation levels is a complete set of aggregation levels configured for a first-type UE, a second set of aggregation levels is a complete set aggregation levels configured for a second-type UE; and aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels are not the same or not completely the same as aggregation levels in the second set of aggregation levels, in analogous art, SAYANA disclose wherein the first set of aggregation levels is a complete set of aggregation levels configured for a first-type UE, (see para: 0185, 0186, non-MTC type mapped to {1, 2, 4, 8}, and a second set of aggregation levels (see para: 0185, 0186, MTC type mapped to higher aggregation levels mapped to {eg. 1, 2, 4, 8…16} is a complete set aggregation levels configured for a second-type UE (see Fig. 4A, para: 0105-0186); and aggregation levels in the first set of
aggregation levels are not the same or not completely the same as aggregation levels in the second set of aggregation levels (see para: 0185, 0186.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein the first set of aggregation levels is a complete set of aggregation levels configured for a first-type UE, a second set of aggregation levels is a complete set aggregation levels configured for a second-type UE; and aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels are not the same or not completely the same as aggregation levels in the second set of aggregation levels as taught by SAYANA with the teachings of Frenne for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE specific type devices.
Regarding claim 2, Although Frenne is not clear on teaching wherein a number of aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels is greater than a number of aggregation levels in the second set of number of aggregation levels and fixed aggregation level design or a second fixed aggregation level design, in analogous art, SAYANA further disclose wherein a number of aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels is greater (see para: 0185, current/first greater number aggregation levels of (1, 2, 4 & 8) than a number of aggregation levels in the second set of number of aggregation levels (see para: 0185, 0186, higher/second set of number of aggregation (e.g., 16)) and fixed aggregation level design (e.g. level 8) or a second fixed aggregation level design (e.g. (4, 8), such as higher/second set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein a number of aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels is greater than a number of aggregation levels in the second set of number of aggregation levels and fixed aggregation level design or a second fixed aggregation level design as taught by SAYANA with the teachings of Frenne for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE specific type devices.
Regarding claim 3, Frenne is not clear on wherein the second set of aggregation levels is a subset of the first set of aggregation levels.
However, SAYANA further disclose wherein the second set of aggregation levels is a subset of the first set of aggregation levels (see para: 0185-0187, two sets of aggregation levels, whereby one aggregation config. is of {4, 8} and another aggregation config. is of {8}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein the second set of aggregation levels is a subset of the first set of aggregation levels as taught by SAYANA with the teachings of Frenne for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE specific type devices.
Regarding claim 4, Frenne further disclose wherein a maximum aggregation level in the first set of aggregation levels is greater than a maximum aggregation level in the second set of aggregation levels (see para: 0029-0032, 0131.)
Regarding claim 5, Frenne further disclose wherein the first set of aggregation levels comprises at least one aggregation level that is different from any aggregation level in the second set of aggregation levels, and the different aggregation level is less than a maximum aggregation level in the second set of aggregation levels (see para; 0029-0033, 0131)
Regarding claim 7, Frenne further disclose the method further comprising:
determining that the UE is the first-type UE (see para: 0015, first type UE-specific.)
Regarding claim 8, Frenne further disclose wherein the first set of aggregation levels is configured for a user-specific search space of the first-type UE (see para: 0015, 0019-0022, UE-specific search space configured for first type UE.)
Regarding claim 9, Frenne further disclose wherein the first set of aggregation levels comprises at least one aggregation level that is different from any aggregation level in the second set of aggregation levels (see para: 0140, first set AL different from second set AL);
wherein, the different aggregation level is configured for the user-specific search space of the first-type UE, and/or the different aggregation level is configured for a designated common search space used by the first-type UE (see para: 0015, 0019-0022, first-type UE utilize common search space.)
Regarding claim 11, Frenne further disclose wherein a capability of the first-type UE is different from a capability of the second-type UE;
and/or, the first-type UE and the second-type UE have different network requirements (see para: 0015-0018, 0029, 0079-0083.)
Regarding claim 12, although Frenne fail to teach wherein a maximum aggregation level in the first set of aggregation levels is a power of 2, where n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 5, in analogous art, SAYANA disclose wherein a maximum aggregation level in the first set of aggregation levels is a power of 2, where n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 5 (see abstract, table 8, fig. 5, para: 0016-0018.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein a maximum aggregation level in the first set of aggregation levels is a power of 2, where n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 5 with the teachings of Frenne for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE specific type devices.
Regarding claim 13, Frenne fail to teach wherein aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels are selected from the following (see para: 0185, {1, 2, 4, 8, 16}), in analogous art, SAYANA disclose wherein aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels are selected from the following (see para: 0185, {1, 2, 4, 8, 16}.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein a maximum aggregation level in the first set of aggregation levels is a power of 2, where n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 5 with the teachings of Frenne for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE specific type devices
Regarding claim 14, Frenne further disclose method for configuring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see para: , comprising:
receiving configuration information of a subset of aggregation levels from a base station (see abstract, para: 0013, 0015-0018, 0020, 0034, decoding/configuration of PDCCH);
wherein, the subset of aggregation levels is determined by the base station from a first set of aggregation levels (see para: 0015-0016, 0153);
the first set of aggregation levels is a complete set of aggregation levels configured for a first-type user equipment (UE) (see para: 0038, 0043, 0045); a second set of aggregation levels is a complete set of aggregation levels configured for a second-type UE (see para: 0038, 0043, 0045); and aggregation levels in the first set of aggregation levels are not the same or not completely the same as aggregation levels in the second set of aggregation levels (see para: 0015-0018, 0029, 0079-0083.)
Claim(s) 6, 15, 16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al (USPGPUB 2014/0071934) in view of SAYANA et. al. (USPGPUB 20130308572) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of DOU (USPGPUB 20200076554.)
Regarding claim 6, Frenne and SAYANA fail to teach wherein the first set of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level, and the first target aggregation level is determined based on a number of resources in a control resource set of the UE, in analogous art, DOU disclose wherein the first set of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level (see fig. 2 & 4, Para: 0123, 0127, 0194, first DCI is target DCI and target DCI is a target aggregation level), and the first target aggregation level is determined based on a number of resources in a control resource set of the UE (see para: 0140-0142, 0145, target AL based on number of resources in a control resource set of a UE/terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein the first set of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level, and the first target aggregation level is determined based on a number of resources in a control resource set of the UE as taught by DOU with the combined teachings of Frenne and SAYANA for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE devices.
Regarding claim 15, Frenne and SAYANA fail to disclose wherein the subset of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level, and the first target aggregation level is determined by:
obtaining configuration information of a control resource set;
determining a first aggregation level supported by the UE based on the configuration information of the control resource set;
determining a second aggregation level; and
using a smaller one of the first aggregation level and the second aggregation level as the first target aggregation level, in analogous art, DUO disclose
subset of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level, and the first target aggregation level is determined by (see para: 007)
obtaining configuration information of a control resource set (see para: 0130-0132);
determining a first aggregation level supported by the UE based on the configuration information of the control resource set (see para: 0018-00220;
determining a second aggregation level (see para: 070); and
using a smaller one of the first aggregation level and the second aggregation level as the first target aggregation level (see para: 0143-0146, 0150, using smaller aggregation level.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement wherein the subset of aggregation levels comprises a first target aggregation level, and the first target aggregation level is determined by:
obtaining configuration information of a control resource set;
determining a first aggregation level supported by the UE based on the configuration information of the control resource set;
determining a second aggregation level; and
using a smaller one of the first aggregation level and the second aggregation level as the first target aggregation level as taught by DOU with the combined teachings of
Frenne and SAYANA for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE devices.
Regarding claim 16, SAYANA further disclose wherein determining the second aggregation level comprises:
receiving indication information from the base station, and determining the second aggregation level according to the indication information (see para: 0012-0017, 0020-0023.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement receiving indication information from the base station, and determining the second aggregation level according to the indication information as taught by DOU with the combined teachings of Frenne and SAYANA for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE devices.
Regarding claim 20, Frenne further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method for configuring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) as claimed in claim 1 is performed (see para: 0016, 0018, 0021, 0025 & 0034, PDCCH decoding/configuration.)
Regarding claim 21, Frenne further disclose wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to:
determine that the UE is the first-type UE (see para: 0015, first-type UE).
Claim 10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al (USPGPUB 2014/0071934) in view of SAYANA et. al. (USPGPUB 20130308572) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of DOU (USPGPUB 20200076554) and Yi et al (USPGPUB 2021/0144582.)
Regarding claim 10 and 22, FRENNE, SAYANA and DOU fail to teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to:
configure a subcarrier spacing used by a downlink control channel of the UE;
wherein, the subcarrier spacing used by the downlink control channel is less than a first specified threshold;
and/or, a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols occupied by a downlink control resource set is greater than a second specified threshold;
and/or, a bandwidth occupied by the downlink control resource set is greater than a third specified threshold, in analogous art, Yi et al teach configure a subcarrier spacing used by a downlink control channel of the UE (see fig. 14a, 14b, para: subcarrier spacing w/r a PDCCH received by a UE);
a bandwidth occupied by the downlink control resource set is greater than a third specified threshold (see para: 0256, BW occupied by DL resource set greater than third threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the
time of the invention to implement configure a subcarrier spacing used by a downlink control channel of the UE; wherein, the subcarrier spacing used by the downlink control channel is less than a first specified threshold; and/or, a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols occupied by a downlink control resource set is greater than a second specified threshold; and/or, a bandwidth occupied by the downlink control resource set is greater than a third specified threshold as taught by Yi with the combined teachings of Frenne, SAYANA and DOU for the purpose of enhancing service coverage that the PDCCH can reach with respect to UE devices.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Prenell P. Jones whose telephone number is 571 -272-
3180. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00-5:30.
supervisor Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571 -272-3904. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR
only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Prenell P. Jones
/Prenell P Jones/
Examiner, Art Unit 2467
June 5, 2025
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467