DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
While the Specification provides several examples which are encompassed by claim 1 requirements, the examples do not demonstrate that Applicant has possession for the full scope of claim 1 and its dependents. Claim 1 does not provide any amount of structural limitations for the first host and the second host and only defines those by being different from each other and the triplet energy of the first host is greater than the triplet energy of the second host. For the first dopant and the second dopant, claim 1 only limits the first and second dopant to a range of maximum peak wavelengths and that they are different from each other. Other than a specific set of examples, the Specification is broad regarding any guidance on structures or formulae that would be within the broad scope of the parameters of claim 1. The limited examples described in the written description does not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see MPEP 2163-11-A-3-a-ii).
Claims 2-32 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 1 and thus are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, 11-15, 17-23, 26, 30-32, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volz, et al. Volz, et al. (WO 2018/206138 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 13, 17-18, 26, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device (page 3):
The office interprets to above as an organic electroluminescent device comprising an exciton quenching layer C located between the light-emitting layer B (applicants’ first light emitting layer) and an electron-transport layer D, wherein the exciton quenching layer C comprises at least one emitter Ec and at least 80%by weight of at least one electron transport material ETM.
As the exciton quenching layer C comprises at least one emitter Ec and at least an electron transport material. The electron transport material is viewed as a host material coupled with the emitter to be equivalent to a light emitting layer (applicants’ second light emitting layer).
Light-emitting layer B is viewed as corresponding to applicants’ first light emitting layer containing EB as the first dopant and HB as the first host.
In the Light-emitting layer B the host material HB = CBP (page 38, line 11). The T1 for CBP is 2.95 (see Table 1, page 48).Exciton quenching layer C is viewed as corresponding to applicants’ second light emitting layer containing electron transport material ETMD (second host) (page 6, line 10) and one emitter compound EC (second dopant) (page 6, line 11). The electron transport material ETMD (second host) is represented by NBPhen (page 10, line 19). The T1 for NBPhen is 2.39 (see Table 1, page 48).
The above shows T1 for first host 1CBP in the first light emitting layer is > T1 for the second host ETMD in the second light emitting layer.
The above device can emit across a range of wavelengths based on the desire colors as shown below (pages 43-44):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected a desired emission color which would have included dopants emitting in a desired wavelength range as taught by Volz, et al. which would have included the claimed range, absent unexpected results (per claims 1, 17-19).
The host is present at 5-99% weight (page 33, line 33) (per claims 5).
The device configuration shows Light-emitting layer B (first light emitting layer) on the anode side and Exciton quenching layer C (second light emitting layer) on the cathode side adjacent to Light-emitting layer B (per claims 13 and 26).
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. Light-emitting layer B is viewed as corresponding to applicants’ first light emitting layer containing EB as the first dopant and HB as the first host.
As well known in the art a host transfers energy to a dopant and the dopant emits light, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have viewed the singlet energy S1 of the host as greater than the S1 of the dopant and the triplet energy T1of the host to be greater than the T1 of the dopant to allow energy to be transferred from host to dopant, absent unexpected results (per claims 2 and 9).
Regarding Claims 4, 11, 20-21, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. No metal complex is included (per claims, 11, 20-21).
Regarding Claim 12, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. The dopant of the second light emitting layer (exciton quenching layer C) is present at 2-3 % weight (page 6, line 16) (per claim 12).
Regarding Claims 14-15, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. A hole transport layer is located adjacent to the anode (page 37, line 11). The light emitting layer B is closer to the anode (above sections A and B in device configuration above) (per claim 14).
The electron transport layer is located adjacent to the second light emitting layer (exciton quenching layer C) and the cathode (above sections C and D in device configuration above) (per claim 15).
Regarding Claim 22, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. Light-emitting layer B is viewed as corresponding to applicants’ first light emitting layer with a thickness 5nm to 180nm (page 10, line 24) (per claim 22).
Regarding Claim 23, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. Exciton quenching layer C is viewed as corresponding to applicants’ second light emitting layer has a thickness of 0.5nm to 4nm (page 11, line 24).
The office notes that the thickness range of Volz, et al. at the upper end differs by 1nm. As Volz, et al. does not teach, suggest or offer an guidance for one or ordinary skill in the art to conclude any obvious unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have formed a slightly thicker film by 1nm to determine if there were any effects on device performance, absent unexpected results (per claim 23).
Regarding Claim 32, Volz, et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device reading on claim 1. The organic electroluminescent device can be used for
generating screens, as large-area illuminating device, as luminescent wallpaper,
luminescent window frame or glass, luminescent label, luminescent poser or
flexible screen or display (page 43, lines 9-13) (per clam 32).
Regarding Claims 30-31, Volz, et al. teaches the Light-emitting layer B the host material HB = CBP (page 38, line 11). The T1 for CBP is 2.95 (see Table 1, page 48); 2.92eV > 2.0eV (per claim 30).
The second host ETMD is represented by NBPhen (page 10, line 19) and the T1 for NBPhen is 2.39 (see Table 1, page 48); 2.39eV > 1.9 eV (per claim 31).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786