DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 9-12 of the remarks that the cited references do not disclose the amended subject matter of independent claims 17 and 30, Applicant’s comments do not specifically point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. It is submitted that secondary reference TIAN discloses “the magnetic isolation sheet forms an arc-shaped body” and primary reference BADINSKI discloses “a first annular shaped housing and a second annular shaped housing” as described in the rejection below. Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the relevant portions of TIAN and BADINSKI relied upon in the rejection to teach these recitations. Newly found reference WAFFENSCHMIDT is relied upon to teach the amended recitations “the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together”.
In response to arguments on page 13 of the remarks that secondary reference TIAN does not disclose the amended recitation “the first coil is located on an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet”, it is maintained that the first coil 170 in TIAN can be considered as located “on an outer surface” of the magnetic isolation sheet 505 as shown in Figure 5, and within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, as the language of the claims would not exclude this interpretation of the reference.
It is therefore submitted that BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device of claim 17 and the wearable system of claim 30 as described in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “approximate” in claims 17 and 30 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “magnetic isolation sheet”, “circuit board”, and “annular plate body” have been rendered indefinite.
The remaining claims are dependent from claims 17 and 30 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 17 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19-23, 26-30, and 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BADINSKI (US Pub. No. 2015/0220109; cited in previous office action) in view of TIAN (US Pub. No. 2022/0115918; cited in previous office action) and WAFFENSCHMIDT (US Pub. No. 2012/0057322).
Regarding claim 17, BADINSKI discloses a wearable device (610, Fig. 6; ¶ 0004: a wearable computing device (WCD) in the shape of a ring), comprising:
an annular-shaped wearing member (612, Fig. 6);
a power supply (280, Fig. 2; 680, Fig. 6);
a circuit board (¶ 0187: FIG. 4 is an exploded view 400 showing an exemplary WCD 410 (e.g., WCD 110) illustrating a battery 480 and a flexible circuit 415 which are configured to fit inside a housing 412 of the WCD 410. It is recognized by the present disclosure that a human being's finger can come in various different sizes and so should the WCD 410. In order to reduce the cost of manufacturing different sizes of printed circuits, in some embodiments, the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board, an example 500 of which is shown as FPC 515 in FIG. 5. In particular, one or more embodiments provide that the FPC 515 and the battery 480 are not specific to a ring size, and that the same circuitry and/or battery can fit a multitude of sizes; ¶ 0199: FIG. 12F is a perspective view of the internal housing 1212 with a portion of the external potting 1214 removed and showing one or more components 1230 and printed circuit board (PCB) 1240. The components and PCB can be constructed as flex circuits, thereby allowing the components 1230 and PCB 1240 to be geometrically configured within the ring shaped internal space 1220. The PCB 1240 can be any type of flexible material clear to those of skill, such as polyimide, PEEK, etc. Additionally, the PCB could be rigid-flex whereby panels of RF4 are connected together with a flexible substrate);
a first coil (640, Fig. 6);
wherein the first coil is accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member (¶ 0162: the WCD 110 can include a processor module 210, a plurality of sensor modules 220, a status indicator module 230, a power generation and management module 240; ¶ 0173: As shown in the example of FIG. 3A, the modules configured to face the exterior window 120 of the WCD 110 can include parts from the status indicator module 230, the power generation and management module 240; ¶ 0179: the power generation and management module 240 can include electromagnetic induction charging coil so that a WCD (e.g., ring 610) can be charged using an inductive charger. FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615…. Additionally or alternatively, to avoid multiple sized coils mounted to the edge of the ring, the coil can be placed on the inner or outer sides of the ring by positioning the coil beneath a window in the metal housing of the ring), a laying surface of the first coil is arranged along a circumferential direction of the annular-shaped wearing member (¶ 0179: the coil can be placed on the inner or outer sides of the ring by positioning the coil beneath a window in the metal housing of the ring), and the first coil is configured to sense magnetic field lines passing through the laying surface of the first coil and to generate an induced current (¶ 0269: the case can utilize inductive charging to charge the WCD. In this regard, the case can include an induction coil subjected to a predetermined current to produce a magnetic field. A corresponding induction coil within the housing of the WCD can be subjected to the magnetic field to produce a current that can charge the onboard battery in accordance with know electromagnetic principles), the annular-shaped wearing member includes a first annular shaped housing (1512, Fig. 15B) and a second annular shaped housing (1514, Fig. 15B) connected to each other (¶ 0181: shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b; ¶ 0210: the WCD includes a housing 1510 that includes an internal housing 1512 and an external housing 1514), the first annular shaped housing and the second annular shaped housing are enclosed to form an accommodation cavity, and the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the circuit board (¶ 0211: Once the housings 1512-1514 are assembled and the PCB 1540 and components 1550 are assembled within space defined between the housings 1512-414).
BADINSKI fails to disclose a magnetic isolation sheet;
the first coil is located at an outer side of the magnetic isolation sheet; and
the magnetic isolation sheet is accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member,
the magnetic isolation sheet forms an arc-shaped plate body adapted to the shape of the annular-shaped wearing member, the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together, adapted to the shape of the annular-shaped wearing member, the first coil is located on an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet and is electrically connected to the power supply, and the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN discloses the wearable device further comprises a magnetic isolation sheet (505, Figs. 3 & 5; ¶ 0046: the wireless power receiving system 125 includes a receiver coil 170 disposed on a shielding 505);
the first coil (170, Figs. 3 & 5) is located at an outer side of the magnetic isolation sheet (as shown in Fig. 5, first coil 170 can be considered as located at an outer side of magnetic isolation sheet 505; ¶ 0046-0048); and
the magnetic isolation sheet is accommodated inside the wearing member, (420, Fig. 5; ¶ 0043: FIG. 4 depicts a sideview of an exterior of the smartwatch 100 having a wireless power receiving system. For ease of illustration, the watch band 130 or other connection mechanism is omitted for clarity. As depicted in FIG. 4, the smartwatch 100 includes a watch body 145 having a top cover 410, a housing 420), the magnetic isolation sheet forms an arc-shaped plate body adapted to the shape of the wearing member (as shown in Figs. 3 & 5, magnetic isolation sheet 505 is “arc-shaped”, and since it is located within the wearing member, it is “adapted to the shape of the wearing member” within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0070: it is noted that the shielding 505, the adhesive layer 540 and the receiver coil 170 may be annular in shape), the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together (¶ 0045: the housing 420 along with the bottom cover 430 define an interior volume 502 that allows multiple electronic components to be disposed therein. In one example, a printed circuit board (PCB) 550 is disposed in the interior volume 502; the components are “fixedly connected together” within the housing), adapted to the shape of the wearing member (since the components are located within the wearing member, they are “adapted to the shape of the wearing member” within the broadest reasonable interpretation), the first coil (170) is located on an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet (¶ 0048: the shielding 505 covers an entire top surface of the receiver coil 170 and/or the adhesive layer adhesive layer 540. The structure of the receiver coil 170 configured to be shielded under the shielding 505) and is electrically connected to the power supply (520, Fig. 5; ¶ 0027: receiver coil 170 may further be configured to supply power to components inside the watch body 145, including one or more energy storages, such as rechargeable batteries; ¶ 0039: charging and communication system 117 may each include one or more energy storages, such as energy storages 119 configured to receive and store power generated from the wireless power receiving system 125. In one example, the energy storage 119 may be a battery 520 of FIG. 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a magnetic isolation sheet as disclosed in TIAN inside the annular-shaped wearing member of BADINSKI, such that the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the magnetic isolation sheet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the magnetic isolation sheet of TIAN into the wearable device of BADINSKI to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a magnetic isolation sheet. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward the wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN fails to disclose the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate annular plate body.
WAFFENSCHMIDT discloses the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate plate body (¶ 0013: Located on top of the spiral coil 20, a softmagnetic layer 14 provides magnetic shielding; ¶ 0014: mobile device 10 further includes a printed circuit board 26 that contains, in addition to the functional circuits of the mobile device, additional electronics for a power receiver; ¶ 0030: a layer of softmagnetic shielding material is laminated to one selected from the group consisting of the inductive receiver coil and a printed circuit board; providing the magnetic isolation sheet 14 laminated to circuit board 26 as shown in Figure 1 would “form an approximate plate body”). Applying the concept of the magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board fixed to form a plate body as disclosed in WAFFENSCHMIDT, to the annular magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board arrangement of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN, teaches the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate annular plate body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together as disclosed in WAFFENSCHMIDT into the wearable device of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board fixedly connected together. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce thickness for a compact design.
Regarding claim 19, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the power supply and the magnetic isolation sheet are accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member (BADINSKI, ¶ 0162, 0179; the modification of BADINSKI with TIAN would provide the magnetic isolation sheet of TIAN inside the annular-shaped wearing member of BADISNKI), and the power supply is electrically connected to the first coil (BADINSKI, ¶ 0179, 0269).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT fails to disclose the power supply is located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN further discloses the power supply (520, Fig. 5) is located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet (as shown in Fig. 5, power supply 520 and first coil 170 are on opposite sides of magnetic isolation sheet 505; ¶ 0046-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the power supply located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet of TIAN into the wearable device of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a power supply located at an inner side of a magnetic isolation sheet. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward the wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 20, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 19 but fails to disclose the laying surface of the first coil is the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along an edge of the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN further discloses the laying surface of the first coil is the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet (¶ 0046-0048, ¶ 0052). Winding the wire along “an edge of” the outer surface would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arranged as recited into the wearable device of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arrangement. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 21, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 19, and BADKINSKI further discloses the wearable device further comprises an auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0187, 0192, 0199); wherein the auxiliary circuit board is electrically connected to the first coil, the laying surface of the first coil is an outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along the outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0179, 0269).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT fails to disclose the magnetic isolation sheet is mounted to an inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along an edge of the outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board.
TIAN further discloses the magnetic isolation sheet is mounted to an inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0045-0046). Furthermore, winding the wire along “an edge of” the outer surface would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arranged as recited into the wearable device of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arrangement. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 22, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 21 but fails to disclose a projection of the first coil on the inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board is at least partially located within a projection of the magnetic isolation sheet on the inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board.
TIAN further discloses a projection of the first coil on the inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board is at least partially located within a projection of the magnetic isolation sheet on the inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first coil, auxiliary circuit board, and magnetic isolation sheet arranged as recited and as disclosed in TIAN into the wearable device of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a first coil, auxiliary circuit board, and magnetic isolation sheet arrangement. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 23, BADINSKI discloses the annular-shaped wearing member comprises a charging portion, the charging portion is made of a non-metallic material, and the first coil is configured to sense the magnetic field lines via the charging portion (¶ 0189, 0203).
Regarding claim 26, BADINSKI discloses the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the first coil (¶ 0187, 0189).
Regarding claim 27, BADINSKI discloses the wearable device further comprises a functional component, the circuit board is electrically connected to the first coil, and the functional component is mounted to the circuit board and electrically connected to the circuit board (¶ 0159, 0162, 0167, 0187, 0199, 0269).
Regarding claim 28, BADINSKI discloses the functional component is mounted to an inner surface of the circuit board (¶ 0162, 0167, 0199).
Regarding claim 29, BADINSKI discloses the wearable device is a ring (¶ 0004, 0155).
Regarding claim 30, BADINSKI discloses a wearable system (¶ 0021: a system, comprising: a wearable computing device), comprising:
a wearable device (610, Fig. 6; ¶ 0004: a wearable computing device (WCD) in the shape of a ring); and
an electronic device (comprising 2610 and 2620, Figs. 26A, 26C, and 26D; ¶ 0267: a mobile device 2610 can be received within a case 2620. The mobile device 2610 can be electrically connected to the case 2620 via a port 2610a on the mobile device 2610 and a connector 2620a on the case 2620);
wherein the wearable device comprises:
an annular-shaped wearing member (612, Fig. 6; or 2650, Figs. 26B and 26D; ¶ 0269: FIG. 26B shows a WCD 2650) with an outer annular surface (2680, Fig. 26B; ¶ 0269: housing 2680);
a power supply (280, Fig. 2; 680, Fig. 6);
a circuit board (¶ 0187: FIG. 4 is an exploded view 400 showing an exemplary WCD 410 (e.g., WCD 110) illustrating a battery 480 and a flexible circuit 415 which are configured to fit inside a housing 412 of the WCD 410. It is recognized by the present disclosure that a human being's finger can come in various different sizes and so should the WCD 410. In order to reduce the cost of manufacturing different sizes of printed circuits, in some embodiments, the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board, an example 500 of which is shown as FPC 515 in FIG. 5. In particular, one or more embodiments provide that the FPC 515 and the battery 480 are not specific to a ring size, and that the same circuitry and/or battery can fit a multitude of sizes; ¶ 0199: FIG. 12F is a perspective view of the internal housing 1212 with a portion of the external potting 1214 removed and showing one or more components 1230 and printed circuit board (PCB) 1240. The components and PCB can be constructed as flex circuits, thereby allowing the components 1230 and PCB 1240 to be geometrically configured within the ring shaped internal space 1220. The PCB 1240 can be any type of flexible material clear to those of skill, such as polyimide, PEEK, etc. Additionally, the PCB could be rigid-flex whereby panels of RF4 are connected together with a flexible substrate);
a first coil (640, Fig. 6; ¶ 0269: A corresponding induction coil within the housing of the WCD);
wherein the first coil is accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member (¶ 0162: the WCD 110 can include a processor module 210, a plurality of sensor modules 220, a status indicator module 230, a power generation and management module 240; ¶ 0173: As shown in the example of FIG. 3A, the modules configured to face the exterior window 120 of the WCD 110 can include parts from the status indicator module 230, the power generation and management module 240; ¶ 0179: the power generation and management module 240 can include electromagnetic induction charging coil so that a WCD (e.g., ring 610) can be charged using an inductive charger. FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615…. Additionally or alternatively, to avoid multiple sized coils mounted to the edge of the ring, the coil can be placed on the inner or outer sides of the ring by positioning the coil beneath a window in the metal housing of the ring; ¶ 0269: A corresponding induction coil within the housing of the WCD), a laying surface of the first coil is arranged along a circumferential direction of the annular-shaped wearing member (¶ 0179: the coil can be placed on the inner or outer sides of the ring by positioning the coil beneath a window in the metal housing of the ring), the annular-shaped wearing member includes a first annular shaped housing (1512, Fig. 15B) and a second annular shaped housing (1514, Fig. 15B) connected to each other (¶ 0181: shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b; ¶ 0210: the WCD includes a housing 1510 that includes an internal housing 1512 and an external housing 1514), the first annular shaped housing and the second annular shaped housing are enclosed to form an accommodation cavity, and the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the circuit board (¶ 0211: Once the housings 1512-1514 are assembled and the PCB 1540 and components 1550 are assembled within space defined between the housings 1512-414);
wherein the electronic device comprises a second coil (¶ 0269: the case can utilize inductive charging to charge the WCD. In this regard, the case can include an induction coil subjected to a predetermined current to produce a magnetic field);
wherein in a case that the outer annular surface partially abuts against the electronic device, the first coil and the second coil are disposed opposite to each other, and the first coil and the second coil that are in an energized state generate magnetic field lines in a same direction (¶ 0269: FIG. 26B shows a WCD 2650 including an RF antenna 2660 and charging circuitry 2670. The RF antenna 2640 can be disposed within the housing 2680 and can receive the RF signal emitted by the case 2620 and convert it to a current that can be used to charge the WCD battery (not shown). This can advantageously allow the user to charge the WCD without removing the WCD from the finger. As shown in FIG. 26D, the charging can occur whenever the WCD is in close proximity to the case, such as when a user talking on the phone or merely handling the phone. In another implementation, the case can utilize inductive charging to charge the WCD. In this regard, the case can include an induction coil subjected to a predetermined current to produce a magnetic field. A corresponding induction coil within the housing of the WCD can be subjected to the magnetic field to produce a current that can charge the onboard battery in accordance with know electromagnetic principles).
BADINSKI fails to disclose the wearable device comprises a magnetic isolation sheet;
the first coil is located at an outer side of the magnetic isolation sheet; and
the magnetic isolation sheet is accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member,
the magnetic isolation sheet forms an arc-shaped plate body adapted to the shape of the annular-shaped wearing member, the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together, adapted to the shape of the annular-shaped wearing member, the first coil is located on an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet and is electrically connected to the power supply, and the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN discloses the wearable device comprises a magnetic isolation sheet (505, Figs. 3 & 5; ¶ 0046: the wireless power receiving system 125 includes a receiver coil 170 disposed on a shielding 505);
the first coil (170, Figs. 3 & 5) is located at an outer side of the magnetic isolation sheet (as shown in Fig. 5, first coil 170 can be considered as located at an outer side of magnetic isolation sheet 505; ¶ 0046-0048);
wherein the magnetic isolation sheet is accommodated inside the wearing member (420, Fig. 5; ¶ 0043: FIG. 4 depicts a sideview of an exterior of the smartwatch 100 having a wireless power receiving system. For ease of illustration, the watch band 130 or other connection mechanism is omitted for clarity. As depicted in FIG. 4, the smartwatch 100 includes a watch body 145 having a top cover 410, a housing 420) the magnetic isolation sheet forms an arc-shaped plate body adapted to the shape of the wearing member (as shown in Figs. 3 & 5, magnetic isolation sheet 505 is “arc-shaped”, and since it is located within the wearing member, it is “adapted to the shape of the wearing member” within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0070: it is noted that the shielding 505, the adhesive layer 540 and the receiver coil 170 may be annular in shape), the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together (¶ 0045: the housing 420 along with the bottom cover 430 define an interior volume 502 that allows multiple electronic components to be disposed therein. In one example, a printed circuit board (PCB) 550 is disposed in the interior volume 502; the components are “fixedly connected together” within the housing), adapted to the shape of the wearing member (since the components are located within the wearing member, they are “adapted to the shape of the wearing member” within the broadest reasonable interpretation), the first coil (170) is located on an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet (¶ 0048: the shielding 505 covers an entire top surface of the receiver coil 170 and/or the adhesive layer adhesive layer 540. The structure of the receiver coil 170 configured to be shielded under the shielding 505) and is electrically connected to the power supply (520, Fig. 5; ¶ 0027: receiver coil 170 may further be configured to supply power to components inside the watch body 145, including one or more energy storages, such as rechargeable batteries; ¶ 0039: charging and communication system 117 may each include one or more energy storages, such as energy storages 119 configured to receive and store power generated from the wireless power receiving system 125. In one example, the energy storage 119 may be a battery 520 of FIG. 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a magnetic isolation sheet as disclosed in TIAN inside the annular-shaped wearing member of BADINSKI, such that and the accommodation cavity is configured to accommodate the magnetic isolation sheet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the magnetic isolation sheet of TIAN into the wearable system of BADINSKI to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a magnetic isolation sheet. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward the wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN fails to disclose the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate annular plate body.
WAFFENSCHMIDT discloses the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate plate body (¶ 0013: Located on top of the spiral coil 20, a softmagnetic layer 14 provides magnetic shielding; ¶ 0014: mobile device 10 further includes a printed circuit board 26 that contains, in addition to the functional circuits of the mobile device, additional electronics for a power receiver; ¶ 0030: a layer of softmagnetic shielding material is laminated to one selected from the group consisting of the inductive receiver coil and a printed circuit board; providing the magnetic isolation sheet 14 laminated to circuit board 26 as shown in Figure 1 would “form an approximate plate body”). Applying the concept of the magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board fixed to form a plate body as disclosed in WAFFENSCHMIDT, to the annular magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board arrangement of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN, teaches the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together to form an approximate annular plate body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the magnetic isolation sheet and the circuit board are fixedly connected together as disclosed in WAFFENSCHMIDT into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a magnetic isolation sheet and circuit board fixedly connected together. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce thickness for a compact design.
Regarding claim 32, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable system as applied to claim 30, and BADINSKI further discloses the electronic device comprises a rear cover (housing 2620 in Fig. 26A has a rear cover), the second coil is mounted to an inner side of the rear cover (¶ 0269).
BADINSKI fails to disclose a winding center of the second coil is perpendicular to the rear cover.
TIAN further discloses a winding center of the second coil (115, Fig. 1) is perpendicular to the rear cover (as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0027, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the winding center of the second coil perpendicular to the rear cover as disclosed in TIAN into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a winding center of a second coil perpendicular to a rear cover. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize wireless power transfer efficiency and/or enable proper energy transfer to the wearable device.
Regarding claim 33, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable system as applied to claim 32, and BADINSKI further discloses in a case that the outer annular surface partially abuts against the electronic device, the first coil and the second coil are disposed opposite to each other (¶ 0179, 0269).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT fails to disclose the winding center of the first coil is parallel or coincident with the winding center of the second coil.
TIAN further discloses the winding center of the first coil (170, Fig. 1) is parallel or coincident with the winding center of the second coil (115, Fig. 1; as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0027, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the winding center of the first coil parallel or coincident with the winding center of the second coil as disclosed in TIAN into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a winding center of a first coil parallel or coincident with a winding center of a second coil. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize wireless power transfer efficiency and/or enable proper energy transfer to the wearable device.
Regarding claim 34, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable system as applied to claim 30, and further teaches the power supply and the magnetic isolation sheet are accommodated inside the annular-shaped wearing member (BADINSKI, ¶ 0162, 0179; the modification of BADINSKI with TIAN would provide the magnetic isolation sheet of TIAN inside the annular-shaped wearing member of BADISNKI), and the power supply is electrically connected to the first coil (BADINSKI, ¶ 0179, 0269).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT fails to teach the power supply is located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN further discloses the power supply (520, Fig. 5) is located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet (as shown in Fig. 5, power supply 520 and first coil 170 are on opposite sides of magnetic isolation sheet 505; ¶ 0046-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the power supply located at an inner side of the magnetic isolation sheet as disclosed in TIAN into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a power supply located at an inner side of a magnetic isolation sheet. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward the wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 35, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 34 but fails to disclose the laying surface of the first coil is the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along an edge of the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet.
TIAN further discloses the laying surface of the first coil is an outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along the outer surface of the magnetic isolation sheet (¶ 0046-0048, ¶ 0052). Winding the wire along “an edge of” the outer surface would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arranged as recited into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a first coil and magnetic isolation sheet arrangement. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 36, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 34, and BADINSKI further discloses the wearable device further comprises an auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0187, 0192, 0199); wherein the auxiliary circuit board is electrically connected to the first coil, the laying surface of the first coil is an outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along the outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0179, 0269).
BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT fails to disclose the magnetic isolation sheet is mounted to an inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board, and the first coil is formed by winding a wire along an edge of the outer surface of the auxiliary circuit board.
TIAN further discloses the magnetic isolation sheet is mounted to an inner surface of the auxiliary circuit board (¶ 0045-0046). Furthermore, winding the wire along “an edge of” the outer surface would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first coil, auxiliary circuit board, and magnetic isolation sheet arranged as recited into the wearable system of BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a first coil, auxiliary circuit board, and magnetic isolation sheet arrangement. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent the electromagnetic energy directed toward wearable device from heating or otherwise affecting the electronic components, and redirect the electromagnetic energy in a direction away from the electronic components (TIAN, ¶ 0046).
Claim(s) 18, 24-25, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BADINSKI in view of TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT as applied to claims 17, 19-23, 26-30, and 32-36 above, and further in view of SANCHEZ (US Pub. No. 2022/0320899; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 18, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable device as applied to claim 17, and BADINSKI further discloses the annular-shaped wearing member (2650, Figs. 26B & 26D) comprises an outer annular surface (as shown in Figs. 26B & 26D).
BADINSKI fails to disclose a winding center of the first coil passes through the outer annular surface.
SANCHEZ discloses a winding center of the first coil (607a, Fig. 6B) passes through the outer annular surface (¶ 0070-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the winding center of the first coil passes through the outer annular surface of SANCHEZ into the wearable device of BADINSKI to produce an expected result of a wearable device including a winding center of a first coil passing through an outer annular surface. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize wireless power transfer efficiency and/or enable proper energy transfer to the wearable device.
Regarding claim 24, BADINSKI discloses the outer annular surface is provided with a wearing identification, a projection of the first coil on the outer annular surface covers the wearing identification (¶ 0160, 0173, 0179).
Regarding claim 25, BADINSKI discloses the outer annular surface is provided with a wearing identification, a projection of the first coil on the outer annular surface is disposed opposite to the wearing identification (¶ 0160, 0173, 0179).
Regarding claim 31, BADINSKI as modified by TIAN and WAFFENSCHMIDT teaches the wearable system as applied to claim 30, but BADINSKI fails to disclose a winding center of the first coil passes through the outer annular surface.
SANCHEZ discloses a winding center of the first coil (607a, Fig. 6B) passes through the outer annular surface (¶ 0070-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the winding center of the first coil passing through the outer annular surface of SANCHEZ into the wearable system of BADINSKI to produce an expected result of a wearable system including a winding center of a first coil passes through an outer annular surface. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize wireless power transfer efficiency and/or enable proper energy transfer to the wearable device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 2/28/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859