DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 09/17/2025, claims 1, 10, 12, 16, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 4, 8, 9, and 17 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-16, and 18-20 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an opening and closing member” in claims 10, 11, 18, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al. (JP 2017189453A, cited on 10/17/20C22 IDS, hereinafter Oikawa), in view of Conrad (US 2018/0177358, cited on 10/17/2022 IDS) and Wang et al. (CN 110353559A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Oikawa discloses a station to which a cleaner is coupled, the cleaner including a dust bin, a body cover configured to selectively open and close a lower part of the dust bin (fig. 1 and Oikawa English translation, p. 2:14-17, cleaner system 1 comprises a vacuum cleaner 2 coupled to a dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station]; fig. 8 and p. 6:13-32, a dust collecting unit 7 of the cleaner 2 comprises a dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and a closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover] used for opening and closing the dust collecting unit), the station comprising:
a housing (fig. 13, a body of the dust collection device 3);
a coupling body disposed in the housing, the coupling body including a coupling surface to which the dust bin is coupled, the coupling body forming a predetermined angle with a ground (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 below, an upper surface of the dust collection device 3 disposed within a dust collection unit 43 forms a coupling body for the dust collecting unit 20 of the cleaner 2 to be coupled. The coupling body comprises a coupling surface. The surface has a predetermined angle with respect to a ground);
a separator disposed on the coupling surface and configured to separate the body cover from the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 below, fig. 20, and Oikawa English translation, p. 6:23-25, 9:1-8, an opening part 56 [corresponds to the recited separator] is disposed on the coupling surface and includes a release portion 55 [corresponds to the separating member] used for opening the closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover]); and
a dust storage unit disposed under the coupling body and disposed in the housing (fig. 13, a dust collection unit 41 [corresponds to the recited dust storage unit] is disposed in the housing of the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] under the coupling body),
wherein the coupling body includes a first guide part configured to be coupled to the outer surface of the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 below, a first guide part is formed with the coupling body and is coupled to the dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. The dust collecting unit 20 of the vacuum cleaner 2 is an entire bottom structure of the vacuum cleaner 2, thus an outer surface of the dust collecting unit 20 would couple to the first guide part of the duct collection device 3 when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3), but does not disclose a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin, the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of the dust bin being coupled to the first guide part, and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body.
Conrad teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, Conrad discloses a cleaning system comprises a cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] and a container [corresponds to the recited station]. When the cyclone bin assembly is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited driving unit] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]; ¶ 0239, A door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] is coupled to an outer surface of a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and couples a releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] to the dirt collection region 38),
the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of dust bin being coupled to the first guide part (figs. 1 and 17 and ¶ 0239, a separator comprises an actuator 130 and a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] separates a door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] coupled to the releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] which covers a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the dirt collection region 38 of cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to an upper end of a container 20. The second portion 134 is disposed at an upper part of the door closure member 37. The upper end of the container 20 does not include the first guide part. As discussed above, however, Oikawa teaches the first guide part and the outer surface of dust bin is coupled to the first guide part when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. Thus, combination of Conrad with Oikawa teaches the separating member couples the body cover to the dust bin when the outer surface of the dust bin couples to the first guide part), and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, when the cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited second driver] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa to provide the separator as taught by Conrad to open the bottom of the cleaner and remove dust from the cleaner without manually opening the cleaner bottom. Although Conrad discloses the actuator may be operated by a user, the activation of the release actuator can be done automatically since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04(III)
Oikawa as modified by Conrad does not disclose the separating member moves downward.
The separating member of Conrad moves horizontally to open the body cover. However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to move the separating member horizontally instead of downward to open the body cover of the cleaner. Applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produce any unexpected results or is critical to the design and it appears that the separating member of Conrad would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily make the separating member to move horizontally as long as it can open the body cover of the cleaner. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad still does not disclose the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body.
Wang teaches, in in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body (figs. 1-2 and Wang English translation, p. 3:1-12, a cleaner body 1 is coupled to a contacting chamber 23 of a charging device 2. The cleaner is connected to the charging device by gravity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad to provide the coupling of the dust bin to the coupling body by gravity as taught by Wang so that it prevents the cleaner from making incorrect contact with the station. It avoids the poor charging efficiency (Wang English translation, p. 3:8-12).
Annotated Oikawa Figure 13
Regarding claim 3, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a sensing unit configured to detect whether the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (Oikawa English translation, p. 12:8-11, the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] is provided with a sensor 60 that detects the vacuum cleaner 2 is placed on the dust collection unit 43 of the dust collection device 3).
Regarding claim 12, Oikawa discloses a station to which a cleaner is coupled, the cleaner including a dust bin, a body cover configured to selectively open and close a lower part of the dust bin, and a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin (fig. 1 and Oikawa English translation, p. 2:14-17, cleaner system 1 comprises a vacuum cleaner 2 coupled to a dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station]; fig. 8 and p. 6:13-32, a dust collecting unit 7 of the cleaner 2 comprises a dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and a closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover] used for opening and closing the dust collecting unit), the station comprising;
a housing (fig. 13, a body of the dust collection device 3);
a coupling body disposed in the housing, the coupling body including a coupling surface to which the dust bin is coupled, the coupling body forming a predetermined angle with a ground (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, an upper surface of the dust collection device 3 disposed within a dust collection unit 43 forms a coupling body for the dust collecting unit 20 of the cleaner 2 to be coupled. The coupling body comprises a coupling surface. The surface has a predetermined angle with respect to a ground);
a separator disposed on the coupling surface and configured to separate the body cover from the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, fig. 20, and Oikawa English translation, p. 6:23-25, 9:1-8, an opening part 56 [corresponds to the recited separator] is disposed on the coupling surface and includes a release portion 55 [corresponds to the separating member] used for opening the closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover]);
a dust storage unit disposed under the coupling body and disposed in the housing (fig. 13, a dust collection unit 41 [corresponds to the recited dust storage unit] is disposed in the housing of the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] under the coupling body);
a sensing unit disposed in the housing and configured to detect whether the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (Oikawa English translation, p. 12:8-11, the housing of the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] is provided with a sensor 60 that detects the vacuum cleaner 2 is placed on the dust collection unit 43 of the dust collection device 3); and
a fixing part disposed in the housing and configured to fix the cleaner when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (fig. 13 and Oikawa English translation, p. 8:34-35, an operation part 54 [corresponds to the recited fixing part] is provided on the upper surface of the dust collection device 3 within the dust collection unit 43; p. 9:25-32, when the dust collection unit 20 of the cleaner 2 is placed on the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station], the operation part 54 penetrates through hole 34 of the cleaner 2. Thus, it fixes the cleaner in place),
wherein the coupling body includes a first guide part configured to be coupled to the outer surface of the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, a first guide part is formed with the coupling body and is coupled to the dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. The dust collecting unit 20 of the vacuum cleaner 2 is an entire bottom structure of the vacuum cleaner 2, thus an outer surface of the dust collecting unit 20 would couple to the first guide part of the duct collection device 3 when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3), but does not disclose the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on outer surface of the dust bin being coupled to the first guide part, and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body.
Conrad teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, Conrad discloses a cleaning system comprises a cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] and a container [corresponds to the recited station]. When the cyclone bin assembly is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited driving unit] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]; ¶ 0239, A door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] is coupled to an outer surface of a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and couples a releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] to the dirt collection region 38),
the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of dust bin being coupled to the first guide part (figs. 1 and 17 and ¶ 0239, a separator comprises an actuator 130 and a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] separates a door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] coupled to the releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] which covers a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the dirt collection region 38 of cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to an upper end of a container 20. The second portion 134 is disposed at an upper part of the door closure member 37. The upper end of the container 20 does not include the first guide part. As discussed above, however, Oikawa teaches the first guide part and the outer surface of dust bin is coupled to the first guide part when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. Thus, combination of Conrad with Oikawa teaches the separating member couples the body cover to the dust bin when the outer surface of the dust bin couples to the first guide part), and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, when the cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited second driver] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa to provide the separator as taught by Conrad to open the bottom of the cleaner and remove dust from the cleaner without manually opening the cleaner bottom. Although Conrad discloses the actuator may be operated by a user, the activation of the release actuator can be done automatically since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04(III)
Oikawa as modified by Conrad does not disclose the separating member moves downward.
The separating member of Conrad moves horizontally to open the body cover. However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to move the separating member horizontally instead of downward to open the body cover of the cleaner. Applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produce any unexpected results or is critical to the design and it appears that the separating member of Conrad would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily make the separating member to move horizontally as long as it can open the body cover of the cleaner. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad still does not disclose the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body.
Wang teaches, in in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body (figs. 1-2 and Wang English translation, p. 3:1-12, a cleaner body 1 is coupled to a contacting chamber 23 of a charging device 2. The cleaner is connected to the charging device by gravity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad to provide the coupling of the dust bin to the coupling body by gravity as taught by Wang so that it prevents the cleaner from making incorrect contact with the station. It avoids the poor charging efficiency (Wang English translation, p. 3:8-12).
Regarding claim 16, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the first guide part is connected to the coupling surface and is formed in a shape corresponding to the outer surface of the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, the first guide part is connected to the coupling surface and is formed to accommodate a part of the dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]. The first guide part 122 of the instant application is shaped to accommodate a part of the dust bin).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa in view of Conrad and Wang, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above respectively, and in further view of Ejiri et al. (JP H09110103A, hereinafter Ejiri) and Gruber et al. (CN 106231969A, hereinafter Gruber).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang discloses the station as in the rejection of claims 1 and 12 respectively, wherein the predetermined angle is between 23 degrees and 30 degrees (Wang figs. 1-2 and Wang English translation, p. 3:1-12, the supporting plate 24 of the charging device has a predetermined angle (α) between 25 and 80 degrees. The Wang reference teaches a range of angle overlaps with the recited range of angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang to provide the recited predetermined angle as taught by Wang so that it prevents the cleaner from making incorrect contact with the station. It avoids the poor charging efficiency (Wang English translation, p. 3:8-12).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang does not disclose a lower surface of the dust bin is formed of a polycarbonate (PC) plastic material.
Ejiri teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a lower surface of the dust bin is formed of a PC plastic material (Ejiri English translation, p. 4:22-24, a dust container can be made from polycarbonate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lower surface of the dust bin of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang to be formed with PC as taught by Ejiri. It improves weight reduction, workability and ease of disposal (Ejiri English translation, p. 1:27-30).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Ejiri still does not disclose an upper surface of the coupling body is formed of a polyoxymethylene (POM) plastic material.
Gruber teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, an upper surface of the coupling body is formed of a POM plastic material (Gruber English translation, p. 4:29-30 and 17:36-38, components of a cleaning device can be made from POM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper surface of the coupling body to be formed with the POM plastic material as taught by Gruber. The POM provides low friction so that cleaning device
Claims 5-7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa in view of Conrad and Wang, as applied to claims 3 and 12 above respectively, and in further view of Furuta et al. (WO 2019054129A1, hereinafter Furuta).
Regarding claim 5, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose a fixing part configured to fix the cleaner when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body.
Furuta teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a fixing part configured to fix the cleaner when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (annotated Furuta fig. 13 below and Furuta English translation, p. 7:1-17, a base 61 [corresponds to the recited station] comprises a fixing part including a hook 64 used for fixing a cleaner body 2 is coupled to the base 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang to provide the fixing part as taught by Furuta in order to keep the cleaner in place securely when the cleaner is docked to a charging base so that charging of a cleaner battery is done without interruption (Furuta English translation, p. 4:19-21).
Annotated Furuta Fig. 13
Regarding claim 6, Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the fixing part includes a fixing member configured to fix both sides of a bottom surface of the cleaner (see annotated Furuta fig. 13 above and fig. 17, a pair of hooks 64 [correspond to the recited fixing member] is disposed to fix both sides of a bottom surface of the cleaner when the cleaner is docked to the base 61), and a fifth driver that is configured to move the fixing member up and down, and wherein the fifth driver moves the fixing member upward when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (Furuta, fig. 16(B) and Furuta English translation, p. 7:1-17, 8:4-6, a driving unit 51 [corresponds to the recited fifth driver] comprising a motor 71 moves the hook 64 upward when the cleaner is docked to the base. Furuta discloses lifting the cleaner vertically, however, as shown in fig. 16(B), hooking the cleaner on a horizontal surface on the base without lifting makes the cleaner to be fixed on the horizontal surface of the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta to provide the fifth driver for moving the fixing member as taught by Furuta. Because the driving unit can move the fixing member up and down, a clear approaching path is provided for the cleaner to move to the base or to move away from the base. Thus, the cleaner can move and charge effectively before and after cleaning.
Regarding claim 7, Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the coupling body includes a second guide part which is protruded upward from the coupling surface and corresponds to a width of the cleaner, wherein the fixing member is disposed on the second guide part, and wherein a width of the fixing member is formed to be smaller than a width of the second guide part (see annotated Furuta fig. 13 above, when the cleaner is docked to the base 61 [corresponds to the recited station], the cleaner is guided to a second guide part where the hook 64 [corresponds to the fixing member] is disposed on. A width of the hook is smaller than a width of the second guide part (represented by a width of a groove)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta to provide the second guide part as taught by Furuta to provide the cleaner a correction on the base so that a secure charging position is achieved.
Regarding claim 13, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 12, but does not disclose the fixing part includes a fixing member configured to fix both sides of a bottom surface of the cleaner and a fifth driver that is configured to move the fixing member up and down, and wherein, when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body, the fifth driver moves the fixing member upward.
Furuta teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the fixing part includes a fixing member configured to fix both sides of a bottom surface of the cleaner (see annotated Furuta fig. 13 above and fig. 17, as discussed in claim 6 above, a pair of hooks 64 [correspond to the recited fixing member] is disposed to fix both sides of a bottom surface of the cleaner when the cleaner is docked to the base 61), and a fifth driver that is configured to move the fixing member up and down, and wherein, when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body, the fifth driver moves the fixing member upward (Furuta, fig. 16(B) and Furuta English translation, p. 7:1-17, 8:4-6, a driving unit 51 [corresponds to the recited fifth driver] comprising a motor 71 moves the hook 64 upward when the cleaner is docked to the base. Furuta discloses lifting the cleaner vertically, however, as shown in fig. 16(B), hooking the cleaner on a horizontal surface on the base without lifting makes the cleaner to be fixed on the horizontal surface of the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta to provide the fifth driver for moving the fixing member as taught by Furuta. Because the driving unit can move the fixing member up and down, a clear approaching path is provided for the cleaner to move to the base or to move away from the base. Thus, the cleaner can move and charge effectively before and after cleaning.
Regarding claim 14, Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the coupling body includes the coupling surface to which a lower surface of the dust bin is coupled, and a second guide part which is protruded upward from the coupling surface and corresponds to a width of the cleaner, wherein the fixing member is disposed on the second guide part, and wherein a width of the fixing member is formed to be smaller than a width of the second guide part (see annotated Furuta fig. 13 above, as discussed in claim 7 above, when the cleaner is docked to the base 61 [corresponds to the recited station], the cleaner is guided to a second guide part where the hook 64 [corresponds to the fixing member] is disposed on. A width of the hook is smaller than a width of the second guide part (represented by a width of a groove)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Furuta to provide the second guide part as taught by Furuta to provide the cleaner a correction on the base so that a secure charging position is achieved.
Claims 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa in view of Conrad and Wang, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above respectively, and in further view of Miyamoto (US 5,013,343).
Regarding claim 10, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the coupling body includes an opening and closing member disposed under the body cover, the opening and closing member being configured to selectively open and close at least a portion of the coupling surface, and wherein, when the body cover is separated from the dust bin, the opening and closing member rotates to a first side by a weight of the body cover to communicate the dust bin and the dust storage unit.
Miyamoto teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the coupling body includes an opening and closing member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a hinged door shown in fig. 22 of the instant application) disposed under the body cover, the opening and closing member being configured to selectively open and close at least a portion of the coupling surface, and wherein, when the body cover is separated from the dust bin, the opening and closing member rotates to a first side by a weight of the body cover to communicate the dust bin and the dust storage unit (fig. 4 and col. 3:16-24, dust and waste collected by a dust collector is transported to a dust guide 26 and dropped to a bag 28. The dust guide 26 which is equivalent to the recited coupling body of the station comprises a hinged dust cover 27 [corresponds to the recited opening and closing member]. The dust cover 27 opens to a first side by pressure/weight to allow the dust to enter).
While Oikawa discloses the dust from cleaner 2 is transported to the dust collection portion 43 of the dust collection device 3 through a dust collection air passage 47 (Oikawa English translation, p. 10:20-22 and fig. 13), the air passage does not have a cover or lid which is equivalent to the recited opening and closing member. On the other hand, Miyamoto teaches, although the cleaning system does not have separate cleaner and station, the dust collection chamber has a hinged door which can be opened by pressure/weight. This hinged dust cover of Miyamoto can be combined with the collection device 3 of Oikawa to form a hinged door at the coupling surface of the collection device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling surface of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang to provide the opening and closing member as taught by Miyamoto so that a user does not have to open a door of the dust collection station to allow the dust of cleaner to be collected.
Regarding claim 18, Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang teaches the station as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the coupling body includes the coupling surface to which a lower surface of the dust bin is coupled (see annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, the coupling body of the station includes a coupling surface where a lower surface of the dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] of the cleaner is coupled), but does not disclose an opening and closing member disposed under the body cover, the opening and closing member being configured to selectively open and close at least a portion of the coupling surface, and wherein, when the body cover is separated from the dust bin, the opening and closing member rotates to a first side by a weight of the body cover to communicate the dust bin and the dust storage unit.
Miyamoto teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, an opening and closing member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a hinged door shown in fig. 22 of the instant application) disposed under the body cover, the opening and closing member being configured to selectively open and close at least a portion of the coupling surface, and wherein, when the body cover is separated from the dust bin, the opening and closing member rotates to a first side by a weight of the body cover to communicate the dust bin and the dust storage unit (fig. 4 and col. 3:16-24, dust and waste collected by a dust collector is transported to a dust guide 26 and dropped to a bag 28. The dust guide 26 which is equivalent to the recited coupling body of the station comprises a hinged dust cover 27 [corresponds to the recited opening and closing member]. The dust cover 27 opens to a first side by pressure/weight to allow the dust to enter).
While Oikawa discloses the dust from cleaner 2 is transported to the dust collection portion 43 of the dust collection device 3 through a dust collection air passage 47 (Oikawa English translation, p. 10:20-22 and fig. 13), the air passage does not have a cover or lid which is equivalent to the recited opening and closing member. On the other hand, Miyamoto teaches, although the cleaning system does not have separate cleaner and station, the dust collection chamber has a hinged door which can be opened by pressure/weight. This hinged dust cover of Miyamoto can be combined with the collection device 3 of Oikawa to form a hinged door at the coupling surface of the collection device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling surface of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Wang to provide the opening and closing member as taught by Miyamoto so that a user does not have to open a door of the dust collection station to allow the dust of cleaner to be collected.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Miyamoto teaches the station as in the rejection of claims 10 and 18 respectively, comprising a third driver that is configured to rotate the opening and closing member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a hinged door shown in fig. 22 of the instant application) to a second side when dust in the dust bin is removed, wherein, when the opening and closing member is rotated to the second side, the body cover is coupled to the dust bin by the opening and closing member (Miyamoto, fig. 4 and col. 3:16-24, a spring [corresponds to the recited third driver] rotates the dust cover 27 to a second side of a closed position by closing an opening 25a when there is no pressure/weigh to open the dust cover).
In combination of Oikawa and Miyamoto, if the dust cover 27 of Miyamoto is closed by the spring force, the opened closing body 37 of Oikawa should return to a closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad, Wang, and Miyamoto to provide the second/third driving unit as taught by Miyamoto in order to close the opening and closing member after disposal of dust into the station is completed. The driving unit keeps the door closed so that no dust escapes the station.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al. (JP 2017189453A, cited on 10/17/2022 IDS, hereinafter Oikawa), in view of Conrad (US 2018/0177358, cited on 10/17/2022 IDS), Wang et al. (CN 110353559A, hereinafter Wang) and Kwak et al. (KR 20180080646A, Kwak).
Regarding claim 20, Oikawa discloses a dust removal system (fig. 1 and Oikawa English translation, p. 2:14-17, cleaner system 1 comprises a dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] to be coupled with a vacuum cleaner 2) comprising:
a cleaner including a suction unit (fig. 4 and Oikawa English translation, p. 2:36, suction port 8 for sucking dust), a suction motor configured to generate a suction force that sucks air along the suction unit (fig. 4 and Oikawa English translation, p. 3:5-6, an electric blower 11 generates suction air flow), a dust separator configured to separate dust from air introduced through the suction unit (fig. 28 and Oikawa English translation, p. 4:1-4, a separation unit 19 separates the dust sucked from the suction port 8 from the air flow in the main body air passage), a dust bin configured to store the dust separated from the dust separator, a body cover configured to selectively open and close a lower part of the dust bin (fig. 8 and p. 6:13-32, a dust collecting unit 7 of the cleaner 2 comprises a dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and a closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover] used for opening and closing the dust collecting unit); and
a station including a housing (fig. 13, a body of the dust collection device 3),
a coupling body disposed in the housing, the coupling body including a coupling surface to which the dust bin is coupled (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, an upper surface of the dust collection device 3 disposed within a dust collection unit 43 forms a coupling body for the dust collecting unit 20 of the cleaner 2 to be coupled. The coupling body comprises a coupling surface),
a separator disposed on the coupling surface and configured to separate the body cover from the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, fig. 20, and Oikawa English translation, p. 6:23-25, 9:1-8, an opening part 56 [corresponds to the recited separator] is disposed on the coupling surface and includes a release portion 55 [corresponds to the separating member] used for opening the closing body 37 [corresponds to the recited body cover]), and
a dust storage unit which is disposed under the coupling body (fig. 13, a dust collection unit 41 [corresponds to the recited dust storage unit] is disposed in the dust collection device 3 [corresponds to the recited station] under the coupling body),
wherein the coupling body forms a predetermined angle with a ground (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, the coupling body comprises a coupling surface. The surface has a predetermined angle with respect to a ground),
wherein the coupling body includes a first guide part configured to be coupled to the outer surface of the dust bin (annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, a first guide part is formed with the coupling body and is coupled to the dust collecting unit 20 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. The dust collecting unit 20 of the vacuum cleaner 2 is an entire bottom structure of the vacuum cleaner 2, thus an outer surface of the dust collecting unit 20 would couple to the first guide part of the duct collection device 3 when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3), but does not disclose a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin, the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of the dust bin being coupled to the first guide part, and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body.
Conrad teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a coupling lever which is coupled to an outer surface of the dust bin and couples the body cover to the dust bin (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, Conrad discloses a cleaning system comprises a cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] and a container [corresponds to the recited station]. When the cyclone bin assembly is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited driving unit] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]; ¶ 0239, A door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] is coupled to an outer surface of a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] and couples a releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] to the dirt collection region 38),
the separator includes: a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of dust bin being coupled to the first guide part (figs. 1 and 17 and ¶ 0239, a separator comprises an actuator 130 and a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] separates a door closure member 37 [corresponds to the recited coupling lever] coupled to the releasing openable lower end 32 [corresponds to the recited body cover] which covers a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin] when the dirt collection region 38 of cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to an upper end of a container 20. The second portion 134 is disposed at an upper part of the door closure member 37. The upper end of the container 20 does not include the first guide part. As discussed above, however, Oikawa teaches the first guide part and the outer surface of dust bin is coupled to the first guide part when the vacuum cleaner 2 is disposed on the dust collection device 3. Thus, combination of Conrad with Oikawa teaches the separating member couples the body cover to the dust bin when the outer surface of the dust bin couples to the first guide part), and a second driver configured to move the separating member when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (fig. 17 and ¶ 0240-41, when the cyclone bin assembly 30 [corresponds to the recited cleaner] is coupled to the container, a release actuator 130 [corresponds to the recited second driver] activates a second portion 134 [corresponds to the recited separating member] to separate a lower end 32 of cyclone bin assembly [corresponds to the recited body cover] from a dirt collection region 38 [corresponds to the recited dust bin]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa to provide the separator as taught by Conrad to open the bottom of the cleaner and remove dust from the cleaner without manually opening the cleaner bottom. Although Conrad discloses the actuator may be operated by a user, the activation of the release actuator can be done automatically since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04(III)
Oikawa as modified by Conrad does not disclose the separating member moves downward.
The separating member of Conrad moves horizontally to open the body cover. However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to move the separating member horizontally instead of downward to open the body cover of the cleaner. Applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produce any unexpected results or is critical to the design and it appears that the separating member of Conrad would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily make the separating member to move horizontally as long as it can open the body cover of the cleaner. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad still does not disclose the cleaner includes a compression unit configured to move an inner space of the dust bin and compress the dust in the dust bin downward.
Kwak teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field, the cleaner includes a compression unit configured to move an inner space of the dust bin and compress the dust in the dust bin downward (fig. 37 and Kwak English translation, p. 40:15-17, a dust compression unit 56 reduces volume of dust stored inside a dust collection space [corresponds to the recited dust bin]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaner of Oikawa as modified by Conrad to provide the compression unit as taught by Kwak so that more dust can be collected in the dust bin (Kwak English translation, p. 40:16).
Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Kwak does not the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body.
Wang teaches, in in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the dust bin is configured to be slid by gravity and is coupled to the coupling body (figs. 1-2 and Wang English translation, p. 3:1-12, a cleaner body 1 is coupled to a contacting chamber 23 of a charging device 2. The cleaner is connected to the charging device by gravity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa as modified by Conrad and Kwak to provide the coupling of the dust bin to the coupling body by gravity as taught by Wang so that it prevents the cleaner from making incorrect contact with the station. It avoids the poor charging efficiency (Wang English translation, p. 3:8-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Oikawa, Conrad, and Wang do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the coupling body includes a first guide part configured to be coupled to the outer surface of the dust bin and a separating member which is disposed at an upper part of the coupling lever coupling the body cover to the dust bin based on the outer surface of the dust bin being coupled to the coupling body first guide part. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in the annotated Oikawa fig. 13 above, the first guide part is designated on the coupling surface of the dust collection device 3. The dust collecting unit 20 of Oikawa corresponds to the recited dust bin, and because the dust collecting unit 20 is the entire bottom structure of the cleaner 2, the first guide part would be configured to be coupled to the outer surface of the dust collecting unit 20.
Regarding the separator, Conrad teaches the separating member, the coupling lever, and the body cover. The amended claim language recites the separating member engages to open the body cover when the outer surface of the dust bin is coupled to the first guide part. Conrad does not disclose a coupling surface includes a first guide part. However, what Conrad teaches is when the cleaner is coupled to the station, the separating member engages the cleaner. The coupling of the first guide part and the outer surface of the dust bin is already taught by Oikawa. Thus, Oikawa as modified by Conrad teaches the coupling of the outer surface of the dust bin with the first guide part.
Next, Applicant argues Oikawa does not teach the separating member is placed above the coupling lever and the separating member moves downward. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The recited claim limitations are taught by Conrad. Conrad teaches the second portion 134 (separating member), which is disposed at an upper part of the door closure member 37 (coupling lever), activates the door closure member 37. In addition, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to move the separating member horizontally instead of downward to open the body cover of the cleaner. Applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produce any unexpected results or is critical to the design and it appears that the separating member of Conrad would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily make the separating member to move horizontally as long as it can open the body cover of the cleaner. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Applicant further argues Oikawa does not teach the power of the second driving unit is used to press the coupling lever. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the recited claim limitations, Conrad teaches the release actuator 130 (second driver) presses the door closure member 37 (coupling lever). It is done manually, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the station of Oikawa to provide the separator as taught by Conrad to open the bottom of the cleaner and remove dust from the cleaner without manually opening the cleaner bottom. Although Conrad discloses the actuator may be operated by a user, the activation of the release actuator can be done automatically since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04(III)
Applicant also argues Oikawa, Conrad, Wang, Furuta, and Miyamoto do not teach the cleaner station being tilted and the separation member is positioned to press the coupling lever only when at least a part of the outer surface of the dust bin is accommodated inside the cleaner station.
Applicant asserts it is difficult to change the design from Oikawa accordingly wherein the dust collector of Oikawa is arranged parallel to the ground.
Independent claims recite the coupling body forms a predetermined angle with a ground. The predetermined horizontal or any angle is the predetermined angle with respect to the ground. Regarding the predetermined angle being between 23 and 30 degrees recited in dependent claims, Wang teaches the cleaner can be coupled to the station with the recited predetermined angle (see fig. 2).
Applicant argues Wang does not disclose the opening of the cover as recited in the instant application. However, Wang is cited to teach the cleaner is coupled to the station at a predetermined angle. The opening of the cover is taught by Oikawa as modified by Conrad.
Applicant argues Furuta does not teach or suggest the angled coupling of the dust bin to the station and other claimed features. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Furuta is cited to teach a fixing part configured to fix the cleaner when the dust bin is coupled to the coupling body (see annotated Furuta fig. 13 above)
Applicant further argues Miyamoto fails to remedy the deficiencies of the other references because its dust cover is not arranged to face the dust bin of the dust collector. Although configuration of Miyamoto is different from that of the instant application, Miyamoto is cited to teach the opening of the dust cover by pressure or weight. It teaches a part of the recited claim limitations.
Applicant asserts the instant application presents the cleaner is coupled to the station along an angle while Oikawa and Conrad teach the cleaner and the station are coupled in parallel. Yet Oikawa and Conrad still teach the body cover of the cleaner opens as the cleaner is coupled to the station. The angled coupling between the cleaner and the station can be arranged as taught by Wang.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Finally, Applicant argues the term “an opening and closing member” does not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant explains the recited term is similar to the “reciprocating member” or the “eyeglass hanger member” which are ruled not invoking 35 U.S.C. §112(f) as stated in MPEP 2181(I)(A). However, the same MPEP section states a term does not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) if a person of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably discern from the claim language that the term is used not as generic term. Here, the opening and closing member may selectively open and close at least a portion of the coupling surface in various ways. The term “opening and closing member” would not allow a person of ordinary skill in the art could discern a particular way for the opening and closing member to work. Thus, the term is a generic placeholder without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
Conclusion
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723