DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 1/2/26 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 10/2/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, the dimer form of SEQ ID NO:11 was elected.
The elected species does not include the specific features of claims 8 and 20 as set forth in the previous office action. Further, based on the claim amendment, claim 16 no longer reads on a dimer since it specifically recites a monomer.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/2/25.
Claims 2-4 and 11-14 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, 15 and 17-19 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt of 4/26/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims were previously rejected under 103 based on the reference cited below. Since the claims have been amended, the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-10, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2016/0229894; ‘Yu’; first cited 10/2/25).
Yu teach alpha-helical, cell penetrating peptides (title and abstract). Yu teach a monomer peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) and the corresponding dimer having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). Yu expressly teach antiparallel dimers (section 0071). Yu teach that the dimeric peptide in a composition with siRNA specifically for delivery to cells (sections 0125-0126). Yu expressly teach a complex structure (section 0113). Yu also teach the dimer LK-3 (figure 24).
Yu does not teach a decapeptide of SEQ ID NO:11.
Yu expressly teach that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids (claim 7). Figure 24 of Yu shows cell-penetrating abilities of various lengths of peptides. Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Yu because Yu teach a monomer peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) and the corresponding dimer having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). Since Yu expressly teach antiparallel dimers (section 0071) one would have been motivated to make such peptides. Since Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074) and recites that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids one would have been motivated to make peptides of such length. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since methods of making peptides was known (example 1).
In relation to formula 1 of claims 1, 9 and 15, Yu teach a peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) and the corresponding dimer having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). LCRLLRRLCR corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO:11 and is such that X1, X4, X5 and X8 are L; X3, X6, X7 and X10 are R; X2 and X9 are C specifically disulfide linked C. Since Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074) and recites that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids one would have been motivated to make peptides of such length.
In relation to the dimeric form and bonding of claims 1, 5-7 and 10, Yu teach a dimer of RC having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). Due to the process (air oxidation) the dimers formed would be in both anti-parallel and parallel directions. Further, Yu expressly teach antiparallel dimers (section 0071)
In relation to claims 17-19, Yu teach that the dimeric peptide in a composition with siRNA specifically for delivery to cells (sections 0125-0126). Yu expressly teach a complex structure (section 0113).
Response to Arguments – 103
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue about formation rates, cytotoxicity, cell-penetrating ability and self-association, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., formation rates, cytotoxicity, cell-penetrating ability and self-association) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Although applicants argue that there is no motivation or suggestion to modify Yu, Yu expressly teach antiparallel dimers (section 0071). Yu expressly teach that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids (claim 7). Figure 24 of Yu shows cell-penetrating abilities of various lengths of peptides. Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074).
Double Patenting
Claims were previously rejected based on the application and/or application and reference cited below. Since the claims have been amended the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claims 1, 5-7 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/701,162 (reference application; ‘162’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
162 recites a peptide that can be a dimer that comprises formula 1 (claim 1) where formula 1 is SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 14) where SEQ ID NO:1 is ChaCRLLRRLCR (from table 1 on page 20). 162 recites a disulfide linkage between cysteine residues (claim 13). 162 recites a dimer in antiparallel direction (claim 12).
In relation to formula 1 of claims 1 and 9, 162 recites a peptide that can be a dimer that comprises formula 1 (claim 1) where formula 1 is SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 14) where SEQ ID NO:1 is ChaCRLLRRLCR (from table 1 on page 20). SEQ ID NO:1 and is such that X1 is Cha; X4, X5 and X8 are L; X3, X6, X7 and X10 are R; X2 and X9 are C specifically disulfide linked C.
In relation to the dimeric form and bonding of claims 1, 5-7 and 10, 162 recites a disulfide linkage between cysteine residues (claim 13). 162 recites a dimer in antiparallel direction (claim 12).
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, 15 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/701,162 (reference application; ‘162’) in view of Yu et al. (US 2016/0229894; ‘Yu’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
162 recites a peptide that can be a dimer that comprises formula 1 (claim 1) where formula 1 is SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 14) where SEQ ID NO:1 is ChaCRLLRRLCR (from table 1 on page 20). 162 recites a disulfide linkage between cysteine residues (claim 13). 162 recites a dimer in antiparallel direction (claim 12). 162 recites pharmaceutical compositions (claim 1) and suggest for treatments (claim 3). 162 recites that X1 can be Leu (claim 6).
162 does not recite substances as in claims 17-19.
Yu teach alpha-helical, cell penetrating peptides (title and abstract). Yu teach a monomer peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) and the corresponding dimer having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). Yu expressly teach antiparallel dimers (section 0071). Yu teach that the dimeric peptide in a composition with siRNA specifically for delivery to cells (sections 0125-0126). Yu expressly teach a complex structure (section 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 162 because 162 recites pharmaceutical compositions (claim 1) and suggest for treatments (claim 3). Since Yu teach similar peptides and suggest with substances such as siRNA (sections 0125-0126) one would have been motivated to combine with siRNA. Since 162 recites that X1 can be Leu (claim 6) and Yu teach alpha-helical, cell penetrating peptides (title and abstract) specifically a monomer peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) one would have been motivated to make such peptide. Since Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074) and recites that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids one would have been motivated to make peptides of such length. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since methods of making peptides was known (example 1 of Yu).
In relation to formula 1 of claims 1, 9 and 15, 162 recites a peptide that can be a dimer that comprises formula 1 (claim 1) where formula 1 is SEQ ID NO:1 (claim 14) where SEQ ID NO:1 is ChaCRLLRRLCR (from table 1 on page 20). SEQ ID NO:1 and is such that X1 is Cha; X4, X5 and X8 are L; X3, X6, X7 and X10 are R; X2 and X9 are C specifically disulfide linked C. Further, Yu teach a monomer peptide called RC of sequence comprising LCRLLRRLCR (section 0117 and SEQ ID NO:8 of Table 1) and the corresponding dimer having disulfide bonds called dimeric RC which was formed by air oxidation (section 0117). LCRLLRRLCR corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO:11 and is such that X1, X4, X5 and X8 are L; X3, X6, X7 and X10 are R; X2 and X9 are C specifically disulfide linked C. Since Yu states that the cell penetrating ability depends on the length (section 0074) and recites that the peptide can comprise 7-23 amino acids one would have been motivated to make peptides of such length.
In relation to the dimeric form and bonding of claims 1, 5-7 and 10, 162 recites a disulfide linkage between cysteine residues (claim 13). 162 recites a dimer in antiparallel direction (claim 12).
In relation to claims 17-19, Yu teach that the dimeric peptide in a composition with siRNA specifically for delivery to cells (sections 0125-0126). Yu expressly teach a complex structure (section 0113).
Response to Arguments – double patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that the present application has the earlier patent term filing date and request that the rejection be held in abeyance, nothing has been done to overcome the rejections so the rejections remain of record. The MPEP section that applicants refer to is for situations in which the double patenting rejection is the only remaining rejection. In the instant case, the double patenting rejection is not the only remaining rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658