DETAILED ACTION
Claims 20-35 are presented for examination
Claims 20, 28, and 35 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
EI Hamss fails to disclose transmitting a negotiation message indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification to the transmitting terminal and, thereafter, transmitting the feedback based on the negotiation message," as recited in the present claims [Remarks, pages 8-10].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Park discloses bundling and transmitting HARQ feedback information. Park does not explicitly disclose based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other, modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification; and transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message.
However, El Hamss teaches based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other [fig. 2, 14, paragraphs 0094, 0128, 0179, 0207, 0208, based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other (a WTRU may use the same SCI format defined for scheduling sidelink data to transmit a HARQ feedback; the periodicity of the feedback resources may be identical to that of the SA/data resources; two HARQ-ACK feedbacks; wherein a single feedback resource is shared by a group of WTRUs (transmission time point for the first data and the second data are identical with each other))], modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification [fig. 2, table 3, paragraphs 0095, 0121, 0123, 0124, 0137, 0181, 0188, 0194, modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification (WTRU may send feedback in a format which may have been indicated in an SCI; Feedback may be received from WTRUs in a same format or different formats; the reliability requirement of the subsequent HARQ feedback is lower than the reliability of the HARQ feedback; selecting/modifying the HARQ resource parameters (starting transmission point point) to avoid colliding with other transmissions)]; and transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message [fig. 2, 7, table 3, paragraphs 0088, 0099, 0100, 0122, 0127, 0128, 0133, 0134, 0136, 0146, 0177, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0236, transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message (QoS parameter negotiation between two WTRUs; the WTRU may change the transmission parameters of the HARQ retransmission(s) to guarantee the QoS requirement of the packet; a WTRU may select the starting symbol and duration for HARQ feedback based on a slot format indication received from the network or other WTRU; a WTRU may select the resource(s) for HARQ feedback on a specific link based on a unique ID in order to avoid collision with other HARQ feedback of other WTRU(s))].
Regarding transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification and transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message, El Hamss discloses in Figure 7, table 3, paragraphs 0099, 0100, 0122, 0127, 0128, 0133, 0134, 0136, 0146, 0177, 0188, 0189, 0194, and 0236.
Figure 7 illustrates all group members (WTRUs) send their HARQ-ACK feedbacks in a common feedback resource
Table 3 illustrates an example mapping between reliability, channel load and HARQ feedback channel format
[0099] A WTRU may be configured to perform measurements prior to selecting the HARQ resource parameters to determine the HARQ physical channel parameters. For example, a WTRU may measure a high load in the HARQ feedback resources, by measuring the channel busy ratio (CBR) and thus the WTRU may select fewer PRBs to transmit the feedback. In another example, a WTRU may select the starting OFDM symbol to avoid colliding with other transmissions.
[0100] With a slot structure, a WTRU may select the starting symbol and duration for HARQ feedback based on a slot format indication received from the network or other WTRU. An ID may also be used which uniquely identifies the unicast/multicast link for which HARQ feedback is being transmitted and/or HARQ process within a link. For example, a WTRU may select the resource(s) for HARQ feedback on a specific link based on a unique ID in order to avoid collision with other HARQ feedback of other WTRU(s). The WTRU expecting the feedback may determine the HARQ-ACK feedback resource and parameters based on the same conditions described above for the WTRU transmitting the feedback.
[0122] FIG. 2 is a timing diagram 200 illustrating example HARQ feedback determination methods. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the WTRU may determine that one or more HARQ feedback channels have low load at time instance 202. Because of the low load on the HARQ feedback channels, the WTRU may transmit an SCI 204 which indicates the low load. Subsequently the WTRU may transmit data 206 and receive HARQ feedback 208 from another WTRU. Due to the load experienced, the HARQ feedback may be in a first format which spans a longer time period than a second format.
[0127] A WTRU may be configured to aggregate groupcast HARQ-ACK feedback based on one or more of the following triggers: HARQ-ACK timing of the groupcast packets are the same; a measurement result, for example, a WTRU may measure the CBR on feedback channel and determine that there is a high load on the HARQ feedback channels, and consequently use this method in that case; an indication from groupcast manager WTRU; and/or an indication from the network.
[0128] A HARQ-ACK codebook may be used for unicast transmission. In one embodiment, a WTRU may be configured to combine sidelink HARQ-ACK feedback for multiple transport blocks into one HARQ-ACK codebook. A WTRU may determine when to combine the feedback based on one or more of the following: HARQ-ACK timing of different transport blocks are the same, for example, a WTRU may combine two HARQ-ACK feedbacks if they have to be transmitted on the same slot; a priority requirement of the HARQ-ACK feedback of different transport block are the same, for example, a WTRU may combine feedback for two or more transport blocks if the feedback targets a same BLER; and a latency requirement.
[0133] In some embodiments, a WTRU may receive a resource assignment for HARQ transmission from another WTRU. For example, a local manager WTRU may be configured to assign a HARQ feedback channel and/or resources for other WTRUs. In another example, platoon leader WTRU may assign HARQ feedback for platoon members WTRUs. In one example embodiment, a WTRU may be configured to request a HARQ feedback resource from another WTRU. Such request may be transmitted using a special SCI format designed for this purpose. The assigned HARQ feedback resources may be configured to the WTRU in semi-persistent manner or may dynamically change.
[0134] A WTRU selecting the HARQ feedback resource, either the transmitting WTRU, the receiving WTRU or another WTRU, may reserve the HARQ resource for the expected duration of a unicast transmission. In an embodiment, the WTRU selecting the HARQ feedback resource may be a local manager or platoon manager. The resource selected may be used for subsequent HARQ-ACK feedback transmitted during the unicast session. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured to dynamically (re)select a resource upon one or more feedback transmissions. A WTRU may (re)select the resource based on one or more of the following triggers and conditions: collision detection, interference detection, feedback reliability, feedback priority, timer expiration; indications received from a network or other WTRU, geolocation information, channel state information or other information.
[0136] In cases where a WTRU may (re)select the resource based on interference detection, example, a WTRU may select the HARQ feedback resource if the energy sensed on the time-frequency resource of the feedback is detected at or above a configured threshold.
[0146] In an embodiment, a WTRU may be configured to determine a HARQ-ACK feedback transmission timing. A WTRU may indicate the timing as an offset from the first transmission of the HARQ process ID or as an offset from the time in which an SCI is transmitted or received. Alternatively, a WTRU may indicate a time window in which HARQ may be transmitted. A WTRU may be (pre-)configured with one or more sets of allowable HARQ timing configuration(s) and may determine, based on one or more of the following, the applicable timing: QoS characteristics of the packet, transport block size, transmission time of the first/previous transmission, subcarrier spacing, channel structure of sidelink data, indication from the network, and/or timing configuration of the transmission of the PUCCH resource scheduled by the network to relay the sidelink feedback to the network.
[0177] FIG. 7 is a diagram of example dedicated and shared resource pools for feedback. …. The association relationship between a resource pool and a feedback resource pool may be defined in one or more resource pool configurations. The right side 720 of FIG. 7 shows another example in which resource pool 1 722 and resource pool 2 724 share a common feedback resource pool 726.
[0188] In NR V2X sidelink groupcast, when a transmitting WTRU sends the groupcast data, it may expect that each receiving group member sends HARQ-ACK feedback. More than one feedback resource may be needed for group-based HARQ-ACK feedback. Feedback resources selected may be a function of HARQ characteristics indicated to the receiving WTRUs. A WTRU may send groupcast data and may expect feedback to be returned in a format which corresponds to Table 3 in examples. Each WTRU may send feedback in a format which may have been indicated in an SCI. Feedback may be received from WTRUs in a same format or different formats.
[0189] Some or all group members may share a common feedback resource and may multiplex feedback in different feedback formats based on HARQ characteristics. If all of the receiving WTRUs send their HARQ-ACK feedbacks in a common feedback resource, for example, in a given time slot, then due to half-duplex constraints, each receiving WTRU may not learn of other receiving WTRUs' feedback. However, not receiving other WTRU feedback may not cause essential issues to a receiving WTRU, and the sharing of a common feedback resource by some or all receiving WTRUs in the group may have the advantage of resource saving. Selection of a common feedback resource may be a function of one or more indicated HARQ characteristics.
[0194] FIG. 11 is a diagram 1100 of an example where a single feedback resource is shared by a group of WTRUs, where each WTRU has its own associated OFDM symbol(s). For example, the NR PUCCH format 2 consists of 1 or 2 OFDM symbols with no user multiplexing on the same time resources. In the diagram 1100 shown in FIG. 11, a plurality of ACK-NACKs may be transmitted in a slot 1102 comprised of a plurality of sub-channels 1104. ….
[0236] HARQ-ACK feedback may also be supported for unicast sidelink transmissions. For sidelink groupcast transmissions, the feedback may or may not be activated. This is because all of the group members may need to send HARQ-ACK feedback, which may occupy a lot of feedback resources. Also, the transmissions of feedback from group members may disable their monitoring and sensing of the channels, which may restrict the resource access in NR mode 2 sensing and resource selection procedures. Hence, an optimal design for feedback for groupcast sidelink transmissions may be desirable.
In other words, El Hamss discloses wherein assigned HARQ feedback resources may be configured to the WTRU in semi-persistent manner or may dynamically change; and selecting/modifying the HARQ resource parameters (starting transmission point point) to avoid colliding with other transmissions.
Therefore, given that Park discloses a plurality of receiver UEs shares one or more PSFCH(s), and El Hamss discloses WTRUs send their HARQ-ACK feedbacks in a common feedback resource (same transmission time point), then the combination of Park and El Hamss discloses transmitting a negotiation message indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification to the transmitting terminal and, thereafter, transmitting the feedback based on the negotiation message.
This is similar to Applicant’s disclosure Figure 17, paragraph 0265
[0265] As another example, when the terminal 0 1710 can simultaneously transmit HARQ feedback to the two terminals 1720 and 1730 based on a terminal implementation, an overlap of resource pool may also be considered. That is, even when the terminal 0 1710 transmits HARQ feedback at the same time, a resource block (RB) transmitting HARQ feedback to two terminals in a same resource pool may have a same location, and a collision may occur based on this.
Regarding the rejection of claims 28, and 35, claims 28, and 35 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 20, the response to claim 20 is also applicable to claims 28, and 35, and thus please refer to the response to claim 20 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 21-27, and 29-34, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0099476, in view of El Hamss et al., (hereinafter El Hamss), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0377912.
As per claim 20, Park discloses a method comprising:
receiving downlink control information(DCI) including information related to the sidelink [paragraphs 0061, 0181, 0204, 0237, receiving downlink control information(DCI) including information related to the sidelink (a DCI format for sidelink scheduling control information transmitted by a base station; allocation information may be provided through an explicit DCI format)];
performing synchronization based on sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), wherein the SLSS includes primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS) and secondary sidelink synchronization signal(SSSS) [paragraphs 0073, 0075, 0095, 0120, 0121, 0166, performing synchronization based on sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), wherein the SLSS includes primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS) and secondary sidelink synchronization signal(SSSS) (sidelink synchronization signal may include a primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS), a secondary sidelink synchronization signal (SSSS))];
determining one or more resource pools [paragraphs 0108, 0138, determining one or more resource pools (the resource pool may be determined as one or more resources; a UE determines one or more resources within one or more sidelink resources configured by a base station or one or more pre-configured sidelink resources)], wherein the one or more resource pools are configured by a base station based on that sidelink resource allocation mode 1 [fig. 9A, paragraphs 0096, 0104, 0105, wherein the one or more resource pools are configured by a base station based on that sidelink resource allocation mode 1 (allocate a radio resource for the sidelink, two modes have been developed, i.e. mode 1)], and the one or more resource pools are determined by the a user equipment (UE) based on sidelink resource allocation mode 2 [paragraphs 0096, 0104, the one or more resource pools are determined by the a user equipment (UE) based on sidelink resource allocation mode 2 (allocate a radio resource for the sidelink, two modes have been developed, i.e. mode 2; distributed mode (mode 2), a UE selects randomly one or more of pre-configured resources)], wherein a resource pool includes a plurality of contiguous frequency resources in a frequency domain, and a set of slots in a time domain [fig. 2, 3, 9B, paragraphs 0089, 0109, 0141, wherein a resource pool includes a plurality of contiguous frequency resources in a frequency domain, and a set of slots in a time domain (resource pool may be defined in terms of time-frequency; frequency resource is divided into NF frequency resources, and the entire time resource is divided into NT time resources)];
receiving first data from a first transmission terminal and determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission time point for the first data [fig. 10, 14, paragraphs 0131, 0189, 0228, 0229, 0235, receiving first data from a first transmission terminal and determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission time point for the first data (the receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information in response to sidelink PSSCH reception)];
receiving second data from a second transmission terminal and determining a HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data [fig. 10, paragraphs 0131, 0168, 0213, 0235, 0243, 0252, receiving second data from a second transmission terminal and determining a HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data (second HARQ feedback mode may be activated for directly transmitting HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to a transmitter UE; a timing offset related to PSSCH information reception)].
Park discloses bundling and transmitting HARQ feedback information. Park does not explicitly disclose based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other, modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification; and transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message.
However, El Hamss teaches based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other [fig. 2, 14, paragraphs 0094, 0128, 0179, 0207, 0208, based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other (a WTRU may use the same SCI format defined for scheduling sidelink data to transmit a HARQ feedback; the periodicity of the feedback resources may be identical to that of the SA/data resources; two HARQ-ACK feedbacks; wherein a single feedback resource is shared by a group of WTRUs (transmission time point for the first data and the second data are identical with each other))], modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification [fig. 2, table 3, paragraphs 0095, 0121, 0123, 0124, 0137, 0181, 0188, 0194, modifying the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and transmitting, to the first transmission terminal, a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification (WTRU may send feedback in a format which may have been indicated in an SCI; Feedback may be received from WTRUs in a same format or different formats; the reliability requirement of the subsequent HARQ feedback is lower than the reliability of the HARQ feedback; selecting/modifying the HARQ resource parameters (starting transmission point point) to avoid colliding with other transmissions)]; and transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message [fig. 2, 7, table 3, paragraphs 0088, 0099, 0100, 0122, 0127, 0128, 0133, 0134, 0136, 0146, 0177, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0236, transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message (QoS parameter negotiation between two WTRUs; the WTRU may change the transmission parameters of the HARQ retransmission(s) to guarantee the QoS requirement of the packet; a WTRU may select the starting symbol and duration for HARQ feedback based on a slot format indication received from the network or other WTRU; a WTRU may select the resource(s) for HARQ feedback on a specific link based on a unique ID in order to avoid collision with other HARQ feedback of other WTRU(s))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time modification as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 21, Park discloses the method of claim 20,
wherein the first transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a first beam and the second transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a second beam [fig. 3, 8, paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0077, 0079, 0084, 0085, 0089, wherein the first transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a first beam and the second transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a second beam (TAC (time alignment command) may be included as information for the UE to adjust uplink synchronization; providing information on the characteristics of beam directions; a plurality of SSBs beams)], and
wherein the HARQ feedback transmission time points for the first transmission terminal and the second transmission terminal respectively are determined based on resource pool information and physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration information of a radio resource control (RRC) layer setting [fig. 7, 9A, 9B, paragraphs 0061, 0092, 0102, 0105, 0108, 0163, 0180, 0226, 0227, wherein the HARQ feedback transmission time points for the first transmission terminal and the second transmission terminal respectively are determined based on resource pool information and physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration information of a radio resource control (RRC) layer setting (a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); UE-specific RRC signaling; HARQ feedback mode setting information for the sidelink may be transmitted to one or more corresponding sidelink UEs through higher layer signaling; resource pools for UEs … each UE may select one or more resource units and use the selected resource unit(s) for transmitting a sidelink signal)].
As per claim 22, Park discloses the method of claim 20,
wherein a reception terminal receives first sidelink control information (SCI) together with the first data from the first transmission terminal and receives second SCI together with the second data from the second transmission terminal [paragraphs 0235, 0248, wherein the reception terminal receives first sidelink control information (SCI) together with the first data from the first transmission terminal and receives second SCI together with the second data from the second transmission terminal (SCI format for the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback may be configured with identification information of a sidelink; an information area for indicating the HARQ feedback mode may be defined in a SCI format including scheduling control information; a separate SCI format)],
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI [fig. 2, paragraphs 0094-0096, 0119, 0122, 0169, wherein a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI (two signals may be transmitted using different SCI formats; a bit field may be configured in the SCI)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 23, Park discloses the method of claim 22, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible [fig. 2, 6, 13, paragraphs 0094, 0166, 0169-0171, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0205, 0220, 0243, wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible (WTRU may transmit 614 an SCI indicating the HARQ feedback characteristics, to another WTRU; a HARQ feedback format corresponding to the HARQ feedback characteristics; receiving WTRU may first receive SCI 1302 indicating HARQ feedback characteristics; using a 0 value for HARQ feedback and a 1 value for scheduling information; feedback information may no longer be valid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 24, Park discloses the method of claim 23, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value, and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI is set to the second value.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value, and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI is set to the second value [fig. 2, 6, 13, paragraphs 0094, 0166, 0169-0171, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0205, 0243, wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value, and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI is set to the second value (two signals may be transmitted using different SCI formats; a bit field may be configured in the SCI; WTRU may transmit 614 an SCI indicating the HARQ feedback characteristics, to another WTRU; a HARQ feedback format corresponding to the HARQ feedback characteristics; receiving WTRU may first receive SCI 1302 indicating HARQ feedback characteristics; using a 0 value for HARQ feedback and a 1 value for scheduling information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 25, Park discloses the method of claim 23, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on both the negotiation flag field of the first SCI and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI being set to the second value, a reception terminal modifies the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data with a lower priority based on a priority order for the first data and the second data.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein, based on both the negotiation flag field of the first SCI and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI being set to the second value, a reception terminal modifies the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data with a lower priority based on a priority order for the first data and the second data [paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0163, 0166, 0169-0171, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0199, wherein, based on both the negotiation flag field of the first SCI and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI being set to the second value, a reception terminal modifies the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data with a lower priority based on a priority order for the first data and the second data (two signals may be transmitted using different SCI formats; a bit field may be configured in the SCI; WTRU may transmit 614 an SCI indicating the HARQ feedback characteristics, to another WTRU; a HARQ feedback format corresponding to the HARQ feedback characteristics; receiving WTRU may first receive SCI 1302 indicating HARQ feedback characteristics; using a 0 value for HARQ feedback and a 1 value for scheduling information; a priority requirement of the HARQ-ACK feedback of different transport block; a WTRU may compare its expected feedback priority or the priority of the data to be acknowledged)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including negotiation flag field of the first SCI and the negotiation flag field of the second SCI as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 26, Park discloses the method of claim 20,
wherein a reception terminal transmits the negotiation message through a resource that is preconfigured based on a RRC layer setting [fig. 7, 9A, 9B, paragraphs 0061, 0092, 0102, 0105, 0108, 0163, 0180, 0226, 0227, wherein the reception terminal transmits the negotiation message through a resource that is preconfigured based on a RRC layer setting (a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); UE-specific RRC signaling; HARQ feedback mode setting information for the sidelink may be transmitted to one or more corresponding sidelink UEs through higher layer signaling; resource pools for UEs … each UE may select one or more resource units and use the selected resource unit(s) for transmitting a sidelink signal)],
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified [paragraphs 0094, 0096, 0101, 0133, 0154, 0220, wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified (WTRU may change the transmission parameters of the HARQ; a WTRU may use one bit in the SCI to indicate the intention of SCI transmission)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time is modified as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 27, Park discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein, based on the negotiation message indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification for the first data, the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data is transmitted one slot before a determined HARQ feedback transmission time point [paragraphs 0083-0085, 0228, 0256, wherein, based on the negotiation message indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification for the first data, the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data is transmitted one slot before a determined HARQ feedback transmission time point (transmitting HARQ ACK/NACK in a transmission slot; a slot of a receiver UE corresponding to a HARQ ACK/NACK feedback timing set)].
As per claim 28, Park discloses a method comprising:
receiving downlink control information(DCI) including information related to the sidelink [paragraphs 0061, 0181, 0204, 0237, receiving downlink control information(DCI) including information related to the sidelink (a DCI format for sidelink scheduling control information transmitted by a base station; allocation information may be provided through an explicit DCI format)];
performing synchronization based on sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), wherein the SLSS includes primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS) and secondary sidelink synchronization signal(SSSS) [paragraphs 0073, 0075, 0095, 0120, 0121, 0166, performing synchronization based on sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS), wherein the SLSS includes primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS) and secondary sidelink synchronization signal(SSSS) (sidelink synchronization signal may include a primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS), a secondary sidelink synchronization signal (SSSS))];
determining one or more resource pools [paragraphs 0108, 0138, determining one or more resource pools (the resource pool may be determined as one or more resources; a UE determines one or more resources within one or more sidelink resources configured by a base station or one or more pre-configured sidelink resources)], wherein the one or more resource pools are configured by a base station based on that sidelink resource allocation mode 1 [fig. 9A, paragraphs 0096, 0104, 0105, wherein the one or more resource pools are configured by a base station based on that sidelink resource allocation mode 1 (allocate a radio resource for the sidelink, two modes have been developed, i.e. mode 1)], and the one or more resource pools are determined by a user equipment (UE) based on sidelink resource allocation mode 2 [paragraphs 0096, 0104, the one or more resource pools are determined by a user equipment (UE) based on sidelink resource allocation mode 2 (allocate a radio resource for the sidelink, two modes have been developed, i.e. mode 2; distributed mode (mode 2), a UE selects randomly one or more of pre-configured resources)], wherein a resource pool includes a plurality of contiguous frequency resources in a frequency domain, and a set of slots in a time domain [fig. 2, 3, 9B, paragraphs 0089, 0109, 0141, wherein a resource pool includes a plurality of contiguous frequency resources in a frequency domain, and a set of slots in a time domain (resource pool may be defined in terms of time-frequency; frequency resource is divided into NF frequency resources, and the entire time resource is divided into NT time resources)];
transmitting first data to a reception terminal [fig. 10, 14, paragraphs 0131, 0189, 0228, 0229, 0235, transmitting first data to a reception terminal (the receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information in response to sidelink PSSCH reception)];
receiving, from the reception terminal, a negotiation message for indicating that a HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data is modified [fig. 10, paragraphs 0131, 0168, 0213, 0235, 0243, 0252, receiving second data from a second transmission terminal and determining a HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data (second HARQ feedback mode may be activated for directly transmitting HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to a transmitter UE)];
Park discloses bundling and transmitting HARQ feedback information. Park does not explicitly disclose based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other, transmits the negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification to the transmission terminal; and transmit the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message.
However, El Hamss teaches based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other [fig. 2, 14, paragraphs 0094, 0128, 0179, 0207, 0208, based on the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the first data and the HARQ feedback transmission time point for the second data being identical with each other (a WTRU may use the same SCI format defined for scheduling sidelink data to transmit a HARQ feedback; the periodicity of the feedback resources may be identical to that of the SA/data resources; two HARQ-ACK feedbacks; wherein a single feedback resource is shared by a group of WTRUs (transmission time point for the first data and the second data are identical with each other))], transmits the negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification to the transmission terminal [fig. 2, table 3, paragraphs 0095, 0121, 0123, 0124, 0137, 0181, 0188, 0194, transmits the negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time point modification to the transmission terminal (WTRU may send feedback in a format which may have been indicated in an SCI; Feedback may be received from WTRUs in a same format or different formats; the reliability requirement of the subsequent HARQ feedback is lower than the reliability of the HARQ feedback; selecting/modifying the HARQ resource parameters (starting transmission point point) to avoid colliding with other transmissions)]; and transmit the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message [fig. 2, 7, table 3, paragraphs 0088, 0099, 0100, 0122, 0127, 0128, 0133, 0134, 0136, 0146, 0177, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0236, transmit the HARQ feedback based on the negotiation message (QoS parameter negotiation between two WTRUs; the WTRU may change the transmission parameters of the HARQ retransmission(s) to guarantee the QoS requirement of the packet; a WTRU may select the starting symbol and duration for HARQ feedback based on a slot format indication received from the network or other WTRU; a WTRU may select the resource(s) for HARQ feedback on a specific link based on a unique ID in order to avoid collision with other HARQ feedback of other WTRU(s))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation message for indicating the HARQ feedback transmission time modification as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 29, Park discloses the method of claim 28,
wherein the transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a first beam, wherein the reception terminal receives the second data from another transmission terminal that is aligned by the first beam [fig. 3, 8, paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0077, 0079, 0084, 0085, 0089, wherein the transmission terminal is aligned with the reception terminal by a first beam, wherein the reception terminal receives the second data from another transmission terminal that is aligned by the first beam (TAC (time alignment command) may be included as information for the UE to adjust uplink synchronization; providing information on the characteristics of beam directions; a plurality of SSBs beams)], and
wherein the HARQ feedback transmission time point of the transmission terminal is determined based on resource pool information and PSFCH configuration information of a RRC layer setting [fig. 7, 9A, 9B, paragraphs 0061, 0092, 0102, 0105, 0108, 0163, 0180, 0226, 0227, wherein the HARQ feedback transmission time point of the transmission terminal is determined based on resource pool information and PSFCH configuration information of a RRC layer setting (a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); UE-specific RRC signaling; HARQ feedback mode setting information for the sidelink may be transmitted to one or more corresponding sidelink UEs through higher layer signaling; resource pools for UEs … each UE may select one or more resource units and use the selected resource unit(s) for transmitting a sidelink signal)].
As per claim 30, Park discloses the method of claim 28,
wherein the transmission terminal transmits first SCI together with the first data to the reception terminal [paragraphs 0235, 0248, wherein the transmission terminal transmits first SCI together with the first data to the reception terminal (SCI format for the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback may be configured with identification information of a sidelink; an information area for indicating the HARQ feedback mode may be defined in a SCI format including scheduling control information; a separate SCI format)],
Park does not explicitly disclose a negotiation flag field is included in the first SCI.
However, El Hamss teaches a negotiation flag field is included in the first SCI [fig. 2, paragraphs 0094-0096, 0119, 0122, 0169, a negotiation flag field is included in the first SCI (two signals may be transmitted using different SCI formats; a bit field may be configured in the SCI)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 31, Park discloses the method of claim 30, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible [fig. 2, 6, 13, paragraphs 0094, 0166, 0169-0171, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0205, 0220, 0243, wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a first value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is possible, and wherein, based on the negotiation flag field being a second value, the negotiation flag field indicates that HARQ feedback transmission time point modification is impossible (WTRU may transmit 614 an SCI indicating the HARQ feedback characteristics, to another WTRU; a HARQ feedback format corresponding to the HARQ feedback characteristics; receiving WTRU may first receive SCI 1302 indicating HARQ feedback characteristics; using a 0 value for HARQ feedback and a 1 value for scheduling information; feedback information may no longer be valid)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including a negotiation flag field is included in each of the first SCI and the second SCI as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 32, Park discloses the method of claim 31, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value [fig. 2, 6, 13, paragraphs 0094, 0166, 0169-0171, 0188, 0189, 0194, 0205, 0243, wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value (two signals may be transmitted using different SCI formats; a bit field may be configured in the SCI; WTRU may transmit 614 an SCI indicating the HARQ feedback characteristics, to another WTRU; a HARQ feedback format corresponding to the HARQ feedback characteristics; receiving WTRU may first receive SCI 1302 indicating HARQ feedback characteristics; using a 0 value for HARQ feedback and a 1 value for scheduling information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Park by including wherein the negotiation flag field of the first SCI is set to the first value as taught by El Hamss because it would provide the Park’s method with the enhanced capability of achieving reliable transmissions [El Hamss, paragraphs 0173, 0248, 0254].
As per claim 33, Park discloses the method of claim 28,
wherein the transmission terminal receives the negotiation message through a resource that is preconfigured based on a RRC layer setting [fig. 7, 9A, 9B, paragraphs 0061, 0092, 0102, 0105, 0108, 0163, 0180, 0226, 0227, wherein the transmission terminal receives the negotiation message through a resource that is preconfigured based on a RRC layer setting (a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); UE-specific RRC signaling; HARQ feedback mode setting information for the sidelink may be transmitted to one or more corresponding sidelink UEs through higher layer signaling; resource pools for UEs … each UE may select one or more resource units and use the selected resource unit(s) for transmitting a sidelink signal)],
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified.
However, El Hamss teaches wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified [paragraphs 0094, 0096, 0101, 0133, 0154, 0220, wherein the negotiation message is configured to be 1-bit information indicating whether or not the HARQ feedback transmission time point is modified (WTRU may change the transmission parameters of the HARQ; a WTRU may use one bit in the SCI to indicate the intention of SCI transmission)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Par