DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed 10/7/2025 includes arguments and claim amendments. The 35 USC 112(d) rejection for Claim 14 has been withdrawn due to Applicant's cancelation of Claim 14. Applicant’s amendments also include incorporating the subject matter of Claim 13 into independent Claim 12, and adding a new limitation to Claim 12. The new limitation, requiring the upper ring be made of positive temperature coefficient material, is supported by the instant disclosure.
Applicant states the combination of references cited in the previous rejection for Claim 12 do not teach or suggest all of the limitations of amended Claim 12. Examiner agrees with Applicant. After an updated search and consideration of the amended claims, an upper ring made of PTC material is taught by Hasunuma et al., US 6356051 B1. The action has been updated to include Hasunuma.
Applicant states any teaching from the reference cited in the rejection for Claim 22 (Han et al., US 6326100 B1) would not arrive at the claimed invention, and argues “the middle coil of Han functions only when external pressure or force is applied, which is distinct from the claimed middle coil that compresses upon the release of gases in the cell.”
Examiner agrees the middle coil of Han functions when an external pressure or force is applied to the coil (see Han, Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 10), which is different than the claimed invention. However, Claim 22 only requires the gas be released “on compression of a middle coil of the elastic member based electrical connector assembly.” Although the sources of compression are different between the instant application and Han (i.e., internal compression via the gas vs. external compression via a user), Han currently meets all requirements of the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informality: The Non-Final Rejection mailed 6/9/2025 incorporated Applicant’s election without traverse to examine Claims 12-19 and 22 (Species A). Please change the status identifier of Claim 21 (non-elected Species B) from “Previously Presented” to “Withdrawn” or “Canceled.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20080085447 A1 and further in view of Hasunuma et al., US 6356051 B1 and Marple et al., US 20080026288 A1.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses an energy module (battery module [0030-0035, 0081], Fig. 7) for a powered unit (motors, mobile electronic devices [0005-0008]), comprising:
a plurality of cells (a plurality of rechargeable batteries 100 [0047, 0081], Figs. 1-7);
a pair of current collector strips (interconnection members 185 [0081-0084], Fig. 7);
a plurality of rivets (fixation bolt 195/nut 150, and fixation nut 199/bolt 170 [0083], Fig. 7), wherein the plurality of rivets are configured to electrically connect the plurality of cells to the pair of current collector strips ([0083-0084]);
each cell of the plurality of cells consists of two terminals (positive and negative electrodes [0011]);
the pair of current collector strips are mounted on the two terminals of each cell of the plurality of cells using the plurality of rivets ([0081-0085], Fig. 7);
an elastic member based electrical connector assembly (upper connection cap 145 and cap assembly 140 [0055-0059, 0085]), along with a rivet from the plurality of rivets (bolt 195 and nut 150 [0085]) is connected to at least one terminal (positive electrode terminal includes electrode cap 143 [0051-0062]) of each cell of the plurality of cells for establishing an electrical connection between the at least one terminal and a current collector strip from the pair of current collector strips (interconnection member 185 is fixed to the upper connection cap 145, batteries are electrically connected in series [0064, 0082-0086]),
the elastic member based electrical connector assembly comprises a lower disc (positive temperature coefficient element 141 [0057-0061], Fig. 6) connected to the current collector strip with a rivet out of the plurality of rivets (141 is electrically and connected to interconnection member 185 by terminal cap 143, upper connection cap 145, then fixation bolt 195 [0064, 0082-0086], Figs. 6-7), and the lower disc is made of positive temperature coefficient material (positive temperature coefficient element 141 would inherently comprise the claimed “positive temperature coefficient material”).
Kim – Fig. 7
Kim does not disclose “an upper ring configured to be connected to the at least one terminal of each cell of the plurality of cells” and “the upper ring is made of positive temperature coefficient material” as required by Claim 12. However, these limitations are taught by Hasunuma.
Hasunuma teaches adjacent battery cells connected in series (Col. 2, lines 20-34; Figs. 5-6), wherein an upper ring made of positive temperature coefficient material is connected to at least one terminal of each cell (PTC layer 2 of PTC device P; Col. 2, lines 42-54; Figs. 5-9). Hasunuma teaches the PTC device electrically connects electrodes of adjacent cells, but also offers an additional benefit of overcurrent protection for the cells (Col. 3, lines 1-26).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the PTC device of Hasunuma to the energy module of Kim, in order to connect adjacent cells with the additional benefit of a PTC layer offering overcurrent protection.
Hasunuma – Fig. 7
Modified Kim does not disclose “a middle coil positioned between the upper ring and the lower disc” and “the lower disc is structurally connected with the middle coil.” However, these limitations are taught by Marple et al.
Marple teaches a conductive member in a battery may have various shapes, including a coil (conductive members 322 and 422 [0030, 0051-0053], Figs. 3-4). Marple teaches a coil electrically connects an electrode portion to a cell closure, and securely facilitates the electrical connection ([0047, 0051-0053]). Marple also teaches the coil is a pressure contact, and due to its spring-like shape, the coil holds the electrode assembly in place during shock and vibration abuse ([0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the conductive member of Kim (electrode cap 143) be a coil, as taught by Marple, in order to establish an electrical connection with the battery cover, but also to hold the electrode assembly in place during shock and vibration.
Modified Kim’s structure would have Marple’s coil between the upper ring (Hasunuma, PTC layer 2) and the lower disc (Kim, positive temperature coefficient element 141), wherein the lower disc is structurally connected with the middle coil (Kim, 141 and 143 are assembled together [0065], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the middle coil is configured to act as a shock absorber for shock occurring in each cell of the plurality of cells (Marple, “holding the electrode assembly in place during shock and vibration” [0051]).
Regarding the limitation “due to thermal runaway effect,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Naito et al., US 20120263995 A1.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Kim does not disclose the limitations of Claim 15. However, these limitations are taught by Naito.
Naito teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of cells covered with a protective shield (top portion of flat-plate spacer 50 [0026], Fig. 3B, 6A-D). Naito teaches the protective shield is mounted between a cell holder casing (holder 20 [0023], Figs. 2-5) and an external cover of the module (case 60 [0022], Fig. 2). Naito teaches the protective shield, cell holder casing, and external cover can be used as a cell case to hold a plurality of cells connected in series, while absorbing impact forces and also dissipating heat and gas generated by the cells [0020-0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to cover the plurality of cells with a protective shield mounted between a cell holder casing and an external cover, in the energy module of modified Kim, in order to hold the cells while absorbing impact forces, and dissipating heat and gas generated by the cells.
Naito – Fig 2 (left) and Figs. 3A-F (right)
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Regarding the claimed protective shield being “slidable from at least one side of the plurality of cells,” modified Kim meets this limitation, as modified Kim’s protective shield (Naito, 50) appears capable of being slidable from at least one side of the plurality of cells (see Naito Annotated Figs. 3A-F).
Regarding the limitation “the protective shield is slidable,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Naito – Annotated Figs. 3A-F
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the cell holder casing (Naito, holder 20) is configured with slots (Naito, accommodation section 21) to accommodate a stack of cells from the plurality of cells (Naito, each cell 10 is accommodated in the accommodation section 21 [0023]; each cell is shown to have its own “slot” 21 in Fig. 3D).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the cell holder casing (Naito, holder 20) has a top portion and a bottom portion (see Annotated Naito Fig. 3D), the top portion and the bottom portion are configured with one or more holes (Naito, openings of accommodation section 21 for each cell 10 consistent with a “hole,” 14 holes shown in Fig. 3D) to attach the current collector strip with the rivet (Naito, each cell 10 is accommodated in the accommodation section 21 [0023], therefore the section 21 aligns each cell 10 with the current collector strip 30 for attachment. Modified Kim includes attaching the cell to the current collector strip with the rivet).
Naito – Annotated Fig. 3D
Regarding the limitation “holes to attach the current collector strip with the rivet,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Modified Kim’s hole(s) in Annotated Fig. 3D do not obstruct the joining of the current collector and rivet (see Claim 12 for details regarding modified Kim’s current collector and rivet).
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as applied to Claims 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Han et al., US 6326100 B1.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kim discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the external cover (Naito, case 60 [0022]) comprises one or more venting holes (Naito, abnormal gas released through an outlet 61 of the case 60 [0025]), and each cell of the plurality of cells release gases through a venting path created between the rivet from the plurality of rivets and the one or more venting holes (Naito, abnormal gas released from the cell 10 to exhaust chamber 70 to outlet 61 of the case 60 [0025]). Modified Kim does not disclose the gas is released “on compression of a middle coil of the elastic member based electrical connector assembly” as required by Claim 22. However, this limitation is disclosed by Han.
Han discloses a cylindrical secondary battery wherein gas is released on compression of a coil (spring 46) of an elastic member based electrical connector assembly (cap assembly, Col. 2, lines 59-63; Figs. 3 and 4). Han discloses the coil has multiple uses, as it assists with establishing a sealed battery during normal operation, but the coil also compresses to vent gas when needed (Col. 4, lines 10-20).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the middle coil of modified Kim be configured to release gas upon compression, as Han teaches a coil may be used to selectively vent or seal a battery opening.
Han – Fig. 4
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721