DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 3-22 as amended are pending.
All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “1.9” should be “1.9 % wt.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 10, 12, 21, and 22 each recite a range for component d) that includes amounts less than 0.6 wt % of the amounts of a) and b) (as required by claim 1), and therefore does not include all the limitations of claim 1. Likewise, claim 11 recites a range for the amount of component d) entirely outside the range required by claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0086567 (“Hawkins”).
As to claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 16, and 17, Hawkins teaches a binder composition that is curable (para. 0079) and formaldehyde free (abstract) and is available in aqueous dispersion (para. 0068).
Hawkins teaches the use of a carbohydrate, specifically a carbohydrate polymer having DE from 2 to 20 (para. 0033), specifically exemplifying maltodextrin, a dextrin as required by claim 1, having DE of 11 and 18 (see table 4, as one example) as required by claim 3.
Hawkins teaches the use of a crosslinking agent including polycarboxylic acids (para. 0035) as required by claim 1, specifically exemplifying citric acid (para. 0091, table 6) as required by claims 4 and 16.
Hawkins teaches examples having a polyol of less than 1000 g/mol in the recited amount (table 16, sample 10, teaching triethanolamine at 5.2 wt % of the total of a) and b) as required by claims 1, 7, and 8. This same example contains approximately 64 percent maltodextrin and 30 % citric acid as required by claims 6 and 17.
Hawkins does not exemplify an epoxy silane, using an amino silane in examples throughout. However, Hawkins teaches silane coupling agents, including epoxy silanes (para. 0038, 0042) suitable as coupling agents, in amounts from 0.01 to 2.5 wt % (para. 0037), which is approximately a 0.01 to 2.5 wt % of the components a and b, given the teaching of the amount of the amount of polyol (para. 0054). This range overlaps the range of claims 1, 10, and 11. Given that Hawkins teaches the utility of epoxy silane, including in the recited amount, it would be an obvious modification to use such compounds as a coupling agent, including in the recited amounts, as suggested by Hawkins.
As to claim 5, Hawkins teaches the use of maltodextrin in the recited DE range and citric acid (table 6). While the recited amount of polyol is not explicitly exemplified with this maltodextrin, Hawkins teaches the use of process aids, including polyols of the recited weight in amounts from 1 to 20 wt % (paras. 0054, 0055), which overlaps the recited amount of claim 1. Hawkins teaches that the amount is chosen to facilitate processing of fibers and orientation, to reduce viscosity, increase ramp height, or accelerate dewatering (para. 0054). As such, the use of polyols of the recited molecular weight, including in the recited amount, is an obvious modification to adjust properties of the binder composition as suggested by Hawkins.
As to claim 9, Hawkins does not exemplify the recited polyol amount. Hawkins teaches the use of process aids, including polyols of the recited weight in amounts from 1 to 20 wt % (paras. 0054, 0055), which overlaps the recited amount of claim 1. Hawkins teaches that the amount is chosen to facilitate processing of fibers and orientation, to reduce viscosity, increase ramp height, or accelerate dewatering (para. 0054). As such, the use of polyols of the recited molecular weight, including in the recited amount, is an obvious modification to adjust properties of the binder composition as suggested by Hawkins.
As to claim 13, Hawkins teaches mixtures of the compositions (see examples), but does not discuss premixing components c and d prior to mixing with water and reducing sugar. Case law holds that the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). It would be an obvious modification to have added other components, such as catalyst, or other processing aids, subsequent to adding components c and d.
As to claim 14, Hawkins teaches the binder may be used in fibrous insulation made from glass, glass wool, or ceramic fibers, thus mineral wool (para. 0072).
As to claim 15, Hawkins teaches the binder may be used in fibrous insulation made from glass, glass wool, or ceramic fibers, thus mineral wool (para. 0072). Hawkins teaches curing the binder at temperatures of 100 degrees C and above (para. 0079).
As to claims 19 and 20, Hawkins does not exemplify the recited amount of polyol, but teaches the use of polyols, including those with less than 1000 g/mol, as a processing aid (paras. 0054-0055). Hawkins teaches from 1 to 20 % by weight of this component for providing uniformity and improving viscosity (para. 0054),which includes the recited amounts of claims 19 and 20. As such, the use of polyols, including in the recited amounts, to improve processing is an obvious modification suggested by Hawkins.
As to claims 21 and 22, while not exemplified, Hawkins teaches the use of a preferred range of 0.01 to 2.5 wt % of the solids (para. 0037), which is approximately a 0.01 to 2.5 wt % of the components a and b, given the teaching of the amount of the amount of polyol (para. 0054). This range encompasses the recited ranges of claims 21 and 22, and as such, the use of silane coupling agent, including epoxy silane, in the recited range is an obvious modification suggested by Hawkins.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0086567 (“Hawkins”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of US 2012/0168054 A1 (“Chen”).
As to claim 12, Hawkins teaches examples having approximately 64 percent maltodextrin and 30 % citric acid, which are within recited ranges (Table 16, example 10).
Hawkins does not exemplify an epoxy silane, using an amino silane in examples throughout. However, Hawkins teaches silane coupling agents, including epoxy silanes (para. 0038, 0042) suitable as coupling agents, in amounts from 0.1 to 0.5 wt % (para. 0037), which is within the recited range.
Hawkins teaches the use of polyols of the recited weight in amounts from 1 to 20 wt % (paras. 0054, 0055), which overlaps the recited amount of claim 12, and as such, the amount of polyol is an obvious modification suggested by Hawkins.
Hawkins does not teach the specific polyol being ethylene glycol. However, Chen teaches similar biobased binders based on carboxylic acids and polyols, and teaches that ethylene glycol is among the types of polyol appropriate for said composition (para. 0079, teaching ethylene glycol, along with glycerol, and triethanolamine). Given the nearness of structure of ethylene glycol with the polyols disclosed by Hawkins as process aids (see Hawkins, para. 0055, teaching propanediols and butanediols), the use of ethylene glycol in such compositions, including in the recited amount, is an obvious modification, given the teaching of Hawkins of the use of low molecular weight polyols for process aids, and the teaching of Chen of the use of ethylene glycol in biobased binder formulations.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0086567 (“Hawkins”) as applied to claim 7, further in view of US 2012/0168054 A1 (“Chen”).
As to claim 18, Hawkins does not teach the specific polyol being ethylene glycol. However, Chen teaches similar biobased binders based on carboxylic acids and polyols, and teaches that ethylene glycol is among the types of polyol appropriate for said composition (para. 0079, teaching ethylene glycol, along with glycerol, and triethanolamine). Given the nearness of structure of ethylene glycol with the polyols disclosed by Hawkins as process aids (see Hawkins, para. 0055, teaching propanediols and butanediols), the use of ethylene glycol in such compositions, including in the recited amount, is an obvious modification, given the teaching of Hawkins of the use of low molecular weight polyols for process aids, and the teaching of Chen of the use of ethylene glycol in biobased binder formulations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant alleges, with the examples of the specification and in the declaration of Alejandro Molinero Arenas, that unexpected effects accrue from the use of epoxysilanes in the recited amount rather than aminosilanes. These are unpersuasive as not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. In particular, applicant’s specification does not provide any comparison with aminosilane containing compositions. The additional evidence by way of declaration, while providing some evidence for improved characteristics using one epoxysilane over an equivalent amount of an aminosilanes, is limited to a very specific formulation of a dextrin, polycarboxylic acid, and silane, and no polyol as required by the claims. As such, this evidence is insufficient to show unexpected results over the closest art.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764