:30DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claim 1 of 5/15/2026 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okaniwa (WO 2011136115 A1) in view of Dejima (US 20080051631 A1), Kitagawa 457 (US 20130112457 A1) and Kitagawa 970 (US 20120170970 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okaniwa teaches An endoscope comprising:
a first bending section (fig. 1, element 11, p. 6, para. 6, active bending portion) and a second bending section (p. 6, para. 6, passive bending portion on proximal end side of active bending portion) that are bendable and sequentially disposed from a distal tip, wherein the first bending section and the second bending section each include a plurality of articulated cylinders (fig. 4, element 11a/13a, p. 7, para. 6, bending pieces);
a connection cylinder (fig. 4, element 40, p. 10, para. 4, base 40) for connecting the first bending section and the second bending section;
a coil (fig. 4, element 91-94, p. 9, para. 6, coil pipes 94 to 94), and wound about a wire (fig. 4, element 21-24, p. 9, para. 4-6, coils are arranged on the outer circumferences of the four bending wires 21 to 24) to be operated for bending the first bending section, the coil further having an outer peripheral surface fixed to an inner peripheral surface of the connection cylinder (p 9, para. 6, coil pipes are fixed to the base 40 by welding or the like), the coil extending in an axial direction of the connection cylinder.
Okaniwa does not explicitly teach a coil comprising a strand having a circular cross section, cutout formed at a position where the coil is fixed, the cutout extending in a circumferential direction of a predetermined articulated cylinder, the cutout enhancing a rotational freedom degree of the predetermined articulated cylinder, in the second bending section, to be connected with the connection cylinder and to rotate.
However, Kitagawa 457 teaches a coil (fig. 4a, element 101, [0071], wire guide member 101) comprising a strand having a circular cross section (fig. 4a, strand has circular cross section exemplified at amplitude apexes),
However, Dejima teaches a cutout (fig. 45, element 305,307, [0258], first and second joint rings 305 and 307 have axis parts 310 that join at cutouts formed in semicircular and rectangular shapes) formed at a position of the coil (fig. 54, element 131, [0264], coil tubes 313a0f are disposed at the axis parts 310) in a circumferential direction of a predetermined articulated cylinder, the cutout enhancing a rotational freedom degree of the predetermined articulated cylinder, in the second bending section, to be connected with the connection cylinder and to rotate ([0260]).
However, Kitagawa 970 teaches fixing the coil in a position where a cutout is formed (fig. 11, element 37, [0061], engagement part 37 is fixed to the joint which includes tongue receiving parts 43, which is a cutout in the cylinder).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire guide of Okaniwa to have a circular cross sectional area as taught in Kitagawa 457 in order to allow for free movement of the operation wire (Kitagawa 457 [0071]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vertebral elements of Okaniwa to include cutout portions as taught in Dejima in order to allow for easier rotation of the vertebral elements in relation to each other ( Dejima[0260]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vertebral elements of Okaniwa to include fix the wire at cutout portions as taught in Kitagawa 970 in order to allow for easier pivoting of the operation wire (Kitagawa 970 [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Okaniwa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein the cutout includes a first cutout formed at a position corresponding to the coil at an edge on a connection cylinder side of the predetermined articulated cylinder (fig. 54, element 131, [0264], coil tubes 313a0f are disposed at the axis parts 310).
Regarding claim 3, Okaniwa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Dejima teaches the cutout includes a second cutout formed at a position corresponding to the coil at an edge on a predetermined articulated cylinder side of the connection cylinder (fig. 54, element 131, [0264], coil tubes 313a0f are disposed at the axis parts 310).
Regarding claim 4, Okaniwa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 2,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein the cutout includes a second cutout formed at a position corresponding to the coil at an edge on a predetermined articulated cylinder side of the connection cylinder (fig. 54, element 131, [0264], coil tubes 313a0f are disposed at the axis parts 310).
Regarding claim 5, Okaniwa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 2,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein the first cutout has a semicircular shape with a diameter larger than a diameter of the coil (fig. 45, element 305,307, [0258], first and second joint rings 305 and 307 have axis parts 310 that join at cutouts formed in semicircular and rectangular shapes).
Regarding claim 6, Okaniwa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 3,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein the second cutout has a chamfered rectangular shape with a dimension in a circumferential direction of the connection cylinder that is longer than a diameter of the coil member (fig. 45, element 305,307, [0258], first and second joint rings 305 and 307 have axis parts 310 that join at cutouts formed in semicircular and rectangular shapes).
Regarding claim 7, Okinawa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein the cutout surrounds the coil (fig. 54, element 310, 313, coils 313a-f are disposed within the cutout sections and contained within them).
Regarding claim 8, Okinawa in view of Dejima Kitagawa 457 and Kitagawa 970 teaches The endoscope according to claim 1,
Further, Dejima teaches the device wherein a plane orthogonal to the circumferential direction intersects a center of the cutout and the wire (fig. 54, element 310, 313, an orthogonal plane to the circumferential direction extending in the longitudinal-lateral axes could be drawn to intersect the center of the cutout at axis part 310 and wire 313).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795