DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are pending with claims 1-5 being examined and claims 8-10 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendments and remarks, filed on 3/18/2026, has been entered. The claim amendments do not overcome the previous prior art rejection, and Applicants' arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Skinner et al (US 20230127982 A1; hereinafter “Skinner”; priority filed 3/18/2020).
Regarding claim 1, Skinner teaches a carbon dioxide detector (Skinner; para [83, 84, 86]; indicator material which comprises carbon dioxide dye) comprising a carrier impregnated with an ink composition comprising a pH indicator, an alkaline agent, a water retention agent, and water, the carbon dioxide detector having a water content of 30 to 40 mass% (Skinner; see Table 3), and a spreading agent wherein the carrier is a porous particle (Skinner; para [95]; the particulate inorganic substrate may be hydrophilic, e.g. hydrophilic silica, such as Syloid® 244; examiner notes that Skinner teaches the composition comprising both inorganic materials), the spreading agent is hydrophobic silica (Skinner; see Table 3), and the spreading agent adheres to the outer surface of the carrier impregnated with the ink composition (Skinner; para [94]; particulate inorganic substrate which has been modified, e.g. surface-modified, to render it hydrophobic, e.g. by incorporating hydrophobic chemical groups such as alkyl groups on the surface of the particulate inorganic substrate). Examiner notes Skinner teaches the following based on Table 3: tetrabutylammonium hydroxide interpreted as the alkaline agent (see instant specification para [42]), m-Cresol Purple interpreted as pH indicator, Joncryl FLX 5010 interpreted as a water retention agent (see instant specification para [48]). The examiner notes the water total water content is between 30 to 40%, as Skinner teaches 27% water, 18.5% tetrabutylammonium hydroxide which is 40% water, and as previously argued by Applicant on 3/18/2026 m-Cresol Purple is 99.9% water. Thus, the total water content is 27% + 18.5(0.4)% + 3.5% = 37.9% water.
Regarding claim 2, modified Moretti teaches the carbon dioxide detector according to claim 1, wherein the pH indicator is metacresol purple (Skinner; see Table 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Moretti teaches the carbon dioxide detector according to claim 1, wherein the water retention agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyhydric alcohol, a polyalkylene glycol, an acrylic polymer and cellulose (Skinner; see Table 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skinner.
Regarding claim 4, Skinner teaches the carbon dioxide detector according to claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of water to the carrier (water/carrier) is 0.7 to 1.0 (Skinner; see Table 2). In the alternative embodiment, Skinner teaches a total water composition of (water + tetrabutylammonium hydroxide + cresol red) 29.4% and a carrier composition of (hydrophilic silica + titatnium dioxide) 24.5% resulting in a ratio of 1.2. In re Boesch (205 USPQ 215) teaches the optimization of a result effective variable is ordinarily within the skill of the art. A result effective variable is one that has well known and predictable results. The choice of the mass ratio of water to the water retention agent is a result effective variable that gives the well-known and expected results of binding the dye (Skinner; para [91]. In the absence of a showing of unexpected results, the Office maintains the mass ratio of water to the water retention agent would have been within the skill of the art as optimization of a results effective variable. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substitute the compositions of Table 3 with the compositions of Table 2 as taught by Skinner as this is a known and suitable substitution for detecting carbon dioxide in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Regarding claim 5, Skinner teaches the carbon dioxide detector according to claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of water to the water retention agent (water/water retention agent) is 1.2 to 1.9 (Skinner; see Table 3). Skinner teaches a water composition of 37.9 as described above in claim 1 and a water retention agent composition of 40, which results in a ratio of 0.95. In re Boesch (205 USPQ 215) teaches the optimization of a result effective variable is ordinarily within the skill of the art. A result effective variable is one that has well known and predictable results. The choice of the mass ratio of water to the water retention agent is a result effective variable that gives the well-known and expected results of protecting the indicator material (Skinner; para [103]. In the absence of a showing of unexpected results, the Office maintains the mass ratio of water to the water retention agent would have been within the skill of the art as optimization of a results effective variable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed, 3/18/2026, have been considered and some of the arguments are found to be persuasive. However, those arguments are directed towards the claim amendments. The examiner notes that the previous prior art rejection is withdrawn and a new prior art rejection is applied to address the claim amendments
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796