DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The amendment filed on 4/13/2026 in response to the Non-Final rejection of 12/12/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and under consideration.
Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 4/13/2026 by Dr. Öberg is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella et al. in view of Al-Salama et al. as set forth in the last Office action for the following reasons:
The Declarant notes that body weight is widely used as a validated indicator of general toxicity in initial mouse models preclinical studies since body weight encompasses multiple organ systems and provides comprehensive information regarding the oval effect of the tested compounds. The Declarant further provides data presented in Figure 1 showing that the anti-tumor activity of the combination of MIV-818 and sorafenib was essentially identical to that for the combination of MIV-818 and Lenvatinib and Figure 2 showing the percent body weight change for single agent sorafenib or Lenvatinib treatment. Moreover, the Declarant provides data presented in Figure 3 showing the percent body weight changes for sorafenib and Lenvatinib combination treatment, wherein the declarant contends that it was unexpected and surprising that the combination of Lenvatinib with MIV-818 shows a decreased toxicity compared to the combination of sorafenib with MIV-818. For example, the Declarant asserts that based on the data of Figures 1 and 2, the expectation was that the combination of sorafenib and MIV-818 would be identical to that of Lenvatinib and MIV-818.
The Declarants assertions and data presented have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response, the examiner recognizes that “Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”, see MPEP 716.02. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992), see MPEP 716.02(b). In the instant case, the examiner acknowledges that the data presented in Figure 1 showing that the anti-tumor activity of the combination of MIV-818 and sorafenib was essentially identical to that for the combination of MIV-818 and Lenvatinib. In view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al. (cited above and in the previous office action), these results appear to be reasonably expected since Lenvatinib is known to be non-inferior, but not superior, to sorafenib. In addition, Al Salama et al. teach that Lenvatinib is associated with significant improvements compared to sorafenib in terms of all secondary endpoints (higher objective response rate (ORR), and longer progression-free survival (PFS) (abstract). Accordingly, despite the Declarant asserting what would have been expected based on Figure 1 and 2, in view of the teachings of Al Salama et al. it would appear one would have expected there to be differences in secondary endpoints between Lenvatinib and sorafenib treatments with significant improvements associated with Lenvatinib.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 4/13/2026 by Dr. Öberg is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claims 1 and 8 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,303,521 to Albertella et al. in view of Al-Salama et al. as set forth in the last Office action for the following reasons:
The Declarant notes that the mechanisms of action of PD1-PDL1 and for Lenvatinib target completely different biochemical pathways in the cell. In addition, the Declarant asserts that the structures of anti-PD-L1 antibodies and Lenvatinib are extremely different. Thus, the Declarant contends that based on an understanding of the mechanisms of action and the knowledge of the data described in US12303521, there is no reasonable expectation of success for this particular combination. Lastly, the Declarant opinions that the synergistic enhancement of tumor growth inhibition when using the combination of MIV-818 and Lenvatinib is not obvious in view of the cited prior art and there would be no reasonable expectation of success in substituting Lenvatinib for an PD-L1 antibody.
The Declarants assertions have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In the instant case, the examiner acknowledges and does not dispute the Declarants contention that the mechanisms of action and chemical structure of an anti-PDL1 antibody and Lenvatinib are extremely different. However, the examiner recognizes that both anti-PDL1 antibodies and Lenvatinib have been taught in the prior art to be effective at treating liver cancer, wherein Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib (standard of care). As such, it would be prima facia obvious to substitute an anti-PDL1 antibody as claimed in the conflicting patent with Lenvatinib. Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06. Regarding Declarants brief mention of synergy, the examiner recognizes that while the specification mentions synergy within the context of “the discovery that certain treatment combinations of Lenvatinib and MIV-818 are particularly effective at inhibiting, and preventing the proliferation of, liver cancer cells” (page 4, lines 21-23), the claims do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the alleged synergistic results since the claims do not appear to encompass these “certain treatment combinations”.
Rejections Maintained:
Note: Applicants arguments set forth in the response mirror those of the Declaration which have been addressed above and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella et al. (US2019/0091246A1, 2019-03-28) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
Albertella et al. teach a method of treating liver cancer or liver metastasis, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a targeted therapeutic agent, wherein the targeted therapeutic agent is sorafenib in combination with a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 1 of Albertella et al). Specifically, the PGPub teaches Sorafenib and a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
were assayed in a combinatorial cell culture assay and had a log volume of 40 at 95% confidence calculated by MacSynergy II, which corresponds to strong-antiproliferative synergy (paragraph 0331-0333, Example 4). With regards to the liver cancer and/or liver metastasis, the PGPUB teaches that the liver cancer is HCC or intra-hepatic cholangiocarcinoma and the liver metastasis is derived from colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, pancreatic cancer or stomach cancer (claims 12-14 of Albertella et al). With regards to the treatment, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered on the same day either co-delivered in a common, orally administered dosage form or administered as separate orally administered dosage units, wherein the dosage units of each drug are administered at least 6 hours apart on any given day (claims 6-9 of Albertella et al.). Moreover, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are alternatively administered in monotherapy treatment cycles of 1-28 days, wherein the treatment commences with a sorafenib cycle and includes 4 or 3 consecutive weeks with 1 week, 2 weeks or 3 consecutive weeks off (claim 10-11 of Albertella et al and paragraph 0225). Additionally, Albertella et al. teach that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered daily as QD, BID or TID on the same day (claim 15 of Albertella et al.).
Albertella et al. does not specifically teach Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute sorafenib as taught by Albertella et al. with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,960,017 to Albertella et al. (2021-03-30) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
US Patent No 10,960,017 claims a method of treating liver cancer or liver metastasis, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a targeted therapeutic agent, wherein the targeted therapeutic agent is an isotope of sorafenib in combination with a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 1 of the US Patent). Specifically, the US Patent No 10,960,017 claims Sorafenib and a phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
(claim 4). With regards to the liver cancer and/or liver metastasis, the US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that the liver cancer is HCC or intra-hepatic cholangiocarcinoma and the liver metastasis is derived from colorectal cancer, breast cancer, esophageal cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, pancreatic cancer or stomach cancer (claims 11-13). With regards to the treatment, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered on the same day either co-delivered in a common, orally administered dosage form or administered as separate orally administered dosage units, wherein the dosage units of each drug are administered at least 6 hours apart on any given day (claims 5-8). Moreover, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are alternatively administered in monotherapy treatment cycles of 1-28 days, and interspersed with treatment-free periods of 1-28 days(claim 9-10, 15). Additionally, US Patent No 10,960,017 claims that sorafenib and the prodrug are each administered daily as QD, BID or TID on the same day (claim 14).
US Patent No 10,960,017 does not specifically claim Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute sorafenib as claimed by the US Patent with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Claims 1 and 8 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,303,521 to Albertella et al. (2025-05-20) in view of Al-Salama et al. (Drugs (2019); 79:665-674).
US Patent No 12,303,521 claims a method of treating liver cancer, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound having the formula
in combination with monoclonal antibody which blocks binding of PD-L1 (claim 1). With regards to the liver cancer, US Patent No 12,303,521 claims that the liver cancer is HCC (claim 9).
US Patent No 12,303,521 does not specifically claim Lenvatinib in combination with the phosphoramidate prodrug of troxacitabine having the formula
for treating liver cancer or liver metastasis.
Al-Salama et al. teach Lenvatinib is an oral small molecule inhibitor of multiple receptor tyrosine kinases, and is approved for the first-line treatment of patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in the USA, EU, Japan and China (Abstract). Moreover, Al-Salama et al. teach that given its non-inferior efficacy to sorafenib and manageable tolerability profile, Lenvatinib represents a long-awaited alternative option to sorafenib for the first-line systemic treatment of patients with unresectable HCC (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the antibody as claimed by the US Patent with Lenvatinib in view of the teachings of Al-Salama et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Al-Salama et al. teaches that Lenvatinib efficacy is non-inferior to sorafenib, and represents a long-awaited alternative to sorafenib.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) see MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626