DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
1. Receipt of Applicants’ amendments and arguments/remarks filed 9/2/2026 are acknowledged.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. No new Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted for review.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112-NEW MATTER
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 21 and 23 do not comply with the written description requirement and introduce new matter into the patent application.
Claims 21 and 23 recite wherein the composition maintains a solubility rate over 50 % for a period of time longer than 2 hours.
Figure A in the declaration demonstrates 2 hours but does not teach longer than two hours. Longer than 2 hours implies 24 hrs, 48 hrs, 36 hrs etc. which is not shown.
Since the specification does not recite this feature the amendment is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Rejections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 1, 5-12, 19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loira Pastoriza et al. (WO 2019038430) in view of Hao et al. (US 20070254035), Koepff et al. (US Patent 5733994), and Parcq et al. (US 20230233686).
Loira Pastoriza et al. (WO 2019038430) (hereinafter Loira Pastoriza et al.) disclose an extrudate of at least one protoberberine alkaloid and at least one polymer (abstract). Loira Pastoriza et al. disclose the term consisting of at least a first amorphous phase and possibly a second crystalline phase means that said protoberberine alkaloid may comprise either 100 % amorphous phase by mass, or consist of both a first amorphous phase and a second crystalline phase, the sum of the percentage masses of said first and second phases amounting in this case to 100 (page 6, lines 19-27). The composition can consist of 50-100 % by mass amorphous phase and 0-50 % of a crystalline phase (page 8, lines 1-10). The protoberberine alkaloid includes berberine (col. 8, lines 10-col. 9, line 1). The polymer include celluloses and oligosaccharides such as chitosans (page 9, lines 3-18). The composition further includes at least one plasticizing agent which further enhances the alkaloids solubility and bioavailability (col. 9, lines 25-30). The plasticizing agent is selected from polyols, lipids, lechitins, sucrose esters, triethyl citrate, polyethylene glycol, glycerol, dibutyl sebate, butyl stearate, glycerol monostearate, diethyl phthalate and mixtures thereof (page 10, lines 13-16). The compositions further include one additive selected from lubricants, surfactants, antioxidants, chelating agents and mixtures thereof (page 10, lines 19-21). Loira Pastoriza et al. disclose advantageously, the composition also contains at least one first additional active phenolic-type substance selected from phenolic acids, stilbenes, phenolic alcohols, lignanes, flavonoids and mixtures thereof (page 11, lines 7-12). The composition is present as pellets, granules, powders, effervescent or non-effervescent tablets, solutions, suspensions, gels, or any other suitable form compatible with administration to an animal or human (page 12, lines 12-16). The process of making the composition involves mixing together and in a extruder as well as hot melt extrusion (e.g., a thermoformed extrusion) (page 12, lines 19-30). Claim 19 is directed to intended use of the composition and does not further limit the structure of claim 1. The berberine may be present at 40 % (Fig 4, page 16). The composition is in the form of a powder where the berberine is blended with at least one polymer (homogenous).It is mixed in the same manner as claimed (hot melt extrusion) (Ex 1). Loira Pastoriza et al. disclose addition of plasticizer further enhances the alkaloids solubility and bioavailability. Loira Poastoriza et al. teach protoberberine alkaloid is markedly more soluble (especially in the gut environment) and at the same time its bioavailability is significantly greater than the same alkaloid's solubility and bioavailability in current compositions. Therefore, the reference recognizes increased solubility of protoberberine alkaloid.
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad generic ranges taught by the reference but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989).
However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected various combinations of the various disclosed protoberberine alkaloid and polymers (e.g., oligosaccharides) to arrive at compositions yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
The differences are that the Loira Pastoriza et al. does not disclose the same polymer of natural or synthetic origin as claimed, for example collagens or that the collagens have a molecular weight of between 50 and 300, Da.
Hao et al. (US 20070254035) (hereinafter Hao et al.) disclose preparing active polymer extrudates with guest matter where the guest matter is inclusive of a drug (abstract and para 0001). The extruder comprises a heating means thus would be considered thermoformed (para 0051). The extrusion can be conducted with polymers of molecular weights from 1 to 10,000 Kda (para 0032). 1 kda is equal to 1,000 Da and thus overlaps with the claimed daltons. Hao et al. disclose that we have now surprisingly found that by selection of higher molecular weight the polymer in the range as hereinbefore defined and preferably in the range 1 to 1000 kDa, more preferably 1 to 500 kDa, more preferably 1 to 250 kDa, more preferably 1 to 200 kDa, for example 1 to 50 or 50 to 200 kDa, more preferably 1 to 150 kDa, for example 1 to 30 or 30 to 150 kDa polymer substrate is suited both to incorporation of guest matter and to formation of extrudates (para 0032). Suitably a polymer substrate is selected for which the internal cohesive force between the molecules is strong enough to overcome the break up of material during the extrusion process. Hao et al. disclose accordingly polymer having strong internal cohesive forces may be employed at lower molecular weight in the above range and polymer having weaker internal cohesive force may be employed at higher molecular weight in the above range (para 0032). Hao et al. further teach that the molecular weight affects the morphology of the extrudates (para 0033). The polymers include cellulose or collagens (paras 0055-0066). The polymers may also include polypeptides and proteins. Koepff et al. (US Patent 5733994) disclose biodegradabe water-resistant polymers that include non-gelling collagen (collagen hydrolysates) are suitable for producing high-molecular biopolymer material.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the polymer of Loira Pastoriza et al. include collagen, proteins or polypeptides as disclosed in Hao et al. One would have been motivated to do so because Hao et al. is concerned with incorporating guest matter (drugs inclusive of antimicrobials) into these polymers forming extrudates. Hao et al. demonstrates that these polymers include cellulose or collagens thus recognizes that these are both suitable choice polymers for incorporation of drugs. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the cellulose of Loira Pastoriza et al. for the collagen in Hao et al. Hao et al. recognizes selection of higher molecular weight polymer substrate is suited both to incorporation of guest matter and to formation of extrudates (para 0032). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
The modified Loira Pastoriza et al. disclose sustained release polymers but does not disclose pea protein. Parcq et al. (US 20230233686) (hereinafter Parcq et al.) disclose use of crosslinked pea dextrin for sustained release of active ingredients (paras 0020 and 0057). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use pea dextrin as the polymer in Loira Pastoriza et al. One would have been motivated to do so because it provides for sustained release for the active ingredients. While the solubility rate is not disclosed, the combined teaching of the prior art arrives at the same structure as claimed and thus the solubility rate would necessarily follow.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1, 5-12, 19 and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18541626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to thermoformed extrudate with the same polymers that overlap the differences being that the instant application disclose protoberberine alkaloid whereas the ‘626 application discloses N-alkylamides such as piperine. These are both poorly water soluble drugs and it is prima facie obvious to substitute the instant drug (e.g., berberine) in the ‘626 application. Both are art recognized antibiotics (para 0018 or US 20200338016).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5-12,19 and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18031576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to thermoformed extrudate with the same polymers that overlap the differences being that the instant application disclose protoberberine alkaloid whereas the ‘576 application discloses labdane diterpene such as andrographolide. These are both poorly water soluble drugs and it is prima facie obvious to substitute the instant drug (e.g., berberine) in the ‘576 application. Both are art recognized for use as antimicrobials in treatment of an infectious disease in an animal (see pages 8 and 26 of WO 2018/176093).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5-12, 19 and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 23-24 of copending Application No. 17622128. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to thermoformed extrudate with the same polymers that overlap the differences being that the instant application disclose protoberberine alkaloid whereas the ‘128 application discloses at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or a least one of the glycosylated forms thereof such as botulinic acid These are both poorly water soluble drugs and it is prima facie obvious to substitute the instant drug (e.g., berberine) in the ‘128 application. Both are art recognized for use as antimicrobials (see US 20160295858 para 0046).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
6. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the reasons below.
Applicants request that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance however, since no terminal disclaimer has been filed the rejections have been maintained.
Applicants argue that Hao only demonstrates that poly (D,L-lactic acid) can be used in the claimed process. There is no indication that the other polymers disclosed in Hao are in fact suitable for the process claimed in Hao. There is no teaching or suggestion in Hao that the polymers disclosed would be suitable for preparing an extrudate comprising at least one protoberberine alkaloid.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. “The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.”).
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Applicants argue as disclosed in the Examples and Fig. 1, claimed compositions have improved characteristics that provide for improved solubilization of the protoberberine alkaloid. As demonstrated in the Affidavit compositions comprising at least one protoberberine alkaloid and L-Alanine, L arginine, L-Lysine, rice Protein hydrolyzed protein blends, pea protein, creatine, fish collagen, sodium hyaluronate, or B-cyclodextrin unexpectedly provide improved solubilization of the alkaloid when compared with a composition comprising the same alkaloid and corn starch.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that these compositions are not commensurate in scope with claim 1, which recites proteins of natural or syntenic origin, amino acids, peptides and polypeptides, cyclodextrins, hyaluronates and derivatives and mixtures thereof which is not commensurate in scope with the showing of the affidavit. Furthermore, no amounts of the polymer are claimed in claims 1, 21 or 23 whereas there are specific amounts in the affidavit without any showing of additional ranges. Glycerol is included at 10 % which is not recited by claim 1. As such the showing of unexpected results is not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicants further argue that Hao does not teach non-gelling peptides of claim 21.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that this argument is not found persuasive because Hao et al. further teach that the molecular weight affects the morphology of the extrudates and the polymers include cellulose or collagens and may also include polypeptides and proteins. Koepff et al. disclose formulation of biodegradable water-resistant non-gelling collagenic products.
Applicants argue that Parcq only demonstrates the compatibility of maltrodextrin and pyrodextrine based matrices crosslinked with STMP with methylene blue and insulin.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. “The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.”).
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615