DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/05/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/07/2025. Claims 1, 3, 20, 22, 26, 29 and 31 have been amended. Claims 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-19 and 24 are cancelled. Claims 32-33 are newly added. Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, and 20-23, 25-33 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 20-23 and 25-33 have been considered but are not persuasive/moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main Argument(s): The Office relies on Fujishiro to disclose all of the features of independent claim 1. However, Fujishiro does not disclose, at least, "starting a timer if the IAB node detects a failure of a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN)" and "transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) notification to a child node if the IAB node detects the failure of both the MCG link and the SCG link and upon expiration of the timer," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the nature of amendment(s) made on the independent claims, including claim 1, the Office no longer relies solely on Fujishiro and instead relies on the combination of Jung (US 2022/0110180) and Fujishiro (US 20220386404). Fujishiro establishes an IAB node that detects BH RLFs in both an MCG link and an SCG link. It also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link (Fig. 7 and ¶0061-¶0066). Fujishiro further teaches transmitting a notification message related to the BH RLF to a lower IAB node (child node) (¶0067-¶0068). In Jung, referencing Fig. 17, a wireless device (also referred to as a IAB node), detects MCG failure and upon detecting the MCG RLF, transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer (¶0352-¶0354). Jung further teaches different RLF timers and constants, such as T310, T311 and T316, where T316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF (¶0412).
Accordingly, it would be obvious to a POSITA to apply Jung’s timer-based MCG handling procedure with Fujishiro’s backhaul failure notification procedure such that, when the IAB node detects MCG failure, the IAB node starts a timer, and upon detecting failure of both the MCG link and SCG link and expiration of the timer, transmitting an RLF notification to a child node. The claimed limitations recite predictable sequences or implementations of RLF handling procedures. A POSITA would have understood that timer-based RLF procedures are used to determine whether a failure condition is persistent before initiating further action. Delaying Fujishiro’s child node notification of RLF until expiration of Jung’s RLF timer to initiate reestablishment while monitoring whether both the MCG link and SCG link have failed would be obvious. All in all, the combination applies known Jung’s timer-controlled RLF recovery techniques to Fujishiro’s notification framework for IAB nodes.
Second Argument(s): However, neither the timer T310 nor the timer T311 disclose the "timer" as claimed in amended independent claim 1 … In other words, no singular timer (i.e. T310, T311, or any other timer) described in Fujishiro can be relied upon to disclose the "timer" as claimed in amended independent claim 1.
Response: Examiner has considered the attorney’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In claim 1, the claim presently recites “a timer” broadly and does not recite any structural or functional limitations that would distinguish the claimed timer from the timers disclosed in Fujishiro. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited reference’s timers reasonably satisfy the claimed “timer” limitation. Therefore, the argument that Fujishiro discloses a “different” timer is not persuasive because the claim does not specify any distinguishing features or characteristics of the claimed timer. Examiner advises the attorney that any narrower distinction would need to be reflected in the claim language. However, given the amendment(s) made to independent claim 1, the Office no longer relies on Fujishiro for the claimed timer and instead introduces Jung, which discloses specific RLF timers and constants, including T310, T311 and T316, where the inclusion of t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF (¶0412).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,10, 13, 20-23, 25-26, 28, 30-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0110180), Jung hereinafter, and further in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2022/0386404), Fujishiro hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Jung teaches a method performed by an integrated access and back-haul (IAB) node, the method comprising: starting a timer if the IAB node detects a failure of a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN); (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0010 - a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node) … ¶0351 - In some implementations, it may be assumed that the wireless device is configured with MCG configuration and/or SCG configuration. ¶0352 - In step S1700, the wireless device detects MCG RLF. ¶0354 - In step S1710, upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer);
and upon expiration of the timer (¶0385 - The UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure upon T316 expiry. ¶0412 - … t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF. Please also see Table 7 in ¶0411);
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach initiating, a re-establishment procedure if the IAB node detects failure of both the MCG link between the IAB node and the MN and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN); and transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) notification to a child node if the IAB node detects the failure of both the MCG link and the SCG link fail
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches initiating, a re-establishment procedure if the IAB node detects failure of both the MCG link between the IAB node and the MN and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN); (Fig. 7 & ¶0061 - ¶0066. Note that when the IAB node 300 has dual connectivity, the MT separately detects BH RLFs in the MCG link and the SCG link. The failure in BH link recovery also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link);
and transmitting a radio link failure (RLF) notification to a child node if the IAB node detects the failure of both the MCG link and the SCG link fail (Fig. 7 & ¶0067- ¶0068 - The BAP layer of the IAB node 300 transmits a notification message related to the BH RLF, to the BAP layer of the lower IAB node 300. The failure notification message is a message from the BAP layer. Such a failure notification message is hereinafter referred to as the “BH RLF notification”. ¶0120 - In step S402, in response to detection of the BH RLF in step S401, the BAP layer of the IAB node 300-1 transmits the type 1/2 BH RLF notification (or type 1/2/3 BH RLF notification) to the IAB node 300-2. ¶0224 - Type 4x—“Indicating child nodes to perform RLF procedure”: This is implemented in a case where the parent transmits this indication, and in a case of receiving the indication, the child node should execute an RLF related procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claims 2 and 21, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claims 1 and 20.
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach the failure comprises an RLF/RLF of both the MCG link and the SCG link.
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches the failure comprises an RLF/RLF of both the MCG link and the SCG link (Fig. 7 & ¶0066 - Note that when the IAB node 300 has dual connectivity, the MT separately detects BH RLFs in the MCG link and the SCG link. The failure in BH link recovery also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 3, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 1.
Jung further teaches the IAB node is configured with fast MCG link recovery, (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0347- In the current discussion of IAB, MCG fast recovery is being considered as one of the viable option to handle MCG backhaul failure);
and the method further comprises: if RLF in the MCG link is detected, initiating fast MCG link recovery by transmitting MCG failure information to the MN via the SN and starting the timer; (¶0341 - More specifically, upon MCG failure, the UE may report a MCG failure information/indication/report for fast recovery. The MCG failure information/indication/report is destined to MN via SN. ¶0348 - The present disclosure introduces a timer to bound the MN's response for MCG fast recovery. ¶0354 - In step S1710, upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. Please also see ¶0340, ¶0371-¶0373);
and stopping the timer based on a response received from the MN via the SN (¶0341 - In response to MCG failure information/indication/report, MN may trigger reconfiguration with mobility with sync and/or RRC release. ¶0367 - upon reception of the RRC message in response to the information for the MCG RLF from the secondary node while the timer is running, the wireless device may stop the timer and processing the RRC message. ¶0414 - For example, a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node) can await MN's response only with bounded time, and if the bounded timer expires, the wireless can perform re-establishment).
Re. Claim 4, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 3.
Jung further teaches at least one of: the timer is configured as a finite value, and the re-establishment procedure is initiated if the timer expires and the SCG link is not available; (Fig. 14-19 & ¶0342 - However, the MCG failure information/indication/report delivered on SCG may not reach to the MN. For example, due to the failure of the (wireless) backhaul between the MN and SN, the MCG failure information/indication/report may not be destined to the MN. ¶0361 - In some implementations, a value of the timer may be configured by a network (e.g., MN). If the network does not provide the value of the timer, the timer value may be set to a default value …¶0363 - In step S1720, upon expiry of the timer, the wireless device performs a connection re-establishment procedure); or the timer is configured as infinity, and the re-establishment procedure is initiated if the timer is running and the SCG link is not available (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
Re. Claim 10, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 3.
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach transmitting the RLF notification to the child node if the timer is running and failure of the SCG link is detected.
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches transmitting the RLF notification to the child node if the timer is running and failure of the SCG link is detected (Fig. 9 & ¶0095 - In step S206, in response to the failure in the recovery of the BH link in step S205, the BAP layer of IAB node 300-1 transmits the type 4 BH RLF notification to the IAB node 300-2. ¶0096 - In step S207, in response to receiving the type 4 BH RLF notification from the IAB node 300-1 before the predetermined timer expires (Examiner interprets “timer is running”), the MT of the IAB node 300-2 attempts to recover the BH link of the IAB node 300-2 (e.g., initiates the RRC re-establishment processing) … Note that … the MT of the IAB node 300-2 may attempt to recover the BH link by using transmission processing for an MCG failure indication or an SCG failure indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claims 13 and 25, Jung and Fujishiro teaches Claims 1 and 20.
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach performing the re-establishment procedure after the re-establishment procedure is initiated;/ the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: perform the re-establishment procedure after the re-establishment procedure is initiated; and if the re-establishment procedure fails, entering into an idle mode or an inactive mode and transmitting the RLF notification to the child node/and enter into an idle mode or an inactive mode and transmit the RLF notification to the child node based at least in part on the re-establishment procedure fails.
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches performing the re-establishment procedure after the re-establishment procedure is initiated;/ the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: perform the re-establishment procedure after the re-establishment procedure is initiated; (¶0064 - Secondly, in a case where the timer T310 expires without stopping the timer T310, the MT detects an RLF and starts a timer T311 (in other words, initiates RRC re-establishment processing), and executes cell selection processing to recover the BH link) and if the re-establishment procedure fails, entering into an idle mode or an inactive mode and transmitting the RLF notification to the child node/and enter into an idle mode or an inactive mode and transmit the RLF notification to the child node based at least in part on the re-establishment procedure fails (¶0065 - Thirdly, in a case where the timer T311 expires without success in recovery of the BH link, the MT transitions to an RRC idle state. A failure in recovery from the BH RLF (in other words, expiration of the timer T311) following the detection of the BH RLF is hereinafter referred to as a failure in BH link recovery. ¶0067 - The BAP layer of the IAB node 300 transmits a notification message related to the BH RLF, to the BAP layer of the lower IAB node 300. The failure notification message is a message from the BAP layer. Such a failure notification message is hereinafter referred to as the “BH RLF notification”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 20, Jung teaches an integrated access and back-haul (IAB) node, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the IAB node to: start a timer if the IAB node detects a failure of a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN); (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0010 - a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node) … ¶0351 - In some implementations, it may be assumed that the wireless device is configured with MCG configuration and/or SCG configuration. ¶0352 - In step S1700, the wireless device detects MCG RLF. ¶0354 - In step S1710, upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer);
and upon expiration of the timer (¶0385 - The UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure upon T316 expiry. ¶0412 - … t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF. Please also see Table 7 in ¶0411);
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach initiate, by the IAB node, a re-establishment procedure if the IAB node detects a failure of both the MCG link between the IAB node and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN); and transmit a radio link failure (RLF) notification to a child node if the IAB detects the failure of both the MCG link and the SCG link fail
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches initiate, by the IAB node, a re-establishment procedure if the IAB node detects a failure of both the MCG link between the IAB node and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN); (Fig. 7 & ¶0061 - ¶0066. Note that when the IAB node 300 has dual connectivity, the MT separately detects BH RLFs in the MCG link and the SCG link. The failure in BH link recovery also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link);
and transmit a radio link failure (RLF) notification to a child node if the IAB detects the failure of both the MCG link and the SCG link fail (Fig. 7 & ¶0067- ¶0068 - The BAP layer of the IAB node 300 transmits a notification message related to the BH RLF, to the BAP layer of the lower IAB node 300. The failure notification message is a message from the BAP layer. Such a failure notification message is hereinafter referred to as the “BH RLF notification”. ¶0120 - In step S402, in response to detection of the BH RLF in step S401, the BAP layer of the IAB node 300-1 transmits the type 1/2 BH RLF notification (or type 1/2/3 BH RLF notification) to the IAB node 300-2. ¶0224 - Type 4x—“Indicating child nodes to perform RLF procedure”: This is implemented in a case where the parent transmits this indication, and in a case of receiving the indication, the child node should execute an RLF related procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 22, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 20.
Jung further teaches the IAB node (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0010 - a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node)) is configured with fast MCG link recovery; (¶0347 - In the current discussion of IAB, MCG fast recovery is being considered as one of the viable option to handle MCG backhaul failure);
and the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: transmit MCG failure information to the MN via the SN and start a timer to initiate fast MCG link recovery based at least in part on RLF in the MCG link being detected; (Fig. 17 & ¶0352 - the wireless device detects MCG RLF. ¶0354 - upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. ¶362 - For example, the message may be constructed by the SN RRC. ¶0358 - the message may include information related to a cell group on which a RLF is detected. That is, the message may include information that the RLF is detected/occurred on the MCG, not on the SCG);
and stop the timer based at least in part on a response received from the MN via the SN (¶0367 - Alternatively, upon reception of the RRC message in response to the information for the MCG RLF from the secondary node while the timer is running, the wireless device may stop the timer and processing the RRC message).
Re. Claim 23, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 20.
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to transmit the RLF notification to the child node if both of the MCG link and the SCG link fail.
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to transmit the RLF notification to the child node if both of the MCG link and the SCG link fail (Fig. 1, 3, 11 & ¶0066 - Note that when the IAB node 300 has dual connectivity, the MT separately detects BH RLFs in the MCG link and the SCG link. The failure in BH link recovery also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link. ¶0067 - The BAP layer of the IAB node 300 transmits a notification message related to the BH RLF, to the BAP layer of the lower IAB node 300. The failure notification message is a message from the BAP layer. Such a failure notification message is hereinafter referred to as the “BH RLF notification”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 26, Jung teaches and upon expiration of a timer, wherein the timer is started based on detection of a failure of the MCG link between the IAB node and the MN (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0010 - a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node) … ¶0351 - In some implementations, it may be assumed that the wireless device is configured with MCG configuration and/or SCG configuration. ¶0352 - In step S1700, the wireless device detects MCG RLF. ¶0354 - In step S1710, upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. (¶0385 - The UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure upon T316 expiry. ¶0412 - … t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF. Please also see Table 7 in ¶0411);
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach a child node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the child node to: receive a radio link failure (RLF) notification from an integrated access and back-haul (IAB) node based on detection of a failure of both a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN) and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN)
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches a child node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the child node to: (Fig. 3);
receive a radio link failure (RLF) notification from an integrated access and back-haul (IAB) node based on detection of a failure of both a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN) and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN) (Fig. 1, 11 & ¶0120 - In step S402, in response to detection of the BH RLF in step S401, the BAP layer of the IAB node 300-1 transmits the type 1/2 BH RLF notification (or type 1/2/3 BH RLF notification) to the IAB node 300-2. ¶0224 - Type 4x—“Indicating child nodes to perform RLF procedure”: This is implemented in a case where the parent transmits this indication, and in a case of receiving the indication, the child node should execute an RLF related procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 28, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 26.
Jung further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to receive the at least one indication as a time is started indication if an MCG link recovery timer starts (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0354 - upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. ¶0360 - In some implementations, the timer may start when the UE RRC delivers the information related to the MCG RLF to lower layer for transmission. ¶0361 - In some implementations, a value of the timer may be configured by a network (e.g., MN). If the network does not provide the value of the timer, the timer value may be set to a default value, e.g., an infinite value. ¶0411 - Table 7 shows RLF-TimersAndConstants. The information element (IE) RLF-TimersAndConstants is used to configure UE specific timers and constants).
Re. Claim 30, Jung and Fujishiro teaches Claim 26.
Yet, Jung does not explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to perform at least one of re-establishment or stopping data transmission based at least in part on receiving the RLF notification.
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to perform at least one of re-establishment or stopping data transmission based at least in part on receiving the RLF notification (Fig. 1, 7, 11 & ¶0068 - For example, when receiving a BH RLF notification from the BAP layer of the upper IAB node 300, the BAP layer of the lower IAB node 300 notifies the reception to the MT of the lower IAB node 300, and the MT initiates processing for recovering the BH link, for example, RRC re-establishment processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 31, Jung teaches and upon expiration of a timer, wherein the timer is started based on detection of a failure of the MCG link between the IAB node and the MN (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0010 - a wireless device (e.g., UE/IAB-node) … ¶0351 - In some implementations, it may be assumed that the wireless device is configured with MCG configuration and/or SCG configuration. ¶0352 - In step S1700, the wireless device detects MCG RLF. ¶0354 - In step S1710, upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. ¶0385 - The UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure upon T316 expiry. ¶0412 - … t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF. Please also see Table 7 in ¶0411);
Yet Jung does not explicitly teach a method performed by a child node, the method comprising: receiving a radio link failure (RLF) notification from an integrated access and back- haul (IAB) node based on detection of a failure of both a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN) and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN) are not available
However, in the analogous art, Fujishiro explicitly teaches a method performed by a child node, the method comprising: receiving a radio link failure (RLF) notification from an integrated access and back- haul (IAB) node based on detection of a failure of both a master cell group (MCG) link between the IAB node and a master node (MN) and a secondary cell group (SCG) link between the IAB node and a secondary node (SN) are not available (Fig. 1, 3, 7, 11 & ¶0066 - Note that when the IAB node 300 has dual connectivity, the MT separately detects BH RLFs in the MCG link and the SCG link. The failure in BH link recovery also includes a case in which the MT detects a BH RLF in both the MCG link and the SCG link and fails to recover from the BH RLF in both or one of the MCG link and the SCG link. ¶0068 - For example, when receiving a BH RLF notification from the BAP layer of the upper IAB node 300 … the MT initiates processing for recovering the BH link, for example, RRC re-establishment processing. ¶0224 - Type 4x—“Indicating child nodes to perform RLF procedure”: This is implemented in a case where the parent transmits this indication, and in a case of receiving the indication, the child node should execute an RLF related procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Fujishiro to the teaching of Jung. The motivation would be because the invention describes detecting a failure in a first radio link between the upper node and the relay node, by the relay node, in response to the detection of the failure, transmitting, to the lower node, a first notification indicating the detection of the failure and attempting recovery of the first radio link (Abstract, Fujishiro).
Re. Claim 33, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 31.
Jung further teaches receiving a time is started indication if an MCG link recovery timer starts (Fig. 15-19 & ¶0354 - upon detecting the MCG RLF, the wireless device transmits information related to the MCG RLF to a secondary node, and starts a timer. ¶0360 - In some implementations, the timer may start when the UE RRC delivers the information related to the MCG RLF to lower layer for transmission. ¶0361 - In some implementations, a value of the timer may be configured by a network (e.g., MN). If the network does not provide the value of the timer, the timer value may be set to a default value, e.g., an infinite value. ¶0412 - … t316 indicates that use shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF. Please also see Table 7 in ¶0411).
Claims 7, 27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Fujishiro, and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2022/0174772), Luo hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 3.
Yet, Jung and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach transmitting, to the child node, at least one of: a first indication of a pending failure if the MCG link fails and the SCG link is available; a second indication of the timer is started; or a third indication of the timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly discloses transmitting, to the child node, at least one of: a first indication of a pending failure if the MCG link fails and the SCG link is available (Fig. 3, 4 & ¶0078 - Alternatively, if the parent node is in multi-connectivity, the parent node may perform link recovery through an SCG when the RLF occurs in an MCG… When the parent node cannot recover quickly, the parent node may transmit the link state information to the child node while initiating the connection reestablishment… ¶0085 - …the link state information includes at least one of: an RLF indication, an RRC reconfiguration failure indication, an RRC integrity check failure indication, a mobility failure indication, a synchronous reconfiguration failure indication, and a timer timeout indication. ¶0089 - …determining, by the second communication node, that a link failure occurs when the timer is timed out. Please also see ¶0093. Examiner interprets the indication of the timer timeout indication as a first indication of a pending failure since the second communication node will determine a link failure upon receiving this indication); a second indication of the timer is started; or a third indication of the timer is running (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); a second indication of the timer is started; or a third indication of the timer is running.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Luo to the teachings of Jung and Fujishiro. The motivation would be because it provides efficient mechanisms for improving network capacity and coverage and meeting flexibility requirements of cell deployment at the same time (Luo, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 27, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 26.
Yet, Jung and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to receive indication of a pending failure if an MCG link fails and the SCG link is available.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to receive indication of a pending failure if an MCG link fails and the SCG link is available (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0078 - Alternatively, if the parent node is in multi-connectivity, the parent node may perform link recovery through an SCG when the RLF occurs in an MCG… When the parent node cannot recover quickly, the parent node may transmit the link state information to the child node while initiating the connection reestablishment… ¶0085 - …the link state information includes at least one of: an RLF indication, an RRC reconfiguration failure indication, an RRC integrity check failure indication, a mobility failure indication, a synchronous reconfiguration failure indication, and a timer timeout indication. ¶0089 - …determining, by the second communication node, that a link failure occurs when the timer is timed out. Please also see ¶0093. Examiner interprets the indication of the timer timeout indication as a first indication of a pending failure since the second communication node will determine a link failure upon receiving this indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Luo to the teachings of Jung and Fujishiro. The motivation would be because it provides efficient mechanisms for improving network capacity and coverage and meeting flexibility requirements of cell deployment at the same time (Luo, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 32, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 31.
Yet, Jung and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach receiving indication of a pending failure if an MCG link fails and the SCG link is available.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly teaches receiving indication of a pending failure if an MCG link fails and the SCG link is available (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0078 - Alternatively, if the parent node is in multi-connectivity, the parent node may perform link recovery through an SCG when the RLF occurs in an MCG… When the parent node cannot recover quickly, the parent node may transmit the link state information to the child node while initiating the connection reestablishment… ¶0085 - …the link state information includes at least one of: an RLF indication, an RRC reconfiguration failure indication, an RRC integrity check failure indication, a mobility failure indication, a synchronous reconfiguration failure indication, and a timer timeout indication. ¶0089 - …determining, by the second communication node, that a link failure occurs when the timer is timed out. Please also see ¶0093. Examiner interprets the indication of the timer timeout indication as a first indication of a pending failure since the second communication node will determine a link failure upon receiving this indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Luo to the teachings of Jung and Fujishiro. The motivation would be because it provides efficient mechanisms for improving network capacity and coverage and meeting flexibility requirements of cell deployment at the same time (Luo, ¶0003).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Fujishiro, and further in view of Orsino et al. (US 2022/0264687), Orsino hereinafter.
Re. Claim 29, Jung and Fujishiro teach Claim 26.
Yet, Jung and Fujishiro do not explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to receive a timer is running indication if an MCG link recovery timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Orsino explicitly teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the child node to receive a timer is running indication if an MCG link recovery timer is running (Fig. 8, 10, 13 & ¶0004 - the indicating includes at least one indicator that includes an indication that the master cell group fast recovery procedure is supported, an indication that the user equipment use the master cell group fast recovery procedure when defined criteria are met, and an indication that the user equipment use the master cell group fast recovery procedure when a timer for the master cell group fast recovery procedure is present at the user equipment. ¶0017 - In some embodiments, the indicator includes a timer configuration corresponding to the master cell group fast recovery procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Orsino to the teachings of Jung and Fujishiro. The motivation would be because the invention describes operations corresponding to such methods include detecting a radio link failure on a master cell group and indicating to a user equipment whether to use a master cell group fast recovery procedure to avoid a radio resource control re-establishment (¶0003, Orsino).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465