Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s Remarks and Amendments filed 4 August 2026 have been entered. Claims 34-35 are new. Claims 1, 3-7, 10-17, and 34-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2011/0143127 A1), “Gupta” in view of Ishimizu et al. (WO 2020/040051 A1), “Ishimizu”, and further in view of Lerf (US 2006/0100716 A1), “Lerf”.
Regarding claim 1, Gupta teaches an artificial joint shell (Fig. 1, acetabular cup medical implant 10) comprising: a base having a cup shape (Fig. 2, substrate 14), the base comprising an outer surface (Fig. 2, non-conductive surface 18), the outer surface comprising a first region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by osteoconductive coating 12) and a second region adjacent to the first region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by the bottom-most portion of the osteoconductive coating 12); and a coating film containing a calcium phosphate-based material (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12 includes calcium phosphate or hydroxyapatite [0023]) and an antimicrobial material (osteoconductive coating 12 may include antibiotics or be doped with silver ions [0024-0025]), the coating film being disposed across the first region and the second region of the outer surface of the base (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12 is layered over non-conductive surface 18), and the second region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by the bottom-most portion of the osteoconductive coating 12) is disposed between the first region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by osteoconductive coating 12) and an opening portion of the base (Fig. 2, bottom-most region of substrate 14 covered by coating 12 is between underside of substrate 14 and the upper regions of substrate 14 covered by coating 12), the outer surface of the base (Fig. 2, non-conductive surface 18) further comprises a third region (Fig. 2, bottom-most region of substrate 14) located adjacent to the second region and between the second region and the opening portion (Fig. 2, bottom-most region of substrate 14 is between underside of substrate 14 and upper portion of substrate 14), the outer surface of the base (Fig. 2, non-conductive surface 18) located in the third region is exposed from the coating film (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12 does not cover bottom-most region of substrate 14), the surface roughness (Sa) of the outer surface of the base is less than 1.0 µm (Fig. 2, non-conductive surface 18 comprises ), but fails to teach wherein a surface roughness of a surface of the coating film in the first region is larger than a surface roughness of a surface of the coating film in the second region.
Ishimizu teaches a prosthetic joint with the outer surface comprising a first region (Fig. 1, proximal second region 11) and a second region adjacent to the first region (Fig. 1, proximal first region 10) and wherein a surface of the coating film in the first region has a surface roughness that is greater than a surface roughness of a surface of the coating film in the second region (Fig. 2, Example 1 comprises a surface roughness in the proximal second region set to 53 µm [0053] and a surface roughness in the proximal first region 10 ranges from the same level of roughness as the distal side end region 7 to the same level of roughness as the base side second region 11 [0076]), and the surface of the coating film in the second region (Fig. 2, proximal first region 10) has a surface roughness that is greater than a surface roughness of the outer surface in the third region (Fig. 2, Example 1 comprises a surface roughness in the proximal first region 10 ranges from the same level of roughness as the distal side end region 7 to the same level of roughness as the base side second region 11 [0076] and a surface roughness in the distal end region 7 set to 27 µm, respectively [0053]). Ishimizu discloses that the implant is sprayed with a thermal spray to form a rougher surface than on the distal end side of the stem portion and having a larger cross-sectional area than the distal end side of the stem portion [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating film taught by Gupta with the roughness variations taught by Ishimizu in order to promote integration of the implant. However, Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach the surface roughness (Sa) of the outer surface of the base in the third region is less than 1.0 µm.
Lerf teaches metal coatings for joint replacement implants wherein the surface roughness (Sa) is less than 1.0 µm (a surface microstructure is created with biocompatible particles, such as calcium phosphate, which are 0.01 µm to 5 µm [0036]). Lerf discloses the use of calcium phosphate material increases biocompatibility of the implant [0036]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the third region taught by Gupta with the surface roughness measurements taught by Lerf in order to increase biocompatibility of the implant.
Regarding claim 3, Gupta teaches further comprising: a layered member (Fig. 2, electroconductive interlayer 16), the layered member being disposed in the first region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by osteoconductive coating 12).
Regarding claim 4, Gupta teaches wherein the layered member is made of metal (Fig. 2, electroconductive interlayer 16 is deposited as metal or a metallic layer [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, Gupta teaches wherein the coating film (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12) disposed in the first region is disposed on the layered member (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12 covers electroconductive interlayer 16).
Regarding claim 6, Gupta teaches the layered member (Fig. 2, electroconductive interlayer 16), but fails to teach an edge having a lower height than a height of an inner portion of the layered member.
Ishimizu teaches a prosthetic joint comprising an edge having a lower height than a height of an inner portion of the layered member (Modified Fig. 2, base portion is wider than end portion). Ishimizu discloses that the inclined surface at the distal end of the roughen portion allows for increased stress handling and avoids breakage of the roughened portion [0083]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating film taught by Gupta with the roughness and inclined portions taught by Ishimizu in order to avoid implant malfunction from applied stresses.
Regarding claim 7, Gupta teaches wherein the coating film (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12) is located in the second region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by the bottom-most portion of the osteoconductive coating 12), but fails to teach an end portion and a base portion located closer to the first region than the end portion is to the first region, and a thickness of the base portion is greater than a thickness of the end portion.
Ishimizu teaches a prosthetic joint comprising an end portion (Modified Fig. 2 below, inclined portion 9 comprises end portion) and a base portion (Modified Fig. 2 below, inclined portion 9 comprises base portion) located closer to the first region than the end portion is to the first region (Modified Fig. 2 below, base portion is closer to proximal second region 11 than end portion is), and a thickness of the base portion is larger than a thickness of the end portion (Modified Fig. 2, base portion is wider than end portion). Ishimizu discloses that the inclined surface at the distal end of the roughen portion allows for increased stress handling and avoids breakage of the roughened portion [0083]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating film taught by Gupta with the roughness and inclined portions taught by Ishimizu in order to avoid implant malfunction from applied stresses.
Modified Figure 2
Regarding claim 10, Gupta fails to teach the limitations of claim 10. However, Ishimizu teaches a prosthetic joint wherein a surface roughness of the outer surface in the first region is greater than a surface roughness of the outer surface in the second region (Fig. 2, Example 1 comprises a surface roughness in the proximal second region set to 53 µm [0053] and a surface roughness in the proximal first region 10 ranges from the same level of roughness as the distal side end region 7 to the same level of roughness as the base side second region 11 [0076]). Ishimizu discloses that the implant is sprayed with a thermal spray to form a rougher surface than on the distal end side of the stem portion and having a larger cross-sectional area than the distal end side of the stem portion [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating film taught by Gupta with the roughness variations taught by Ishimizu in order to promote integration of the implant.
Regarding claim 11, Gupta fails to teach the limitations of claim 11. However, Ishimizu teaches a prosthetic joint wherein a surface roughness of the outer surface in the second region is greater than a surface roughness of the outer surface in the third region (Fig. 2, Example 1 comprises a surface roughness in the proximal first region 10 ranges from the same level of roughness as the distal side end region 7 to the same level of roughness as the base side second region 11 [0076] and a surface roughness in the distal end region 7 set to 27 µm, respectively [0053]). Ishimizu discloses that the implant is sprayed with a thermal spray to form a rougher surface than on the distal end side of the stem portion and having a larger cross-sectional area than the distal end side of the stem portion [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating film taught by Gupta with the roughness variations taught by Ishimizu in order to promote integration of the implant.
Claims 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2011/0143127 A1), “Gupta” in view of Ishimizu et al. (WO 2020/040051 A1), “Ishimizu” and further in view of Harwin et al. (US Pat. No. 5163961 A), “Harwin”.
Regarding claim 12, Gupta teaches the base (Fig. 2, substrate 14), but Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach wherein the base comprises at least one through hole penetrating the outer surface and an inner surface of the base.
Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis wherein the base (Fig. 4, acetabular component 3) comprises at least one through hole (Fig. 4, apertures 4a) penetrating the outer surface and an inner surface of the base (Fig. 4, apertures 4a extend through cup 4 for bone screws (col. 4, lines 19-23)). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy.
Regarding claim 13, Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach the limitations of claim 13. However, Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis wherein the outer surface of the base (Fig. 4, porous coating 12) further comprises a fourth region (Fig. 2, outer rims of apertures 4a) located adjacent to the first region (Fig. 4, regions of acetabular component 3 covered in porous coating 12) and between the first region and the at least one through hole (Fig. 4, outer rim of apertures 4a is between the open hole of apertures 4a and the regions of acetabular component 3 covered by porous coating 12), and a surface roughness of the outer surface located in the fourth region is smaller than the surface roughness of the surface of the coating film in the first region (Fig. 4, outer rim of apertures 4a are not covered by porous coating 12 (i.e., no roughness)). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy.
Regarding claim 14, Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach the limitations of claim 14. However, Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis wherein the at least one through hole (Fig. 2, apertures 4a) comprises: at least one screw hole disposed at a position further from the opening portion than other positions of other through holes of the at least one through hole (Fig. 2, acetabular cup 3 comprises an aperture 4a (used for bone screw (col. 2, lines 19-23)) at the central topmost point of the metal cup 4), and at least one counterbored hole (Fig. 2, apertures 4a other than central topmost aperture 4a) comprising a first penetrating portion (Modified Fig. 8 below, first penetrating portion) and a second penetrating portion (Modified Fig. 8 below, second penetrating portion), the second penetrating portion being connected to the first penetrating portion and the outer surface and having a narrower width than the first penetrating portion Modified Fig. 8 below, second penetrating portion is attached to first penetrating portion and is narrower in width). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy.
Modified Figure 8
Regarding claim 15, Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach the limitations of claim 15. However, Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis wherein the coating film (Fig. 4, porous coating 12) is disposed at least a part of the outer surface in the fourth region (Fig. 2, outer rims of apertures 4a are surrounded by porous coating 12). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy.
Regarding claim 17, Gupta fails to teach the limitations of claim 17. However, Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis wherein the fourth region (Fig. 2, outer rims of apertures 4a) is adjacent to the counterbored hole (Fig. 2, outer rims surround all apertures 4a). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2011/0143127 A1), “Gupta” in view of Ishimizu et al. (WO 2020/040051 A1), “Ishimizu” and Harwin et al. (US Pat. No. 5163961 A), “Harwin”, and further in view of Piecuch et al. (US 2019/0105177 A1), “Piecuch”.
Regarding claim 16, Gupta teaches the outer surface of the base (Fig. 2, non-conductive surface 18) and the coating film (Fig. 2, osteoconductive coating 12), but Gupta in view of Ishimizu fails to teach a fifth region located adjacent to the fourth region and between the fourth region and the screw hole, and the outer surface in the fifth region is fully exposed from the coating film.
Harwin teaches a femur head prosthesis comprising the fourth region (Fig. 2, outer rims of apertures 4a) and the screw hole (Fig. 2, acetabular cup 3 comprises an aperture 4a (used for bone screw (col. 2, lines 19-23)) at the central topmost point of the metal cup 4). Harwin discloses that the apertures are to fit with bone screws to fasten the implant to the pelvis (col. 4, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base taught by Gupta with the through holes taught by Harwin in order to provide additional securing methods for the implant to avoid detachment from patient anatomy. However, Gupta in view of Harwin fails to teach a fifth region located adjacent to the fourth region and between the fourth region and the screw hole, and the outer surface in the fifth region is fully exposed from the coating film.
Piecuch teaches an acetabular component comprising a fifth region (Modified Fig. 7 below, fifth region of rim feature 604) located adjacent to the fourth region (Modified Fig. 7 below, fourth region of rim feature 604) and between the fourth region and the screw hole (Modified Fig. 7 below, fifth region is between fourth region and hole 602), and the outer surface in the fifth region is fully exposed from the coating film (Modified Fig. 7 below, fifth region is not coated). Piechuch discloses that the rim feature in the acetabular component prevents interference between the securing components and the implant itself [0018]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the holes and fourth region taught by Harwin with the fifth region taught by Piecuch and the base taught by Gupta in order to limit interference of the implant with its connection features.
Modified Figure 7
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2011/0143127 A1), “Gupta” in view of Ishimizu et al. (WO 2020/040051 A1), “Ishimizu”, and Lerf (US 2006/0100716 A1), “Lerf”, and further in view of Vandevelde et al. (US 2015/0190232 A1), “Vandevelde”.
Regarding claim 34, Gupta teaches wherein a surface roughness (Sa) of the surface of the coating film in the first region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by osteoconductive coating 12), but Gupta in view of Ishimizu and Lerf fails to teach the roughness is 10 µm or more and 80 µm or less.
Vandevelde teaches a coated acetabulum for a hip prosthesis wherein the surface roughness is 10 µm or more and 80 µm or less (the acetabulum for a hip prosthesis is covered in a coating which comprises a roughness ranging between 40 and 500 µm [0012, 0064]). Vandevelde discloses the coating has been developed to lessen risk of particles graining-out during and after insertion of the implant within a patient [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the roughness measurements taught by Vandevelde with the first region and coating film taught by Gupta in order to prevent infection in the patient by fallout of the coating.
Regarding claim 35, Gupta teaches wherein a surface roughness (Sa) of the surface of the coating film in the second region (Fig. 2, region of non-conductive surface 18 covered by the bottom-most portion of the osteoconductive coating 12), but Gupta in view of Ishimizu and Lerf fails to teach the roughness is 0.1 µm or more and 10 µm or less.
Vandevelde teaches a coated acetabulum for a hip prosthesis wherein the surface roughness is 0.1 µm or more and 10 µm or less (the acetabulum for a hip prosthesis is covered in a coating which comprises a roughness ranging between 40 and 500 µm [0012, 0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the roughness measurements taught by Vandevelde with the second region and coating film taught by Gupta in order to prevent infection in the patient by fallout of the coating.
Conclusion
/G.G.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774