DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment/remarks submitted 02/13/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1 and 5-10 are pending. Claims 2-4 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 8 are amended. Claims 1 and 5-10 are examined herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-13, and 16-19 of copending Application No. 17/917,156 in view of EP 2 830 125 A1 (“Niemöller” – machine translation cited herein).
The instant claims differ from those in the reference application in the recitation of a third binder resin is a polymer of a polymerization unit including polyfunctional acrylate monomer. Niemöller discloses a separator for an electrochemical cell comprising a porous layer which comprises at least one organic binder and at least one functionalized aluminum oxide hydroxide (Abstract). Niemöller discloses a crosslinking component can be added to the coating dispersion to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator. An example of a monomer of the crosslinking component includes trimethylolpropane triacrylate (pg. 14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include trimethylolpropane triacrylate as taught by Niemöller to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/060310 A1 (“Jeong” – US 2021/0066692 A1 cited herein as an English language equivalent) in view of WO 2020/067778 A1 (“Kim” – US 2021/0280945 A1 cited herein as an English language equivalent) and EP 2 830 125 A1 (“Niemöller” – machine translation cited herein).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-7, Jeong discloses a separator comprising a porous coating layer formed on at least one surface of a porous polymer substrate (Abstract). The porous coating layer comprises a plurality of inorganic particles and a binder polymer ([0014]), wherein the weight ratio of the inorganic particles to the binder polymer is 90:10-50:50 ([0026]). The binder polymer comprises an amorphous adhesive binder polymer ([0015]).
Jeong discloses examples of the amorphous adhesive binder polymer which include polyvinyl acetate (“first binder resin”) ([0020]-[0021], [0070]). In an example, the glass transition temperature of the polyvinyl acetate is 30° C (Table 1). See also the broader discussion in [0069]-[0070].
Jeong further discloses the amorphous adhesive binder polymer (i.e. polyvinyl acetate) is included in an amount of 50-84 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the total binder polymer content ([0053]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose a second binder resin, wherein the second binder resin is an acrylic binder resin having a glass transition (Tg) of 80°C to 120°C.
Kim discloses a separator including a porous polymer substrate and an inorganic coating layer formed on at least one surface of the porous polymer substrate. The inorganic coating layer includes inorganic particles and a binder resin, which includes a second binder resin comprising an acrylic polymer (“second binder resin”). The acrylic polymer has an acid value of 1 or less and a glass transition temperature, Tg, of 90°C to 130°C (Abstract). An example of the acrylic polymer is poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA) having a molecular average molecular weight (Mw) of 100,000-200,000 ([0013], [0072]). In examples, the PMMA has a Tg of 110°C (Table 1). Kim further discloses the acrylic polymer is used in an amount of 10 wt % to 50 wt % based on 100 wt % of the binder resin ([0015], [0068]). Electrode adhesion is improved by inclusion of the acrylic polymer and phase separation ([0007], [0023], [0067]-[0068]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the acrylic polymer taught by Kim to improve the electrode adhesion of the coating layer.
Modified Jeong does not expressly disclose the third binder resin is a polymer of a polymerization unit including polyfunctional acrylate monomer.
Niemöller discloses a separator for an electrochemical cell comprising a porous layer which comprises at least one organic binder and at least one functionalized aluminum oxide hydroxide (Abstract). Niemöller discloses a crosslinking component can be added to the coating dispersion to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator. An example of a monomer of the crosslinking component includes trimethylolpropane triacrylate (pg. 14). Trimethylolpropane triacrylate is a polyfunctional acrylate monomer as it contains three acrylate groups. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include trimethylolpropane triacrylate as taught by Niemöller to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator.
Niemöller discloses the crosslinking component (e.g. trimethylolpropane triacrylate is provided in an amount of 1 wt% to 30 wt% in order to achieve crosslinking (pg. 14). The range would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the range disclosed by Niemöller overlaps the range as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jeong discloses the separator of claim 1. Jeong discloses in examples that the polyvinyl acetate used is Sigma Aldrich Co., CAT. 387932 (Table 1). As shown in the product specification for product number 387932, the average molecular weight Mw is ~500,000. See also the broader discussion in [0065].
Regarding claim 8, Jeong discloses a separator comprising a porous coating layer formed on at least one surface of a porous polymer substrate (Abstract). The porous coating layer comprises a plurality of inorganic particles and a binder polymer ([0014]), wherein the weight ratio of the inorganic particles to the binder polymer is 90:10-50:50 ([0026]). The binder polymer comprises an amorphous adhesive binder polymer ([0015]).
Jeong discloses examples of the amorphous adhesive binder polymer which include polyvinyl acetate (“first binder resin”) ([0020]-[0021], [0070]). In an example, the glass transition temperature of the polyvinyl acetate is 30° C (Table 1). See also the broader discussion in [0069]-[0070].
Jeong further discloses the amorphous adhesive binder polymer (i.e. polyvinyl acetate) is included in an amount of 50-84 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the total binder polymer content ([0053]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose a second binder resin, wherein the second binder resin has a glass transition (Tg) of 80°C to 120°C and comprises polymethyl methacrylate.
Kim discloses a separator including a porous polymer substrate and an inorganic coating layer formed on at least one surface of the porous polymer substrate. The inorganic coating layer includes inorganic particles and a binder resin, which includes a second binder resin comprising an acrylic polymer. The acrylic polymer has an acid value of 1 or less and a glass transition temperature, Tg, of 90°C to 130°C (Abstract). An example of the acrylic polymer is poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA) ([0013], [0072]). In examples, the PMMA has a Tg of 110°C (Table 1). Kim further discloses the acrylic polymer is used in an amount of 10 wt % to 50 wt % based on 100 wt % of the binder resin ([0015], [0068]). Electrode adhesion is improved by inclusion of the acrylic polymer and phase separation ([0007], [0023], [0067]-[0068]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the acrylic polymer taught by Kim to improve the electrode adhesion of the coating layer.
Jeong does not expressly disclose a third binder resin comprising trimethylolpropane triacrylate as a polymerization unit.
Niemöller discloses a separator for an electrochemical cell comprising a porous layer which comprises at least one organic binder and at least one functionalized aluminum oxide hydroxide (Abstract). Niemöller discloses a crosslinking component can be added to the coating dispersion to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator. An example of a monomer of the crosslinking component includes trimethylolpropane triacrylate (pg. 14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include trimethylolpropane triacrylate as taught by Niemöller to reduce solubility of the binder in the electrolyte and improve mechanical properties of the separator.
Niemöller discloses the crosslinking component (e.g. trimethylolpropane triacrylate is provided in an amount of 1 wt% to 30 wt% in order to achieve crosslinking (pg. 14). The range would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the range disclosed by Niemöller overlaps the range as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified Jeong discloses the separator of claim 1. Jeong further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery ([0113]) comprising a cathode, an anode, and the separator interposed between the cathode and the anode ([0031], [0112], [0114]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that “there is much more to the claimed subject matter than an arrangement in which the first, second, and third binder resins are mixed in a parallel manner. Rather, the claimed subject matter is characterized by a binder composition system in which the glass transition temperature (Tg), polarity, and content range of each binder resin are functionally designed as constitutive features.” In response, it the position of the Office that each of these features has been addressed in the rejection above. Jeong is relied upon for the first binder resin, including its Tg and amount; Kim is relied upon for the second binder resin, including its Tg and amount; and Niemöller is relied upon for the third binder resin, including its Tg and amount.
Applicant presents an argument related to the amount of the third binder resin. However, this argument is unsupported by evidence.
Applicant presents an argument related to the amount of the first and third binder resins. However, this argument is unsupported by evidence.
The provisional double patenting rejection is maintained in view of Niemöller.
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727