31DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 11-13-2025 was received. Claims 1, 4-7, 13-17, 19 were amended. Claims 2-3, 8-12, 18, and 20-34 were cancelled. Claims 13-17, and 19 are withdrawn. Claims 1 4-7 are examined in this action.
Claims 13-17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 13-17 and 19 should be labeled “withdrawn.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0133559 to Sargeant in view of US 2009/0071017 to Gehret.
In re Claim 1, Sargeant teaches a plunge saw (see e.g., Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a motor (see e.g., Fig. 11, motor #24) including a motor shaft configured to rotate about a shaft rotational axis (see Fig. 11, motor spindle #31); and
an arbor (see e.g., Fig. 11, #32/33) configured to operatively attach a circular saw blade (see e.g., Fig. 1-2, #34 and Para. 0054) having a blade diameter to the plunge saw (see Fig. 2, blade #34 has a diameter) and to receive a torque from the motor when the motor shaft rotates about the shaft rotational axis (see Par. 0054), wherein the arbor is configured to rotate about an arbor rotational axis, and further wherein the arbor rotational axis is parallel to the shaft rotational axis (see Fig. 11, the axis bout which #32/33 is offset from the axis of #31);
wherein the plunge saw has a maximum depth-of-cut (see Fig.6, showing the plunge saw have a maximum depth),
wherein the plunge saw further includes a workpiece support (see Fig. 3, foot plate #14) configured to position a workpiece and the plunge saw relative to one another when the workpiece is cut by the plunge saw (see Fig. 3, #14 locates the saw above workpiece #28), wherein the workpiece support includes a base plate (see Fig. 1, #14 is a base plate) that defines an arbor-facing side and an arbor-opposed side (see Fig. 3, #14 has an arbor-facing side “upward” and an arbor-opposed side “downward.”);
wherein the arbor is operatively attached to the arbor-facing side of the base plate via a base plate pivot (see Fig. 7, #22/52) and the arbor-facing side of the base plate faces toward the arbor such that the arbor is configured to pivot relative to the base plate during a cutting operation throughout a range of orientations which are bounded by a fully plunged orientation corresponding to the maximum depth-of-cut and a fully retracted orientation (see Fig. 6, illustrating the range of movement of the blade between a fully retracted position and a fully plunge position); and
wherein the plunge saw further includes a blade guard (see Figs. 1-3, #16) mounted on the base plate so that the saw blade pivots out of the blade guard when the saw blade pivots from the fully retracted position to the fully plunged position (see Figs. 1-2, in view of Fig. 6).
Sargeant does not teach wherein a ratio of the maximum depth-of-cut to the blade diameter is at least 0.35 and at most 0.45.
However, Gehret teaches that it is known to provide a saw with an increased depth of cut, such that for a circular saw blade diameter of 7.3 inches the depth of cut is 3.0 inches (see Gehret, abstract). 3.0 inches divided by 7.3 inches equals 0.41095.
In the same field of invention, circular saws with shoes/base plates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the depth of cut of Sargeant to be 3.0 inches for a 7.3 diameter blade (or a ratio of 0.41095). Doing so allows the saw to be more versatile in that the user can cut workpieces of larger depth without requiring a larger saw.
In re Claim 4, modified Sargeant, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the arbor is distinct from the motor shaft (see Sargeant, Fig. 11 showing #24 distinct from #32/33) and is configured to operatively engage with the motor shaft to receive the torque from the motor shaft (see Sargeant, Fig. 11, #31/33, the motor spindle is connected to the spindle arrangement #33 by a gear on the spindle arrangement and a gear on the motor spindle – see Para. 0054).
In re Claim 5, modified Sargeant, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the arbor includes an arbor gear (see Sargeant, Fig. 11, the gear of #33 on which motor spindle interacts – see also Para. 0054), wherein the motor shaft includes a shaft gear (see Sargeant, Fig. 11, # gear at #31), and further wherein the shaft gear is configured to interface with the arbor gear to convey the torque from the motor shaft to the arbor (see Sargeant, Para. 0054).
In re Claim 6, modified Sargeant, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the arbor gear is positioned between the shaft gear and the workpiece support (see Sargeant, Fig. 11, gear associated with #33 is between gear #31 and the workpiece support #14).
In re Claim 7, modified Sargeant, in re Clam 1, teaches wherein the arbor rotational axis extends directly between the shaft rotational axis and the workpiece support (see Sargeant, Fig. 11, gear associated with #33 is between gear #31 and the workpiece support #14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724