DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1 is amended and claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (WO 2013/100343) in view of Realinho et al. (“Flame retardancy effect of combined ammonium polyphosphate and aluminum diethyl phosphinate in acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene,” Polymer Degradation and Stability, 155: 208-219, 2018). For convenience, the citations below for Song et al. are taken from an English language machine translation included previously.
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7, Song et al. teaches is a flame-retardant thermoplastic resin composition comprising 100 parts by weight of a base resin containing about 10-90% by weight of an aromatic vinyl-based graft copolymer and about 10-90% by weight of an aromatic vinyl copolymer (matrix resin); and about 0.1 to 50 parts by weight of a phosphorus compound as a flame retardant (Page 1, lines 46-49). The aromatic vinyl-based graft copolymer is a graft acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (Page 6, lines 13-14) comprising from 5 to 65% by weight of the butadiene (rubber polymer), 30 to 94% by weight of the styrene (first aromatic vinyl-based monomer unit), and 1 to 20% by weight of the acrylonitrile (the first vinyl cyan-based monomer unit) (Page 2, lines 45-60). The aromatic vinyl copolymer is a styrene-acrylonitrile resin (Page 6, lines 16-17) comprising from 10 to 90% by weight of styrene (second aromatic vinyl-based monomer unit) and 10 to 90% by weight of acrylonitrile (second vinyl cyan-based monomer unit) (Page 3, lines 10-20).
Song et al. does not teach that the composition comprises a phosphorus-based flame-retardant composition comprising 30 to 70% by weight of Mn+(diethylphosphinate)-n, wherein M is a metal having an oxidation number of 2 to 5, and n is an integer of 2 to 5, and 30 to 70% by weight of ammonium polyphosphate. However, Realinho et al. teaches an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene composition comprising a 1:1 ratio of ammonium polyphosphate and diethyl aluminum phosphinate as a flame-retardant composition (Page 208, Introduction; Table 1). Song et al. and Realinho et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, namely that of flame-retardant acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene containing compositions. At the time of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the flame-retardant composition of a 1:1 ratio of ammonium polyphosphate and diethyl aluminum phosphinate, as taught by Realinho et al., as the flame retardant in the composition, as taught by Song et al., and would have been motivated to do so because the phosphorus compound of Song et al. and the phosphorus-based flame-retardant composition of Realinho et al. are art recognized equivalents used for the same purpose as flame retardants in acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene containing compositions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in substituting one for the other. MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 8, Song et al. does not teach that a carbon-based charring agent is a required component of the composition.
Song et al. and Realinho et al. do not explicitly teach that the composition forms char when exposed to flames or fire. The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the references. However, the references teach all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. Moreover, the original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., forming char, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 9, Song et al. and Realinho et al. do not explicitly teach that when the composition is exposed to flames or fire, that the polyphosphate derived from the ammonium polyphosphate and the metal ions derived from the metal diethylphosphinate form metallosupramolecular. The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the references. However, the references teach all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. Moreover, the original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., forming metallosupramolecular, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 10, Song et al. and Realinho et al. do not explicitly teach that the resin composition has a flame-retardant rating of V-1 or higher at a thickness of 1.5 mm according to UL-94 V Test. The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the references. However, the references teach all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. Moreover, the original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., a flame-retardant rating of V-1 or higher at a thickness of 1.5 mm, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 11, Song et al. teaches making molded articles from the resin composition (Page 5, lines 20-22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the flame-retardant mechanism, i.e., the chemical process of how the flame retardancy is achieved, is different in Realinho et al. as compared to the instant invention. Further, since this mechanism is different, one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the claimed invention by combining the teachings of Song et al. and Realinho et al. This argument is unpersuasive. Independent claim 1 is directed to a resin composition comprising a matrix resin, a graft copolymer, and a phosphorus-based flame-retardant composition. If the prior art teaches, or renders obvious, a composition comprising the claimed limitations, then the claim is found to be not novel, or obvious, over that prior art. It is immaterial how the composition provides flame retardancy since the claim is not directed to that process. A composition claim is patentable based on what it is and not any process related thereto. In this case, as stated above, the combination of references teaches the claimed composition. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
As for the showing of superiority of the flame retardancy exhibited by the instant invention, the examples provided are not fully commiserate in scope with the claims and therefore are not proper evidence of any unexpected results. MPEP 716.02.
Correspondence
/ANGELA C SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767