DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and the election reads on claims 1, 3, 6-12 in the reply filed on 5/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that allegedly the claimed medical device is not known in the prior art but as will be shown in this Office action, the claimed medical device is indeed, well known in the prior art.
Therefore, claims 4, 5, 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/014119.
WO discloses a medical device comprising a cell-free extracellular matrix and a polymer selected from hydroxybutyrates and other PHAs. The polymer is used as a protective covering ("coating") so as to control the enzymatic degradation of the matrix (see WO, paragraphs [0019], [0020], [0056], [0110] - [0112], [0119], [0127], [0148] and [0150]; claims; examples). Paragraph 111 teaches that polyhydroxyalkonates (PHA’s) and their co-polymers are taught as the polymer used with the extracellular matrix. Note that “physical surface treatment” can read on anything with any kind of “physical” change whatsoever, thus clearly reading on doing anything physical to the acellular biological matrix. Paragraphs 88 and 89 teach that the extracellular matrix can come from pig or porcine. Paragraph 88 teaches dermal extracellular matrix.
Applicant argues that allegedly WO does not teach the treated and coated surface feature.
The fact of the matter is that WO teaches a protective covering (coating) which will in the very least will act as a physical surface treatment. Further, it was noted that “physical surface treatment” can read on anything with any kind of “physical” change whatsoever, thus clearly reading on doing anything physical to the acellular biological matrix.
Note that “consists of “ in claim 3 is not limiting since “comprising” opens up the entire claim 1.
Claims 1, 3, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/094166.
WO discloses a medical device comprising a cell-free extracellular matrix and a polymer selected from PHAs. The polymer is used as a protective covering ("coating") so as to control the enzymatic degradation of the matrix (see WO, paragraphs [0088] - [0097], [0099] - [0107], [0119] - [0121], [0148] and [0173]; claims; examples).
Applicant did not address this reference thus the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Note that “consists of “ in claim 3 is not limiting since “comprising” opens up the entire claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/014119.
WO discloses a medical device comprising a cell-free extracellular matrix and a polymer selected from hydroxybutyrates and other PHAs. The polymer is used as a protective covering ("coating") so as to control the enzymatic degradation of the matrix (see WO, paragraphs [0019], [0020], [0056], [0110] - [0112], [0119], [0127], [0148] and [0150]; claims; examples). The polymer is used as a protective covering ("coating") so as to control the enzymatic degradation of the matrix. Paragraph 111 teaches that polyhydroxyalkonates (PHA’s) and their co-polymers are taught as the polymer used with the extracellular matrix. Note that “physical surface treatment” can read on anything with any kind of “physical” change whatsoever, thus clearly reading on doing anything physical to the acellular biological matrix. Paragraphs 88 and 89 teach that the extracellular matrix can come from pig or porcine. Paragraph 88 teaches dermal extracellular matrix.
In the event it is seen that “co-polymers” do not read on the co-polymers in paragraph 111 (which is NOT being admitted) then it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to use co-polymers of PHA’s since WO makes it very clear that co-polymers of PHA’s are well known in the prior art.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specifically use a “co-polymer” especially since clearly “co-polymer” is listed as one of the possibilities of the polymer in WO so clearly it is a results effective variable and would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to use in an effort optimize to optimize the desired results.
Clearly using a “physical surface treatment” or a “mechanical” is clearly within the purview of the ordinary artisan.
To have a “surface appearance improving the adhesion of at least one polymer” is obvious since it clearly would have been desirable and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to an effort to improve the adhesion of the at least one polymer to improve the results of the claimed invention.
Applicant argues that allegedly WO does not teach the treated and coated surface feature.
The fact of the matter is that WO teaches a protective covering (coating) which will in the very least will act as a physical surface treatment. Further, it was noted that “physical surface treatment” can read on anything with any kind of “physical” change whatsoever, thus clearly reading on doing anything physical to the acellular biological matrix.
Applicant argues that there is nothing to suggest one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prosthesis described in WO in order to improve adhesion of a polymer solution to an acellular biological matrix.
Fact of the matter is that the claims do NOT require this limitation, thus this argument is moot. The instant claims are product claims, NOT method of making a product.
Note that “consists of “ in claim 3 is not limiting since “comprising” opens up the entire claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655