DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 11/12/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-22 were withdrawn by applicant in the election on 11/12/25.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/22 & 11/3/25, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: moisture supply system in claim 1, 8-9, 13-15, mechanism which collects a product in claim 4, rotation mechanism in claim 12 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the reaction vessel" in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the moisture in a gas state" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted the moisture in a gas state limitation appears in claim 14, however, claim 15 instead depends from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by DATTA (US 2014/0227751).
Regarding claim 1, 6, DATTA discloses a bioreactor assembly (microorganism reaction system) comprising:
a bioreactor vessel 535 (reaction chamber) comprising a gas supply conduit 530 connected to a vessel port (gas supply section) which delivers a substrate with a continuous feed (flow can either be continuously), from outside of the bioreactor (supplies gaseous substrate from outside) (Fig 6, 0200-206);
a tubular membrane element 532, 512 (carrier, carrier is a thin membrane) which is installed in the vessel 535, (0203, Fig 6), the membrane element allows liquid permeation through (moisture permeable) (0199), but is positioned such that there is a gas contacting side 510 on an outer portion of the tube which is not immersed in the liquid that flows through the center of the hollow tube (Fig 5), wherein a microorganism 514 is contained in a bio-pore 516 on the outside of the membrane element (immobilized to the carrier), such that the microorganism is in direct contact with the gas phase on the gas contacting side 510 of the membrane (0199, Fig 5-6);
and a feed gas exit line 534 (gas discharge section) connected to the vessel 535.
Regarding claim 2, moisture supply system has been interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be a water phase chamber or liquid reservoir (spec 0054) and/or supply channel (0035) and functional equivalents thereof.
DATTA discloses fermentation liquid (moisture) is supplied from outside of the bioreactor vessel 535 via a conduit 538 (supply channel) from a mixing chamber 548 (liquid reservoir) to a chamber 537 (water phase chamber) that distributes liquid to the tubular membranes 532 (0203-204, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 4, mechanism which collects a product is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above, to be a port (Spec 0008) and functional equivalents thereof. DATTA discloses a port (mechanism which collects a product) on the top of the vessel connected to a conduit 544 for withdrawal of the liquid to a product recovery facility that recover liquid products of the microorganism (0203-204, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 5, DATTA discloses the gas supply rate is recorded by a flow meter and does not disclose a pump on the gas supply conduit but that the locations of the substrate feed and exit lines provide a downward direction of the bulk gas flow in the bioreactor (configured to passively take in gaseous substrate by diffusion) (Fig 6, 0201).
Regarding claim 7, DATTA discloses the vessel 535 has a chamber 543 which collects the fermentation liquid for withdrawal via conduit 544 (liquid discharge section) (Fig 6, 203-204).
Regarding claim 8, DATTA discloses the fermentation liquid supply is configured to supply the liquid to the carrier under pressure supplied by a pump at a rate recorded by a flow meter, in which an upward flow of liquid through the membrane lumens is established (supply moisture to carrier as a liquid flow) (0203, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, DATTA discloses the liquid supply comprises a chamber 537 (water phase chamber) into which liquid flows, the membrane hollow fibers 532 (carriers) are disposed between the chamber 537 and the gas phase in the vessel, wherein the membrane is disposed so that the surface having bio-pores containing microorganisms (immobilized) faces the gas phase side (Fig 5-6, 0199, 0203).
Regarding claim 10, DATTA discloses the vessel comprises a plurality of gas phase sections (spaces in between membrane elements 532) and a plurality of liquid phases within skin 520 of hollow membranes - see 524, in which the device contains a plurality of alternating gas and liquid phases (Fig 6, 0199).
Regarding claim 11, DATTA discloses the membrane element (carrier) 512, 532 is a plurality of membranes in a hollow fiber configuration, e.g. tubular membranes, in which the plurality of hollow fibers are disposed at intervals from each other in an outer vessel (outer tube) to form a columnar unit and the gas phase exists between the outer walls 510 of the tubular members and the inside of the vessel 535 (outer tube) such that the membrane forms a wall separating the gas phase chamber space and the liquid phases (Fig 5, 6, 0199).
Regarding claim 13, DATTA discloses the liquid is distributed from a larger chamber 537 within the vessel to the interior of the tubular membranes 532 via the bottom ends of the lumens to an upper chamber 543, and that this location of chambers is what establishes upward flow of the liquid, which is a capillary phenomenon (0203).
Regarding claim 14, DATTA discloses that water vapor can be supplied to the fermentation vessel (configured to supply moisture in an aerosol or gas state) (0193).
Regarding claim 15, DATTA discloses the moisture in the substrate can form condensate on the membrane (moisture in a gas state is condensed on carrier) (0202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DATTA (US 2014/0227751 as applied above, in view of TSAI (US 2009/0215163) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 11/3/25.
Regarding claim 3, DATTA discloses the membrane element has a bio-layer side containing bio-pores and a hydration layer that controls liquid flow formed as a skin 520 on the inner surface (0199) but does not explicitly disclose the water content of the membrane (carrier) is 1-50% v/v.
However, TSAI discloses an asymmetric hollow fiber membrane for use in fermentation of syngas comprising a highly porous bio-layer for retaining the microorganisms within its pores and one or more less porous hydration layers for controlling the supply of water to and from the bio-layer (0014-16), in which either layer can comprise several layers (0038), in which the hydration layer must have restricted liquid permeability with respect to the biolayer, in most cases the hydration layer will comprise a higher density material, and the hydration layer has a thickness of from 0.5-10 um (0041-42) and thickness of the biolayer range from 50-500um (0040), the number of layers of each material and their thicknesses would determine the water content of the membrane such that a combination of layers and thicknesses in the ranges disclosed would result in a water content of the membrane of 1-50%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow fiber membranes of DATTA to include the construction and thickness of layers resulting in the claimed water content of the carrier as disclosed by TSAI because the hydration layer having restricted liquid permeability controls the flow of liquid across the membrane to prevent excessive fermentation liquid from migrating into the bio-layer during normal operation of the system and interfering with contact between the gas and microorganisms (0041).
Claim(s) 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DATTA (US 2014/0227751 as applied above, in view of PETRECCA (US 2003/0054546).
Regarding claim 12, 16, rotation mechanism is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above, to be a rod or plate that can rotate around an axis (0008, 0049) and functional equivalents thereof. DATTA does not explicitly disclose a rotation mechanism connected to the carrier. However, PETRECCA discloses a biocatalyst chamber for fermentation in which cells are immobilized (cell is immobilized to the carrier) in a chamber formed between disks 203, 204 (plate) that are connected to a rod 208 that rotates around an axis connected to one end to a motor drive pulley (power source) and in which a fluid is provided through input tubes (gas supply)(Fig 60, 0253-260). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of DATTA to include the rotation mechanism as taught by PETRECCA because metabolic waste products will be continually removed from the cellular environments by the liquid process flow, arrays are continually presented with fresh, optimal liquid nutrient input and since these arrays are continually drained by the continuance of the process flow, the chemical composition of the cellular environment will be completely invariant in time (0274-276).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO892 represent the state of the art of applicant’s invention.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799