DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 36, the phrase "such as…" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bealle et al. (WO 2018/077660) (hereafter “Bealle”).
Regarding claims 22-42, Bealle teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (pages 92-95). Bealle teaches that the organic layer is made from a solution comprising at least 3 solvents and organic material, where the organic material can be a polymer or a small molecule and the number of small molecules can be 2 or more and can include a phosphorescent dopant (pages 29 and 93). Bealle teaches that the solvent mixture can comprise 1-phenyl-naphthalene at 2 vol % (BP of 324 and same as taught by the applicant and meets the claimed viscosity), 2-phenoxy ethanol 33 vol % (BP of 244), and pentylbenzene at 35 vol % (BP of 205 and same as taught by the applicant (page 89 Table 5, examples). Bealle teaches that the solution has a surface tension between 15 and 50 mN/m and viscosity between 1 and 50 mPas (pages 26 and 27). Bealle teaches that that the solution mixture is used to make the layers of the electroluminescent device using inkjet printing and the layer is dried after the solution is deposited on the surface (pages 92-95).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bealle et al. (US 2020/0071549) and Bealle et al. (US 2020/0127203) teach solutions to make layers in electroluminescent device comprises semiconducting materials (polymers and small molecules) and 3 solvents.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759