, DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15-16, 19, 21-22, 24-25, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The scope of claim 1 is unclear because it includes contradicting phrases. Particularly, the phase, “the drive arrangement comprising…” contradicts the phrase “…contain no other drive arrangement” because the transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) Claims 2-5, 7, 9-13, 15-16, 19, 21-22, 24-25, 27 and 29 are also rejected because of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 25, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eddington et al. (WO 2013/175197).
Regarding claims 1, 25 and 27, Eddington teaches a camera comprising:
an actuator assembly comprising:
a first part (2);
a second part (4);
a bearing arrangement (7) mechanically coupling the first part to the second part (pg. 5, ll. 1-6)
a drive arrangement (11-14) comprising a total of only four lengths of shape memory alloy wire, such that the drive arrangement comprises no more and no fewer than the four lengths of shape memory alloy wire and contains no other drive arrangement;
wherein the drive arrangement and the bearing arrangement are configured such that the first part is movable towards or away from the second part along a primary axis, and the first part is movable relative to the second part along a first axis and a second axis; wherein the first and second axes are perpendicular to the primary axis and the second axis is different to the first axis (the drive arrangement 11-14 in conjunction with the bearing assembly which includes a VCM, configured to move the lens 22 along the optical axis direction and linearly in two orthogonal directions, see pg. 4, ll. 1-6 and ll. 33-38);
an image sensor (6) supported by one of the first part and the second part;
a lens (22) support by the other of the first part and the second part [claim 27].
Regarding claim 29, Eddington teaches a method comprising use of the actuator assembly according to claim 1 to implement an optical stabilization function and/or an automatic focusing function of a camera (pg. 4, ll. 1-6 and ll. 33-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddington in view of Liu (CN 208172341).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 10, Eddington teaches all the claimed limitations except for the bearing arrangement comprises a first bearing configured to generate, in response to a torque applied about the primary axis by the drive arrangement, movement of the first part towards or away from the second part along the primary axis; wherein a rotation of the first about the primary axis corresponds to a rotation of the first part relative to the second part [claim 3]; wherein the bearing arrangement is further configured to constrain rotation of the first part relative to the second part about the primary axis [claim 10]. Liu teaches an actuator assembly comprising: a bearing arrangement comprises a first bearing (11) configured to generate, in response to a torque applied about a primary axis by the drive arrangement, movement of the first part towards or away from the second part along the primary axis; wherein a rotation of the first bearing about the primary axis corresponds to a rotation of the first part relative to the second part; wherein the bearing arrangement is further configured to constrain rotation of the first part relative to the second part about the primary axis. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a first bearing as taught by Liu within Brown’s bearing arrangement in order to facilitate the driving of the second part in the primary axis direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant, in his remarks, alleges that Eddington has not been shown to suggest a "drive arrangement comprising a total of only four lengths of shape memory alloy wire, such that the drive arrangement comprises no more and no fewer than the four lengths of shape memory alloy wire and contains no other drive arrangement; wherein the drive arrangement and the bearing arrangement are configured such that the first part is movable towards or away from the second part along a primary axis, and the first part is movable relative to the second part along a first axis and a second axis; wherein the first and second axes are perpendicular to the primary axis and the second axis is different to the first axis," as now recited by claim 1, however the applicant is respectfully reminded that, while it might be evident, by comparing the patented structure of Eddington with the instant specification and drawings, that the claimed invention is different from the Prior Art made of record, that is not the test for patentability. Rather, it is the language of the claims what defines the meets and bounds of the instant invention. In this case, Eddington teaches a drive arrangement (11-14) comprises a total of only four lengths of shape memory alloy wire, such that the drive arrangement comprises no more and no fewer than the four shape memory alloy wire and contains no other drive arrangement (Fig. 5), wherein the drive arrangement (11-14) and the bearing arrangement (constitutes a VCM, configured to move the lens 22 along the optical axis direction), are configured such that the first part is movable towards or away from the second part along a primary axis, and the first part is movable relative to the second part along a first axis and a second axis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852