DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 3/02/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 11/03/2025. Claims 17, 32, and 36 have been amended. Claims 40-42 have been canceled. Claims 17 and 29-39 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 3/02/2026 are entered for prosecution.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 6-8), filed on 3/02/2026, with respect to the claims 17, 32, and
36 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 7 for independent claims 17, 32, and 36, applicant remarks that Cherian fails to disclose making a decision based on the second link having already obtained a TXOP. On the contrary, Cherian describes a scenario where the second link has NOT yet obtained a TXOP but is still counting down. For example, paragraph [0096] of Cherian explicitly states: "when the first RBO 612 counts down to zero, the second RBO 622 may have a count down remaining." Since the count-down is remaining, the second link has not yet obtained a TXOP in Cherian.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. TXOP is explained in IEEE Std 802.11™-2016
(Revision of IEEE Std 802.11-2012) “transmission opportunity (TXOP): An interval of time during which a particular quality-of-service (QoS) station (STA) has the right to initiate frame exchange sequences onto the wireless medium (WM). A TXOP is defined by a starting time and a maximum duration. IEEE 802.11 Page 142). CHERIAN et al. (US 2021/0282186 Al) discloses (determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link may be based on a probability of accessing the second link and an idle period on the first link between the medium reservation message and an expected availability of the second link, Cherian: [0099]). Since probability of accessing the second link and idle period on the first link, the second link was obtained a TXOP as explained in IEEE Std 802.11™-2016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 17 and 29-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHERIAN et al.
(US 2021/0282186 Al, hereinafter “Cherian”) in view of SEOK (US 2014/0169290 Al, hereinafter “Seok”) and further in view of CHU et al. (US 2021/0266891 Al, hereinafter “Chu”).
Regarding claim 17, Cherian discloses:
A method performed by a multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network (LAN) system, the method comprising (A wireless local area network (WLAN) may be formed by one or more access points (APs). MLD that is not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception on multiple links for a given set of links may be referred to as a non-STR (NSTR) device, Cherian: [0003], [0093]):
wherein the first STA operates on a first link, and a second STA operating on a second link is affiliated with the MLD (transmitting at least a first physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link during a transmission opportunity (TXOP), Cherian: [0005]. wireless access point is configured to receive a first PPDU from a station on the first link during the TXOP. wireless access point is configured to receive a second PPDU from the station on the second link during the TXOP, Cherian: [0005], [0023]-[0026]),
performing, by the first STA, a back-off procedure related to the first link (determining that first random back off (RBO) for a first channel of a first link has counted down to zero, Cherian: [0005], [0191]); and
based on a back-off counter (BC) related to the first link that is a part of the NSTR link pair being zero (0) and a transmission opportunity (TXOP) being obtained on the second link of the NSTR link pair, choosing, by the first STA, not to transmit a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link (determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link includes determining to transmit the first PPDU without waiting in response to determining that the second RBO is greater than a threshold. wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link may be based on a probability of accessing the second link and an idle period on the first link between the medium reservation message and an expected availability of the second link. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0012], [0098]-[0099]).
Cherian does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by a first station (STA) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame,
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
transmitting, by a first station (STA) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame (The association process may involve transmitting an association request frame to the AP by the STA, and transmitting an association response frame to the STA by the AP in response to the association request frame, Seok: [0087]-[0087]),
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link (the association request frame may include information associated with various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a Service Set Identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, a TIM (Traffic Indication Map) broadcast request, interworking service capability, etc, Seok: Fig.10, [0088], [0133]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian in view of Seok in order to further modify transmitting an Association Request frame and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it can improve channel (or medium) access fairness of STAs and network resource utilization efficiency (Seok: [0272]).
Yet, Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair
a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair (avoiding simultaneous transmit while receive at the NSTR STA MLD further involves indicating, by the NSTR STA MLD, parameters for a responding frame in a High Efficiency (HE) Control field of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU), and transmitting the PPDU to the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability. NSTR STA MLD may request an AP MLD that has simultaneous transmission capability or STR capability (e.g., an STR AP MLD) to trigger the STA MLD to transmit up-link (UL) PPDUs on multiple links at the same time, Chu: [0006], [0052]-[0058]).
a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD (exchange frames on multiple links with an AP MLD with at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a STR capability on the multiple links, and maintain at least one of a frame exchange and a link state on multiple links with the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, Chu: [0013], [0021]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify the Association Request frame which includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 29, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 17, wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA (determines the length of the PPDU in the concurrent TXOP that starts later in another link, as shown in link2, Chu: [0054]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify obtaining the TXOP the second STA from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 30, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The method of claim 17, wherein the first STA chooses not to transmit the PPDU on the first link when the BC related to the first link reaches zero (0) (wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 31, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The method of claim 17, wherein a transmission on the first link is deferred by choosing not to transmit the PPDU (wireless device may later determine to transmit the first PPDU on the first link without waiting in response to determining that the second link has become blocked, Cherian: [0099]).
Regarding claim 32, Cherian discloses:
A multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network (LAN) system, comprising (A wireless local area network (WLAN) may be formed by one or more access points (APs). MLD that is not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception on multiple links for a given set of links may be referred to as a non-STR (NSTR) device, Cherian: Fig. 1, [0003], [0093]):
at least one processor supporting a multi-link operation related to a first link and a second link (wireless communication device includes at least one modem; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem. wireless communication device is configured to determine that first RBO for a first channel of a first link has counted down to zero. The wireless communication device is further configured to determine, when the first RBO has counted down to zero, that a second RBO for a second channel of a second link has a count down remaining, Cherian: [0006]); and
at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising (wireless communication device includes at least one modem; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem; and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code, Cherian: [0006]):
wherein the first STA operates on a first link, and a second STA operating on a second link is affiliated with the MLD (transmitting at least a first physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link during a transmission opportunity (TXOP), Cherian: [0005]. wireless access point is configured to receive a first PPDU from a station on the first link during the TXOP. wireless access point is configured to receive a second PPDU from the station on the second link during the TXOP, Cherian: [0005], [0023]-[0026]),
performing, by the first STA, a back-off procedure related to the first link (determining that first random back off (RBO) for a first channel of a first link has counted down to zero, Cherian: [0005], [0191]); and
based on a back-off counter (BC) related to the first link that is a part of the NSTR link pair being zero (0) and a transmission opportunity (TXOP) being obtained on the second link of the NSTR link pair, choosing, by the first ST A, not to transmit a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link (determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link includes determining to transmit the first PPDU without waiting in response to determining that the second RBO is greater than a threshold. wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link may be based on a probability of accessing the second link and an idle period on the first link between the medium reservation message and an expected availability of the second link. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0012], [0098]-[0099]).
Cherian does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by a first station (ST A) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame,
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
transmitting, by a first station (STA) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame (The association process may involve transmitting an association request frame to the AP by the STA, and transmitting an association response frame to the STA by the AP in response to the association request frame, Seok: [0087]-[0087]),
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link (the association request frame may include information associated with various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a Service Set Identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, a TIM (Traffic Indication Map) broadcast request, interworking service capability, etc, Seok: Fig.10, [0088], [0133]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian in view of Seok in order to further modify transmitting an Association Request frame and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it can improve channel (or medium) access fairness of STAs and network resource utilization efficiency (Seok: [0272]).
Yet, Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair
and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair (avoiding simultaneous transmit while receive at the NSTR STA MLD further involves indicating, by the NSTR STA MLD, parameters for a responding frame in a High Efficiency (HE) Control field of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU), and transmitting the PPDU to the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability. NSTR STA MLD may request an AP MLD that has simultaneous transmission capability or STR capability (e.g., an STR AP MLD) to trigger the STA MLD to transmit up-link (UL) PPDUs on multiple links at the same time, Chu: [0006], [0052]-[0058]).
and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD (exchange frames on multiple links with an AP MLD with at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a STR capability on the multiple links, and maintain at least one of a frame exchange and a link state on multiple links with the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability .Chu: [0013], [0021]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify the Association Request frame which includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 33, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 32 above.
Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
The MLD of claim 32, wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA (determines the length of the PPDU in the concurrent TXOP that starts later in another link, as shown in link2, Chu: [0054]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify obtaining the TXOP the second STA from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 34, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 32 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The MLD of claim 32, wherein the first STA chooses not to transmit the PPDU on the first link when the BC related to the first link reaches zero (0) (wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 35, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 32 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The MLD of claim 32, wherein a transmission on the first link is deferred by choosing not to transmit the PPDU (wireless device may later determine to transmit the first PPDU on the first link without waiting in response to determining that the second link has become blocked, Cherian: [0099]).
Regarding claim 36, Cherian discloses:
A non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless local area network (LAN) system, comprising (the multi-link communications system is a wireless communications system, such as a wireless communications system compatible with an IEEE 802.11 protocol. multi-link communications system includes one AP multi-link device, which is implemented as AP MLD 104, and one non-AP STA multilink device, Chu: Fig. 1, [0047]):
at least one processor supporting a multi-link operation related to a first link and a second link (wireless communication device includes at least one modem; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem. wireless communication device is configured to determine that first RBO for a first channel of a first link has counted down to zero. The wireless communication device is further configured to determine, when the first RBO has counted down to zero, that a second RBO for a second channel of a second link has a count down remaining, Cherian: [0006]); and
at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising (wireless communication device includes at least one modem; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem; and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code, Cherian: [0006]):
wherein the first STA operates on a first link, and a second STA operating on a second link is affiliated with the MLD (transmitting at least a first physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link during a transmission opportunity (TXOP), Cherian: [0005]. wireless access point is configured to receive a first PPDU from a station on the first link during the TXOP. wireless access point is configured to receive a second PPDU from the station on the second link during the TXOP, Cherian: [0005], [0023]-[0026]),
performing, by the first STA, a back-off procedure related to the first link (determining that first random back off (RBO) for a first channel of a first link has counted down to zero, Cherian: [0005], [0191]); and
based on a back-off counter (BC) related to the first link that is a part of the NSTR link pair being zero (0) and a transmission opportunity (TXOP) being obtained on the second link of the NSTR link pair, choosing, by the first ST A, not to transmit a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first link (determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link includes determining to transmit the first PPDU without waiting in response to determining that the second RBO is greater than a threshold. wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. determining whether to wait for the second RBO before transmitting on the first link may be based on a probability of accessing the second link and an idle period on the first link between the medium reservation message and an expected availability of the second link. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0012], [0098]-[0099]).
Cherian does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by a first station (STA) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame,
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
transmitting, by a first station (STA) affiliated with the MLD, an Association Request frame (The association process may involve transmitting an association request frame to the AP by the STA, and transmitting an association response frame to the STA by the AP in response to the association request frame, Seok: [0087]-[0087]),
and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link (the association request frame may include information associated with various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a Service Set Identifier (SSID), supported rates, supported channels, RSN, mobility domain, supported operating classes, a TIM (Traffic Indication Map) broadcast request, interworking service capability, etc, Seok: Fig.10, [0088], [0133]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian in view of Seok in order to further modify transmitting an Association Request frame and a second information field related to at least one Traffic Identifier (TID) being mapped to at least one of the first link and the second link from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it can improve channel (or medium) access fairness of STAs and network resource utilization efficiency (Seok: [0272]).
Yet, Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair
and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the Association Request frame includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair (avoiding simultaneous transmit while receive at the NSTR STA MLD further involves indicating, by the NSTR STA MLD, parameters for a responding frame in a High Efficiency (HE) Control field of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU), and transmitting the PPDU to the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability. NSTR STA MLD may request an AP MLD that has simultaneous transmission capability or STR capability (e.g., an STR AP MLD) to trigger the STA MLD to transmit up-link (UL) PPDUs on multiple links at the same time, Chu: [0006], [0052]-[0058]).
and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD (exchange frames on multiple links with an AP MLD with at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a STR capability on the multiple links, and maintain at least one of a frame exchange and a link state on multiple links with the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, Chu: [0013], [0021]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify the Association Request frame which includes a first information field indicating a link pair related to the first link and the second link forms a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair and a third information field related to a maximum number of simultaneous links for the MLD from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 37, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 36 above.
Cherian in view of Seok do not explicitly disclose:
The non-AP MLD of claim 36, wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches:
wherein the TXOP is obtained by the second STA (determines the length of the PPDU in the concurrent TXOP that starts later in another link, as shown in link2, Chu: [0054]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cherian-Seok in view of Chu in order to further modify obtaining the TXOP the second STA from the teachings of Chu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the efficiency of multi-link operations can be improved (Chu: [0058]).
Regarding claim 38, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 36 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The non-AP MLD of claim 36, wherein the first STA chooses not to transmit the PPDU on the first link when the BC related to the first link reaches zero (0) (wireless device may either wait for the second random back off to count down to zero. wireless device may transmit a medium reservation message reserving a TXOP on the first channel of the first link, Cherian: [0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 39, Cherian-Seok-Chu teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 32 above.
Cherian further discloses:
The non-AP MLD of claim 36, wherein a transmission on the first link is deferred by choosing not to transmit the PPDU (wireless device may later determine to transmit the first PPDU on the first link without waiting in response to determining that the second link has become blocked, Cherian: [0099]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 March 27, 2026