DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13-23 and 26-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 26, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri et al (US 2021/0243806 A1) in view of Das et al(US 2021/0045192 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Oteri ‘806 teaches, a method for operating an access point in a wireless local area network ([0101]-[0102] and Figs. 9-10, a method of communicating AP with WTRUs is disclosed), the method comprising: performing a channel access procedure([0101], [0105], [0106] and Figs. 9, 10, AP performing channel access by transmitting RTS stations); obtaining a transmit opportunity (TXOP) based on the channel access procedure ([0101], [0105], [0106] and Figs. 9, 10, configuring full duplex TXOP by transmitting MU-RTS frame to WTRUs); and transmitting a trigger frame to a first station ([0101], Claim 1, AP remitting trigger frame to WTRUs in order to communicate with the WTRU within the TXOP), wherein the trigger frame includes first information on the first station([0101], [0109], [011] and Figs. 9-11, AP transmitting trigger frame that includes the identifier of the target WTRU(first station)).
Oteri ‘806 does not explicitly teach, transmitting a trigger frame to a first station to indicate a time period that is allocated to the first station within the obtained TXOP, the trigger frame includes, second information indicating allocation of the time period within the obtained TXOP to the first station for transmission of data by the first station, and wherein the time period is used for data transmission by the first station to at least one of the access point or a second station in the time period.
Das ‘192 teaches, transmitting a trigger frame to a first station to indicate a time period that is allocated to the first station within the obtained TXOP([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the AP transmitting a DiL-A trigger frame, acting as a trigger frame to a Triggered Direct(TD) station(first station). The trigger frame allocates time to the TD STA for direct link transmission, where the allocated time is up to the remaining duration of the TXOP)
the trigger frame includes, second information indicating allocation of the time period within the obtained TXOP to the first station for transmission of data by the first station([0009], [0012], [0020] and Figs. 2-3, the DiL-A trigger frame schedules a specific TD STA(the first station) for transmission. The DiL-A frame includes allocation information that allocates a specific amount of time within the TXOP for the TD STA to send data), and
wherein the time period is used for data transmission by the first station to at least one of the access point or a second station in the time period([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the allocated time period within the TXOP is used by the TD STA(the first station) to send a frame comprising data directly to a TD peer STA(second station)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Oteri ‘806 by incorporating the teaching of Das ‘192, since such modification would enable an access point to control degree of P2P transmission using trigger based operation, as suggested by Das ‘192([0003]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘192 teaches all of the claim limitations, Oteri ‘806 further teaches, wherein the trigger frame comprises a multi-user-request-to-send (MU-RTS) frame ([0101]-[0103], [0105], [0106] and Figs. 9-11, the AP transmitting MU-RTS frame to the WTRU in order to configure full duplex TXOP), wherein the MU-RTS frame includes allocation information([0109], [0110] and Fig. 9-10, MU-RTS for indicating allocation information to the WTRU).
Das ‘192 teaches, indicating that the time period is a portion of the obtained TXOP([0009], [0012], [0020] and Figs. 2-3, the DiL-A trigger frame schedules a specific TD STA(the first station) for transmission. The DiL-A frame includes allocation information that allocates a specific amount of time within the TXOP for the TD STA to send data), and wherein, during the time period, the first station is allowed to transmit data to the second station([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the allocated time period within the TXOP is used by the TD STA(the first station) to send a frame comprising data directly to a TD peer STA(second station)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Oteri ‘806 by incorporating the teaching of Das ‘192, since such modification would enable an access point to control degree of P2P transmission using trigger based operation, as suggested by Das ‘192([0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘192 teaches all of the claim limitations above, Oteri ‘806 further teaches, receiving a clear to send (CTS) frame in response to the MU-RTS frame from the first station ([0101]-[0103], [0105], [0113] and Figs. 9-10, AP receiving CTS frame from the WTRU2 in response transmitting the MU-RTS frame).
Regarding claims 19 and 26, Oteri ‘806 teaches, a first station in a wireless local area network ([0034], [0101]- [0103] and Figs. 1B, 9-10, WTRU 102), the first station comprising: a processor, ([0034], [0101]-[0103] and Figs. 1B, 9-10, WTRU comprising processor 118)
wherein the processor causes the first station to identify transmit opportunity (TXOP) configured by an access point based on a channel access procedure by an access point ( [0101], [0105], [0106] and Figs. 9, 10, WTRU identifying full duplex TXOP by receiving MU-RTS frame from the AP), receive, from the access point, trigger frame( [0101], Claim 1, WTRU receiving from the AP, trigger frame in order to communicate with the WTRU within the TXOP), wherein the trigger frame includes first information indicating the first station ([0101], [0109], [011] and Figs. 9-11, AP transmitting trigger frame that includes the identifier of the target WTRU(first station)).
Oteri ‘806 does not explicitly teach, a trigger frame to indicate a time period that is allocated to the first station within the obtained TXOP, and transmit, to at least one of the access point or a second station, data in the time period, wherein the trigger frame includes second information on allocation of the time period within the obtained TXOP to the first station for transmission of data by the first station.
Das ‘192 teaches, a trigger frame to indicate a time period that is allocated to the first station within the obtained TXOP ([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the Triggered Direct(TD) station(first station). Receiving from the AP a DiL-A trigger frame, acting as a trigger frame. The trigger frame allocates time to the TD STA for direct link transmission, where the allocated time is up to the remaining duration of the TXOP) and transmit, to at least one of the access point or a second station, data in the time period([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the allocated time period within the TXOP is used by the TD STA(the first station) to send a frame comprising data directly to a TD peer STA(second station)), wherein the trigger frame includes second information on allocation of the time period within the obtained TXOP to the first station for transmission of data by the first station([0009], [0012], [0020] and Figs. 2-3, the DiL-A trigger frame schedules a specific TD STA(the first station) for transmission. The DiL-A frame includes allocation information that allocates a specific amount of time within the TXOP for the TD STA to send data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Oteri ‘806 by incorporating the teaching of Das ‘192, since such modification would enable an access point to control degree of P2P transmission using trigger based operation, as suggested by Das ‘192([0003]).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 teaches all of the claim limitations, Oteri ‘806 further teaches, wherein the trigger frame comprises a multi-user-request to send a multi-user-request-to-send (MU-RTS) frame ([0101]-[0103], [0105], [0106] and Figs. 9-11, the AP transmitting MU-RTS frame to the WTRU in order to configure full duplex TXOP) wherein the MU-RTS frame includes allocation information([0109], [0110] and Fig. 9-10, MU-RTS for indicating allocation information to the WTRU).
Das ‘192 teaches, indicating that the time period is a portion of the obtained TXOP([0009], [0012], [0020] and Figs. 2-3, the DiL-A trigger frame schedules a specific TD STA(the first station) for transmission. The DiL-A frame includes allocation information that allocates a specific amount of time within the TXOP for the TD STA to send data), and wherein, during the time period, the first station is allowed to transmit data to the second station([0009], [0019], [0020] and Figs. 1-3, the allocated time period within the TXOP is used by the TD STA(the first station) to send a frame comprising data directly to a TD peer STA(second station)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Oteri ‘806 by incorporating the teaching of Das ‘192, since such modification would enable an access point to control degree of P2P transmission using trigger based operation, as suggested by Das ‘192([0003]).
Regarding claims 23 and 30, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘192 teaches all of the claim limitations above, Oteri ‘806 further teaches, transmitting a clear to send (CTS) frame in response to the MU-RTS frame to the access point ([0101]-[0103], [0105], [0113] and Figs. 9-10, AP receiving CTS frame from the WTRU2 in response transmitting the MU-RTS frame).
Claims 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Huang et al (US 2018/0262984 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 teaches all of the claim limitations, Oteri ‘806 further teaches, receiving a clear to send (CTS) frame ([0101]- [0103], [0105], [0113] and Figs. 9-10, AP receiving CTS frame from the WTRU2 in response transmitting the MU-RTS frame).
The combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 does not explicitly teach, wherein the CTS frame includes time information of the TXOP.
Huang ‘984 teaches, wherein the CTS frame includes time information of the TXOP ([0056], [0086], [0088] and Figs, 2, 7, the HEW station 104 transmitting a MU-CTS to the AP with a duration set to a duration based on the duration of the MU-RTS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘984, since such modification would provide efficient use of the resources of a wireless local-area network (WLAN) in order to provide bandwidth and acceptable response times to the users of the WLAN, as suggested by Huang ‘984([0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claims 16, 22 and 29, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the allocation information is indicated by a duration field in the MU-RTS frame.
Huang ‘984 teaches, wherein the allocation information is indicated by a duration field in the MU-RTS frame ([0073]-[0074], claim 11, and Fig. 11, the MU-RTS frame includes a specific duration filed used to allocate the time required for the transmission opportunity, which informs other stations to set their Network Allocation Vector(NAVs) Fig. 11 duration filed 112 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Oteri ‘806 and Das 912 by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘984, since such modification would provide efficient use of the resources of a wireless local-area network (WLAN) in order to provide bandwidth and acceptable response times to the users of the WLAN, as suggested by Huang ‘984([0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 teaches all of the claim limitations except, receiving a data frame from the first station in the period.
Huang ‘984 teaches, receiving a data frame from the first station in the period ([0037] and Fig. 4, Ap receiving UL MU-DATA frame from a STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘984, since such modification would provide efficient use of the resources of a wireless local-area network (WLAN) in order to provide bandwidth and acceptable response times to the users of the WLAN, as suggested by Huang ‘984([0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, the combination of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the TXOP is configured based on a clear to send (CTS) frame, and wherein the CTS frame includes time information of the TXOP.
Huang ‘984 teaches, wherein the TXOP is configured based on a clear to send (CTS) frame, and wherein the CTS frame includes time information of the TXOP ([0056], [0086], [0088] and Figs, 2, 7, the HEW station 104 transmitting a MU-CTS to the AP with a duration set to a duration based on the duration of the MU-RTS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Oteri ‘806 and Das ‘912 by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘984, since such modification would provide efficient use of the resources of a wireless local-area network (WLAN) in order to provide bandwidth and acceptable response times to the users of the WLAN, as suggested by Huang ‘984([0002]-[0003]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474