DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 10 September 2026 in which claims 61-64 are currently pending and claims 1-60 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 63 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 63, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “the occupancies” in line 3.
Regarding claim 63, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “the resource pool” in line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (PG Pub US 2023/0164825 A1) in view of Luo et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0408514 A1).
Regarding claims 61, 62, Deng discloses a first terminal and a method.
a receiver (transceiver 120, fig. 1B) configured to receive, from a second terminal, a request (“an assisted WTRU may transmit an assistance transmission request” [0080]) for inter-user equipment coordination (“inter-WTRU coordination” [0068]) with parameters comprising L1 priority (“a L1 priority of a TB” [0075]), the number of subchannels to be used for a sidelink transmission in a slot (“a number of sub-channels, for example, to be used for a PSSCH transmission of a TB” [0075]);
a processor (processor 118, fig. 1B) coupled to the receiver and configured to determine, with the parameters, resources for the sidelink transmission of the second terminal (“a WTRU may determine resources for an assistance request transmission” [0085], “a first WTRU determining a set of resources” [0068]);
provide, to the second terminal, information about the determined resources (“a first WTRU determining a set of resources and sending them to a second WTRU” [0068]),
the information about time resources in the determined resources comprises a first slot location, the first slot location is indicated by an offset with respect to a reference time (“any of T1_TB and T2_TB may be an absolute frame, sub-frame, or slot number. According to embodiments, an indication value may be an offset (e.g., in slots) relative to the timing of the assistance transmission request .. the window start, the window end, and the resource indexing” [0152], “an assisting WTRU may perform an assistance transmission according to an offset, for example, such as an offset (e.g., of slots, windows, frames, time, etc.) from the beginning of an assistance transmission period and/or window” [0111]).
However, Deng does not explicitly disclose a resource reservation interval.
Nevertheless, Luo discloses “The DRX configuration assistant information may include .. a sidelink control information indicating a retransmission interval or a resource reservation period” [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a resource reservation interval because it will “reduce the power consumption of the sidelink communication while meeting the time delay requirements” [0016].
Regarding claim 63, Deng, Luo discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Deng discloses transmitting a bitmap indicative of the occupancies of resources in the resource pool with a predetermined frequency granularity and a predetermined time granularity (“a UL transmission indication may include a bit field, for example, to indicate a slot in which an UL transmission is scheduled” [0132], “a set of time and frequency resources allocated within a resource pool .. such time and/or frequency resources may be (e.g., consist of, comprise, include, have, etc.) any of a set of SL slots, a set of SL symbols, a set of sub-channels, a set of PRBs, and a set of sub-carriers” [0133]). Further, Luo discloses “there are ten slots within a cycle of the sidelink resource pool, and the slots 1, 2, 6, 7, 9 serve as the sidelink reception resource pool. On the basis of the five slots, a sidelink DRX bitmap may be used to indicate which of them are reception on duration slots” [0048].
Regarding claim 64, Deng, Luo discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Deng discloses the predetermined frequency granularity is a number of sub-channels to be used for a transmission on at least one of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and the predetermined time granularity is a slot or a symbol (“the total number of sub-channels and/or PRBs used in the PSSCH transmission .. a WTRU may determine a set of a sub-channels and/or PRBs according to an index of the slot and any of the starting sub-channel and the PRB index of the PSSCH transmission” [0135], “such time and/or frequency resources may be (e.g., consist of, comprise, include, have, etc.) any of a set of SL slots, a set of SL symbols, a set of sub-channels, a set of PRBs, and a set of sub-carriers” [0133]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 10/06/2026