DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-15, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US 20050208282 A1) (previously cited) in view of Dabadie et al. (WO 2020018360 A1) (previously cited), Bardiot et al. (US 7622176 B2) (previously cited), and Versic et al. (US-5234732-A) (newly cited). Claim 6 is further evidenced by Overview of materials for Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET), Unreinforced (Overview of materials for Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET), Unreinforced, 2025, MatWeb, Pages 1-2)
Regarding claim 1, Wood teaches a multilayer film for food packaging comprising, in this order, a heat sealable skin layer (11), a layer (12), a layer (13), and a core layer (14) (Wood, Abstract, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0065 and Fig. 1). Wood teaches that each layer comprises biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate (Wood, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0049, and 0065-0067). Wood’s layers (11) through (14) satisfy the limitation of the claimed (d) layer of a biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate layer. The layer (14) is considered the first A layer, the layer (13) is considered the B layer, the layer (12) is considered the second A layer, and the layer (11) is considered the C layer in the claimed A:B:A:C structure (Wood, Abstract, Par. 0021-0027 and 0065). Wood teaches that both A layers and the B layer comprise crystalline PET and antiblocking particles (silica), and the C layer comprises an amorphous, heat sealable copolyester that is an ethylene terephthalate copolymer (PET) (Wood, Abstract, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0065, and 0073). Silica satisfies the limitation of an antiblocking particle as it is given as an example of one by the instant claim 5. Wood further teaches the film has a polyurethane coating on a face of the core layer opposite the skin layer (Wood, Par. 0031). Wood’s polyurethane coating improves adhesion and would thus have some elastic properties and satisfy the claimed (c) layer of an elastic polyurethane (Wood, Par. 0031). Wood teaches the food packaging includes the film as a lid (Wood, Par. 0002, 0004, and 0007).
Wood is silent regarding a layer (a) of a biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate layer and a layer (b) of a pressure sensitive adhesive in this order.
Dabadie teaches a multilayer film for food packaging comprising a biaxially oriented PET (base film) that satisfies the claimed layer (a) (Dabadie, Abstract, 0004, 022, and 0046). Dabadie teaches the film further comprises at least one coating layer that can be on each side of the biaxially oriented PET layer, wherein the coating layer may comprise a styrene-isoprene-styrene polymer (SIS) or a polyurethane (Dabadie, Abstract Par. 0004, 0022-0025). The styrene-isoprene-styrene polymer on one side of the biaxially oriented PET layer is considered the layer (b). Dabadie teaches the multilayer film may be laminated onto another film (Dabadie, Par. 0046-0047).
Wood and Dabadie are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for food packaging comprising a layer of a biaxially oriented PET. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have laminated the multilayer film of Dabadie onto the multilayer film of Wood. This would allow for a soft touch film with a matte appearance (Dabadie, Abstract, Par. 0002-0004). This would further result in a layer structure of: coating film of Dabadie/BOPET (a) (base film of Dabadie)/coating SIS film of Dabadie (b)/elastic polyurethane layer of Wood (c)/multilayer BOPET film of Wood (d) in that order.
Modified Wood is silent regarding the layer (b) being a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, wherein layer (b) is releasably and resealably adhered to layer (c).
Bardiot teaches a multilayer film for packaging comprising a sealing layer, a skin layer (outer layer), and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer therebetween (Bardiot, Abstract and Col. 5 Lines 14-20). Bardiot teaches the pressure sensitive adhesive comprises a tackifier and a styrene isoprene styrene polymer (SIS) (Bardiot, Col. 3 Lines 16-67, and claim 12). Bardiot teaches the pressure sensitive adhesive layer allows for a closure that can be opened and resealed and is thus releasably and resealably adhered to the adjacent layers (Bardiot, Abstract).
Modified Wood and Bardiot are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for packaging comprising an SIS layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the SIS pressure sensitive adhesive layer as the SIS layer of modified Wood. This would allow for improved adhesion between the layers, as well as a resealable structure (Bardiot, Abstract and Col. 3 Lines 16-67). This would further result in the layer (b) being releasably adhered to the layer (c).
Modified Wood is silent regarding the layer (c) transitioning from clear to cloudy upon being separated, for a first time, from layer (b), thereby providing a tamper-evident appearance.
Versic teaches multilayer film comprising a material in between layers of the film that causes the layers of the film to transition from a clear to cloudy (see opaque/color change) appearance after being separated or tampered with for a first time, thereby providing a tamper-evident appearance (Versic, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 39-65 and Col. 4 Lines 13-22, Col. 4 Line 62 – Col. 5 Line 34).
Modified Wood and Versic are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for food packaging (Wood, Par. 0005; Versic, Col. 2 Lines 14-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the material of Versic in between layers of modified Wood. This would allow for tamper evident features (Versic, Abstract). This would further result in the layer (c) of Wood transitioning from clear to cloudy upon being separated, for a first time, from layer (b).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wood teaches the C layer comprises an amorphous, heat sealable copolyester that is an ethylene terephthalate copolymer (PET) (Wood, Abstract, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0065, and 0073).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wood teaches C is a copolymer of terephthalic acid and ethylene glycol (PET) (Wood, Par. 0007).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wood teaches the antiblocking particles are silica (Wood, Par. 0021-0027 and 0065).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wood teaches (d) is biaxially stretched in both the machine and transverse direction by an amount of 0-600% (Wood, Par. 0040-0042), which overlaps the claimed range of 300-400% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I. Modified Wood teaches the stretching occurs at a temperature above the glass transition temperature of the homopolymer core layer (PET), and below the melt temperature of the homopolymer core layer (PET). The glass transition temperature of PET is 70-82 °C and the melt temperature of PET is 200-260°C as evidenced by Overview of materials for Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET), Unreinforced (Overview of materials for Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET), Unreinforced, Pages 1-2). Therefore, the stretching occurs between 70 and 260 °C, which overlaps the claimed range of 226-238°C and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 7-8, modified Wood teaches the first A layer has a thickness of 2 to 100 µm, the B layer has a thickness of 0.5 to 30 µm, the second A layer has a thickness of 0.5 to 30 µm, and the C layer has a thickness of 0.1 to 10 µm (Wood, Par. 0024, 0027, and 0034). This results in a combined A and B layer thickness of 3 to 160 µm and a layer (d) thickness of 3.1 to 170 µm. Modified Wood’s A and B layer thickness range, C layer thickness range, and (d) layer thickness range overlaps the claim 7 ranges of 2-100 µm, 0.1-10 µm, and 2-110 µm respectively, and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2144.05, I. Modified Wood’s (d) layer thickness range overlaps the claim 8 value of 8 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed thickness, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified Wood teaches the layer (b) comprises a styrene block copolymer of at least one styrene monomer and isoprene forming an SIS block copolymer (Bardiot, Col. 3 Lines 16-67, and claim 12).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wood teaches the layer (b) comprises 45-85 wt.% of styrene block copolymer and 15-55 wt.% of a compatible tackifying resin having a softening temperature of between 5 and 150 °C (Bardiot, Col. 3 Lines 16-67, Col. 4 Lines 30-40, Col. 4 Lines 62-67, and claim 12). Modified Wood’s styrene block copolymer content and softening temperature ranges lie within the claimed ranges of 40-85 wt. % and between 5 and 150°C respectively and therefore satisfy the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03. Modified Wood’s tackifying resin content range overlaps the claimed range of 10-35 wt.% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 12, Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2112.01. Modified Wood teaches the pressure sensitive adhesive comprises the same materials in the same amount as the instant invention as stated above for claim 11. Further, the instant specification states that the adhesive composition of Bardiot (US 7622176 B2) is a suitable adhesive for the claimed invention and exhibits the claim 12 properties (See the instant specification Page 4). Therefore, the pressure sensitive adhesive of modified Wood is the same as the instant invention and would inherently exhibit the claimed properties.
Regarding claim 13, modified Wood teaches there may be multiple base layers of a copolyester (PET) (Dabadie, Abstract, 0022-0026 – see “at least one base film”). Modified Wood thus teaches a layer (a’) (the second base layer) that is between the layer (a) and the layer (b).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wood teaches the layer C comprises an anti-fog agent (Wood, Par. 0007-0010).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wood teaches a container having a resealable lid, wherein said lid is a film according to claim 1 (Wood, Par. 0002, 0004, 0007; Bardiot, Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Wood teaches a multilayer film for food packaging comprising, in this order, a heat sealable skin layer (11), a layer (12), a layer (13), and a core layer (14) (Wood, Abstract, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0065 and Fig. 1). Wood teaches that each layer comprises biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate (Wood, Par. 0007, 0021-0027, 0049, and 0065-0067). Wood’s layers (11) through (14) satisfy the limitation of the claimed (d) layer of a biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate layer. Wood further teaches the film has a polyurethane coating on a face of the core layer opposite the skin layer (Wood, Par. 0031). Wood’s polyurethane coating improves adhesion and would thus have some elastic properties and satisfy the claimed (c) layer of an elastic polyurethane (Wood, Par. 0031). Wood teaches the food packaging includes the film as a lid (Wood, Par. 0002, 0004, and 0007).
Wood is silent regarding a layer (a) of a biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate layer and a layer (b) of a pressure sensitive adhesive in this order.
Dabadie teaches a multilayer film for food packaging comprising a biaxially oriented PET (base film) that satisfies the claimed layer (a) (Dabadie, Abstract, 0004, 022, and 0046). Dabadie teaches the film further comprises at least one coating layer that can be on each side of the biaxially oriented PET layer, wherein the coating layer may comprise a styrene-isoprene-styrene polymer (SIS) or a polyurethane (Dabadie, Abstract Par. 0004, 0022-0025). The styrene-isoprene-styrene polymer on one side of the biaxially oriented PET layer is considered the layer (b). Dabadie teaches the multilayer film may be laminated onto another film (Dabadie, Par. 0046-0047).
Wood and Dabadie are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for food packaging comprising a layer of a biaxially oriented PET. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have laminated the multilayer film of Dabadie onto the multilayer film of Wood. This would allow for a soft touch film with a matte appearance (Dabadie, Abstract, Par. 0002-0004). This would further result in a layer structure of: coating film of Dabadie/BOPET (a) (base film of Dabadie)/coating SIS film of Dabadie (b)/elastic polyurethane layer of Wood (c)/multilayer BOPET film of Wood (d) in that order.
Modified Wood is silent regarding the layer (b) being a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, wherein layer (b) is releasably and resealably adhered to layer (c).
Bardiot teaches a multilayer film for packaging comprising a sealing layer, a skin layer (outer layer), and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer therebetween (Bardiot, Abstract and Col. 5 Lines 14-20). Bardiot teaches the pressure sensitive adhesive comprises a tackifier and a styrene isoprene styrene polymer (SIS) (Bardiot, Col. 3 Lines 16-67, and claim 12). Bardiot teaches the pressure sensitive adhesive layer allows for a closure that can be opened and resealed and is thus releasably and resealably adhered to the adjacent layers (Bardiot, Abstract).
Modified Wood and Bardiot are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for packaging comprising an SIS layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the SIS pressure sensitive adhesive layer as the SIS layer of modified Wood. This would allow for improved adhesion between the layers, as well as a resealable structure (Bardiot, Abstract and Col. 3 Lines 16-67). This would further result in the layer (b) being releasably adhered to the layer (c). Modified Wood is silent regarding the layer (c) transitioning from clear to cloudy upon being separated, for a first time, from layer (b), thereby providing a tamper-evident appearance.
Versic teaches multilayer film comprising a material in between layers of the film that causes the layers of the film to transition from a clear to cloudy (see opaque/color change) appearance after being separated or tampered with for a first time, thereby providing a tamper-evident appearance (Versic, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 39-65 and Col. 4 Lines 13-22, Col. 4 Line 62 – Col. 5 Line 34).
Modified Wood and Versic are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films for food packaging (Wood, Par. 0005; Versic, Col. 2 Lines 14-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the material of Versic in between layers of modified Wood. This would allow for tamper evident features (Versic, Abstract). This would further result in the layer (c) of Wood transitioning from clear to cloudy upon being separated, for a first time, from layer (b).
Regarding the limitation of the film consisting essentially of the layers, modified Wood does not teach that any additional layers that would material affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed film are required. Therefore, modified Wood satisfies the limitation of consisting essentially of the layers, se MPEP 2111.03, III.
Regarding claim 20, modified Wood teaches the layer (b) has a thickness of 10-30 µm, including from 15-20 µm (Bardiot, Col. 5 Lines 21-30).
Regarding claim 21, modified Wood teaches the layer (b) comprises a tackifier that is an aliphatic resin (Bardiot, Col. 3 Lines 16-60, Col. 4 Lines 20-48).
Regarding claim 22, modified Wood teaches the layer (c) is resealably and releasably adhered to layer (b) as stated above for claim 1. Therefore, when separated from the first time from a lip of a container to which the film is attached, portions of the layer (c) and (d) remain attached to the lip of the container as the layer (b) is released from the layer (c).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 30 June 2026 have been fully considered.
On pages 7-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Wood and Dabadie do not teach a resealable feature. This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
The grounds of rejection have been updated above in view of the present claim amendments.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the rejection as stated above, neither Wood nor Dabadie are utilized to teach the resealable limitation. Instead, secondary reference Bardiot is utilized to teach a resealable feature, which Applicant concedes is taught by Bardiot. Applicant has not pointed out any issues with the combination of modified Wood with Bardiot such that the combination would not result in a resealable feature. Furthermore, nothing in Wood indicates that it could not function with a resealable feature. Therefore, Wood in view Dabadie and Bardiot render obvious the claimed resealable feature and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Secondly, on pages 7-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the claimed tamper-evident feature. This is found moot.
The grounds of rejection have been updated above in view of the present claim amendments. In the grounds of rejection above, the previously cited art is not relied upon to render obvious the claimed tamper-evident feature. Instead, newly cited Versic is utilized to render obvious the claimed tamper-evident feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782