DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9-10 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/0027056) in view of Laferte et al. (WO 2019/115952) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105).
US 2020/0317962 is being used as an English equivalent to WO 2019/115952 since it is national stage entry of the international application.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 16-17: Suen teaches a reactive hotmelt adhesive composition [abstract] comprising 40 wt% silane modified polymer Max 951, 20 wt% of acrylate polymer Krystalex 3100, 0.9 wt% 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (claimed c)), and 0.1 wt% silquest A-1110 (claimed d)). Silquest A-1110 is 3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (248.35 g/mol) as evidenced by Jing et al. [0038].
0.9 wt% when converted to the claimed significant digits is 1 wt%. See Viskase Corp. v. Am. Nat’l Can Co., 261 F.3d 1316, 1320–21 (Fed. Cir. 2001) where the district court interpreted 0.91 to include the values between 0.905 and 0.914, based on the reasoning that numbers in that range would be rounded to 0.91.
The silane modified polymer of Suen has the following structure:
.
Suen teaches that acrylate polymer is present in an amount of 10 wt% [0036]. It would have been obvious to use 10 wt% of Krystalex 3100 in the example of Suen.
Suen fails to teach the claimed formula even though it is within the formula taught by Suen [0018].
However, Laferte et al. teach that Geniosil STP-E10 is a silane modified polymer for hotmelt adhesive compositions [0003; 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Geniosil STP-E10 as taught by Laferte et al. as the silane modified polymer in Suen. It is a simple substitution one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 3: Suen teaches a polyacrylate [0017; Examples].
Regarding claim 9: Suen teaches 24 wt% tackifier [Examples; Table 1].
Regarding claim 10: Suen teaches 0 to 50 wt% of a filler [0046-0047]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/0027056) and Laferte et al. (WO 2019/115952) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105) as applied to claim 1 above as evidenced by Stark et al. (2010/0006217).
Suen teaches Elvacite 2903 [Examples; Table 1] is a copolymer of two different methacrylates as evidenced by Stark et al. [0066 (2971 is clearly a typographical error for 2903)].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/692435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that Suen fails to teach amended polymer a). The applicant amended claim 1 to include the limitations of claim 2. Claim 2 was rejection over Suen in view of Laferte et al. because Laferte et al. teach the claimed polymer a). The applicant has not provided any argument regarding the rejection of Suen in view of Laferte et al.
With regard to the double patenting rejection, the applicant has made the argument that the instant application is the earlier filed application. This is not persuasive because the double patenting rejection is not the only remaining rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763