DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 3/17/26.
Claims 1 & 21 are amended.
Claim(s) 1, 4-21 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 & 21 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: and/or. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2016/0105236 A1 in view of Knutsen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20150131557 A1, and further in view of Liu, US 2022/0006745 A1.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a cell flow characteristic value adjustment method, comprising:
detecting deviation information of an actual characteristic value and a desired characteristic value of a cell flow characteristic of a designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0022] adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, receivers may perform coherent detection to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals; [0041] Data blocks may be sufficient to increase or decrease the transmit data rate); and
controlling one of the designated device and an upstream device of the designated device to adjust the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information to adjust the actual characteristic value of the cell flow characteristics of the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch; [0048] the encoding of rate change signaling blocks, and the encoding adjustments of data blocks);
wherein the detecting the deviation information of the actual characteristic value and the desired characteristic value of the cell flow characteristic of the designated device, comprises:
responsive to determining that the cell flow characteristic is the cell flow speed, detecting the speed deviation information of an actual speed value and a desired speed value of a cell flow speed of the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0022] The transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. the Tx rate controller adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals; [0041] when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a higher transmission data); and/or
responsive to determining that the cell flow characteristic is a cell flow phase, detecting phase position deviation information of the phase position and the desired phase position of the cell flow phase of the designated device, wherein the actual phase position is a phase position of the cell flow received by the designated device, and the desired phase position is a phase position of the sent cell flow of the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] where the second portion is positioned next to the rate change signaling block. For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format; [0068] one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value);
and unrelated to customer service in the sent cell flow to adjust the actual characteristic value of the cell flow characteristics of the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch; [0048] the encoding of rate change signaling blocks, and the encoding adjustments of data blocks).
But Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein an actual speed value and a desired speed value of a cell flow speed of the designated device, wherein the actual speed value is a speed valve determined based on the number of cells in a receiving direction detected by the designated device per unit time, and the desired speed value is an effective transmission speed value of the cell flow of the designated device; wherein the cell flow characteristic includes at least one of a cell flow speed or a cell flow phase and the deviation information includes at least one of speed deviation information or phase position deviation information; wherein the adjusting the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information to adjust the actual characteristic value of the cell flow characteristics of the designated device, comprises: adjusting the number of IDLE blocks and/or O blocks having a length of 66 bits.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein an actual speed value and a desired speed value of a cell flow speed of the designated device, wherein the actual speed value is a speed valve determined based on the number of cells in a receiving direction detected by the designated device per unit time, and the desired speed value is an effective transmission speed value of the cell flow of the designated device (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] In these embodiments, the determination to change the first data rate to a second data rate may be based on the comparison; [0081] If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower; [0082] HSI speed in the list ( compared to the currently used speed from the list, e.g. the nearest lower HSI speed). the transmitter may initiate a request for higher HSI speed. If there are no adequate (higher or lower as applicable) speeds to use in the list); wherein the cell flow characteristic includes at least one of a cell flow speed or a cell flow phase and the deviation information includes at least one of speed deviation information or phase position deviation information (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] monitoring an actual transmitted data per time unit and comparing the actual transmitted data per time unit with one or more data rate thresholds; [0081] The transmitter side 310 supervises the actual transmitted data speed. If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
However, Liu teaches the limitation wherein the adjusting the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information to adjust the actual characteristic value of the cell flow characteristics of the designated device, comprises: adjusting the number of IDLE blocks and/or O blocks having a length of 66 bits (Liu, page 2, paragraph 39-40; i.e., [0039] Each IDLE block is equivalent to an idle time of 8 bytes. The device adjusts a rate of the service flow by adding or deleting the IDLE blocks in the service flow to adapt to changes of clock frequencies of device interfaces. There is a change from the number of
idle information blocks in the service flow 301 to that in the service flow 302, and the number of idle information blocks between the first and second packets is changed from 3 to 2. the rate of the service flow needs to be increased, which can be achieved by adding an appropriate number of IDLE blocks in the service flow. As shown in FIG. 4, there is a change from the number of idle information blocks in the service flow 301 to that in the service flow 303, and the number of idle information blocks between the second and third packets is changed from 1 to 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute Synchronous Digital Hierarchy (SDH) network from Liu for Optical network from Zhang to ensure that the speed of the service flow matches a clock frequency of a network physical interface, and that the service flow will not be interrupted (Liu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 4, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 2, wherein determining, based on detected value change information of a first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, the speed deviation direction of the actual speed value and the desired speed value (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals; [0041] The number of data blocks that are combined and encoded with the higher order modulation format may vary and may depend on the amount of rate change).
As to claim 5, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 4, wherein the determining, based on the detected value change information of the first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, the speed deviation direction of the actual speed value and the desired speed value, comprises:
detecting a speed of a received cell flow and a speed of the sent cell flow of the designated device (Zhang, figure 5, 7; page 1 paragraph 22; i.e., [0022] sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
But Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction greater than the desired speed if the speed of the received cell flow is greater than the speed of the sent cell flow; and determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction less than the desired speed if the speed of the received cell flow is less than the speed of the sent cell flow.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction greater than the desired speed if the speed of the received cell flow is greater than the speed of the sent cell flow; and determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction less than the desired speed if the speed of the received cell flow is less than the speed of the sent cell flow (Knutsen, page 5, paragraph 85-88; i.e., [0085] In 414, the transmitter side determines to attempt a data rate change, for the first data rate to a second data rate (that may be higher or lower than the first data rate); [0086] The actual data rate (momentary, averaged, filtered, etc) may be compared to a data rate threshold that corresponds to the nearest lower data rate. If the comparison shows that the actual data rate is lower than a threshold, it may be determined to change to the data rate corresponding to that threshold; [0087] Alternatively, if the comparison shows that the transmission queue is higher than a first threshold and lower than a second threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 6, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 4, wherein the determining, based on the detected value change information of the first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, the speed deviation direction of the actual speed value and the desired speed value, comprises:
detecting, within a first predetermined duration, a sequence number value carried by a received cell flow and a sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow of the designated device at each specified moment (Zhang, figure 5 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 47; i.e., [0006] the data sequence in a third modulation format to provide a continuous data transmission during the rate change, encoding a third portion of the data sequence according to the second modulation; [0047] the transmission sequence 410 prior to the rate change);
determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction greater than the desired speed if a sequence number difference value between the sequence number value carried by the received cell flow and the sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow increases within the first predetermined duration (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] Conversely, when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a lower transmission data rate at a particular switching time, encode some data blocks with the same higher order modulation format after the switching time. The number of data blocks that are combined and encoded with the higher order modulation format may vary and may depend on the amount of rate change, to increase or decrease the transmit data rate by about two); and
determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction less than the desired speed if the sequence number difference value decreases within the first predetermined duration (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a higher transmission data rate at a particular switching time, the higher order modulation format that provides the higher data rate before the switching time. The number of data blocks that are combined and encoded with the higher order modulation format may vary and may depend on the amount of rate change, to increase or decrease the transmit data rate by about two).
As to claim 7, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 4, wherein the determining, based on the detected value change information of the first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, the speed deviation direction of the actual speed value and the desired speed value, comprises:
determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction greater than the desired speed if the storage capacity increases during the second predetermined duration (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a higher transmission data rate at a particular switching time, the higher order modulation format that provides the higher data rate before the switching time. to a lower transmission data rate at a particular switching time);
determining the speed deviation direction to be a direction less than the desired ae-speed if the storage capacity decreases during the second predetermined duration (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a higher transmission data rate at a particular switching time, higher order modulation format that provides the higher data rate before the switching time. Conversely, when the Tx rate controller 218 determines to switch to a lower transmission data rate at a particular switching time).
But Zhang-Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein detecting a storage capacity of a cell cache of the designated device at each specified moment during a second predetermined duration.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent (Knutsen, page 2, paragraph 43; i.e., [0043] the first HSI speed should be increased or decreased, adjusting power levels associated with changing from the first HSI speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Oh to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang-Oh to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 8, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 2, wherein responsive to determining that the cell flow characteristic is the cell flow speed, the speed deviation information includes a speed deviation value and a speed direction, and the detecting the speed deviation information of the actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed of the designated device, comprises:
determining the speed deviation value of the cell flow using a detected value of a first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
But Zhang-Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining, based on detected value change information of the first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, the speed deviation direction of the actual speed value and the desired speed value.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] monitoring an actual transmitted data per time unit and comparing the actual transmitted data per time unit with one or more data rate thresholds. In these embodiments, the determination to change the first data rate to a second data rate may be based on the comparison. The actual transmitted data per time unit ; [0081] If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower; [0082] initiate a request for higher HSI speed. If there are no adequate (higher or lower as applicable) speeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Oh to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang-Oh to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 9, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 8, wherein the determining the speed deviation value of the cell flow using the detected value of the first predetermined detection parameter in the designated device, comprises:
detecting a speed of a received cell flow and a speed of the sent cell flow in the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 41; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate; [0041] Encode some data blocks with the higher order modulation format that provides the higher data rate before the switching time. to switch to a lower transmission data rate at a particular switching time. Data blocks may be sufficient to increase or decrease the transmit data rate); or,
determining, within a predetermined time duration, the speed of the received cell flow and the speed of the sent cell flow in the designated device based on a detected sequence number value carried by the received cell flow and a detected sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow of the designated device at each specified moment; and
taking an absolute value of a speed difference between the speed of the received cell flow and the speed of the sent cell flow as the speed deviation value of the cell flow speed.
As to claim 10, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein determining the phase position deviation direction of the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on a relative relationship between a detected parameter value in a receiving direction and a detected parameter value in a sending direction of a second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] where the second portion is positioned next to the rate change signaling block. For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value).
As to claim 11, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 10, wherein the determining the phase position deviation direction of the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on the relative relationship between the detected parameter value in the receiving direction and the detected parameter value in the sending direction of the second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device, comprises:
determining the phase position deviation direction to be a direction greater than the desired phase position if the phase position of the received cell flow in the designated device is detected to be ahead of the phase position of the sent cell flow (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22 & 27; i.e.,[0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate).. the Tx rate controller adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals;); and
determining the phase position deviation direction to be a direction less than the desired phase position if the phase position of the received cell flow of the designated device is detected to be lagging behind the phase position of the sent cell flow (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] where the second portion is positioned next to the rate change signaling block. For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value).
As to claim 12, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 10, wherein the determining the phase position deviation direction of the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on the relative relationship between the detected parameter value in the receiving direction and the detected parameter value in the sending direction of the second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device, comprises:
determining the phase position deviation direction to be the direction greater than the desired phase position if the sequence number value carried by the received cell flow in the designated device is detected to be greater than the sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow at the same moment (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value); and
determining the phase position deviation direction to be the direction less than the desired phase position if the sequence number value carried by the received cell flow in the designated device is detected to be less than the sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value).
As to claim 13, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the phase position deviation information includes a phase position deviation direction and a phase position deviation value; and the detecting the phase position deviation information of the actual phase position and the desired phase position of the cell flow phase of the designated device, comprises:
calculating the phase position deviation value between the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on the difference between a detected parameter value in the receiving direction and a detected parameter value in the sending direction of a second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value); and
determining the phase position deviation direction of the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on a relative relationship between the detected parameter value in the receiving direction and the detected parameter value in the sending direction of the second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value).
As to claim 14, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 13, wherein the calculating the phase position deviation value between the actual phase position and the desired phase position based on the difference between the detected parameter value in the receiving direction and the detected parameter value in the sending direction of the second predetermined detection parameter of the designated device, comprises:
detecting a phase position of the received cell flow and a phase position of the sent cell flow in the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value); or,
determining the phase position of the received cell flow and the phase position of the sent cell flow in the designated device based on the detected sequence number value carried by the received cell flow and the detected sequence number value carried by the sent cell flow in the designated device;
taking an absolute value of a position difference between the phase position of the received cell flow and the phase position of the sent cell flow as the phase position deviation value between the actual phase position and the desired phase position.
As to claim 15, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the deviation information includes a speed deviation value and a speed deviation direction; and the controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information, comprises:
determining a first adjustment quantity and a first adjustment direction of the predetermined type code block according to the speed deviation value and the speed deviation direction (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals);
controlling the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, in accordance with the first adjustment direction and the first adjustment quantity, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length; or,
controlling the designated device to adjust, in accordance with an opposite direction of the first adjustment direction and the first adjustment quantity, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length.
As to claim 16, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the deviation information includes a speed deviation direction; and the controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information, comprises:
determining a second adjustment direction of the predetermined type code block according to the speed deviation direction (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals; [0048] the encoding of rate change signaling blocks);
controlling the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, in accordance with the second adjustment direction, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length using a specified number of predetermined type blocks; or,
controlling the designated device to adjust, in accordance with an opposite direction of the second adjustment direction, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length using a specified number of predetermined type code blocks.
As to claim 17, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the cell flow characteristic is a cell flow speed, and after adjusting the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length, the method further comprises:
detecting phase position deviation information of an actual phase position and a desired phase position of the cell flow phase in the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value);
controlling one of the designated device or the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, based on the phase position deviation information, the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow to adjust the actual phase position of the cell flow characteristic in the designated device (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions ( e.g., the transceiver does not have to stop sending or receiving data to change the data rate), where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
But Zhang-Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein selecting a cell flow phase as the cell flow characteristic when an actual speed value and a desired speed value of the cell flow speed of the designated device are detected to be consistent.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] monitoring an actual transmitted data per time unit and comparing the actual transmitted data per time unit with one or more data rate thresholds. In these embodiments, the determination to change the first data rate to a second data rate may be based on the comparison. The actual transmitted data per time unit ; [0081] The transmitter side 310 supervises the actual transmitted data speed and the size of the transmit queues, e.g., periodically or continuously. If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower; [0082] HSI speed in the list ( compared to the currently used speed from the list, e.g. the nearest lower HSI speed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Oh to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang-Oh to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 18, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the cell flow characteristic is a cell flow phase, and the controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust the number of predetermined type code blocks in the sent cell flow based on the deviation information, comprises:
controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, according to the speed deviation information, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow within the predetermined period or the predetermined data stream length (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals);
detecting phase position deviation information of the actual phase position and the desired phase position of the cell flow phase in the designated device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] where the second portion is positioned next to the rate change signaling block. For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value); and
controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, according to the phase position deviation information, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
But Zhang-Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein selecting a cell flow speed as the cell flow characteristic, detecting speed deviation information of an actual speed value and a desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device; selecting a cell flow phase as the cell flow characteristic when the actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] monitoring an actual transmitted data per time unit and comparing the actual transmitted data per time unit with one or more data rate thresholds. In these embodiments, the determination to change the first data rate to a second data rate may be based on the comparison. The actual transmitted data per time unit ; [0081] The transmitter side 310 supervises the actual transmitted data speed and the size of the transmit queues, e.g., periodically or continuously. If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Oh to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang-Oh to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 19, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 18, wherein the phase position deviation information includes a phase position deviation value and a phase position deviation direction; and the controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, according to the phase position deviation information, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow, comprises:
determining, based on the phase position deviation value and the phase position deviation direction, a third adjustment quantity and a third adjustment direction of the predetermined type code block in the cell flow (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. the Tx rate controller adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals);
recording the number of the predetermined type code blocks in the cell flow of the upstream device of the designated device as a first original code block number, and controlling the upstream device to adjust, in accordance with the third adjustment direction and the third adjustment quantity, the number of the predetermined type code blocks in the cell flow (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. the Tx rate controller adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals);
restoring the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow in the upstream device into the first original code block number when the actual phase position and the desired phase position in the designated device are consistent (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, the Tx rate controller adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
As to claim 20, Zhang-Knutsen-Liu teaches the method as recited in claim 18, wherein the phase position deviation information includes a phase position deviation direction; and the controlling one of the designated device and the upstream device of the designated device to adjust, according to the phase position deviation information, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow, comprises:
determining a fourth adjustment direction of the predetermined type code block in the cell flow according to the phase position deviation direction (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 66-68; i.e., [0067] where the second portion is positioned next to the rate change signaling block. For example, the second portion may comprise a pre-determined number of samples or symbols and may span a time duration that is sufficient for the receiver to switch to the second modulation format. the second modulation format, where the third portion is positioned next to the second portion.; [0068] The transmitter encodes four independent data sub-streams, one on each phase component XI, XQ, YI, and YQ and indicates a rate change by setting the values of XI, XQ, YI, and YQ to the same value);
recording the number of predetermined type code blocks in the cell flow of the designated device as a second original code block number, and controlling the designated device to adjust, according to the fourth adjustment direction, the number of predetermined type code blocks of the sent cell flow using a specified number of predetermined type code blocks (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate);
restoring the number of predetermined type code blocks of the cell flow in the designated device into the second original code block number when the actual phase position and the desired phase position in the designated device are consistent (Zhang, page 2, paragraph 22; page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0022] seamlessly changing a transmission data rate and signaling rate change information with continuous data transmissions, where different transmission data rates are provided by varying the modulation order. the transmitter determines to change the transmission data rate of a data stream from a first transmission data rate to a second transmission data rate. adjusts the encoding of the data during the rate switch, to recover amplitude and phase information from the received optical signals).
But Zhang-Oh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent.
However, Knutsen teaches the limitation wherein actual speed value and the desired speed value of the cell flow speed in the designated device are consistent (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 16; page 4, paragraph 81-82; i.e., [0016] monitoring an actual transmitted data per time unit and comparing the actual transmitted data per time unit with one or more data rate thresholds. In these embodiments, the determination to change the first data rate to a second data rate may be based on the comparison. The actual transmitted data per time unit ; [0081] The transmitter side 310 supervises the actual transmitted data speed. If the actual transmit speed of the communications over the interconnect is lower than ( or equal to) a lower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Oh to substitute data signal from Knutsen for optical signal from Zhang-Oh to enable optimized and improve use of frequency-voltage operating points of the circuits (Knutsen, page 1, paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 21 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 21 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Han, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20130077623 A1 discloses adjust idle block and 66-bit code block.
Cheng, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20200220650 A1 discloses idle block and 66 bit block.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416