DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and the species alkoxysilane in the reply filed on 8/14/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Suen does not disclose claim 1. This is not found persuasive for the reasons provided below in the rejections.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 6 and 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
The word "preferably" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "preferably"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The limitation “low molecular weight” is indefinite. The metes and bounds of the term are indefinite.
The limitation “alpha-silane” is indefinite. It is not an established term in the art, and the instant specification does not provide a clear definition. There are three levels of explanation provided in the specification. 1. A silane-terminated polymer [0025]; 2. An alkoxysilane with a donor atom located in the alpha-position to the silicon atom [0027]; or 3. An alkoxysilane with a nitrogen atom located in the alpha-position to the silicon atom [0027]. For the purposes of applying prior art, any of the above three are considered an “alpha-silane”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Since the “acrylate resin-based polymer” was introduced in the claim 1 with the phrase “at least one” preceding it, any further recitation of the “acrylate resin-based polymer” in dependent claims must have the phrase “at least one” preceding it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/027056) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 8: Suen teaches a reactive hotmelt adhesive composition [abstract] comprising 40 wt% silane modified polymer Max 951, 20 wt% of acrylate polymer Krystalex 3100, 0.9 wt% 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (claimed c)), and 0.1 wt% silquest A-1110 (claimed d)). Silquest A-1110 is 3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (248.35 g/mol) as evidenced by Jing et al. [0038].
0.9 wt% when converted to the claimed significant digits is 1 wt%. See Viskase Corp. v. Am. Nat’l Can Co., 261 F.3d 1316, 1320–21 (Fed. Cir. 2001) where the district court interpreted 0.91 to include the values between 0.905 and 0.914, based on the reasoning that numbers in that range would be rounded to 0.91.
The silane modified polymer of Suen has the following structure:
.
Since there is an alkyl group in the alpha position (methylene in Max 951), it is considered an alpha-silane-terminated organic polymer.
The amount of 20 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of “less than 20 wt%”.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3: Suen teaches a polyacrylate [0017; Examples].
Regarding claim 9: Suen teaches 24 wt% tackifier [Examples; Table 1].
Regarding claim 10: Suen teaches 0 to 50 wt% of a filler [0046-0047]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/027056) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105) as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Laferte et al. (WO 2019/115952).
US 2020/0317962 is being used as an English equivalent to WO 2019/115952 since it is national stage entry of the international application.
Suen fails to teach the claimed formula even though it is within the formula taught by Suen [0018].
However, Laferte et al. teach that Geniosil STP-E10 is a silane modified polymer for hotmelt adhesive compositions [0003; 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Geniosil STP-E10 as taught by Laferte et al. as the silane modified polymer in Suen. It is a simple substitution one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/027056) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105) as applied to claim 1 above as evidenced by Stark et al. (2010/0006217).
Suen teaches Elvacite 2903 [Examples; Table 1] is a copolymer of two different methacrylates as evidenced by Stark et al. [0066 (2971 is clearly a typographical error for 2903)].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/692435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763