DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed on Nov. 6, 2025, the applicants have elected compound ML 349 as inhibitor of enzyme LYPLA2 (see claim 10) as specific species for further examination.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 4-8 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In independent claim 1, specific inhibitors as well as the specific enzymes that regulate the S-palmitoylation, are not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Haag (Nature, cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Haag discloses small molecules as inhibitors of STING proteins. Haag also teaches that small molecules reduce STING-mediated inflammatory cytokine production and attenuate pathological features of autoinflammatory disease in mice (see abstract). Attenuation of CMA (an agonist of STING)-induced palmitoylation by small molecule C-178 (see page 270, right column, 1st paragraph) disclosed by Haag anticipates the instant claims when inhibitor is a small molecule in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 3, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turcotte (J. Leukocyte Biol.) in view of Adibekian (Molec. Librar., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Turcotte discloses LYPLA2 enzyme hydolyzes metabolite PGE2-G of 2-AG (see table 1 on page 1338). Turcotte also teaches that blocking 2-AG hydrolysis in humans will likely abrogate the ability of human leukocytes to degrade 2-AG and its metabolites and increase their anti-inflammatory effects in vivo (see last three lines of abstract). Turcotte meets all the limitations of instant claims except that Turcotte does not teach that compound ML 349 is a specific inhibitor of enzyme LYPLA2. However, Adibekian teaches ML 349 as specific inhibitor of LYPLA2 (see page 1) and also teaches that ML 349 will be a highly successful probe for biochemical investigation of human and/or mice LYPLA2 (see discussion in paragraphs 4 and 4.1 on pages 33-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use ML349 to inhibit LYPLA2 in order to have anti-inflammatory effect by hydrolyzing metabolite PGE2-G of 2-AG with reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 1, 9 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 37 and 41-42 of copending Application No. 18/562,243 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat inflammatory and autoimmune diseases by inhibitors of enzyme that regulates S-palmotylation of STAT 3 with reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
IMPROPER MARKUSH GROUP
13. Claims 1, 3, 9 and 12-14 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of claims 1, 3, 9 and 12-14 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: The structure of compound ML 349 is very different from the structures of compounds, 2-bromopalmitic acid, cerulenin, tunicamycin and nucleic acids (see page 16 of lnstant specification) and furthermore, compound ML 349 inhibits enzyme LYPLA2 while other compounds and nucleic acids inhibit different enzymes to acheive anti-inflammatory effect.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621