DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (JP 2019-065123 A) in view of Masakata (JP 2017-190447 A).
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Hamada teaches tape comprising a foam laminate having a first primary surface and second primary surface (Paragraph 0005, 0041). Hamada teaches the foam laminate comprises a first resin foam layer having a thickness of 0.05 to 8 mm and density 0.01 to 0.1 g/cm3 (Paragraph 0005, 0011) and a second resin foam layer having a thickness of 0.02 to 5 mm and a density of 0.05 to 0.8 g/cm3. (Paragraph 0020). Hamada teaches the density of the first resin foam layer is lower than the density of the second resin foam layer. (Paragraph 0011). Hamada teaches the first resin foam layer and the second foam layer being disposed from the first primary surface side in this order. (Paragraph 0041).
Hamada does not specifically teach a protective film is provided on the first primary surface, where the protective film has a thickness of 0.1 to 50 micron and configured to reduce the tackiness of the laminate and is substantially free of gas bubbles. Hamada does teach the first foam layer has self-adhesive properties. (Paragraph 0008).
Masakata teaches applying a protective release liner, such as a polyethylene film that has no gas bubbles, to both adhesive sides of a foam tape. (Paragraph 0006, 0090). Masakata teaches the release liner has a thickness of 10 to 500 microns (Paragraph 0094), which overlaps the claimed range. Masakata teaches the release liners allow for the foam tape to be rolled and protect the adhesive surfaces before the tape has to be used. (Paragraph 0113). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill to apply the claimed protective film to the tape of Hamada to protect the adhesive surfaces of Hamada.
While Hamada does not specifically does not teach the laminate is a radio wave reflection reduction sheet, this limitation is intended use. If the prior art structure is capable for performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 2-4, Hamada does not teach the specific strength of radio wave relationship or the claimed permittivity. However, given that Hamada and Masakata teaches the same structure and composition, it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill in the art that the tape of Hamada and Masakata would inherently have the same physical properties, including the specific strength of radio wave relationship or the claimed permittivity.
Regarding Claim 8, Hamada teaches applying an adhesive layer as an outermost layer on the second primary surface side. (Paragraph 0041). While Hamada does not specifically state the adhesive is a pressure-sensitive adhesive, Hamada teaches the tape is a pressure-sensitive adhesive tape. (Paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use a pressure-sensitive adhesive as the adhesive layer in order for the tape of Hamada to be a pressure-sensitive adhesive tape.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada and Masakata in view of Congard et al. (US 2004/0202812 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Hamada does not teach a presence of a light-emitting layer.
Congrad teaches placing a light-emitting layer containing a photoluminescent material between layers of the backing (Paragraph 0046) Congrad teaches the photoluminescent material layer is used to allow for easy recognition of the tape. (Paragraph 0001). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to add a light-emitting layer between any layers of the tape in order for easier recognition in Hamada.
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (CN 108032478 A) in view of Garland et al. (US 2016/0271482 A1) and Wyner (US 2008/0171068 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 5 and 11, Qin teaches a foam laminate having a first primary surface and a second primary surface. (Fig. 1). Qin teaches a first resin foam layer having a density of 0.27 g/cm3, a second resin foam layer having a density of 0.33 g/cm3, and a third resin foam layer having a density of 0.38 g/cm3. (Paragraph 0035). Qin teaches the first resin foam layer and the second resin foam layer being disposed from the first primary surface side, with the third resin foam layer disposed on the second primary surface of the second resin foam layer. (Fig. 1).
Qin does not specifically teach the first, second and third resin foam layers have a thickness of 0.05 to 3 mm in thickness. Qin does the thickness of each layer should be adjusted to the needs of product. (Paragraph 0011).
Garland teaches a three layer foam laminate with a density gradient for use as an impact absorber in headgear. (Abstract; Paragraph 0069-0071). Garland teaches the first layer can have a thickness of 0.5 to 2.5 mm, the second and third layers can have a thickness of around 3 mm. (Paragraph 0071). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed thickness in Qin to allow the foam laminate to be used in protective head gear.
Qin and Garland do not specifically teach a protective film provided on the first primary surface having a thickness of 0.1 to 50 micron, where the protective film is configured to reduce the tackiness of the laminate and does not have gas bubbles.
Garland does teach a moisture-wicking material can applied to the first primary surface. (Paragraph 0044).
Wyner teaches an antimicrobial polymeric film without gas bubbles that can allow for moisture transport/wicking and is not tacky (Paragraph 0019, 0049) that can be attached to a foam composite (Paragraph 0002). Wyner teaches the film can have a thickness of less than 25 microns. (Claim 3 of Wyner). Wyner teaches this film provides the advantage of allows for moisture removal while also killing bacteria that causes odors (Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the claimed protective film taught by Wyner to the foam structure of Qin and Garland for improved wicking and odor control.
While Qin does not specifically does not teach the laminate is a radio wave reflection reduction sheet, this limitation is intended use. If the prior art structure is capable for performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claims 2-4 and 6, Qin, Garland and Wyner does not teach the specific strength of radio wave relationship or the claimed permittivity. However, given that Qin, Garland and Wyner teaches the same structure and composition, it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill in the art that the foam laminate of Qin, Garland and Wyner would inherently have the same physical properties, including the specific strength of radio wave relationship or the claimed permittivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
New grounds of rejection have been made in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781