DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 10/28/2025. Claims 12-15 and 17 have been
amended. Claims 1-11, 16, and 19-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-32 have been added. Claims 12-15, 17-18, and 21-32 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 10/28/2025 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-10), filed on 10/28/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 12 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Sun et al. US 2013/0182624 Al) is applied in the current rejection.
Regarding remarks in page 8 for independent claim 12, applicant asserts that Eshan does not disclose the selection of one of a first bundling pattern and a second bundling pattern based on a shorter of (i) a first time determined between the first bundling point and a scheduling request occasion and (ii) a second time determined between the second bundling point and the scheduling request occasion.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Ehsan et al. (US 2013/0021995 Al) discloses (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. the SR manager may determine a first SR opportunity that occurs after a time after the appropriate delay parameter value. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission. UE determines the transmit opportunity as the SR opportunity 614 occurring after a delay parameter. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, for example, the packet arrival 612, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0208]-[0209]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 12-15, 18, 21-24, 26-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
YANG et al. (US 2017/0208619 Al, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Ehsan et al. (US 2013/0021995 Al, hereafter “Ehsan”) and in further view of Sun et al. (US 2013/0182624 Al, hereafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses:
A method, comprising:
determining a first time between the first bundling point and a scheduling request (SR) occasion, the SR occasion occurring within an on duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
determining a second time between the second bundling point and the SR occasion (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern;
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern;
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ehsan teaches:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. the SR manager may determine a first SR opportunity that occurs after a time after the appropriate delay parameter value. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209]);
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. UE determines the transmit opportunity as the SR opportunity 614 occurring after a delay parameter. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, for example, the packet arrival 612, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209];
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2, corresponding to a delay for "good" and "bad"-channel conditions, respectively. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission. selecting a value for a configurable timer (tsR) for delaying transmission of SR. UE may find a time (tSEND-SR) for a first SR TX opportunity after the configurable delay period (tCURRENT+tSR), Ehsan: [0207], [0209] - [0215]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ehsan in order to further modify identifying a first and a second bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern and a second bundling pattern and selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern from the teachings of Ehsan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide techniques and apparatus for coordinating transmissions with the power saving schemes (Ehsan: [0007]).
Yet, Yang in view of Ehsan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of a device that transmits the at least two uplink data packets; and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of a device that transmits the at least two uplink data packets (a terminal can be identified as a terminal generally wishing to save battery. given the same amount of data to be transmitted, it is more energy efficient for the terminal to transmit the data in a single transmission as compared to apportioning the data over a plurality of transmissions. battery-saving for a terminal is performed by having the scheduler of the eNodeB either by estimation at the eNodeB or by receiving such information from the termina. battery life can be prolonged at the expense of lower QoS. Sun: [0020], [0032], [0046]-[0047]); and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern (transmission of the scheduled data packets of each terminal is prioritized on the basis of a combination of the estimated packet delay for any queued data packet and the number of packets queued. if either or both of the thresholds are exceeded, the scheduler schedules, for each terminal, the data packets of each queue for transmission as a respective single bundle of data. Sun: [0013], [0033], [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang and Ehsan in view of Sun in order to further modify bundling at least two uplink data packets together is determined based on a power level of a device and transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to further improve energy efficiency in that a single-bundle transmission which can be sent over a channel of good quality will require less power output from the terminal (Sun: [0015]).
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising (Yang: Fig. 5):
Memory (apparatus for wireless communication and includes a memory, Yang: [0008]);
a transceiver (The apparatus includes a processing system coupled to a transceiver, Yang: [0074]); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE to perform operations, the operations comprising (The processing system includes a processor coupled to a non-transitory computer readable medium. The processor is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium, Yang: [0074]):
determining a first time between the first bundling point and a scheduling request (SR) occasion, the SR occasion occurring within an on duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
determining a second time between the second bundling point and the SR occasion (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern;
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern;
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ehsan teaches:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. the SR manager may determine a first SR opportunity that occurs after a time after the appropriate delay parameter value. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209]);
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. UE determines the transmit opportunity as the SR opportunity 614 occurring after a delay parameter. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, for example, the packet arrival 612, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209];
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2, corresponding to a delay for "good" and "bad"-channel conditions, respectively. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission. selecting a value for a configurable timer (tsR) for delaying transmission of SR. UE may find a time (tSEND-SR) for a first SR TX opportunity after the configurable delay period (tCURRENT+tSR), Ehsan: [0207], [0209] - [0215]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ehsan in order to further modify identifying a first and a second bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern and a second bundling pattern and selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern from the teachings of Ehsan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide techniques and apparatus for coordinating transmissions with the power saving schemes (Ehsan: [0007]).
Yet, Yang in view of Ehsan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of the UE that transmits the at least two uplink data packets; and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of the UE that transmits the at least two uplink data packets (a terminal can be identified as a terminal generally wishing to save battery. given the same amount of data to be transmitted, it is more energy efficient for the terminal to transmit the data in a single transmission as compared to apportioning the data over a plurality of transmissions. battery-saving for a terminal is performed by having the scheduler of the eNodeB either by estimation at the eNodeB or by receiving such information from the termina. battery life can be prolonged at the expense of lower QoS. Sun: [0020], [0032], [0046]-[0047]); and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern (transmission of the scheduled data packets of each terminal is prioritized on the basis of a combination of the estimated packet delay for any queued data packet and the number of packets queued. if either or both of the thresholds are exceeded, the scheduler schedules, for each terminal, the data packets of each queue for transmission as a respective single bundle of data. Sun: [0013], [0033], [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang and Ehsan in view of Sun in order to further modify bundling at least two uplink data packets together is determined based on a power level of a device and transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to further improve energy efficiency in that a single-bundle transmission which can be sent over a channel of good quality will require less power output from the terminal (Sun: [0015]).
Regarding claim 27, Yang discloses:
A baseband processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising (The processing system includes a processor coupled to a non-transitory computer readable medium. The processor is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium, Yang: [0074]):
determining a first time between the first bundling point and a scheduling request (SR) occasion, the SR occasion occurring within an on duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
determining a second time between the second bundling point and the SR occasion (When the UE determines that the serving base station supports uplink pre-scheduling, the UE adjusts (e.g.,delays) sending the scheduling request. UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion. when the data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE, the UE delays sending of the scheduling request for the grant. UE adjusts the sending of the scheduling request based on power headroom of the UE. The power headroom of the UE indicates how much transmission power is left for a UE to use in addition to the power being used by current transmission, Yang: [0054], [0057], [0060], [0070] - [0072]);
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern;
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern;
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ehsan teaches:
identifying a first bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. the SR manager may determine a first SR opportunity that occurs after a time after the appropriate delay parameter value. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209]);
identifying a second bundling point for bundling the at least two uplink data packets according to a second bundling pattern that is different from the first bundling pattern (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2. UE determines the transmit opportunity as the SR opportunity 614 occurring after a delay parameter. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission, for example, the packet arrival 612, Ehsan: Fig. 6, [0207]-[0209];
selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern for bundling the at least two uplink data packets based on a shorter of the first time and the second time (the SR manager may provide two configurable parameters, referring herein as tsR 1 and tsR 2, corresponding to a delay for "good" and "bad"-channel conditions, respectively. UE may bundle any new data packets that may have arrived in the intervening period comprising the delayed SR transmission. selecting a value for a configurable timer (tsR) for delaying transmission of SR. UE may find a time (tSEND-SR) for a first SR TX opportunity after the configurable delay period (tCURRENT+tSR), Ehsan: [0207], [0209] - [0215]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ehsan in order to further modify identifying a first and a second bundling point for bundling at least two uplink data packets according to a first bundling pattern and a second bundling pattern and selecting the first bundling pattern or the second bundling pattern from the teachings of Ehsan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide techniques and apparatus for coordinating transmissions with the power saving schemes (Ehsan: [0007]).
Yet, Yang in view of Ehsan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of a device that comprises the baseband processor and transmits the at least two uplink data packets; and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches:
wherein a number of the at least two uplink data packets bundled together is determined based on a power level of a device that comprises the baseband processor and transmits the at least two uplink data packets (a terminal can be identified as a terminal generally wishing to save battery. given the same amount of data to be transmitted, it is more energy efficient for the terminal to transmit the data in a single transmission as compared to apportioning the data over a plurality of transmissions. battery-saving for a terminal is performed by having the scheduler of the eNodeB either by estimation at the eNodeB or by receiving such information from the termina. battery life can be prolonged at the expense of lower QoS. Sun: [0020], [0032], [0046]-[0047]); and
transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern (transmission of the scheduled data packets of each terminal is prioritized on the basis of a combination of the estimated packet delay for any queued data packet and the number of packets queued. if either or both of the thresholds are exceeded, the scheduler schedules, for each terminal, the data packets of each queue for transmission as a respective single bundle of data. Sun: [0013], [0033], [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang and Ehsan in view of Sun in order to further modify bundling at least two uplink data packets together is determined based on a power level of a device and transmitting the at least two uplink data packets based on the selected bundling pattern from the teachings of Sun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to further improve energy efficiency in that a single-bundle transmission which can be sent over a channel of good quality will require less power output from the terminal (Sun: [0015]).
Regarding claims 13, 22 and 28, Yang-Ehsan-Sun teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 12, 21 and 27 above.
Yang further discloses:
The method of claim 12, wherein the at least two data packets comprise voice data packets (during the wireless communications, such as the voice over internet protocol calls, voice packet arrivals may exhibit traffic characteristics that are discontinuous, Yang: [0044]).
Regarding claims 14, 23 and 29, Yang-Ehsan-Sun teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 12, 21 and 27 above.
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first bundling pattern comprises bundling an earlier-arriving packet of the at least two data packets with a later-arriving packet of the at least two packets, and wherein the first bundling point comprises an arrival time of the later-arriving packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ehsan teaches:
wherein the first bundling pattern comprises bundling an earlier-arriving packet of the at least two data packets with a later-arriving packet of the at least two packets, and wherein the first bundling point comprises an arrival time of the later-arriving packet (selecting a value for a configurable timer for delaying transmission of SR, based on channel conditions, Ehsan: [0211] - [0215]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ehsan in order to further modify comprising the first bundling pattern from the teachings of Ehsan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide techniques and apparatus for coordinating transmissions with the power saving schemes (Ehsan: [0007]).
Regarding claims 15, 24 and 30, Yang-Ehsan-Sun teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 12, 21 and 27 above.
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first bundling pattern comprises bundling a later-arriving packet of the at least two data packets with an earlier-arriving packet of the at least two packets, and wherein the first bundling point comprises an arrival time of the earlier-arriving packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ehsan teaches:
wherein the first bundling pattern comprises bundling a later-arriving packet of the at least two data packets with an earlier-arriving packet of the at least two packets, and wherein the first bundling point comprises an arrival time of the earlier-arriving packet (selecting a value for a configurable timer for delaying transmission of SR, based on channel conditions, Ehsan: [0211] - [0215]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ehsan in order to further modify comprising the first bundling pattern from the teachings of Ehsan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide techniques and apparatus for coordinating transmissions with the power saving schemes (Ehsan: [0007]).
Regarding claims 18, 26 and 32, Yang-Ehsan-Sun teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 12, 21 and 27 above.
Yang further discloses:
delaying transmission of a SR during a time period that begins at the first bundling point and continues for the first time (UE adjusts (e.g., delays) sending the scheduling request. in a next DRX on period, a serving cell may allocate an uplink grant without receiving a scheduling request from the UE. if no grant is allocated, the UE sends the scheduling request in the next DRX on period during the next scheduling request occasion, and receives the uplink grant based on the scheduling request, Yang: [0057]).
Claims 17, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Ehsan-Sun
and in further view of Kumar et al. (US 2023/0007640 Al, hereafter “Kumar”).
Regarding claims 17, 25 and 31, Yang-Ehsan-Sun teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 21 and 27 above.
Yang-Ehsan-Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a number of the at least two data packets bundled together is determined based on a multiple-subscriber identification module (SIM) configuration of a device that transmits the at least two data packets.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches:
wherein a number of the at least two data packets bundled together is determined based on a multiple-subscriber identification module (SIM) configuration of a device that transmits the at least two data packets (UE exchanging data packets (e.g., during a voice call) with another device, such as another UE, on a subscription for a first SIM of the multiple SIMS during a communication session, Kumar: [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang-Ehsan-Sun in view of Kumar in order to further modify a number of the data packets is determined based on a multiple-subscriber identification module (SIM) configuration of the device from the teachings of Kumar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may have improved device performance by improving resource allocation (Kumar: [0104]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 January 15, 2026