DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The 35 USC 112 rejections of claims have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 12-15, 17, 20-22, 25-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 10983197) in view of Webster et al (US 20190302240).
In regards to claim 1, Zhu discloses a device, comprising:
a transmitter that is configured to transmit, per each sensing iteration, a radiation pulse (abstract Lidar, pulse sequence);
an array of pixels (Fig. 8 detector array of ref. 800 pixels ref. 801, “FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a detector array 800 comprising at least a set of photodetectors, e.g., SPADs that are grouped to form a pixel”),
each pixel comprises multiple subpixels (Fig. 8 ref. 801-1, -4 C20:62 “In the case when multiple SPADs are grouped to behave as a pixel, each circuit associated with a SPAD may also be referred to as sub-pixel level circuit”),
each subpixel comprises single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) that are coupled to each other in parallel (“Alternatively or in addition to, the set of SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4 may be electrically connected with a pixel level circuit same as the circuit as described in FIG. 6 such that the SPADs array 801 may be addressable and controlled. In such case, an address may correspond to a set of SPDAs such as a 2×2 grid of SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4. The group or set of SPADs may be electrically-connected in series and/or parallel and the group may be individually addressable and controlled”), and
one or more quenching circuits (C20:2 “Each SPAD may have an analog front end circuit for biasing, quenching, and recharging”), wherein each subpixel is configured to output a subpixel output signal indicative of a reflected radiation pulse sensed by one or more SPADs of the subpixel (C20:62 “In the case when multiple SPADs are grouped to behave as a pixel, each circuit associated with a SPAD may also be referred to as sub-pixel level circuit”);
wherein the reflected radiation pulse is reflected from an area of an object that was illuminated by the radiation pulse (abstract Lidar);
a processing circuit (ref. 330) that is configured to:
read, for each pixel, multiple subpixel output signals from the multiple subpixels of the pixel (C20:66 “the set of SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4 may be electrically connected with a pixel level circuit same as the circuit as described in FIG. 6 such that the SPADs array 801 may be addressable and controlled”);
while Zhu discloses photo detectors pixels are individually addressable and controllable (C12:30 "each photosensor may be individually addressable and controlled by a pixel- level circuit 601-2", C19:45 “The detector may be provided with the capability to dynamically enable/disable individual pixels in the array and/or dynamically enable/disable a subset of SPADs in a pixel thereby configuring the detector at the pixel level or sub-pixel level”).
Zhu does not expressly disclose as taught by Webster: receive, per each sensing iteration, transmission timing information indicative of a timing of transmission of the radiation pulse (Webster [0023] “Determining the round-trip time may be based on, at least in part, timing signals generated by a time-to-digital converter (see, e.g., FIGS. 2-4. The timing signals are representative of when light source 102 emits light and when the photomultiplier pixel cells 122 detect the image light”); and determine, per each sensing iteration and per each subpixel, a timing of a first detection of the reflected pulse detected by any of the SPADs of the subpixel (Webster [0023] “The timing signals are representative of when light source 102 emits light and when the photomultiplier pixel cells 122 detect the image light”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Webster by providing the means to receive, per each sensing iteration, transmission timing information indicative of a timing of transmission of the radiation pulse and determine, per each sensing iteration and per each subpixel a timing of a first detection of the reflected pulse detected by any of the SPADs of the subpixel in order to determine an accurate distance by time of flight of the light signal.
In regards to claim 2, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuit comprises time window circuits for ignoring pixel output signals generated outside programmable time windows (Zhu C2:33 “a photosensor may comprise a set of photodetectors such as a photodetector array with the capability to dynamically enable/disable individual photodetector in the photodetector array…pixels outside of an expected detection location may be disabled”).
In regards to claim 4, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuit comprises a code generator that is configured to output a sequence of codes, starting from an initial code per each sensing iteration (Zhu C2:11 “Individually addressable emitters may allow for a subset of emitters from the array of emitters to be activated for firing light pulses concurrently according to a firing pattern or emission pattern in both the temporal dimension and the spatial domain”).
In regards to claim 7, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuit comprises a decision circuit for each pixel (Zhu Fig. 1 ref. 130 controller circuit); wherein the decision circuit is configured to determine whether the pixel sensed reflected radiation pulse per each sensing iteration (Zhu C3:24, Webster [0015]); and to generate a pixel output signal according to a determination whether the pixel sensed the reflected radiation pulse (Zhu C3:24 “the amount of optical energy received by a group of photodetectors, e.g., SPADs, corresponding to a pixel may be adjusted based on the strength of the emitted light pulses”, Webster [0015] if detector performance is determined good, output signals will be used).
In regards to claim 8, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 7, comprising a bias circuit for biasing each decision circuit with one or more bias signals (Zhu C20:2 “Each SPAD may have an analog front end circuit for biasing, quenching, and recharging”, Webster Fig. 3 schematic of circuit), wherein the decision circuit is configured to make the determination whether the pixel sensed the radiation pulse based on the one or more bias signal (Webster [0039] "l.sub.BIAS represents the current value of each switched current source 376A, 376B, 376N that have been switched on in response to digital output signals D.sub.OUT1 358A D.sub.OUTN 358N, and R.sub.OUT represents the resistance value of R.sub.OUT 366. Thus, since I.sub.BIAS and R.sub.OUT are fixed, the magnitude of A.sub.OUT is proportional to the number of SPADs that are triggered in response to incident photons 310 within the pulse width interval 380 in accordance with the teachings of the present invention").
In regards to claim 9, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 8, comprising a controller for determining the one or more bias signals (Zhu ref. 130, Webster controller ref. 126).
In regards to claim 12, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein each SPAD is coupled to a single quenching circuit that consists essentially of a resistor (Zhu C20:2, Webster abstract discloses quenching, resister seen in schematic Fig. 3)
In regards to claim 13, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuit is configured to determine, per each sensing iteration and per each pixel, an intensity parameter related to one or more reflected radiation pulses detected by the pixel (Zhu C7:33 “a selected portion of the returned multiple pulses in a sequence may be used for deriving a pixel value (e.g., intensity) and/or for calculating a distance”, Webster [0003] discloses determines a distance, a parameter of intensity).
In regards to claim 14, Zhu discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a transmitter, per each sensing iteration, a radiation pulse (abstract Lidar, pulse sequence); outputting, by each subpixel of an array of pixels (Fig. 8 detector array), a subpixel output signal indicative of a reflected radiation pulse sensed by one or more single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) of the subpixel (C20:62 “In the case when multiple SPADs are grouped to behave as a pixel, each circuit associated with a SPAD may also be referred to as sub-pixel level circuit”);
wherein each pixel of the array comprises multiple subpixels (Fig. 8 ref. 801-1, -4, C20:62);
wherein the SPADs of each subpixel are coupled to each other in parallel (C17:6, C21:4);
wherein each subpixel comprises one or more quenching circuits (C20:2 “Each SPAD may have an analog front end circuit for biasing, quenching, and recharging”), wherein the reflected radiation pulse is reflected from an area of an object that was illuminated by the radiation pulse (Fig. 2 disclose reflected light from target); reading, by a processing circuit for each pixel, multiple subpixel output signals from the multiple subpixels of the pixel (C20:66 “the set of SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4 may be electrically connected with a pixel level circuit same as the circuit as described in FIG. 6 such that the SPADs array 801 may be addressable and controlled”);
receiving, per each sensing iteration, transmission timing information indicative of a timing of transmission of the radiation pulse; and determining, by the processing circuit and per each sensing iteration and per each subpixel, a timing of a first detection of the reflected pulse detected by any of the SPADs of the subpixel.
while Zhu discloses photo detectors pixels are individually addressable and controllable (C12:30 "each photosensor may be individually addressable and controlled by a pixel- level circuit 601-2", C19:45 “The detector may be provided with the capability to dynamically enable/disable individual pixels in the array and/or dynamically enable/disable a subset of SPADs in a pixel thereby configuring the detector at the pixel level or sub-pixel level”).
Zhu does not expressly disclose as taught by Webster: receiving, per each sensing iteration, transmission timing information indicative of a timing of transmission of the radiation pulse (Webster [0023] “Determining the round-trip time may be based on, at least in part, timing signals generated by a time-to-digital converter (see, e.g., FIGS. 2-4. The timing signals are representative of when light source 102 emits light and when the photomultiplier pixel cells 122 detect the image light”); and determining, by the processing circuit and per each sensing iteration and per each subpixel, a timing of a first detection of the reflected pulse detected by any of the SPADs of the subpixel (Webster [0023] “The timing signals are representative of when light source 102 emits light and when the photomultiplier pixel cells 122 detect the image light”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Webster by providing the means for receiving, per each sensing iteration, transmission timing information indicative of a timing of transmission of the radiation pulse and determining, by the processing circuit and per each sensing iteration and per each subpixel the timing of a first detection of the reflected pulse detected by any of the SPADs of the subpixel in order to determine an accurate distance by time of flight of the light signal.
In regards to claim 15, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, comprising determining, by the processing circuit and per each sensing iteration and per each pixel, an intensity parameter related to one or more reflected radiation pulses detected by the pixel (Zhu C7:33 “a selected portion of the returned multiple pulses in a sequence may be used for deriving a pixel value (e.g., intensity) and/or for calculating a distance”, Webster [0003] discloses determines a distance, a parameter of intensity).
In regards to claim 17, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, comprising outputting, by a code generator of the processing circuit, a sequence of codes, starting from an initial code per each sensing iteration (Zhu C2:11 “Individually addressable emitters may allow for a subset of emitters from the array of emitters to be activated for firing light pulses concurrently according to a firing pattern or emission pattern in both the temporal dimension and the spatial domain”, the series of pulses occurring in a given order/code).
In regards to claim 20, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, comprising, determining, by each decision circuit of the processing circuit, whether a pixel associated with the decision circuit sensed a reflected radiation pulse per each sensing iteration (Webster abstract "A buffer circuit is coupled to the photon detector to generate a digital output signal having a pulse width interval in response to the avalanche current triggered in the photon detector"); and generating, by the decision circuit, a pixel output signal according to the determination (Webster abstract "to generate a digital output signal").
In regards to claim 21, Webster discloses the method according to claim 20, comprising biasing each decision circuit by a bias circuit associated with the decision circuit (Zhu as combined, Zhu C17:29 "the driver transistors (e.g., transistor 311-1, 311-2) may be individually activated (e.g., biased so as to be conducting)") and wherein the determining is based on the one or more bias signal (Webster as combined, Zhu C17:30 "may be individually activated (e.g., biased so as to be conducting)").
In regards to claim 22, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 21, comprising determining, by a controller, the one or more bias signals (Zhu as combined, Webster equation 3, Zhu C20:4 "SPADs are normally biased with a biased voltage above the breakdown voltage").
In regards to claim 25, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein each SPAD is coupled to a single quenching circuit that consists essentially of a resistor (Zhu as combined, Webster abstract discloses quenching, resister seen in schematic Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 26, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, comprising determining, by the processing circuit, per each sensing iteration and per each pixel, an intensity parameter related to one or more reflected radiation pulses detected by the pixel (Zhu C7:33 “a selected portion of the returned multiple pulses in a sequence may be used for deriving a pixel value (e.g., intensity) and/or for calculating a distance”, Webster [0003] discloses determines a distance, a parameter of intensity).
Claim 5, 6, 18, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster, Zhu as applied to claim 1, 17 above, and further in view of Niclass et al (US 20180081041).
In regards to claim 5, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 5, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the code generator is a pseudo random code generator.
Niclass teaches a pseudo random code generator for a light emission system ([0008] discloses "a pseudo-random pattern").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Niclass by providing the means the code generator is a pseudo random code generator in order to differentiate signals from different devices or at different times.
In regards to claim 6, Zhu as combined discloses the device according to claim 5, wherein the processing circuit comprises code samplers (Niclass [0025] discloses a receiver receiving and reads the pseudo random code, thus comprising a code sampler); wherein each code sampler is associated with a pixel and is configured to sample, at each sensing iteration, the code generator at a timing that correspond to the timing of a first detection of radiation by the pixel (Niclass [0040] discloses interpretation of light pulses for each pixel and the time of the light pulse "For each SPAD 40, corresponding to a pixel in the depth map that is to be generated, the control and processing circuitry...", [0041]).
In regards to claim 18, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 17, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the code generator is a pseudo random code generator.
Niclass teaches a pseudo random code generator for a light emission system ([0008] discloses "a pseudo-random pattern").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Niclass by providing the means the code generator is a pseudo random code generator in order to differentiate signals from different devices or at different times.
In regards to claim 19, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 17, comprising sampling, by each code sampler of the processing circuit, at each sensing iteration, the code generator at a timing that correspond to the timing of a first detection of radiation by a pixel associated with the code sampler. (Niclass [0025] discloses a receiver receiving and reads the pseudo random code, thus comprising a code sampler to interpret the pseudo code).
Claim 10, 11, 23, 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Webster as applied to claim 9, 22 above, and further in view of Nishihara et al (US 20140293107).
In regards to claim 10, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 9, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the controller is configured to determine the one or more bias signals based on outcomes of previous sensing iterations.
Nishihara teaches comparing a signal from a pixel with that of a reference signal (abstract "Each sense circuit includes a comparator configured to compare an output signal from a pixel with a reference signal"). The previous signals being represented by a reference signal
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Nishihara by providing the means for the controller to determine the one or more bias signals based on outcomes of previous sensing iterations/reference signals in order to provide a more accurate measurement.
In regards to claim 11, Zhu as combined discloses the device according to claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to determine the one or more bias signals based on signal to noise ratio (Webster [0016] "even though digital enable circuitry is featured in the disclosed photomultiplier pixel cells to individually enable and disable high DCR SPADs, analog circuitry is also combined in the disclosed examples photomultiplier pixel cells to provide high timing precision and edge detection, improve signal to noise ratio (SNR) performance, as well as reduce the overall transistor count compared to digital implementations").
In regards to claim 23, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 22, but does not expressly disclose: comprising determining by the controller the one or more bias signals based on outcomes of previous sensing iterations.
Nishihara teaches comparing a signal from a pixel with that of a reference signal (abstract "Each sense circuit includes a comparator configured to compare an output signal from a pixel with a reference signal"). The previous signals being represented by a reference signal
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu by Nishihara providing the means for determining by the controller the one or more bias signals based on outcomes of previous sensing iterations/reference signals in order to provide a more accurate measurement.
In regards to claim 24, Zhu as combined discloses the method according to claim 23, comprising determining by the controller the one or more bias signals based on signal to noise ratio (Webster [0015] discloses "to provide high timing precision and edge detection, improve signal to noise ratio (SNR) performance", thus controller would optimize/base signals with regards to SNR performance).
Claim 27, 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Webster as applied to claim 1, 14 above, and further in view of Kimpe et al (US 20080117231).
In regards to claim 27, Zhu discloses the device according to claim 1, and C20:53 “a set of individually addressable SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4 may behave as a single pixel”, Zhu does not expressly disclose: wherein each subpixel output signal is a superposition of SPAD detection signals of SPADs that belong to the subpixel.
Kimpe teaches superposition of detection signals from sub-pixels that belong to a pixel ([0104] “FIG. 5a shows an array of nine pixels 50, each having three sub-pixels 51 and each sub-pixel 51 having two domains 52, 53. FIG. 5b shows one pixel 50 in detail. In this situation it may be desirable to treat each pixel 50 as a superposition of six point sources”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Kimpe by providing each subpixel output signal is a superposition of SPAD detection signals of SPADs that belong to the subpixel in order to allow for a greater signal across the detector pixels.
In regards to claim 28, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 14, and C20:53 “a set of individually addressable SPADs 801-1, 801-2, 801-3, 801-4 may behave as a single pixel”, Zhu does not expressly disclose: wherein each subpixel output signal is a superposition of SPAD detection signals of SPADs that belong to the subpixel.
Kimpe teaches superposition of detection signals from sub-pixels that belong to a pixel ([0104] “FIG. 5a shows an array of nine pixels 50, each having three sub-pixels 51 and each sub-pixel 51 having two domains 52, 53. FIG. 5b shows one pixel 50 in detail. In this situation it may be desirable to treat each pixel 50 as a superposition of six point sources”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Zhu with Kimpe by providing for each subpixel output signal is a superposition of SPAD detection signals of SPADs that belong to the subpixel in order to allow for a greater signal across the detector pixels.
Conclusion
/V.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642