DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 9/26/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and under consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/14/2022, 1/26/2023, 3/14/2023, 12/16/2024 and 8/27/2025 have been considered except where lined though.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella et al. (US2019/0091246A1, 2019-03-28) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
Albertella et al. teach a method of treating liver cancer or liver metastasis, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a targeted therapeutic agent, wherein the targeted therapeutic agent is sorafenib in combination with a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 1 of Albertella et al). Specifically, the PGPub teaches Sorafenib and a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
were assayed in a combinatorial cell culture assay and had a log volume of 40 at 95% confidence calculated by MacSynergy II, which corresponds to strong-antiproliferative synergy (paragraph 0331-0333, Example 4). With regards to the liver cancer and/or liver metastasis, the PGPUB teaches that the liver cancer is HCC or intra-hepatic cholangiocarcinoma and the liver metastasis is derived from colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, pancreatic cancer or stomach cancer (claims 12-14 of Albertella et al). With regards to the treatment, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered on the same day either co-delivered in a common, orally administered dosage form or administered as separate orally administered dosage units, wherein the dosage units of each drug are administered at least 6 hours apart on any given day (claims 6-9 of Albertella et al.). Moreover, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are alternatively administered in monotherapy treatment cycles of 1-28 days, wherein the treatment commences with a sorafenib cycle and includes 4 or 3 consecutive weeks with 1 week, 2 weeks or 3 consecutive weeks off (claim 10-11 of Albertella et al and paragraph 0225). Additionally, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered daily as QD, BID or TID on the same day (claim 15 of Albertella et al.).
Albertella et al. does not specifically teach Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute sorafenib as taught by Albertella et al. with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,960,017 to Albertella et al. (2021-03-30) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
US Patent No 10,960,017 claims a method of treating liver cancer or liver metastasis, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a targeted therapeutic agent, wherein the targeted therapeutic agent is an isotope of sorafenib in combination with a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 1 of the US Patent). Specifically, the US Patent No 10,960,017 claims Sorafenib and a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 4). With regards to the liver cancer and/or liver metastasis, the US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that the liver cancer is HCC or intra-hepatic cholangiocarcinoma and the liver metastasis is derived from colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, pancreatic cancer or stomach cancer (claims 11-13). With regards to the treatment, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered on the same day either co-delivered in a common, orally administered dosage form or administered as separate orally administered dosage units, wherein the dosage units of each drug are administered at least 6 hours apart on any given day (claims 5-8). Moreover, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are alternatively administered in monotherapy treatment cycles of 1-28 days, and interspersed with treatment-free periods of 1-28 days(claim 9-10, 15). Additionally, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered daily as QD, BID or TID on the same day (claim 14).
US Patent No 10,960,017 does not specifically claim Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute sorafenib as claimed by the US Patent with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,303,521 to Albertella et al. (2025-05-20) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
US Patent No 12,303,521 claims a method of treating liver cancer, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound having the formula
in combination with monoclonal antibody which blocks binding of PD-L1 (claim 1). With regards to the liver cancer, US Patent No 12,303,521 claims that the liver cancer is HCC (claim 9).
US Patent No 12,303,521 does not specifically claim Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the antibody as claimed by the US Patent with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626