Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claims 1 and 10, the limitation of “control station…without free visual range of the track” (emphasis added) lacks support in the specification. Applicant argues the following (emphasis added by examiner):
The portions of the specification that are referenced are:
Returning to the claim:
There is no mention, express or implied, of a control station without free visualization of the track. The claim is recited broadly such that there is no limits to what “the track” encompasses. Does “the track” merely include that portion (of the track) that is being worked on? Turning to the specification and drawings, the track is referenced by 4 (see below). Therefore, a broadest reasonable interpretation—consistent with the specification—of the track includes the entire structure, and more, upon which the vehicle 1 rests upon.
Therefore, the amended language lacks support in the specification and is new matter.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 are indefinite because there is insufficient support in the specification to understand the metes and bounds of what is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4356771 to Theurer.
Regarding claim 1, Theurer discloses a control and operating system for working on a track with a track maintenance machine, with at least one machine frame movable on rail-based running gears (e.g. see Fig. 1; also co. 2, ln 60-68 noting a work vehicle 2 mounted for mobility on the track), comprising:
working devices 10,
a sensor and measuring system (e.g. 22, 26) for recording the position data of the working devices and for detecting objects of the track, as sleepers, rails, and obstacles,
an arrangement of cameras (see Fig. 1 with the arrangement of 26) for optical detection of the working devices and the working areas,
a control station 32 without free visual range of a respective working device and without free visual range of the track is set up at a location inside or outside the track maintenance machine and in that the control station comprises a display device for virtual operation, control, and/or monitoring of the track maintenance machine (as evident from Fig. 1, 32 is spatially removed from the work vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the control station comprises a display device 32 that is set up to display video/image recordings and/or additional information for supporting the operator (see Fig. 2, via television screen 35 of display device 32).
Regarding claim 3, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 2, wherein the display device is designed with at least one industrial panel (e.g. panel with 43), a flat screen monitor, and/or a video projector (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the display device is designed with industrial panels and/or flat screen monitors with touch screen functionality for operator input (as evident from Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the control station is set up with a seat for one single machine operator in addition to operating elements (as evident from Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 10, Theurer discloses the method for operating a system according to claim 1, wherein the track maintenance machine is operated, controlled, and/or monitored virtually via a control station without a free visual range of a respective working device and without free visual range of the track (as evident from the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Theurer discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the video/image recordings of the cameras are displayed in real time at the control station via the display device (e.g. see col. 5, ln 24-38).
Regarding claim 13, Theurer discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein additional information, indications, and/or warnings on the ongoing work process are displayed as text, symbols, and/or graphic representations of any kind at the control station via the display device to support the operator (as evident from Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theurer.
Regarding claim 5, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the control station is equipped with a seat (as evident from Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose seats for two machine operators in addition to operating elements. However, examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate at least two portable “seats” (or even one in addition to the seat disclosed in Fig. 1) with the motivation of enabling a place for operators to rest to reduce fatigue.
Claim(s) 7, 11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theurer in view of AT 519739 to Plasser.
Regarding claim 7, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cameras for optical detection of the working devices and the working areas are coupled with a computing unit, which is further coupled to a machine control by means of a higher-level computer system. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Plasser discloses such (e.g. as evident from Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Plasser with the motivation of reducing human errors regarding computations.
Regarding claim 11, Theurer discloses method according to claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein after the video/image recordings have been captured by the cameras, a representation of the working devices, which has been assembled, rectified, and distortion-corrected by the computing unit, is displayed at the control station via the display device. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Plasser discloses such (e.g. see [0168] – [0178], [0191] – [0194]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Plasser with the motivation of reducing human errors regarding computations.
Regarding claim 14, Theurer discloses the method according to claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose that wherein the position data recorded by the sensor and measuring system is evaluated by a higher-level computer system and compared with preset values and that a fully automatic actuation of the working devices is carried out by an algorithm via the machine control. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Plasser discloses the position data recorded by the sensor and measuring system is evaluated by a higher-level computer system and compared with preset values and that a fully automatic actuation of the working devices is carried out would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Plasser with the motivation of reducing human errors regarding computations.
Neither Theurer nor Plasser explicitly discloses that such is “carried out by an algorithm.” However, examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate carry such out by an algorithm with the motivation of enhancing automatic processes of the method.
Regarding claim 15, Theurer discloses the method according to claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the position data recorded by the sensor and measuring system are evaluated by a higher-level computer system and compared with preset values, and in that the following work steps of the working devices are displayed as text and/or in graphic form on the display device by an algorithm, with these steps being carried out only after the operator's confirmation and/or modification by the machine control actuating the working devices correspondingly. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Plasser discloses the position data recorded by the sensor and measuring system are evaluated by a higher-level computer system and compared with preset values, and in that the following work steps of the working devices are displayed as text and/or in graphic form on the display device among other things interacting queries to enable / disable operations). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Plasser with the motivation of reducing human errors regarding computations.
Neither Theurer nor Plasser explicitly discloses that such is carried out by an algorithm. However, examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate carry such out by an algorithm with the motivation of enhancing automatic processes of the method.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theurer in view of US 20210223363 to Orellana.
Regarding claim 8, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the cameras for optical detection are designed as 3D cameras. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Orellana discloses such (e.g. see [0018]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Orellana with the motivation of determining spatial relationships between various objects.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theurer in view of Plasser in further view of US 20080150683 to Mikan et al. (“Mikan”).
Regarding claim 9, Theurer discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose as a secure form of transmission a VPN tunnel via a VPN router is set up for exchanging information and data between the control station and a higher-level computer system to control, operate, and monitor the track maintenance machine. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Plasser discloses a form of transmission, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Plasser with the motivation of reducing human errors regarding computations.
Theurer nor Plasser discloses a secure form of transmission being a VPN tunnel via a VPN router as claimed. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention of network data transfer in the context of vehicle controls, Mikan discloses such (e.g. see [0029]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the features of Mikan with the motivation of enhancing and / or maintaining network security.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of the asserted new matter amendment a new reference is applied. Thus, there are no specific arguments made by Applicant disputing rejections presented herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666