DETAILED ACTION
Citation to the Specification will be in the following format: (S. # : ¶/L) where # denotes the page number and ¶/L denotes the paragraph number or line number. Citation to patent literature will be in the form (Inventor # : LL) where # is the column number and LL is the line number. Citation to the pre-grant publication literature will be in the following format (Inventor # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number.
Status of Application; Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are pending.
Claims 19-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected methods, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/9/2025.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 24, and 25 is/are currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on:
4/12/2023
4/7/2023
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
I. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0093429 to Star, et al.
With respect to Claim 1, this claim recites in the preamble “[a] method of performing an electrochemical assay to detect an analyte comprising an oxidizable phenolic group.” Star teaches tetrahydrocannabinol, interpreted as an analyte comprising an oxidizable phenolic group. (Star 1-2: [0010]; passim).
Claim 1 further requires “contacting a sample suspected of containing the analyte with a modified electrode.” A modified electrode is taught. (Star 4: [0066] et seq.; Fig. 1A-1B; passim). A sample is applied to the electrode. See e.g. (Star 1-2: [0010]: “In another aspect, a method of detecting tetrahydrocannabinol or THC includes applying a sample to a sensor medium of a sensor or sensors.”).
Claim 1 further requires “the modified electrode comprises a nanocomposite, the nanocomposite comprising a carbon nanomaterial and an electrocatalyst.” Nanocomposites are taught. See e.g. (Star 4: [0068]).
Claim 1 further requires “incubating the sample with the modified electrode.” A sample is ‘incubated.’ (Star 7: [0089]).
Claim 1 further requires “applying a potential suitable for electrochemically oxidizing the oxidizable phenolic group of the analyte.” A potential is applied. (Star 6: [0081] – 7: [0083]; passim).
Claim 1 further requires “detecting an assay signal associated with electrochemical oxidation of the analyte.” Results are detected. (Star 7: [0091]; passim).
As to Claim 2, carbon nanotubes are taught. (Star 4: [0064]).
As to Claim 3, reduced graphene oxide is interpreted as graphene. (Star 4: [0065]). If this is incorrect, please construe graphene and how much oxygen is or isn’t allowed for something to be called “graphene.” This is necessary to treat the matter.
As to Claim 4, nanoribbons are taught. Nanoribbons are taught. (Star 4: [0065]).
As to Claim 6, metals and metal oxides are taught. (Star 4: [0068]).
As to Claim 7, processing is taught. (Star 3: [0058] et seq). A concentration is determined. (Star 8: [0095] et seq.; passim).
As to Claim 8, cannabinoids are taught. (Star 4: [0068]; passim).
As to Claim 9, delta 9-THC is taught. (Star 1: [0003]).
As to Claim 11, saliva is taught. (Star 4: [0063]). Note also discussion of detection in the liquid phase. (Star 4: [0066]).
As to Claim 12, a time less than 3 minutes is taught. (Star 7: 0089]).
As to Claim 13, a time less than 2 minutes is taught. (Star 7: 0089]).
As to Claim 14, a time less than 1 minutes is taught. (Star 7: 0089]).
As to Claim 15, the parameters are so-configured. (Star 9: [0103]-[0104], accompanying Figs)
As to Claim 16, pre-conditioning / balancing / calibrating is taught. (Star 7: [0082]-[0083]).
As to Claim 17, as understood, a voltametric measurement is carried out. (Star 7: [0082]-[0083]).
II. Claim(s) 5 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0093429 to Star, et al. in view of:
(i) Rabti, et al., Bio(Sensing) devices based on ferrocene-functionalized graphene and carbon nanotubes, Carbon 2016; 108: 481-514 (cited by Applicants, hereinafter “Rabti at __”).
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 5, to the extent Star may not teach e.g. ferrocene, these are known in the art as useful in biosensing devices. (Rabti entire reference; 506 – 5.5.2 Sensing of drugs). One would be motivated to use ferrocene functionalized graphene or carbon nanotubes for any number of reasons, like achieving lower detection limits. (Rabti at 506, col. 2).
III. Claim(s) 10 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0093429 to Star, et al. in view of:
(i) Senati, et al., A voltametric sensor based on NiO/CNTs ionic liquid carbon paste electrode for determination of morphine in the presence of diclofenac, Materials Science and Engineering C 2014; 35: 379-385 (hereinafter “Senati at __”).
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 10, to the extent Star may not teach the claimed analytes, in a similar method Senati teaches a method of testing for morphine (an opiate). Like Star and like the claims, the method involves contacting a sample with a modified electrode containing nanotubes. (Sanati at 280 – 2. Experimental). Substituting one modified electrode for another to detect different analytes is an obvious expedient as it reflects substituting known components to achieve predictable results. This does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Star does not teach or reasonably suggest contacting the sample with a suspension comprising capped magnetic particles in the manner claimed in Claim 18.
Conclusion
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736