DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9-10 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/0027056) in view of Laferte et al. (WO 2019/115952) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105).
US 2020/0317962 is being used as an English equivalent to WO 2019/115952 since it is national stage entry of the international application.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 16-17: Suen teaches a reactive hotmelt adhesive composition [abstract] comprising 40 wt% silane modified polymer Max 951, 20 wt% of acrylate polymer Krystalex 3100, 0.9 wt% 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (claimed c)), and 0.1 wt% silquest A-1110 (claimed d)). Silquest A-1110 is 3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (248.35 g/mol) as evidenced by Jing et al. [0038].
0.9 wt% when converted to the claimed significant digits is 1 wt%. See Viskase Corp. v. Am. Nat’l Can Co., 261 F.3d 1316, 1320–21 (Fed. Cir. 2001) where the district court interpreted 0.91 to include the values between 0.905 and 0.914, based on the reasoning that numbers in that range would be rounded to 0.91.
The silane modified polymer of Suen has the following structure:
.
Suen teaches that acrylate polymer is present in an amount of 10 wt% [0036]. It would have been obvious to use 10 wt% of Krystalex 3100 in the example of Suen.
Suen teaches that the viscosity of the composition is desirably 5,000 to 20,000 cps [0059; Examples; Tables]. The viscosity overlaps the claimed range. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Suen fails to teach the claimed formula even though it is within the formula taught by Suen [0018].
However, Laferte et al. teach that Geniosil STP-E10 is a silane modified polymer for hotmelt adhesive compositions [0003; 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Geniosil STP-E10 as taught by Laferte et al. as the silane modified polymer in Suen. It is a simple substitution one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 3: Suen teaches a polyacrylate [0017; Examples].
Regarding claim 9: Suen teaches 24 wt% tackifier [Examples; Table 1].
Regarding claim 10: Suen teaches 0 to 50 wt% of a filler [0046-0047]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (2014/0027056) and Laferte et al. (WO 2019/115952) as evidenced by Jing et al. (2015/0240105) as applied to claim 1 above as evidenced by Stark et al. (2010/0006217).
Suen teaches Elvacite 2903 [Examples; Table 1] is a copolymer of two different methacrylates as evidenced by Stark et al. [0066 (2971 is clearly a typographical error for 2903)].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/692435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that the prior art fails to teach the claimed viscosity. This is not persuasive because Suen teaches that the viscosity of the composition is desirably 5,000 to 20,000 cps [0059; Examples; Tables]. The viscosity overlaps the claimed range. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
The applicant has stated that Max 951 is not an alpha-silane-terminated polymer and has alleged that the substitution with an alpha-silane-terminated polymer is not predictable due to the alleged unexpected results in the instant specification. This is not persuasive because Laferte et al. teach that Geniosil STP-E10 is a silane modified polymer for hotmelt adhesive compositions.
The applicant has alleged unexpected results. This is not persuasive because the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data provided. Moreover, the applicant has not provided comparative data similar to Suen.
The applicant has made the argument that the copending application in the double patenting rejection has a later effective filing date than the present application. This is not persuasive because it is not the only remaining rejection.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763