DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 6/23/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 6/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the punched recessed part.” This phrase lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 3 depends from claim 1, but claim 1 does not previously introduce or otherwise recite a “recessed part” or a “punched recessed part.” Although claim 2 recites forming “a recessed part,” claim 3 does not depend from claim 2.
Consequently, it is unclear whether “the punched recessed part” refers to the embossing part recited in claim 1, the recessed part recited in claim 2, a recess produced by the embossing punch part, or some other structure. The scope of the claimed visual recognition based on “the punched recessed part” therefore cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110382204 (CN'204) in view of JP 6543256 B2 (JP'256).
As to Claim 1:
CN'204 discloses a method of manufacturing a pouch type battery cell, comprising: a pouch-type secondary battery (1) includes a pouch-type battery case (13) and an electrode assembly (10) accommodated in the battery case (13) (CN'204, Pg. 2-3 and 7-8); forming an embossing part in a part of a pouch film by using an embossing punch part, the forming step comprising: a punch (24) descends at a predetermined pressure and at a predetermined speed to apply a pressure to the top surface of the bag film (134) seated on the die (21), thereby stretching the bag film (134) to form a cup part (133) (CN'204, Pg. 8-9); moving the embossing punch part through a passage in a die part until the embossing punch part comes to a position opposing a blank holder within the die part: a penetration portion (221) is formed at approximately the center of the bottom surface of the stripper plate (22), and the punch (24) passes through the stripper plate (22) through the penetration portion (221) to move vertically, where a blank holder (23) is provided inside an opening portion (211) formed in an approximately central portion of the mold (21), and when the punch (24) descends, the blank holder (23) and the punch (24) contact each other with the bag film (134) interposed therebetween within the opening (211) (CN'204, Pg. 9-10).
However, CN'204 does not explicitly disclose that the embossing part is formed adjacent to an edge of the pouch film and distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part. Instead, CN'204 discloses that the cup part (133) itself defines the accommodation space (1331) for containing the electrode assembly (10) (CN'204, Pg. 7-9).
JP'256 discloses the missing feature of forming an embossed portion located adjacent to a peripheral edge of a film and distal from a central packaging space. Specifically, JP'256 discloses a film molded body (1) in which a plurality of concave or convex embossed portions (3) are formed on the surface (2a) of the film (2), wherein the embossed portions (3) are formed as edge portions around an enclosed region (4), and the area outside the enclosed region (4) is a peripheral edge part (1a) of the film molded body (JP'256, Pg. 3-5). The enclosed region (4) corresponds to the central accommodation space (4B) where the battery cell/packaged object (5) is housed, thereby teaching that the embossed portions (3) are formed adjacent to the peripheral edge part (1a) of the film and remain separate/distal from the core battery cell accommodation space (4) (JP'256, Pg. 8-10).
CN'204 and JP'256 are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor and are directed to solving the same manufacturing problem. Both references explicitly specialize in structural tooling configurations and design layouts for forming flexible laminated plastic/metal armor sheets utilized as the protective exterior battery case shells for lithium-ion secondary battery cells (CN'204, Pg. 2-3 and 7-9; JP'256, Pg. 3 and 5-9). Furthermore, both references are actively concerned with the same design goal: evenly distributing manufacturing stress and material elongation during film deformation steps to prevent unwanted wrinkles or appearance defects from occurring across the cell case boundaries (CN'204, Pg. 3-5 and 9-11; JP'256, Pg. 4-6 and 9-11).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the tooling methods of CN'204 with the layout rules of JP'256, and to utilize the guide-passage punch and opposing internal blank holder mechanism of CN'204 to form a localized structural embossing part located specifically at a peripheral edge of a pouch film sheet and distal from the central active pocket (CN'204, Pg. 9-11; JP'256, Pg. 5-10). One would be motivated to make this modification because CN'204 teaches that a matching punch and co-descending internal blank holder tool architecture ensures uniform material elongation, controls film thickness deviations, and completely eliminates physical wrinkling flaws (CN'204, Pg. 5 and 9-11). Applying this optimized tool configuration to shape the marginal edge embossments of JP'256 would safely provide clean, non-wrinkled boundary folds that handle reduced-pressure sealing environments without introducing any deformational stress or micro-cracks near the delicate internal electrode assembly block (JP'256, Pg. 4-6 and 8-11).
As to Claim 2:
See the rejection of Claim 1 for the manufacturing method of a pouch type battery cell comprising forming an embossing part in a part of a pouch film by using an embossing punch part distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part; CN'204 discloses wherein the embossing punch part is punched along an edge of the embossing part to form a recessed part: the punch (24) has a shape and size corresponding to the inner surface of the cup part (133) to be subsequently formed, and the punch (24) is inserted into the opening portion (211) of the die along with the bag film (134) to stretch the bag film (134) and form a cup part (133) as a recessed part (CN'204, Pg. 8-10).
As to Claim 3:
See the rejection of Claim 1 for the manufacturing method of a pouch type battery cell comprising forming an embossing part in a part of a pouch film distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part; CN'204 discloses the manufacturing steps to form an embossed cup part having matching structural shapes such as rectangular or circular shapes to avoid uneven wall deviations (CN'204, Pg. 8-11); and JP'256 discloses wherein the embossing part is subjected to visual recognition as an inner circular shape and an outer circular shape based on the punched recessed part.
However, CN'204 does not explicitly disclose subjecting the embossing part to visual recognition as an inner circular shape and an outer circular shape based on a punched recessed part formed adjacent to an edge of the pouch film and distal from the electrode assembly-receiving part. Instead, CN'204 discloses forming a central cup part (133) serving as the main active pocket for receiving the electrode assembly (10) (CN'204, Pg. 7-9).
JP'256 discloses the missing features of forming an embossed portion that can be configured as a circular shape in plan view, which is placed adjacent to a peripheral edge and distal from the core packaging space (JP'256, Pg. 3-6 and 8-10). Specifically, JP'256 discloses a film molded body (10) where a plurality of concave or convex embossed portions (3A) having a substantially arc or circular shape in plan view can be formed on a surface of a film, wherein these embossed features are restricted strictly to the outer peripheral portion (1a) to bound and outline a separate, central enclosed region (4A) where a battery cell or packaged object (5) is housed (JP'256, Pg. 3-6 and 8-10). Stamping a circular concave profile into a sheet layer inherently provides concentric borders consisting of an inner circular shape and an outer circular shape along the edges of the punched recessed part, which secures a stable shape for subsequent packaging inspection (JP'256, Pg. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the tooling methods of CN'204 with the layout rules of JP'256, and to form a circular embossed part subjected to visual recognition as an inner circular shape and an outer circular shape based on a punched recessed part formed adjacent to an edge of the pouch film and distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part (CN'204, Pg. 8-11; JP'256, Pg. 3-10). One would be motivated to select a circular shape profile for the edge embossment of JP'256 because shaping a film between a punch and a matching internal blank holder as taught by CN'204 ensures uniform material flow and high structural stability without wrinkling (CN'204, Pg. 9-11; JP'256, Pg. 4-6). Punching a circular boundary recess onto the outer margins of the film predictably provides concentric boundary contours that can be captured cleanly by standard visual tracking and machine-vision edge detection systems, allowing the automated system to easily recognize the borders of the outer flange and accurately verify pouch alignment during subsequent vacuum reduced-pressure sealing and assembly operations (JP'256, Pg. 8-10).
As to Claim 4:
See the rejection of Claim 1 for the manufacturing method of a pouch type battery cell comprising forming an embossing part in a part of a pouch film by using an embossing punch part distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part; CN'204 discloses wherein the forming the embossing part further comprises processing a pouch film in a state where the embossing punch part and a blank holder are opposed to each other within a die part serving as a passage through which the embossing punch part moves: a molding preparation step includes allowing a blank holder (23) disposed at a central portion of the mold/die (21) to ascend to contact one surface of the bag film (134) and allowing a punch (24) disposed at a central portion of the stripper (22) to descend to contact the other surface of the bag film (134), where the punch (24) and the blank holder (23) share a same central axis and are provided at positions corresponding to each other within the open part/opening (211) of the die (21) which acts as a vertical guide passage, and after the molding preparation step, the punch (24) and the blank holder (23) contact each other with the pouch film (134) therebetween (CN'204, Pg. 4 and 9-11; claims 1 and 4, Pg. 13).
As to Claim 5:
See the rejection of Claim 4 for the forming of the embossing part comprising processing a pouch film in a state where the embossing punch part and a blank holder are opposed to each other within a die part serving as a passage through which the embossing punch part moves; CN'204 discloses wherein the forming the embossing part further comprises punching the pouch film by the embossing punch part while the blank holder presses a bottom surface of the pouch film in contact with the embossing punch part: after the molding preparation step, the punch (24) and the blank holder (23) contact each other with the pouch film (134) therebetween, and when the punch (24) further descends to stretch the bag film (134), the blank holder (23) supports the cup part (133) formed in the bag film (134) to descend along with the punch (24) under conditions in which the punch (24) and the blank holder (23) are in contact with each other with the bag film (134) therebetween (CN'204, Pg. 9-11; claims 1 and 4, Pg. 13).
As to Claim 6:
See the rejection of Claim 5 for the forming of the embossing part comprising punching the pouch film by the embossing punch part while the blank holder presses a bottom surface of the pouch film in contact with the embossing punch part; and CN'204 discloses wherein a bottom surface of the embossing part is formed to be flat: the punch (24) has a shape and size corresponding to the inner surface of the cup part (133) to be formed, the punch (24) and the blank holder (23) share a same central axis and move vertically, and they descend together to stretch the bag film (134) under conditions where they are in contact with each other with the bag film (134) therebetween to ensure the bag has a uniform thickness (CN'204, Pg. 9-11).
As to Claim 7:
See the rejection of Claim 1 for the manufacturing method of a pouch type battery cell comprising forming an embossing part in a part of a pouch film by using an embossing punch part through a passage in a die part until it comes to a position opposing a blank holder within the die part distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part; and CN'204 discloses wherein the embossing part is formed during formation of a pouch from the pouch film of the pouch type battery cell: the pouch as a case of the pouch type secondary battery is manufactured by forming a cup part on a pouch film, and drawing molding is performed on the pouch film to form the cup part, thereby manufacturing the pouch by inserting the pouch film into a press and elongating the pouch film using a punch and a blank holder that descend along with each other (CN'204, Pg. 2-3 and 8-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of prior arts applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723