Ent on Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202020731565.8, filed on 5/07/2020.
Drawings
Paragraph 0028 refers to elements 101 and 1012 in Fig. 4. However, these elements are not present in the aforementioned drawing. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0003, lines 3-4, additional formatting is needed to distinguish the titles of the referenced applications. Would suggest changing to 'A Lightweight Humanoid Five-finger Dexterous Hand Mechanism' and 'A Bionic Three-finger Manipulator'.
In paragraph 0027, line 5, "locking assembly102" should read "locking assembly 102".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kayama et al (U.S. Patent No. 20180272543).
Regarding claim 1, Kayama et al teaches a finger-and-palm detachable dexterous hand,
Comprising a palm (300a) and a plurality of fingers (330a, 330b) (Paragraph 0031, lines 1-2; paragraph 0033, lines 5-10; Fig. 1, elements 300a, 330a, 330b),
Wherein the palm (300a) is provided with a plurality of finger mounting slots (315a, 315b) for the fingers (330a, 330b) to be inserted and mounted therein (Paragraph 0052, lines 7-14; Fig. 7, elements 311, 315a, 315b);
And further comprising a locking assembly (321a, 321b) mounted in each finger mounting slot (322a, 322b) (Paragraph 0052, lines 1-7),
And a locking block (321a, 321b) arranged at an inserting end of each finger (330a, 330b) (Paragraph 0052, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 4, Kayama et al teaches each locking block (321a, 321b) comprises a guide part (322a, 322b) and a locking recess (313a, 313b) at two opposite ends (Paragraph 0052, lines 1-2, 5-7),
And the guide part (322a, 322b) is arranged near the inserting end of the fingers (330a, 330b) to guide a pivoting direction of the torsion spring (Fig. 7, elements 321a, 321b, 330a, 330b);
And the locking recess (313a, 313b) is provided with an opening facing away from the inserting end of the finger (330a, 330b), which is configured for the hook-shaped end to be locked into or detached from the locking recess (313a, 313b) (Fig. 7, elements 313a, 313b, 330a, 330b).
Regarding claim 8, Kayama et al teaches a finger mounting slot (322a, 322b) comprising an upper slot section (321a, 321b) and a lower slot section (341a, 341b) fixedly connected to the upper slot section (321a, 321b), and the upper slot section (321a, 321b) is fixedly connected to the palm (300) (Paragraph 0052, lines 1-5);
And the lower slot section (341a, 341b) is configured to be a hollow cylindrical structure for accommodating at least part of a joint of the finger (330a, 330b) (Paragraph 0050, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 9, Kayama et al teaches the locking blocks (321a, 321b) are integrally formed with the finger (330a, 330b), the finger (330a, 330b) is provided with flat surfaces parallel to an inserting direction, the flat surfaces are each provided with a recess (313a, 313b), and each locking block (321a, 321b) is formed at a central position of the recess (313a, 313b) (Paragraph 0061; Fig. 7, elements 330a, 330b, 313a, 313b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kayama et al in view of Wang et al (CN 209822885).
Kayama et al fails to teach a locking assembly with a torsion spring and pivot shaft. Wang et al teaches a locking assembly comprising a torsion spring (13) and a pivot shaft (14) (Fig. 3, elements 13, 14),
The torsion spring (13) being rotatably provided around an outer periphery of the pivot shaft (14) (Fig. 3, elements 13, 14),
And the pivot shaft (14) being fixedly connected to an inner side of the finger mounting slot (16) (Fig. 3, elements, 14, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Wang et al to facilitate the creation of a locking assembly that uses a torsion spring and pivot shaft as taught by Wang et al.
Kayama et al fails to teach a torsion spring that is hook-shaped. Wang et al teaches one end of the torsion spring (13) is hook-shaped, and the hook-shaped end is configured to be locked to the locking block by hooking (Fig. 3, element 13). Additional details are provided in the figure below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Wang et al to facilitate the creation of a hooked torsion spring that will attach to and detach from the locking recess as taught by Wang et al.
Kayama et al fails to teach a locking block with a first inclined surface. Wang et al teaches each locking block further comprises a first inclined surface (16) for guiding the hook-shaped end to move along the first inclined surface (16) and be hooked in the locking recess (Fig. 3, elements 13, 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Wang et al to facilitate the creation of an inclined surface to guide the torsion spring as taught by Wang et al.
Kayama et al fails to teach a locking block with a second inclined surface. Wang et al teaches a locking block further comprising a second inclined surface (17),
And the second inclined surface (17) and the first inclined surface (16) intersect at the guide part for guiding the hook-shaped end to be detached from the locking block (Fig. 3, elements 13, 16, 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Wang et al to facilitate the creation of a second inclined surface to guide the torsion spring as taught by Wang et al.
Kayama et al fails to teach an arc-shaped transition section. Wang et al teaches each locking block comprises an arc-shaped transition section arranged between the first inclined surface (16) and the locking recess, and the arc-shaped transition section is configured to guide the hook-shaped end to slip from the first inclined surface (16) into the locking recess (Fig. 3, elements 13, 16). Additional details are provided in the figure below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teaching of Wang et al to facilitate the creation of an arc-shaped transition section to guide the torsion spring into the recess as taught by Wang et al.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18. is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kayama et al in view of Fang et al (CN 107471243).
Regarding claim 10, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 11, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 12, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 13, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 14, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 15, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 16, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 17, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Regarding claim 18, Kayama et al fails to teach fingers with joints. Fang et al teaches each of the fingers comprises a first joint section (28), a second joint section (22), and a third joint section (19) which are articulated in sequence, and the locking blocks are fixedly arranged on the third joint section (19) (Fig. 3, elements 19, 22, 28);
The first joint section (28) comprises a first sensor assembly (16) (Fig. 1, element 16);
The second joint section (22) comprises a second sensor assembly (11), a first power mechanism (23) and a control circuit board (15) (Fig. 1, element 15; Fig. 3, elements 11, 23);
The third joint section (19) comprises a second power mechanism (21) (Fig. 3, element 21);
And the control circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first sensor assembly (16), the second sensor assembly (11), the first power mechanism (23), and the second power mechanism (21), respectively, so as to drive the first joint section (28) to rotate relative to the second joint section (22) via the first power mechanism (23) and drive the second joint section (22) to rotate relative to the third joint section (19) via the second power mechanism (21) according to a force on a surface of the first joint section (28) detected by the first sensor assembly (16) and a force on a surface of the second joint section (22) detected by the second sensor assembly (11) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 19, 22, 23, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Fang et al to facilitate the creation of a control circuit that can power the finger joints of the mechanism as taught by Fang et al.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651