Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1+-5, 7-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “generate, on a basis of the input image and the user input signal, a control signal partially adjusting an output texture in an output image to be inferred using a learned inference model”. This is being interpreted as requiring that the control signal itself performs the partial adjustment to the output texture. However, the specification teaches that texture adjustment is performed by a learned inference model, which uses the control signal (e.g., texture axis values) to adjust texture in partial regions of an output image (see paragraphs 87 and 130-137). The control signal corresponds to merely input texture axis values, and no support is provided for the control signal itself performing texture adjustment. Thus, the claim is rejected on the ground of a lack of written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Dependent claims 2-5,7-8 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claims 9 and 10 contain elements found analogous to that of claim 1. Thus, claims 9 and 10 are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1-5,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “generating, on a basis of the input image and the user input signal, a control signal partially adjusting an output texture in an output image…” which is indefinite. It is unclear what the phrase “partially adjusting” is intended to mean. For example, it is not clear if this refers to a partial adjustment to texture characteristics (e.g., quality or degree) or an adjustment applied only to partial regions of the output image. Further, it is unclear how the control signal performs the partial adjustments (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) analysis above). One of ordinary skill in the art could not ascertain the scope of the claim, thus, the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “generating, on a basis of the input image and the user input signal, a control signal which is used to partially adjust an output texture in an output image…”.
Claim 2 recites “input the input image to another inference model, and infer a texture label expressing the specific texture of each region formed in the output image…” which is indefinite. It is unclear if the limitation “the specific texture” is meant to refer to the specific texture for the partial region of claim 1, or a different specific texture corresponding to various regions in the output image. For example, in claim 1 a specific texture is designated by a user for a partial region, but there is no mention of various regions formed in the output image. Thus, it is unclear if “the specific texture” is meant to indicate that there is a plurality of regions with the same texture or a plurality of regions with different specific textures. One of ordinary skill in the art could not ascertain the scope of the claim, thus, the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation of the claim will be interpreted to mean “input the input image to another inference model, and infer a texture label expressing a specific texture of each region formed in the output image…”.
Dependent claims 3-5,7-8 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claims 9 and 10 contain elements found analogous to that of claim 1. Thus, claims 9 and 10 are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Recovering Realistic Texture in Image Super-resolution by Deep Spatial Feature Transform” Proceedings of the IEEE conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2018), (hereinafter Wang) in view of Men et al (“A common framework for interactive texture transfer”, Proceedings of the IEEE conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2018), (hereinafter Men).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an image processing device (Wang, see Fig. 3) comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive an input image; receive an input signal designating a partial region in the input image and a specific texture for the partial region texture for respective regions in the input image; generate, on a basis of the input image, a control signal partially adjusting an output texture in an output image to be inferred using a learned inference model (Wang, “We argue that the semantic categorical prior, i.e., knowing which region belongs to the sky, water, or grass, is beneficial for generating richer and more realistic textures. The categorical prior can be conveniently represented by semantic segmentation probability maps”, pg. 608, 2nd column, Section 3. Methodology, 2nd paragraph, lines 1-5, “A Spatial Feature Transform (SFT) layer learns a mapping function M that outputs a modulation parameter pair (
γ
,
β
) based on some prior condition
Ψ
. The learned parameter pair adaptively influences the outputs by applying an affine transformation spatially to each intermediate feature maps in an SR network… Meanwhile, we still keep few parameters inside each SFT layer to further adapt the shared conditions to the specific parameters and, providing fine-grained control to the features.”, pg. 609, 1st column, Section 3.1 spatial feature Transform, paragraphs 1 and 3, lines 1-6 and 10-13, respectively, “Some LR images and the corresponding segmentation results are depicted in Fig. 4.”, pg. 609, 2nd column, Section 3.1 spatial feature Transform, paragraph 5, lines 7-8, see Figs. 3 and 4, An image is first input to a segmentation model that generates probability maps representing identified texture regions in the image. The segmentation map is then used to calculate parameters associated with each texture region, acting as the control signal for the texture regions in the super-resolution processes), the output texture indicating at least two of fineness, granularity, shape properties, glossiness, transparency, shadowiness, skin fineness, matteness, irregularities or sizzling feeling (Wang, “In this work, we focus on outdoor scenes since their textures are rich and well-suited for our study. For example, the sky is smooth and lacks sharp edges, while the building is rich of geometric patterns. The water presents smooth surface with waves, while the grass has matted textures. We assume seven categories, i.e., sky, mountain, plant, grass, water, animal and building.”, pg. 610, 2nd column, Section 4. Experiments, paragraph 1, lines 1-7, The semantic classes correspond to distinct visual texture characteristic, such as, the smooth appearance of the sky, the shape properties of patterns on a building, and the matted texture of grass.);
infer, based on the input image, the control signal and the inference model, the output image in which the partial region has the adjusted output texture (Wang, “The architecture of
G
θ
is shown in Fig. 3. It consists of two streams: a condition network and an SR network. The condition network takes segmentation probability maps as input, which are then processed by four convolution layers. It generates intermediate conditions shared by all the SFT layers…The SR network is built with 16 residual blocks with the proposed SFT layers, which take the shared conditions as input and learn (
γ
,
β
) to modulate the feature maps by applying affine transformation.”, pg. 610, 1st column, Section 3.2 Architecture, paragraphs 2-3, The segmentation probability map of the input image is used to guide the super-resolution network. A final output image is generated, with improved texture regions based on the defined control signal.), the inference model being obtained by performing learning based on a degraded image and a ground-truth image, the degraded image being generated by performing predetermined image processing on the ground-truth image (Wang, “During training, we followed existing studies [7, 27] to obtain LR images by down sampling HR images using MATLAB bicubic kernel... After initialization, with the same training setting, we fine-tuned our full network on outdoor scenes conditionally on the input segmentation probability maps.”, pg. 610, 2nd column, section 4. Experiments, paragraphs 2 and 3, see Fig. 4 bottom row, the super-resolution network is trained with various images, including segmented high-resolution images and corresponding down sampled low-resolution images. See labels of figure 4 corresponding to the segmented images.),
Wang does not teach receiving a user input signal designating a partial region in the input image and a specific texture for the partial region; and generate, on the basis of the input image and the user input signal, a control signal.
However, Men teaches receiving a user input signal designating a partial region in the input image and a specific texture for the partial region; and generate, on the basis of the input image and the user input signal, a control signal (Men, “Interactive texture transfer aims to generate the stylized target image from a given source image with user guidance. Users can control the shape, scale and spatial distribution of the objects to be synthesized in the target image via semantic maps.”, pg. 6355, 2nd column, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-5, “The semantic map specified by users introduces manual control to the texture transfer process. Same color labels in Ssem and Tsem manifest the similar objects with identical stylized texture. We manually produced labels via the brush and quick selection tool of photoshop in about 30 seconds for each image. A semantic label should cover an object to naked eyes to avoid textures in one label being synthesized in another.”, pg. 6357, 2nd column, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-8, see Fig. 2, A user-specifies texture regions with labels as semantic maps, for texture synthesis.).
Wang teaches determining segmentation probability maps representing texture regions and using those maps as priors to a super-resolution model (Wang, “We argue that the semantic categorical prior, i.e., knowing which region belongs to the sky, water, or grass, is beneficial for generating richer and more realistic textures. The categorical prior can be conveniently represented by semantic segmentation probability maps P,”, pg. 608, 2nd column, 2nd full paragraph, lines 1-5). Men teaches receiving user-specified semantic maps defining texture regions (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the segmentation probability maps of Wang to include user-specified texture regions, such as the semantic maps as taught by Men (Men, pg. 6355, 2nd column, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-5, pg. 6357, 2nd column, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-8, see Fig. 2). The motivation for doing so would have been to allow users to directly define the spatial distribution of textures for each region according to user preference, thereby improving the flexibility and adaptability of the model. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wang with Men to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
input the input image to another inference model, and infer a texture label expressing the specific texture of each region formed in the output image (Wang, “Segmentation probability maps as prior. We provide a brief discussion on the segmentation network we used.”, pg. 609, 1st column, Section 3.1. Spatial Feature Transform, paragraph 4, lines 1-2, “The condition network takes segmentation probability maps as input…”, pg. 610, Section. 3.2. Architecture, paragraph 2, lines 2-4, A segmentation network is used prior to the super-resolution network to identify segmentation probability maps of the image. The segmentation effectively labels the textures of the image, such as, sky, building or grass, and uses these labels to generate the output image.), the another inference model being obtained by performing learning with degraded data and ground-truth data, the degraded data being an image generated by performing the predetermined image processing on an image for learning, the ground-truth being a texture label expressing a texture of each region of the image for learning (see Wang Supplementary Material, “The network is pre-trained on the COCO dataset [8] and then fine-tuned on OutdoorSeg dataset. To better adapt to the bicubic-ed LR input in testing, we fed the network with bicubic-ed training samples during fine-tuning.”, pg. 3, lines 3-4, The fine-tuning of the segmentation network utilizes the same dataset used for training of the super-resolution network. This consists of high-resolution annotated images and corresponding down-sampled low-resolution images); and
generate the control signal on a basis of the texture label that is an inference result (Wang, “A Spatial Feature Transform (SFT) layer learns a mapping function M that outputs a modulation parameter pair (
γ
,
β
) based on some prior condition
Ψ
.”, pgs. 608 and 609, Section 3.1 Spatial Feature Transform, paragraph 1, lines 1-3, The control signal is generated based on the segmentation probability map, which indicates the appropriate categoric prior for each region.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of types of texture labels expressing qualitative textures and texture intensities is defined (Wang, “We argue that the semantic categorical prior, i.e., knowing which region belongs to the sky, water, or grass, is beneficial for generating richer and more realistic textures. The categorical prior can be conveniently represented by semantic segmentation probability maps P”, pg. 608, Section 3. Methodology, paragraph 2, lines 1-5, A plurality of different categories is expressed in the segmentation probability maps, such as sky, building or water. The generation of the segmentation probability maps inherently defines qualitative textures and texture intensities in order to divide the regions into corresponding class categories based on observed texture features of the image.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
convert a texture intensity expressed by the texture label inferred as the inference result with the another inference model into a numerical value, on a basis of a likelihood; and generate the control signal indicating a type of the texture expressed by the texture label as the inference result, and the numerical value (Wang, “A Spatial Feature Transform (SFT) layer learns a mapping function M that outputs a modulation parameter pair (
γ
,
β
) based on some prior condition
Ψ
.”, pg. 608 and 609, Section 3.1. Spatial Feature Transform, paragraph 1, lines 1-3, The probability maps defined as priors are converted to adjustable parameters based on the texture intensity of each class. The parameters are used as a control signal to individually adjust the texture regions in the super-resolution network.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to adjust a relationship between the texture intensity and the numerical value, in accordance with an object included in each region (Wang, “We argue that the semantic categorical prior, i.e., knowing which region belongs to the sky, water, or grass, is beneficial for generating richer and more realistic textures.”, pg. 608, Section. 3. Methodology, paragraph 2, lines 1-3, the objects in the image define the probability map. A relationship between the identified texture of each region and parameters of the super-resolution network are determined based on the type of object present in the region.).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
detect an object included in the input image (Wang, “We assume seven categories, i.e., sky, mountain, plant, grass, water, animal and building. A ‘background’ category is used to encompass regions that do not appear in the aforementioned categories.”, pg. 610, 2nd column, Section 4. Experiments, paragraph 1, lines 6-9, Prior to input to the super-resolution network, the input image is subject to segmentation. This process includes categorizing regions of an image as objects.), wherein the learning of the inference model is performed by learning a coefficient that varies with each object included in the ground-truth image (Wang, “A Spatial Feature Transform (SFT) layer learns a mapping function M that outputs a modulation parameter pair (
γ
,
β
) based on some prior condition
Ψ
.”, pgs. 608 and 609, Section 3.1. Spatial Feature Transform, paragraph 1, lines 1-3, A texture region-dependent parameter is inferred for each object region of the image.); and
input the input image to the inference model in which a coefficient corresponding to an object included in the input image is set, and infer the output image (Wang, “Our method employs categorical priors to help capture the characteristics of each category, leading to more natural and realistic textures.”, pg. 611, Section 4.1 Qualitative Evaluation, paragraph 1, lines 14-16, the identified parameters of each object region is used to generate the corresponding textures in the output image.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the texture of each region is expressed with a texture of an object included in each region (Wang, “We argue that the semantic categorical prior, i.e., knowing which region belongs to the sky, water, or grass, is beneficial for generating richer and more realistic textures. The categorical prior can be conveniently represented by semantic segmentation probability maps”, pg. 608, 2nd column, Section 3. Methodology, paragraph 2, lines 1-5, the texture probability maps are defined by different objects, such as sky, water or grass).
Claim 9 corresponds to claim 1, reciting an image processing method (Wang, “Our method employs categorical priors to help capture the characteristics of each category, leading to more natural and realistic textures.”, pg. 611, 2nd column, Section 4.1. Qualitative Evaluation, see Fig. 3, see analysis of claim 1) to perform the functions according to claim 1. As indicated in the analysis of claim 1, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as of obviousness as claim 1.
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 1, reciting a program for causing a computer to perform a process (Wang, “A Spatial Feature Transform (SFT) layer learns a mapping function M that outputs a modulation parameter pair (
γ
,
β
) based on some prior condition
Ψ
.”, pg. 609, 1st column, Section 3.1 spatial feature Transform, paragraphs 1, lines 1-6, The mapping function of Wang is carried out through computational processes that inherently requires a program executed by a computer.) to perform the functions according to claim 1. As indicated in the analysis of claim 1, Wang in view of Men teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR L HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672