DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 of U.S. Application No. 17/918,235 filed on 10/11/2022 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 07/02/2024.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 09/30/2024. Claims 1 and 3-5 were amended and claim 6 was newly added. Claims 1-6 were examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 01/15/2025.
Applicant filed an RCE on 04/11/2025. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-6 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 07/30/2025.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 10/30/2025. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-6 were examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 12/05/2025.
Applicant filed an RCE on 03/05/2026. Claim 1 was amended. Claims3 and 4 were cancelled. Claims 1-2, 5-6 are presently pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: applicant’s arguments filed on 03/05/2026 with respect to NARA (JP2019108693A) in view of Elie et al. (US 10008069 B2) and Akbarian et al. (US20200018111A1), have been fully considered they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues that the Nara reference teaches only a single solitary detector 12 included in the door control device 10. The Examiner improperly conflates the door control device with a second detector. Nara does not teach or suggest two detectors positioned on the same side of the vehicle body and spaced apart by a gap along the longitudinal direction, as a single detector cannot be spaced apart from itself.
The Examiner disagrees. The Nara reference discloses that “the door control device 10 includes the single, solitary detector 12” and “detects the movement determined by the user outside the rear side door 5 … to detect the movement of the door 5” (Nara, Abstract and paragraph [0011]). This teaching is combined with Akbarian, which teaches “a plurality of transducers 114 arranged in a rocker panel of vehicle 22 so as to be spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body 22, as shown in Figs. 26A and 26B” (Akbarian, Figs. 26A and 26B; paragraphs [0054] and [0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Nara’s door control system by incorporating Akbarian’s spaced transducer arrangement to enable distinct detection zones for front and rear doors on the same vehicle side. The combination teaches the claimed first and second detectors spaced apart by a gap.
Applicant Argues that There is no reason or hint in Nara to modify it with Akbarian’s transducers, as Akbarian only teaches obstacle detection (e.g., detecting a curb in the path of the front door), a function already performed by Nara’s single detector 12. Thus, there is no motivation to add a second detector spaced apart by a gap.
This argument is not persuasive. Akbarian expressly teaches that the transducers 114 can be used “to detect objects (e.g., the curb) in the path of the front door (e.g., swing door 46)” (Akbarian, paragraphs [0054] and [0086]). When this teaching is combined with Nara’s movement-based door activation using detector 12, the spaced-apart arrangement provides the motivation for improved detection coverage and zone differentiation along the same side of the vehicle. One of ordinary skill would have recognized the benefit of applying Akbarian’s multi-transducer setup to Nara to support selective control of multiple doors without conflating sensor functions. The combination yields predictable results and does not require Nara alone to suggest multiple detectors.
Applicant Argues that Amended claim 1 now incorporates the subject matter of previous claims 3 and 4, reciting that each detection range has a start zone 18 and a trigger zone 19 (trigger zone closer to the vehicle), a predetermined two-stage movement (start zone → trigger zone → return to start zone), and a control unit that determines which processing to execute depending on which start zone (of the first or second detection range) the moving object is present in.
The rejection is maintained. The Nara reference teaches “movement of a foot from a start zone to a trigger zone (M1–M3)” using its detector. Combined with Akbarian’s “plurality of transducers 114 arranged in a rocker panel … so as to be spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body 22” (Akbarian, Figs. 26A and 26B; paragraphs [0054] and [0086]), which creates distinct detection ranges, and Elie’s selective control based on user intent, the prior art teaches or suggests the claimed start zones, trigger zones, two-stage movement (Ma1 to Mc1 and Ma2 to Mc2), and control unit logic that selects processing depending on the initiating start zone. The spaced transducers supply the structural basis for distinguishing the “start zone 18 of the first detection range 16A” and the “start zone 18 of the second detection range 16B.”
Applicant Argues that Neither Nara, Akbarian, nor Elie teaches or suggests (1) two spaced detectors on the same side, (2) a control unit that determines from which start zone the movement was initiated, or (3) selective opening/closing of the front or rear door based on that determination. Akbarian provides only obstacle detection with no gesture recognition or door selection logic. Elie’s camera-based image recognition is technically distinct and does not supply the missing elements.
The arguments are not persuasive. The combination of Nara (which teaches movement-based door activation with start-to-trigger movement), Akbarian (which teaches “a plurality of transducers 114 … spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body 22” for door-path detection; paragraphs [0054] and [0086]), and Elie (camera-based intent recognition for selective door control) renders the claimed invention obvious. The spaced transducers inherently support distinct detection ranges and start zones on the same vehicle side. One of ordinary skill would apply Nara’s multi-stage movement detection across these zones and implement control logic—supported by Elie—to “select and drive at least one of the first driver and the second driver to open and close a corresponding one of the front side door and the rear side door based on the determination of in which one of the start zone of the first detection range and the second detection range the moving object was present.” The references are combinable because they all relate to vehicle door control systems, and the combination does not teach away from the claimed features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NARA (JP2019108693A) in view of Elie et al. (US 10008069 B2) and Dhull et al. (US 20190139411 A1), hereinafter referred to as NARA, Elie and Dhull respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Nara discloses A door opening and closing apparatus for driving a front side door and a rear side door located on a same side of a vehicle body, the door opening and closing apparatus comprising:
a first driver configured to open and close a front side door(“The front door drive unit 21B drives the front door 5B” [Pg. 4 Paragraph 17]);
a second driver configured to open and close a rear side door (“As shown in FIG. 2, the door control device 10 detects the movement determined by the user outside the rear side door 5 (hereinafter simply referred to as a door) of the vehicle 1 to detect the movement of the door 5. It controls the door drive unit 21 which is an electric device.” [Pg.2 Paragraph 5]);
a first detector configured to repeatedly detect a distance to a first detection object including a moving object present in a first detection range, the first detection range being set on a side of a vehicle body(“As shown in FIG. 7, the rear LED 23A for the rear door 5A is driven by the detection sensor 12 detecting a user located in the first operation section 18. The front LED 23B for the front door 5B is driven by the detection sensor 12 detecting a user located in the second operation section 19. The rear LED 23A is disposed on the vehicle body 2 so as to be located below the rear door 5A, and the front LED 23B is disposed on the vehicle body 2 so as to be located below the front door 5B.” [Pg. 4 Paragraph 18]);
a second detector configured to repeatedly detect a distance to a second detection object including the moving object present in a second detection range, the second detection range being set on the same side of the vehicle body on a front side of the first detection range(“As shown in FIG. 2, the door control device 10 detects the movement determined by the user outside the rear side door 5 (hereinafter simply referred to as a door) of the vehicle 1 to detect the movement of the door 5.” [Pg.2 Paragraph 5]);
wherein the control unit is further configured to, based on the detection result of the first detector and the detection result of the second detector, determine from which one of a rear, a front, and the side of the vehicle body the moving object is approaching, and according to a result of the determination, execute one of first processing of driving only the first driver by setting the first detection range of the first detector as a detection section, second processing of driving only the second driver, and third processing of driving both of the first driver and the second driver by setting an overlapping area of the first detection range of the first detector and the second detection range of the second detector as the detection section, (“The movement of the user determined by the determination unit 30 includes the movement between the trigger section 18 and the start section 19. That is, a first operation M1 in which the user inserts his or her foot into the start section 19, a second operation M2 in which the user moves the foot from the start section 19 to the trigger section 18, and a third operation M3 in which the user releases the foot from the trigger section 18 include. Note that the movement for controlling the door 5 is not limited to this, and an operation of stopping for a predetermined time between the operations M1 to M3 or an operation of inserting and removing the legs into and from the sections 18 and 19 may be added. It is possible to change accordingly. In addition, the positions of the trigger section 18 and the start section 19 may be reversed, and the operations M1 to M3 for transferring the foot may be changed to operations matched to the sections.” [Pg. 4 Paragraph 3]);
And wherein each of the first detector and the second detector includes: a wave transmitter configured to transmit ultrasonic waves (“an ultrasonic sensor including a transmitter 13 and a receiver 14 is used. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, ultrasonic waves emitted from the transmitter 13 form a detection area 17 which spreads in a substantially conical shape along a defined direction. The reflected wave of the ultrasonic wave transmitted from the transmitter 13 is received by the receiver 14.” [P.2 Para.12]);
and a wave receiver configured to receive the ultrasonic waves transmitted by the wave transmitter after the ultrasonic waves are reflected by the moving object (“an ultrasonic sensor including a transmitter 13 and a receiver 14 is used. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, ultrasonic waves emitted from the transmitter 13 form a detection area 17 which spreads in a substantially conical shape along a defined direction. The reflected wave of the ultrasonic wave transmitted from the transmitter 13 is received by the receiver 14.” [P.2 Para.12]).
wherein the first detection range and the second detection range each have a start zone and a trigger zone, the trigger zone being located closer to the vehicle body than the start zone(“The movement of the user determined by the determination unit 30 includes the movement between the trigger section 18 and the start section 19. That is, a first operation M1 in which the user inserts his or her foot into the start section 19, a second operation M2 in which the user moves the foot from the start section 19 to the trigger section 18, and a third operation M3 in which the user releases the foot from the trigger section 18 include.” [Pg. 4 Paragraph 3]),
and the predetermined movement includes a first stage in which the moving object in the start zone moves to the trigger zone and a second stage in which the moving object in the trigger zone returns to the start zone(“Note that the movement for controlling the door 5 is not limited to this, and an operation of stopping for a predetermined time between the operations M1 to M3 or an operation of inserting and removing the legs into and from the sections 18 and 19 may be added. It is possible to change accordingly. In addition, the positions of the trigger section 18 and the start section 19 may be reversed, and the operations M1 to M3 for transferring the foot may be changed to operations matched to the sections.” [Pg. 4 Paragraph 3]).
wherein the control unit is further configured to determine, in the first stage, which one of the first processing to the third processing is executed depending on which one of the start zone of the first detection range and the start zone of the second detection range the moving object is present in(“ The control unit 27 may divide the detection range 17 into three or more operation sections to detect the movement set by the user. Further, as in the second embodiment, the movement to be defined may be configured by a combination of approach and stop of the foot without dividing the detection range 17 into two or more operation sections. Further, the movement to be determined may be set by combining the change in distance (movement), the stop, the number of movements, and the number of stops as necessary.” [Pg. 5 Paragraph 19]).
NARA does not explicitly teach a control unit configured to, when the moving object is determined based on a detection result of the first detector and a detection result of the second detector to have performed a predetermined movement having a plurality of stages, drive at least one of the first driver and the second driver to open and close a corresponding one of the front side door and the rear side door.
However Elie does teach a control unit configured to, when the moving object is determined based on a detection result of the first detector and a detection result of the second detector to have performed a predetermined movement having a plurality of stages, drive at least one of the first driver and the second driver to open and close a corresponding one of the front side door and the rear side door (“The imaging devices C1-C4 may be arranged in various locations such that each of the fields of view 182 of the imaging devices C1-C4 is configured to capture a significantly different portion of the surrounding environment 186. Each of the imaging devices C1-C4 may comprise any form of device configured to capture image data, for example Charge Coupled Device (CCD) and Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensors. Though four imaging devices are discussed in reference to the present implementation, the number of imaging devices may vary based on the particular operating specifications of the particular imaging devices implemented and the proportions and/or exterior profiles of a particular vehicle and trailer. For example, a large vehicle may require additional imaging devices to capture image data corresponding to a larger surrounding environment. The imaging devices may also vary in viewing angle and range of a field of view corresponding to a particular vehicle.” [Col.12 ln 33-67]). Both NARA and Elie teach methods for detecting objects in the vehicle surrounding. However, only Elie explicitly teaches the moving object is determined based on a detection result of the first detector and a detection result of the second detector to have performed a predetermined movement having a plurality of stages, drive at least one of the first driver and the second driver to open and close a corresponding one of the front side door and the rear side door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object detection method in NARA to also include the moving object is determined based on a detection result of the first detector and a detection result of the second detector to have performed a predetermined movement having a plurality of stages, drive at least one of the first driver and the second driver to open and close a corresponding one of the front side door and the rear side door, as in Elie. Doing so improves vehicle object detection and door control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Elie, Col.12 ln 33-67]).
NARA does not explicitly teach wherein the first detector and the second detector are positioned on the same side of the vehicle body so as to be spaced apart by a gap along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body below the front side door and the rear side door on the same side of the vehicle body, wherein the first detector and the second detector are mounted to face outwardly from the same side of the vehicle body so that each of the first detection range and the second detection range projects outwardly from the same side of the vehicle body and wherein the first detector and the second detector are arranged such that the overlapping area of the first detection range of the first detector and the second detection range of the second detector is centrally located between the front side door and the rear side door, and non- overlapping areas of the first detection range of the first detector and the second detection range of the second detector are respectively positioned in front of and behind the overlapping area.
However Dhull does teach wherein the first detector and the second detector are positioned on the same side of the vehicle body (See FIG. 2 “the vehicle 100 may be operating and one or more of the ranging and imaging system 112, and/or the side-facing sensors 116D, 116E (e.g., RADAR, ultrasonic, camera, combinations thereof, and/or other type of sensor), may detect targets at a side of the vehicle 100.” [0044]) so as to be spaced apart by a gap along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body below the front side door and the rear side door on the same side of the vehicle body (See FIG. 2 “Additionally, or alternatively, the sensors 116A-K of the vehicle 100 may be arranged to create a complete coverage, via one or more sensing zones 208, 216A-D around the vehicle 100. In some areas, the sensing zones 216C of two or more sensors 116D, 116E may intersect at an overlap zone 220.” [0043]),
wherein the first detector and the second detector are mounted to face outwardly from the same side of the vehicle body so that each of the first detection range and the second detection range projects outwardly from the same side of the vehicle body ( See FIG. 2 “multiple sensors 116A-K may be effectively joined to increase a sensing zone and provide increased sensing coverage. For instance, multiple RADAR sensors 116B disposed on the front 110 of the vehicle may be joined to provide a zone 216B of coverage that spans across an entirety of the front 110 of the vehicle. In some cases, the multiple RADAR sensors 116B may cover a detection zone 216B that includes one or more other sensor detection zones 216A. These overlapping detection zones may provide redundant sensing, enhanced sensing, and/or provide greater detail in sensing within a particular portion (e.g., zone 216A) of a larger zone (e.g., zone 216B). Additionally, or alternatively, the sensors 116A-K of the vehicle 100 may be arranged to create a complete coverage, via one or more sensing zones 208, 216A-D around the vehicle 100.” [0054]),
and wherein the first detector and the second detector are arranged such that the overlapping area of the first detection range of the first detector and the second detection range of the second detector is centrally located between the front side door and the rear side door, and non- overlapping areas of the first detection range of the first detector and the second detection range of the second detector are respectively positioned in front of and behind the overlapping area (See FIG. 2 “he sensing zones 216C of two or more sensors 116D, 116E may intersect at an overlap zone 220. In some areas, the angle and/or detection limit of two or more sensing zones 216C, 216D (e.g., of two or more sensors 116E, 116J, 116K) may meet at a virtual intersection point 224.” [0043]). Both NARA and Dhull teach methods for detecting objects in the vehicle surrounding. However, only Dhull explicitly teaches two detectors are positioned on the same side of the vehicle, spaced apart along the length of the vehicle body below the front and rear side doors, both mounted to face outwardly from that side such that their detection ranges project sideways from the vehicle, wherein the overlapping region of the two detection ranges is centrally located between the front side door and the rear side door, and the non-overlapping portions of each detection range extend forward and rearward, respectively, of this central overlapping region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object detection method in NARA to also include two detectors are positioned on the same side of the vehicle, spaced apart along the length of the vehicle body below the front and rear side doors, both mounted to face outwardly from that side such that their detection ranges project sideways from the vehicle, wherein the overlapping region of the two detection ranges is centrally located between the front side door and the rear side door, and the non-overlapping portions of each detection range extend forward and rearward, respectively, of this central overlapping region, as in Dhull with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves vehicle object detection and door control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Dhull, 0054, 0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Nara discloses The door opening and closing apparatus according to claim 1,
NARA does not explicitly teach wherein the first detection range and the second detection range partially overlap with each other when the vehicle body is viewed from above
However Elie does teach wherein the first detection range and the second detection range partially overlap with each other when the vehicle body is viewed from above (“The imaging devices C1-C4 may be arranged in various locations such that each of the fields of view 182 of the imaging devices C1-C4 is configured to capture a significantly different portion of the surrounding environment 186. Each of the imaging devices C1-C4 may comprise any form of device configured to capture image data, for example Charge Coupled Device (CCD) and Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensors. Though four imaging devices are discussed in reference to the present implementation, the number of imaging devices may vary based on the particular operating specifications of the particular imaging devices implemented and the proportions and/or exterior profiles of a particular vehicle and trailer. For example, a large vehicle may require additional imaging devices to capture image data corresponding to a larger surrounding environment. The imaging devices may also vary in viewing angle and range of a field of view corresponding to a particular vehicle.” [Col.12 ln 33-67]). Both NARA and Elie teach methods for detecting objects in the vehicle surrounding. However, only Elie explicitly teaches wherein the first detection range and the second detection range partially overlap with each other when the vehicle body is viewed from above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object detection method in NARA to also include wherein the first detection range and the second detection range partially overlap with each other when the vehicle body is viewed from above, as in Elie. Doing so improves vehicle object detection and door control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Elie, Col.1 ln 14-30]).
Regarding claim 5, Nara discloses The door opening and closing apparatus according to caim1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
determine whether the first detection object is the moving object or a stationary object based on the detection result of the first detector, and determine whether the second detection object is the moving object or the stationary object based on the detection result of the second detector (“The judging unit 30 judges the movement of the object to be detected based on the change of the distance which is the measurement result (the position of the object to be detected) of the measuring unit 29. That is, the determination unit 30 determines whether the object to be detected has moved or stopped based on the difference (change amount) between the current measurement result and the previous measurement result.” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 2]),
and execute the first processing the control unit determines that the first detection object is the moving object and the second detection object is the stationary object, execute the second processing the control unit determines that the second detection object is the moving object and the first detection object is the stationary object, and execute the third processing the control unit determines that both of the first detection object and the second detection object are the moving objects (“ The display driving unit 31 switches the LED 23 to the lighting state, the blinking state, and the extinguishing state. For example, when the determination unit 30 determines that the user has entered the detection range 17 and the key authentication by the comparison unit 25 is established, the display drive unit 31 switches the LED 23 from the off state to the on state. In addition, when the determination unit 30 determines that the user has performed the determined movement, the display drive unit 31 causes the LED 23 to blink. Then, when the open drive or close drive of the door 5 by the door drive unit 21 is completed, the display drive unit 31 turns off the LED 23. As described above, the user can understand the detection state by the detection sensor 12 to improve the operability by the user.” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 3]).
Regarding claim 6, Nara discloses The door opening and closing apparatus according to claim 1,
NARA does not explicitly teach wherein the first detector and the second detector are spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and are mounted on a side of the vehicle body to face outwardly such that the respective first detection range and second detection range extend outwardly from the side of the vehicle body
However Elie does teach wherein the first detector and the second detector are spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and are mounted on a side of the vehicle body to face outwardly such that the respective first detection range and second detection range extend outwardly from the side of the vehicle body (“The imaging devices C1-C4 may be arranged in various locations such that each of the fields of view 182 of the imaging devices C1-C4 is configured to capture a significantly different portion of the surrounding environment 186. Each of the imaging devices C1-C4 may comprise any form of device configured to capture image data, for example Charge Coupled Device (CCD) and Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensors. Though four imaging devices are discussed in reference to the present implementation, the number of imaging devices may vary based on the particular operating specifications of the particular imaging devices implemented and the proportions and/or exterior profiles of a particular vehicle and trailer. For example, a large vehicle may require additional imaging devices to capture image data corresponding to a larger surrounding environment. The imaging devices may also vary in viewing angle and range of a field of view corresponding to a particular vehicle.” [Col.12 ln 33-67]). Both NARA and Elie teach methods for detecting objects in the vehicle surrounding. However, only Elie explicitly teaches wherein the first detector and the second detector are spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and are mounted on a side of the vehicle body to face outwardly such that the respective first detection range and second detection range extend outwardly from the side of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object detection method in NARA to also include wherein the first detector and the second detector are spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and are mounted on a side of the vehicle body to face outwardly such that the respective first detection range and second detection range extend outwardly from the side of the vehicle body, as in Elie. Doing so improves vehicle object detection and door control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Elie, Col.1 ln 14-30]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668