Status of Claims
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2 – 5 have been cancelled.
Claims 8 – 12 have been withdrawn.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on October 21st, 2025 has been fully considered but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of July 21st 2025
The 102 rejections of claims 1, 6, and 7 are withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
The 102 rejections of claims 2 – 5 are moot because the claims have been cancelled.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings were received on October 21st, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo (KR 102262044 B1, but citations will be drawn to US 2021/0167391 A1). Regarding the method of determining the shear strength of the negative active material layer, it is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process limitations do not carry patentable weight. Therefore, it will not be considered with respect to patentability. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
See MPEP 2113.
In Example 1 of Jo’s disclosure ([0047] – [0055]), they teach a negative electrode for a secondary battery comprised of a copper current collector (as required by claim 7) with an active material layer comprising artificial graphite, carbon black, and a mixture of carboxymethyl cellulose and styrene-butadiene rubber. The final thickness of the layer is 80 µm (as required by claim 6). The negative active material layer is comprised of two negative active material slurries. The first slurry is applied to the copper current collector, dried, and the second slurry is applied atop the first. The composition by mass of the first slurry is 2.4% binder, 96% active material, and 1% carbon black. The composition by mass of the second slurry is 2% binder, 96.6% active material, and 1% carbon black. The first and second slurries, as a percentage of their total weight, 50% and 52% solid by mass, respectively. Each slurry is applied onto the current collector with equal thicknesses.
Therefore, since both slurries have near identical mass compositions and are applied with the same thickness, it is reasonable to assume that the final composition of the active material layer is an average of the compositions of the slurries used for said active material layer. Seeing as both compositions satisfied the claimed compositional limitations, the total negative active material also satisfies said limitations.
Example 1 of Jo’s disclosure teaches all of the compositional and physical characteristics recited in claims 1, 6, and 7 except for the claimed shear strength. However, since Jo’s example possesses the remainder of these, absent an objective showing to the contrary, it would be expected that Jo’s example has a shear strength that is close to 1.6 MPa. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed October 21st, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jo under 35 USC 103. The Applicant’s argument that the previously made anticipatory rejection based on inherency is persuasive. The Applicant continued to argue that since Jo did not teach nor disclose the rolling ratios discussed in the Applicant’s specification (see paragraphs [0048] and [0049]), Jo’s active material layer may have an average shear strength outside of the claimed range. The Applicant supported this argument by pointing out that the average values of the shear strengths of their Comparative Examples 1-5 were all lower than the claimed range of 1.6 MPa or greater because they were not processed in the way that the examples of the claimed invention were processed.
However, Comparative Example 1’s average value of shear strength is 1.59 MPa, which is close to 1.6 MPa. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, while Jo’s disclosure fails to anticipate the claims in view of the examples cited in the Applicant’s specification, the claimed limitations are prima facie obvious over Jo. Therefore, a rejection based on 35 USC 103 is appropriate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722