DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 1/30/26 in which claims 26-36 and 46-55 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-28, 32, 46, 47 and 52-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0195654), herein Lei and Fei et al. WO 2023/011071 A1, herein Fei.
As to claim 26, Lei teaches a method of operating a base station, the method comprising:
generating system information to configure bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Lei [0108] At 710, the apparatus may communicate with the UE based on the indication of the reduced UE capability and within a downlink and uplink bandwidth part (BWP) configuration associated with a corresponding UE capability, wherein the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station); and
transmitting outputting the system information for transmission in a broadcast message (Lei [0108] the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station);
Lei does not teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs)
However Fei does teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Fei, because Fei teaches us page 18 lines 14-16 the base station configures different initial UL BWPs for the RedCap UE.
As to claim 46, Lei teaches at least one non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to (Lei Fig. 3 memory and processor):
generate system information to configure bandwidth part (BWP) for reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Lei [0108] At 710, the apparatus may communicate with the UE based on the indication of the reduced UE capability and within a downlink and uplink bandwidth part (BWP) configuration associated with a corresponding UE capability, wherein the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station); and
output the system information for transmission in a broadcast message (Lei [0108] the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station);
Lei does not teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs)
However Fei does teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Fei for the same reasons stated in claim 26.
As to claim 52, Lei teaches a method of:
receiving system information to configure bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Lei [0108] At 710, the apparatus may communicate with the UE based on the indication of the reduced UE capability and within a downlink and uplink bandwidth part (BWP) configuration associated with a corresponding UE capability, wherein the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station); and
utilizing the initial DL or UL BWP for UL or DL transmissions (Lei [0108] At 710, the apparatus may communicate with the UE based on the indication of the reduced UE capability and within a downlink and uplink bandwidth part (BWP) configuration associated with a corresponding UE capability)
Lei does not teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs)
However Fei does teach
configure an initial downlink (DL)/(DL) or uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) dedicated to reduced-capability (redcap) user equipments (UEs) (Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Fei for the same reasons stated in claim 26.
As to claim 27, the combination of Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 26, wherein the broadcast message comprises a system information block 1 (SIB 1) or a system information bock-redcap (SIB redcap) (Lei [0108] At 710, the apparatus may communicate with the UE based on the indication of the reduced UE capability and within a downlink and uplink bandwidth part (BWP) configuration associated with a corresponding UE capability, wherein the downlink and uplink BWP configuration is broadcast in system information of the base station);
Claims 47 and 53 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 27.
As to claim 28, the combination of Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 26, wherein the initial DL OR UL BWP comprises an initial DL BWP and the system information includes an indication of a frequency location and bandwidth of the initial DL or UL BWP (Lei [0096] downlink and uplink BWP configuration and Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP)
Claims 48 and 54 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 28.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Fei for the same reasons stated in claim 26.
As to claim 32, the combination of Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 31, wherein the redcap-dedicated parameters comprise a number of frequency-domain multiplexed RACH occasions, a power- ramping step, a time-domain periodicity, a time-domain density, or a number of synchronization signal blocks associated with a valid RACH occasion (Lei [0061] Aspects of the present disclosure can include an implicit indication of reduced UE capabilities for reduced capability (redcap) UEs or light UEs. This implicit indication of reduced UE capabilities may occur at a certain time period, e.g., prior to an RRC connection. And [0084] At 570, base station 504 may transmit, to the UE, a UE capability reduction instruction, e.g., instruction 574, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), where the UE capability reduction instruction includes an identifier of the UE and a capability reduction time period, where capability reduction time period is a time period where the UE capability reduction takes effect)
Claim(s) 29, 49 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Fei and Lei2 et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0104109), herein Lei2.
As to claim 29, Lei teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial DL BWP (Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
Lei nor Fei teach
and the system information includes an indication of a common search space dedicated to redcap UEs, the common search space for a random access message, a system information block (SIB), or a paging message
However Lei2- does teach
and the system information includes an indication of a common search space dedicated to redcap UEs, the common search space for a random access message, a system information block (SIB), or a paging message (Lei2 claim 11 The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a set of additional system informations for reduced-capability UEs which may be requested based at least in part on the information included in the dedicated field or in the configuration information element, wherein the set of additional system informations include synchronization signal blocks, downlink broadcast reference signals, control resource set configurations, common search space configurations for random access procedures, paging)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Lei2, because Lei2 teaches us [0320] receiving first system information from a base station, the first system information being for reduced-capability UEs comprising UEs with a bandwidth capability below a threshold, the UE being a reduced-capability UE; evaluating the first system information for a dedicated field that includes an indicator that additional system information for reduced-capability UEs is to be received in response to on-demand requests; and obtaining the additional system information for reduced-capability UEs in accordance with information included in either the dedicated field when the dedicated field is included in the first system information or in a configuration information element of the first system information when the dedicated field is absent from the first system information.
Claims 49 and 55 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 28.
Claim(s) 30 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Fei and Geng et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0058879), herein Geng.
As to claim 30, the combination of Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 26, wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial DL BWP (Lei [0096] downlink and uplink BWP configuration Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
Lei nor Fei teach
and the system information includes an indication of a location of a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block.
However Geng does teach
and the system information includes an indication of a location of a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block (Geng [0016] In a possible implementation, the second information includes frequency information and type information of a second synchronization signal block. In this implementation, the network device can indicate locations of the cell-defined synchronization signal block and the non-cell-defined synchronization signal block to the terminal)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Geng, because Geng teaches us [0003] The synchronization signal blocks are classified, according to types, into a cell-defined (cell defining) synchronization signal block and a non-cell-defined (non cell defining) synchronization signal block. The cell-defined synchronization signal block supports initial access, camping, cell reselection, or cell selection of the terminal, and the non-cell-defined synchronization signal block does not support initial access, camping, cell reselection, or cell selection of the terminal. The terminal measures the non-cell-defined synchronization signal block, but cannot perform initial access, camping, cell reselection, or cell selection on the corresponding synchronization signal block. Consequently, unnecessary power consumption of the terminal is caused.
Claim 50 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 30.
Claim(s) 31 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Fei and Wang et al. (WO 2021/112740 A1), herein Wang.
As to claim 31, Lei teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial UL BWP (Lei [0096] downlink and uplink BWP configuration Fei page 18 lines 21-22 the initial UL BWP configuration information of common UEs and the initial UL BWP configuration information of RedCap UEs may be broadcast and sent by the base station in the system information)
Lei nor Fei teach
and the system information comprises redcap- dedicated parameters for uplink transmission during a random access channel (RACH) procedure.
However Wang does teach
and the system information comprises redcap- dedicated parameters for uplink transmission during a random access channel (RACH) procedure (Wang page 8 lines 20-23 the first downlink message can be adapted for use in the random access configuration, for example the first downlink message may be a SIB1 carrying information about how the physical random access channel is configured)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Wang, because Wang teaches us a way to allow wireless devices such as bandwidth restricted devices to use a network supporting large bandwidths page 1 line 33-34.
Claim 51 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 31.
Claim(s) 33 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Fei and Asustek et al. (NPL: Discussion on aspects related to reduced maximum UE bandwidth), herein Asustek
As to claim 33, Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 26,
Lei nor Fei teach
wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial UL BWP and the system information comprises redcap- dedicated parameters for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions, the redcap- dedicated parameters to include a resource block offset for PUCCH-redcap resources with respect to a lowest physical resource block (PRB) of the initial UL BWP.
However Asustek does teach
wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial UL BWP and the system information comprises redcap- dedicated parameters for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions, the redcap- dedicated parameters to include a resource block offset for PUCCH-redcap resources with respect to a lowest physical resource block (PRB) of the initial UL BWP (Asustek page 2 agreements separate PUCCH configuration indicates the PUCCH is within the RedCap UE bandwidth and the initial UL BWP is the same for RedCap and non-RedCap)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Asustek, because Asustek teaches us the initial UL BWP for a RedCap UE can be the same as the UL BWP for the non RedCap and sharing CORESET#0 (Asustk page 2 agreements and line 1)
As to claim 34, the combination of Lei, Fei and Asustek teach the method of claim 26, wherein the initial DL or UL BWP comprises an initial UL BWP and the system information comprises an indication of whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled for a physical uplink control channel transmission (Asustek page 2 separate PUCCH same configuration for RedCap whether frequency hopping is disabled)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Asustek for the same reasons stated in claim 33.
Claim(s) 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, Fei and Hwang et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0043139 A1), herein Hwang.
As to claim 35, Lei and Fei teach the method of claim 26, further comprising: generating, for transmission, and transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to indicate a modification for redcap-specific configuration (Lei [0071] Aspects of the present disclosure can also include a switch of UE capabilities. For instance, for premium UEs, e.g., UEs equipped with more advanced capabilities than reduced capability or light UEs, a temporary switch to reduced capabilities may help to improve power savings and/or radio resource utilization efficiency. In some instances, a base station can transmit a PDCCH to instruct one or more UEs to reduce their capabilities within a configurable time interval. Further, the DCI can include the UE identifiers and/or the time interval when a capability reduction may take effect. Also, the UE can request a capability reduction within a configurable time interval)
Lei nor Fei teach
broadcast control channel (BCCH)
However Hwang does teach
broadcast control channel (BCCH) (Hwang Fig. 1 BCCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Fei with Hwang, because Hwang teaches us [0208] The information about the BCCH modification and ETWS/CMAS notification included in the short message may be information that must be broadcast continuously for a certain period of time without changing instantaneously.
As to claim 36, the combination of Lei, Fei and Hwang teach the method of claim 35, wherein: the DCI comprises DCI format 1_0 having an indication of the BCCH modification as a bit within a first field that is a short message field or a second field; the DCI comprises DCI format 1_0 and the method further comprises using a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) or scrambling sequence to scramble cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the DCI format 1_0 to provide an indication of the BCCH modification; or the method further comprises transmitting the DCI within a common search space configured for redcap UEs to provide an indication of the BCCH modification (Hwang [0188] The short message of the current NR standard may be used in the paging DCI for the purpose of providing BCCH modification information (systemInfoModification))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei, Fei and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 35.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fei.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467