DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 03/06/2026.
Claims 36-38, 40-50 and 52-55 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 36-38, 40-43, 45, 47-50, 52, 54, and 55 are amended. No claims are cancelled or added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 and 04/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 36-38, 40-43, 47-50, 52-55 recite “multicast/broadcast” preceding various different terms. The term “multicast/broadcast” is interpreted as “multicast or broadcast” for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-38, 40-42, 45-50, and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20230108178 A1, hereinafter “Xu”), in view of Navratil et al. (US 20210168570 A1, hereinafter “Navratil”).
RE Claim 48, 36, XU discloses a network device or method:
comprising: a least one processor configured to implement a method, the at least one processor configured to (¶0010; ¶0213, Fig. 2):
send, by a centralized unit (CU) to a second network device, a multicast/broadcast context setup request message that includes a first set of multicast or broadcast configuration information (Context setup request including signaling radio bearer, SRB, data radio bearer, DRB_Configuration, among others. CU, first network device, sends UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST to the DU, second network device. ¶¶0160-0161, Fig. 10; At step S1901, AMF sends PDU resource session setup message that includes MBS related information including a MBS tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and a multicast address to indicate MBS provided through the PDU session to be established to the CU. ¶0233. At step S1905, the CU transmits a UE Context Setup Request message to the DU to request the setup of bearer for multicast/broadcast data transmission ¶0238, Fig. 19),
receive, from the second network device, a multicast/broadcast context setup response message that includes a second set of multicast or broadcast configuration information (Context setup response including signaling radio bearer, SRB, data radio bearer, DRB_Configuration, among others. DU, second network device, sends UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE to the CU, first network device. ¶¶0160-0161, Fig. 10; Receive, from a distributed unit (DU), a transmission of a multicast-broadcast service (MBS) service based on a configuration for a first MBS area; transmit, to the DU, feedback information for the first MBS area; and receive, from the DU, a transmission of an MBS service based on a configuration for a second MBS area, wherein the first MBS area is changed to the second MBS area based on information obtained from the feedback information for the first MBS area. ¶0013; According to various embodiments, the one or more MBS may be determined among the MBS areas supported by the DU based on MBS related information. The one or more MBS areas may comprise the first MBS area and the second MBS area. The MBS related information may comprise at least one of a service identity, MBS tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID), multicast address or MBS flow identity. ¶0212; In step S1927, on receiving the message from the gNB-CU, the gNB-DU may check whether to be able to allocate the radio resource for multicast for indicated MBS cluster or service area (i.e., second MBS area). If available, the gNB-DU may respond with the Change Response message, existing, or new message to the gNB-CU. This message may include the MBS Channel Information and the MBS Identity (i.e., identity of the second MBS area) to provide multicast channel information to the UE(s) provided with the indicated MBS. ¶0302, Fig. 19).
Xu does not explicitly disclose, however Navratil discloses: wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup request message includes a downlink (DL) general packet radio service tunnelling protocol-user (GTP-U) tunnel configuration information that includes an Internet protocol (IP) multicast address and a tunnelling endpoint identifier (TEID) (the gNB-CU may include a multicast context identity in the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message as a reference to a multicast flow, and/or the XRB Identity may be unique per UE with the same semantics as the DRB Identity. The gNB-CU may map XRB Identities to a multicast content identity, and/or gNB-DU 340 may use the multicast content identity to determine whether the multicast transport for a multicast flow is or is not configured. ¶0034, Fig. 3; UE Context Modification Request Message used to request XRB addition with one or more of the following information elements as listed in Table-UE-00001. Information elements include DL Tunnels, DL GTP Tunnel Endpoint, and Multicast Address. ¶0037, Table 0001; In step 305, in response to receiving the at least one UE context modification request, gNB-DU 340 may configure a switching function, RLC channels, and/or one or more logical channels for XRB bearer and/or DL tunnel information. ¶0040, Fig. 3; In step 307, gNB-DU 340 may transmit at least one UE context modification response to gNB-CU 350. In some embodiments, the at least one UE context modification response may report the successful operation to gNB-CU 350. ¶0042, Fig. 3) ; and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu, exchange of multicast configuration setup request and setup responses for multicast operation, with the teachings of Navratil, include a multicast address and associated TEID during multicast setup.
The motivation in doing so would be to support consolidation of multicast flows based on shared data flows to RANs covering different areas and/or UEs to improve multicast network resource management. (Xu, ¶¶0174-0177, ¶¶0010-0013, Abstract, Fig. 13; Navratil, Abstract, ¶0003-0004, 0023-0025, 0030, Fig. 3)
RE Claim 49, 37, XU discloses a network device or method:
wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup request message includes a multicast/broadcast service area (determine the initial multicast transmission area, MBS area, by the setup request message. ¶0234, Fig. 19A: S10-03).
RE Claim 50, 38, XU discloses a network device or method:
wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup request message includes a multicast/broadcast cell list (MBS cluster information comprises at least a set of cell IDs. ¶0234).
RE Claim 52, 40, XU discloses a network device or method:
wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup response message includes:
a multicast/broadcast session identifier (¶0189, Fig. 14B), a service area identifier (¶0181, Fig. 14a), or
general packet radio service tunnelling protocol-user (GTP-U) tunnel configuration information (Element is optional),
wherein the GTP-U tunnel configuration information comprises an Internet protocol (IP) groupcast address and a tunnelling endpoint identifier (TEID) (Element is optional).
RE Claim 53, 41, XU discloses a network device or method:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (¶0010; ¶0213, Fig. 2):
receive, by the CU from the second network device, an update message that comprises (DU and CU configuration update functions over F1 interface. ¶0136; Dynamic control of multicast by CU/DU, first and second network devices, by updating MSB service areas and cluster information. ¶0232, Fig. 19A, 19B; CU receives a UL RRC Transfer message, an update, or other MBS dedicated message to the CU for RRC Reconfiguration. Message includes MBS related information to indicate the requested MBS. ¶¶0246-0247, Fig. 19B: S1917, S1925):
a multicast/broadcast session identifier (PDU session resource modify request for multicast/broadcast data transmissions. ¶0233, Fig. 19A: S1901),
an updated multicast/broadcast service area (¶0298), or
an updated multicast/broadcast cell list (¶0298).
RE Claim 54, 42, XU discloses a network device or method:
wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup request message includes:
a multicast/broadcast session identifier (¶0189, Fig. 14B),
a multicast/broadcast service area identifier information (¶0181, Fig. 14a),
a multicast/broadcast cell list (MBS cluster information comprises at least a set of cell IDs. ¶0234), or
a F1 general packet radio service tunnelling protocol-user (GTP-U) tunnel configuration information (CU and DU interoperate over the F1 interface on the MBS transmission area. ¶0222, Fig. 17; Mapping of QoS flows and radio bearers configured with GTP-U tunnels over F1 and granularity of bearer related management. ¶0145; UPF configured with multicast flows including tunnelling information for the multicast context. ¶0172, Fig. 12).
RE Claim 45, XU discloses:
The method, wherein the second network device includes a distributed unit (DU) (¶0010; ¶0213, Fig. 2) .
RE Claim 46, XU discloses:
The method, wherein the second network device includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) (AMF, a second network device, select SMF to handle multicast sessions. ¶0183; AMF sends PDU Session Resource Request to Setup or Modify messages to the CU, first network device. ¶0233, Fig. 19A: S1901).
RE Claim 55, 47, XU discloses a centralized unit, CU, or method:
comprising:
at least one processor configured to implement a method, the at least one processor configured to (¶0010; ¶0213, Fig. 2):
receive, by a centralized unit (CU) from a distributed unit (DU), a multicast/broadcast context setup response message that includes multicast/broadcast downlink (DL) user plane (UP) transport network layer (TNL) information, wherein a general packet radio service tunnelling protocol-user (GTP-U) subheader of a data packet transmitted by the DL UP TNL includes a multicast/broadcast service area identifier (DU receives from a CU the configuration of one or more MBS areas according to MBS related information. The MBS related information comprises at least one of a MBS tunnel endpoint identifier, TEID, or multicast address. DU provides an MBS service to a plurality of wireless devices based on the configuration of the MBS areas received from the CU. ¶0201, ¶0202 Fig. 15: S1503, S1505; ¶¶0212-0213; A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that inclusion of a TEID in the MBS related information identifies that the message as GTP related messaging protocol.
gNB-CU transmits a UE Context Setup Request message to the gNB-DU. The message includes information for one or more transmission areas, MBS areas, and an MBS Identity, a service identity. The MBS service area information may comprise information for a plurality of MBS areas. Message also includes information of one or more MBS areas. The MBS area information includes identifiers with at least one of Cell IDs, TAI IDs, RANACs, beam IDs, or TRPs/TRP IDs. Determined MBS areas comprise a configuration of MBS areas including identifiers with at least one of Cell IDs, TAI IDs, RANACs, beam IDs, or TRPs/TRP IDs. ¶¶0238-0240, Fig. 19: 1905; gNB-DU receives a setup request message and identifies the MBS to be provided to the UE through the requested bearer. gNB-DU knows the numbers of UE with the MBS or interested in the MBS. The gNB-DU responds, including the MBS configuration for requested bearer, with UE Context Setup Response or UE Context Modification Response message or other MBS dedicated message to the gNB-CU. ¶0241, Fig. 19: 1907.).
Claims 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, in view of Navratil, in view of Byun et al. (US 20230065098 A1, hereinafter “Byun”).
RE Claim 43, Xu and Navratil do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the multicast/broadcast context setup request message includes a multicast radio bearer (MRB) list to be setup or CU to DU information.
However, Byun discloses:
The method, wherein the context setup request message includes a multicast radio bearer (MRB) list to be setup (gNB-CU-UP and gNB-DU may provide the gNB-CU-CP with a setup list of multicast radio bearer (MRB) for the MBS and the multicast and/or broadcast channel information for the MBS. ¶0327) or CU to DU information (gNB-CU-UP and gNB-DU may provide the gNB-CU-CP with a setup list of multicast radio bearer (MRB) for the MBS and the multicast and/or broadcast channel information for the MBS. ¶0327) (.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu, exchange of multicast configuration setup request and setup responses for multicast operation, with the teachings of Byun, inclusion of MRB lists for setup of multicast operation.
The motivation in doing so would be to support consolidation of multicast flows based on shared data flows to RANs covering different areas and/or UEs to improve network resource management. (Xu, ¶¶0174-0177, ¶¶0010-0013, Abstract, Fig. 13; Byun, Abstract, ¶¶0005-0009)
RE Claim 44, Xu and Navratil do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the MRB list to be setup comprises quality of service (QoS) configuration information of an MRB and QoS configuration information of a QoS flow.
However, Byun discloses:
The method, wherein the MRB list to be setup comprises quality of service (QoS) configuration information of an MRB and QoS configuration information of a QoS flow (gNB-CU-CP sends message to gNB-CU-UP with MBS identity including multicast radio bearer, MRB, Setup List and the QoS flow related information in order to request setup of MRB for the indicated MBS. ¶0348, Fig. 14C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu, exchange of multicast configuration setup request and setup responses for multicast operation, with the teachings of Byun, inclusion of MRB lists with additional QoS flow information for setup of multicast operation.
The motivation in doing so would be to support consolidation of multicast flows based on shared data flows to RANs covering different areas and/or UEs to improve network resource management. (Xu, ¶¶0174-0177, ¶¶0010-0013, Abstract, Fig. 13; Byun, Abstract, ¶¶0005-0009)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to claims 36 and 48 regarding the limitation of a context setup response message includes a second set of multicast or broadcast configuration information. Applicant submits that Xu fails to teach or suggest this limitation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Xu discloses the subject matter. Receive, from a distributed unit (DU), a transmission of a multicast-broadcast service (MBS) service based on a configuration for a first MBS area; transmit, to the DU, feedback information for the first MBS area; and receive, from the DU, a transmission of an MBS service based on a configuration for a second MBS area, wherein the first MBS area is changed to the second MBS area based on information obtained from the feedback information for the first MBS area. ¶0013; According to various embodiments, the one or more MBS may be determined among the MBS areas supported by the DU based on MBS related information. The one or more MBS areas may comprise the first MBS area and the second MBS area. The MBS related information may comprise at least one of a service identity, MBS tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID), multicast address or MBS flow identity. ¶0212; In step S1927, on receiving the message from the gNB-CU, the gNB-DU may check whether to be able to allocate the radio resource for multicast for indicated MBS cluster or service area (i.e., second MBS area). If available, the gNB-DU may respond with the Change Response message, existing, or new message to the gNB-CU. This message may include the MBS Channel Information and the MBS Identity (i.e., identity of the second MBS area) to provide multicast channel information to the UE(s) provided with the indicated MBS. ¶0302, Fig. 19
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 36 and 48 regarding the limitations of multicast address and TEID have been considered. The argument with respect to claim 40 has been considered. The arguments but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200374689 A1 Shi et al.
US-20230082017-A1 Hong
The above references disclose various aspects of multicast configurations for network devices in a wireless network.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419