Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated December 10, 2025, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claim 39 and elected Group I with traverse, and the species of COVID-19 coronavirus (SARS-2019-nCoV), acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), and ravulizumab, without traverse. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-14, 16-19, 25, 28, 31-32, 37, and 39-40 are pending in the application.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on December 10, 2025is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions of Groups I and II are neither independent, nor distinct, and there would not be a serious burden on the Examiner if Group II were rejoined. Upon further consideration in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the restriction requirement between inventions ONLY is hereby withdrawn. The restriction requirement between species, however, remains in effect.
Claims 10-11, 32 and 39-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 10, 2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19, 25, 28, 31, and 37 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on at least page 74. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the limitation of “the coronavirus” without specifying which coronavirus is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of claim construction, it is assumed that “the coronavirus” refers to the elected species of SARS-CoV-2.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 12-14, 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite a “subject”; however, the subject properly introduced in claim 1 specifies a “human subject”. Appropriate correction is required for the purpose of maintaining consistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clinical Trial NCT04346797 (version 1, dated 2020-4-10, retrieved from the internet on December 19, 2025 at https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04346797?tab=history&a=1#version-content-panel).
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 teaches treating a patient who has COVID-19 (an infection of SARS-nCoV coronavirus) with eculizumab (page 2). According to Applicant's specification at page 3, eculizumab is an inhibitor of compliment C5.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that improved survival is one possible result (page 6), which is pertinent to claims 13 and 18.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches dosages of 1200 mg per dose (page 5-6). Assuming a 70 kg subject, this dosage is within the boundaries of claim 14.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that the patient with COVID-19 may require treatment in an ICU (page 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19, 25, 28, 31, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinical Trial NCT04346797 in view of Fontenot (US20160168237A1).
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 teaches treating a patient who has COVID-19 (an infection of SARS-nCoV coronavirus) with eculizumab (page 2). According to Applicant's specification at page 3, eculizumab is an inhibitor of compliment C5.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that improved survival is one possible result (page 6), which is pertinent to claims 13 and 18.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches dosages of 1200mg per dose (page 5-6). Assuming a 70kg subject, this dosage is within the boundaries of claim 14.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that the patient with COVID-19 may require treatment in an ICU (page 9).
However, Clinical Trial NCT04346797 does not teach the elected species of ravulizumab.
Fontenot teaches the anti-C5 antibody BNJ441, which is a variant of eculizumab (para. 0151). According to Applicant's specification at page 3, BNJ441 is ravulizumab.
Fontenot also teaches a method of treating a complement mediated disorder caused by an infectious agent, comprising administering an effective amount of a polypeptide inhibitor of complement C5 protein, and that the infectious agent may be a virus (para. 0062-0063).
Fontenot further teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent with a C5 inhibitor (para. 0225), which is pertinent to claim 12.
Fontenot further teaches that the dosage(s) and frequency of administration are determined according to the need of the patient, at the discretion of the treating physician (para. 0102). Fontenot also teaches that any suitable dosage(s) and frequency of administration are contemplated (para. 0211). Fontenot also teaches exemplary dosages of 300 mg, 900 mg, and 1200 mg (para. 0220).
Fontenot further teaches a serum trough concentration of the anti-C5 antibody, or antigen binding fragment thereof, of about 35 μg/mL to about 700 μg/mL during the induction phase and/or the maintenance phase (para. 0131), which is pertinent to claim 25.
Fontenot further teaches that the above treatment results in terminal complement inhibition (para. 0133), which is pertinent to claim 28.
Fontenot further teaches that the above treatment results in alleviation of elevated complement C5 level (para. 0072).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot are concerned with the use of inhibitors of human complement C5 protein to treat viral infection. According to Clinical Trial NCT04346797, the complement C5 inhibitor eculizumab was known to be useful in treating COVID-19. Fontenot teaches that BNJ441, also known as ravulizumab, is a variant of eculizumab with similar properties. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the ravulizumab of Fontenot to the method of Clinical Trial NCT04346797 by simple substitution, with each component of the combination performing their known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
The difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is the dosage schedule. However, it is noted that determination of dosage is routinely determined by the ordinary artisan as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and was known as a result effective variable that depends on the conditions of the patients. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the schedule or dosage of the antibody in the therapy could be adjusted to achieve optimum therapeutic efficacy, especially as Fontenot teaches that the dosage(s) and frequency of administration are determined according to the need of the patient, at the discretion of the treating physician (para. 0102).
Applicant is invited to present evidence of an unexpected criticality of the claimed dosage schedule in order to address this issue. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Errico (US20200230408A1).
The teachings of Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot have been discussed supra. However, Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot do not teach acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS).
Errico teaches that patients with COVID-19 can experience pneumonia and/or ARDS (Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome) (para. 0008).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Clinical Trial NCT04346797, Fontenot, and Errico to arrive at the claimed invention. As stated above, the use of ravulizumab to treat COVID-19 was obvious in view of Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot. Errico teaches one such symptom of COVID-19 is ARDS. The information presented in Errico could be used to select suitable patients for the method of Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot. Each component of the combination would perform their known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the claimed invention by using known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, the invention, as a whole, was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19, 25, 28, 31, and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12-17, 19, and 31-32 of copending Application No. 18/011,698 in view of Clinical Trial NCT04346797, Fontenot, and Errico.
The '698 application claims a method of treating a human patient with a complement-associated condition, comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an anti-C5 antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof (claim 1).
The '698 application further claims the antibody is ravulizumab or eculizumab (claim 16).
The '698 application further claims the treatment maintains a serum trough concentration of the anti-CS antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof, of 100 pg/mL or greater during the administration cycle (claim 17).
The '698 application further claims the treatment results in terminal complement inhibition (claim 19).
However, the '698 application does not claim treatment of a complement mediated disorder caused by a coronavirus.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 teaches treating a patient who has COVID-19 (an infection of SARS-nCoV coronavirus) with eculizumab (page 2). According to Applicant's specification at page 3, eculizumab is an inhibitor of compliment C5.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that improved survival is one possible result (page 6), which is pertinent to claims 13 and 18.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches dosages of 1200 mg per dose (page 5-6). Assuming a 70 kg subject, this dosage is within the boundaries of claim 14.
Clinical Trial NCT04346797 further teaches that the patient with COVID-19 may require treatment in an ICU (page 9).
Fontenot teaches the anti-C5 antibody BNJ441, which is a variant of eculizumab (para. 0151). According to Applicant's specification at page 3, BNJ441 is ravulizumab.
Fontenot also teaches a method of treating a complement mediated disorder caused by an infectious agent, comprising administering an effective amount of a polypeptide inhibitor of complement C5 protein, and that the infectious agent may be a virus (para. 0062-0063).
Fontenot further teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent with a C5 inhibitor (para. 0225), which is pertinent to claim 12.
Fontenot further teaches that the dosage(s) and frequency of administration are determined according to the need of the patient, at the discretion of the treating physician (para. 0102). Fontenot also teaches that any suitable dosage(s) and frequency of administration are contemplated (para. 0211). Fontenot also teaches exemplary dosages of 300 mg, 900 mg, and 1200 mg (para. 0220).
Fontenot further teaches a serum trough concentration of the anti-C5 antibody, or antigen binding fragment thereof, of about 35 μg/mL to about 700 μg/mL during the induction phase and/or the maintenance phase (para. 0131), which is pertinent to claim 25.
Fontenot further teaches that the above treatment results in terminal complement inhibition (para. 0133), which is pertinent to claim 28.
Fontenot further teaches that the above treatment results in alleviation of elevated complement C5 level (para. 0072).
Errico teaches that patients with COVID-19 can experience pneumonia and/or ARDS (Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome) (para. 0008).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine claims of the ‘698 application with the teachings of Clinical Trial NCT04346797, Fontenot, and Errico to arrive at the claimed invention. The ‘698 application and the instant application both teach the use of anti-C5 antibodies to treat a complement-mediated condition. Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot teaches that COVID-19 is one such condition that may be treated with anti-C5 antibodies such as eculizumab and ravulizumab. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the treatment claimed in the ‘698 application to a patient with a complement mediated disorder caused by a virus by following the guidance found in Clinical Trial NCT04346797 and Fontenot. Each component of the combination would perform its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644