DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/13/2022 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-14, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0027292 A1) in view of Jones (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0193138 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Findeisen teaches a transformer 1 (FIG. 3), comprising: a tank 39 having tank walls (side walls), wherein the tank walls comprise composite panels, and wherein the tank has a fluid-tight insert 6 configured to prevent an insulation fluid 20 from contacting the composite panels, wherein the composite panels abut on an outer surface (exterior face) of the fluid-tight insert, wherein an active part 2 and or 4 of the transformer extends into an inner volume of the fluid-tight insert (paras. [0031] and [0035]).
Findeisen does not expressly teach the composite panels having a layered structure comprising first and second skin layers, with a core positioned between the first and second skin layers.
Jones teaches a transformer (FIGs. 1A-2), wherein the tank walls 108 comprise composite panels 108a-108e having a layered structure 224a, 228 and 224b comprising first and second skin layers 224a and 224b, with a core 228 positioned between the first and second skin layers (paras. [0016] and [0018]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skin layers and the core therebetween as taught by Jones to the transformer of Findeisen to improve cooling while simultaneously minimizing weight increase (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 2, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the fluid-tight insert is oil-tight (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 3, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein a bottom (floor) and plural sides of the fluid-tight insert are integrally formed or joined to each other by welding (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 6, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein an inner surface of the fluid- tight insert is composed of planar faces (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 7, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 6, wherein the inner surface of the fluid- tight insert is free from stiffener structures (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 9, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the tank walls include a bottom wall (floor) and several side walls, wherein the bottom wall and each of the several side walls respectively comprises at least one of said composite panels (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 10, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 9, wherein the bottom wall comprises several composite panels and/or each of the several side walls comprises several of said composite panels (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 11, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the transformer comprises bushings 7 and wherein the composite panels contain or are made of non-magnetic materials adjacent the bushings (Findeisen, paras. [0035] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 12, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the composite panels include a filler in cells of the core (Jones, para. [0019]).
With respect to claim 13, Findeisen teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 39 (FIG. 3), comprising: forming a fluid-tight insert 6; and affixing composite panels (side walls of the tank) on the fluid-tight insert in such a way that the composite panels abut on an outer surface (exterior face) of the fluid-tight insert, wherein the fluid-tight insert is configured to prevent an insulation fluid from contacting the composite panels, wherein an active part 2 and or 4 of the transformer extends into an inner volume of the fluid-tight insert (paras. [0031] and [0035]). Findeisen does not expressly teach composite panels having a layered structure including first and second skin layers and a core placed between the first and second skin layers.
Jones teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 100 (FIGs. 1A-2), comprising: composite panels 108a-108e having a layered structure 224a, 228 and 224b including first and second skin layers 224a and 224and a core 228 placed between the first and second skin layers (paras. [0017] and [0019]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skin layers and the core therebetween as taught by Jones to the method of Findeisen to improve cooling while simultaneously minimizing weight increase (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 14, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the fluid-tight insert is an integral component having a bottom (floor) and sides, wherein the method further comprising forming the bottom and sides by bending or by vacuum forming (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 16, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the core comprises a honeycomb core (Jones, para. [0019]).
With respect to claim 19, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein a bottom and a plurality of sides of the fluid-tight insert are formed by bending or vacuum forming (Findeisen, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 20, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the core comprises a honeycomb core (Jones, para. [0019]).
Claims 1 and 13 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradhan et al. (EP 3 404 677 A1, hereinafter “Pradhan”) in view of Jones.
With respect to claim 1, Pradhan teaches a transformer (FIGs. 1-4), comprising: a tank 10 having tank walls 12, wherein the tank walls comprise composite panels, and wherein the tank has a fluid-tight insert 24 configured to prevent an insulation fluid (“cooling insulation fluid” para. [0014]) from contacting the composite panels, wherein the composite panels abut on an outer surface (exterior face) of the fluid-tight insert, wherein an active part (“inductive device” para. [0014]) of the transformer extends into an inner volume of the fluid-tight insert (paras. [0014]).
Pradhan does not expressly teach the composite panels having a layered structure comprising first and second skin layers, with a core positioned between the first and second skin layers.
Jones teaches a transformer (FIGs. 1A-2), wherein the tank walls 108 comprise composite panels 108a-108e having a layered structure 224a, 228 and 224b comprising first and second skin layers 224a and 224b, with a core 228 positioned between the first and second skin layers (paras. [0016] and [0018]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skin layers and the core therebetween as taught by Jones to the transformer of Pradhan to improve cooling while simultaneously minimizing weight increase (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 13, Pradhan teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 10 (FIGs. 1-4), comprising: forming a fluid-tight insert 24; and affixing composite panels 12 on the fluid-tight insert in such a way that the composite panels abut on an outer surface (exterior face) of the fluid-tight insert, wherein the fluid-tight insert is configured to prevent an insulation fluid (“cooling insulation fluid” para. [0014]) from contacting the composite panels, wherein an active part (“inductive device” para. [0014]) of the transformer extends into an inner volume of the fluid-tight insert (para. [0014]). Pradhan does not expressly teach composite panels having a layered structure including first and second skin layers and a core placed between the first and second skin layers.
Jones teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 100 (FIGs. 1A-2), comprising: composite panels 108a-108e having a layered structure 224a, 228 and 224b including first and second skin layers 224a and 224and a core 228 placed between the first and second skin layers (paras. [0017] and [0019]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skin layers and the core therebetween as taught by Jones to the method of Pradhan to improve cooling while simultaneously minimizing weight increase (para. [0003]).
Claims 4, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen in view of Jones, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Bodla et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0350111 A1, hereinafter “Bodla”).
With respect to claim 4, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach the fluid-tight insert is made of metal.
Bodla teaches a transformer 100 (FIG. 1), wherein the fluid-tight insert 114 is made of metal (para. [0051]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the metal fluid-tight insert as taught by Bodla to the transformer of Findeisen in view of Jones to improve mechanical strength.
With respect to claim 8, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach the composite panels have a higher bending stiffness than the fluid-tight insert.
Bodla teaches a transformer 100 (FIG. 1), wherein the composite panels 106-112 have a higher bending stiffness than the fluid-tight insert 114 (para. [0051]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the stiffness of the composite panels as taught by Bodla to the transformer of Findeisen in view of Jones to improve mechanical strength.
With respect to claim 18, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the method of claim 13. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach forming the fluid-tight insert comprises forming the fluid-tight insert from at least one of metal and polymer.
Jones teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 100 (FIGs. 1A-2), wherein forming the fluid-tight insert 116 from at least one of metal and polymer (para. [0051]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the metal fluid-tight insert as taught by Bodla to the method of Findeisen in view of Jones to improve mechanical strength.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen in view of Jones, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2011/0043312 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the transformer of claim 1. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach the fluid-tight insert is made of polymer.
Yang teaches a transformer 10 (Fig. 1), wherein the fluid-tight insert 12 is made of polymer (Yan, para. [0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the polymer insert as taught by Yang to the transformer of Findeisen in view of Jones to reduce weight.
With respect to claim 15, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the method of claim 13. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach affixing the composite panels on the fluid-tight insert comprises affixing the composite panels by means of an adhesive.
Yang teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 10 (Fig. 1), wherein affixing the composite panels 133 and or (walls 13a, annotated Fig. 1, e.g., “steel” and “insulating plate, para. P0040] and or “(FRP)” para. [0042]) on the fluid-tight insert 12 comprises affixing the composite panels by means of an adhesive (Yang, para. [0053]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the adhesion as taught by Yang to the method of Findeisen in view of Jones to improve mechanical bonding between the insert and the panels.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen in view of Jones, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Boe et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0077205 A1, hereinafter “Boe”).
With respect to claim 17, Findeisen in view of Jones teaches the method of claim 14. Findeisen in view of Jones does not expressly teach joining the bottom and sides of the fluid-tight insert by oil-tight weld seams.
Boe et al., hereinafter referred to as “Boe,” teaches a method of producing a transformer tank 15 (FIG. 1) comprising joining the bottom (“bottom plate”) and sides (“side walls”) of the fluid-tight insert by oil-tight weld seams (para. [0058]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the weld seams as taught by Boe to the method of producing a transformer tank of Findeisen in view of Jones to sufficiently protect against foreign objects, such as ingress of sea water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, CN 111312471 teaches the transformer tank and insert, similar to the present invention. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837