DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 2/4/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
Claims 1-10 pending. Claims 1-7 are examined in this office action. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 2/4/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’094 in view of JP’747.
As to Claim 1:
KR’094 discloses:
a method of manufacturing a pouch type battery cell, wherein a pouch film is molded using a pouch forming apparatus including a die, punch, and stripper that press and stretch the pouch film to form the pouch for a secondary battery (p. 2);
forming a feature in a part of a pouch film by using a punch part, specifically through the use of a stripper including a protrusion portion that contacts the pouch film, the protrusion cooperating with a groove in the die during the forming operation (pp. 1, 4);
the feature is formed adjacent to an edge of the pouch film, since the protrusions are preferably formed at corner portions or straight portions of the stripper, which correspond to peripheral regions of the pouch film during pouch forming (p. 4); and
the feature is formed distal from an electrode assembly-receiving part, teaching that protrusions used during pouch forming are spaced apart from the molding portion for inserting the battery portion by 30 mm or more, thereby positioning the protrusions away from the battery insertion region (p. 4).
However, KR’094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” formed as a defined concave/convex embossing structure. Instead, KR’094 describes the protrusions primarily as structures used to fix the pouch film and distribute pressing force during the molding process (pp. 3–4).
JP’747 teaches forming concave and convex structures (projections) in a film exterior material by molding the film itself, such as by deep drawing of the film, thereby producing projections in the pouch film material (pp. 1–2).
JP’747 further teaches that a plurality of projections are formed on the film by processing the film material, thereby forming distinct embossed portions in the film exterior material (p. 5).
KR’094 and JP’747 are analogous arts because both references relate to mechanical forming and processing of laminate pouch films used as exterior cases for secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the pouch forming process of KR’094 by forming defined embossing structures in the pouch film as taught by JP’747, since JP’747 teaches that forming projections in the pouch film material by molding improves characteristics of the film exterior material such as heat dissipation and structural stability (pp. 1–3).
As to Claim 2:
KR’094 also discloses that the embossing punch part (stripper protrusion) is punched along an edge of the feature and enters a groove portion of the die, whereby the protrusion of the stripper and the groove of the die cooperate during pouch forming to press the pouch film and create a recessed portion corresponding to the protrusion (pp. 4–5).
However, KR’094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” formed as a defined concave/convex embossing pattern used for marking or identification. Instead, KR’094 describes the protrusions primarily as structures used to fix the pouch film and distribute pressing force during the molding process (pp. 3–4).
JP’747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity in a film exterior material, specifically by forming projections or recessed structures in the laminate film through processing such as deep drawing, thereby producing an embossing structure in the film (pp. 1–2).
JP’747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures can be formed in a flange portion of the film exterior material, which corresponds to a peripheral portion of the pouch film, and which is separate from the recessed portion used to accommodate the battery element, thereby positioning the marking portion away from the electrode receiving region (p. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding process of KR’094 by configuring the stripper protrusions to form a defined embossing structure in the pouch film as taught by JP’747, since JP’747 teaches forming concave/convex structures in the film exterior material to create identifiable markings in peripheral regions of the pouch film.
As to Claim 4:
KR'094 additionally discloses processing a pouch film in a state where a punch part and a holder are opposed to each other within a die assembly, specifically wherein the pouch forming apparatus includes a punch that descends under pressure while the stripper presses and fixes the pouch film against the die, thereby processing the pouch film between the punch and the stripper within the die structure through which the punch moves (see KR'094, pp. 2–3).
However, KR'094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” intended for identification or marking, nor does KR'094 expressly designate the stripper as a blank holder used to define an embossing structure, instead describing the stripper primarily as a structure for fixing the pouch film and distributing pressing force to prevent slippage during molding (see KR'094, pp. 3–4).
JP'747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity (i.e., an embossing structure) in a film exterior material, such as by forming projections or recessed structures in a flange portion of the laminate film using press processing (see JP'747, pp. 1–2).
JP'747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures are formed in a flange portion (edge portion) of the battery case distal from the recessed portion accommodating the battery element, thereby providing a marking region separate from the receiving portion used for the battery element (see JP'747, p. 5).
JP'747 also teaches that these embossed markings facilitate automated position detection during battery manufacturing and assembly processes (see JP'747, pp. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding apparatus and method of KR'094 by configuring the stripper protrusions to create a defined embossing pattern in the pouch film as taught by JP'747, since JP'747 teaches that forming concave and convex structures in the film exterior material can provide identifiable markings useful for automated detection and alignment during manufacturing.
As to Claim 5:
KR'094 additionally discloses processing a pouch film in a state where the punch part and a holder are opposed to each other within a die assembly, specifically wherein the punch descends under pressure while the stripper presses and fixes the pouch film against the die during pouch forming (see KR'094, pp. 2–3).
KR'094 further discloses punching the pouch film while the holder presses the pouch film in contact with the punch part, wherein the stripper presses and fixes the pouch film so that the pressing force applied by the punch is uniformly distributed and the pouch film is prevented from slipping or being abnormally stretched during the forming process (see KR'094, pp. 3–4).
However, KR'094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” intended for identification or marking, nor does KR'094 explicitly describe the punch component as an embossing punch part used to create visual recognition marks, instead describing the stripper primarily as a structure used to fix the pouch film and distribute pressing force during molding (see KR'094, pp. 3–4).
JP'747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity (i.e., an embossing structure) in a film exterior material, such as by forming projections or recessed structures in a flange portion of the laminate film using press processing (see JP'747, pp. 1–2).
JP'747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures are formed in a flange portion (edge portion) of the battery case distal from the recessed portion accommodating the battery element, thereby providing a marking region separate from the receiving portion used for the battery element (see JP'747, p. 5).
JP'747 also teaches that these embossed markings facilitate automated position detection during battery manufacturing and assembly processes (see JP'747, pp. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding apparatus and method of KR'094 by configuring the stripper protrusions to form a defined embossing structure in the pouch film as taught by JP'747, since JP'747 teaches that forming concave and convex structures in the film exterior material can provide identifiable markings useful for automated detection and alignment during manufacturing.
As to Claim 6:
KR'094 also discloses forming the bottom surface of the feature using a mechanical protrusion, since the protrusion formed on the stripper presses the pouch film into a groove portion of the die during forming to create a corresponding recessed structure in the pouch film (see KR'094, pp. 4–5).
However, KR'094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” intended for identification or marking, nor does KR'094 explicitly disclose that the bottom surface of the embossing part is specifically formed to be flat, instead describing the protrusions primarily as structures used to fix the pouch film and distribute pressing force during molding, and suggesting rounded shapes in some embodiments to prevent damage to the pouch film (see KR'094, pp. 3–5).
JP'747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity (i.e., an embossing structure) in a film exterior material, such as by forming projections or recessed structures in a flange portion of the laminate film using press processing (see JP'747, pp. 1–2).
JP'747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures are formed in a flange portion (edge portion) of the battery case distal from the recessed portion accommodating the battery element, thereby providing a marking region separate from the receiving portion used for the battery element (see JP'747, p. 5).
JP'747 also teaches that these embossed markings facilitate automated position detection and visual recognition during battery manufacturing and assembly processes (see JP'747, pp. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding apparatus and method of KR'094 by configuring the stripper protrusions to form a defined embossing structure having a flat bottom surface in the pouch film as taught by JP'747, since JP'747 teaches that forming concave and convex structures in the film exterior material provides markings suitable for visual recognition during manufacturing processes.
As to Claim 7:
KR'094 additionally discloses that the feature is formed during formation of the pouch from the pouch film, as the pouch film is fixed by the stripper and pressed by the punch during the pouch forming operation, such that the protrusions of the stripper interact with the pouch film simultaneously with the forming step that shapes the pouch for the electrode assembly (see KR'094, pp. 2–3).
However, KR'094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” intended for identification or visual recognition, instead describing the protrusion of the stripper primarily as a structure used to fix the pouch film and distribute the pressing force during molding to prevent slippage or damage during pouch formation (see KR'094, pp. 3–4).
JP'747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity (i.e., an embossing structure) in a film exterior material, such as by forming projections or recessed structures in the laminate film through press processing (see JP'747, pp. 1–2).
JP'747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures are formed on a flange portion (edge portion) of the battery case distal from the recessed portion accommodating the battery element, thereby providing a marking region separate from the battery receiving portion (see JP'747, p. 5).
JP'747 also teaches that these embossed markings facilitate automated position detection during battery manufacturing and assembly processes, allowing reliable alignment of the battery components during subsequent processing steps (see JP'747, pp. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding process of KR'094 by configuring the stripper protrusions to form a defined embossing pattern in the pouch film as taught by JP'747, thereby utilizing the pouch-forming step itself to simultaneously form marking structures useful for automated detection and alignment during battery manufacturing.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR'094 in view of JP'747, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US'571.
As to Claim 3:
KR'094 additionally discloses that the protrusion cooperates with a groove in the die during the pouch forming process, thereby producing a corresponding recessed portion in the pouch film when the protrusion presses the pouch film into the groove (pp. 4–5).
However, KR'094 does not explicitly disclose that the feature formed in the pouch film is specifically an “embossing part” subjected to visual recognition or that the recessed part is recognized as an inner circular shape and an outer circular shape based on the punched recessed part. Instead, KR'094 describes the protrusions primarily as structures used to fix the pouch film and distribute pressing force during molding (pp. 3–4).
JP'747 teaches forming a marking part by creating concavity and convexity (i.e., an embossing structure) in a film exterior material, such as by forming projections or recessed structures in the laminate film through press processing (pp. 1–2).
JP'747 further teaches that such concave/convex structures are formed in a flange portion (edge portion) of the battery case distal from the recessed portion accommodating the battery element, thereby providing a marking region separate from the battery receiving portion (p. 5).
JP'747 also teaches that these embossed structures function as markings to facilitate automated position detection during battery manufacturing and assembly processes (pp. 1–3).
US'571 teaches an automated system for determining position with a digital image processing system, wherein a detection target located on a circular region is subjected to visual recognition using a circular crown region defined by an inner circle and an outer circle, allowing image processing systems to identify markings or features within concentric circular regions for automated detection and alignment ([0013]).
Thus, US'571 teaches that visual recognition of a target feature can be performed by identifying features located between an inner circular boundary and an outer circular boundary, effectively defining inner and outer circular shapes used for image recognition and alignment ([0013]).
KR'094, JP'747, and US'571 are analogous arts because they each relate to automated manufacturing systems in which mechanically formed features on substrates are recognized or detected by automated equipment, including mechanical stamping or embossing processes and machine-vision-based detection of reference features.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molding process of KR'094 by configuring the protrusion structures to form a defined embossing structure in the pouch film as taught by JP'747 and to employ image recognition techniques such as those taught by US'571 in order to enable automated visual recognition of the embossed marking during battery manufacturing and assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723