Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 23 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The groups of inventions (Group 1, claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 21-22; Group 2, claim 23) do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups 1-2 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the imaging system of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Fan et al. (WO 2018125925 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04/26/2024) as discussed in detail below in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 23 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 21-23 remain pending in the application. Claims 23 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (WO 2018125925 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04/26/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches an imaging system (abstract; Fig. 19) comprising:
a laser cavity (Fig. 19, scanning cavity 254) configured to receive a biological sample (interpreted as a functional limitation of the cavity, MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], shows cavity 254 receiving tissue sample 264; note that “biological sample” is not positively recited structurally), the biological sample is treated with a fluorophore (note that the biological sample and fluorophore are not positively recited structurally; paragraph [0103] teaches tissue samples are stained or labeled with fluorophores), wherein the laser cavity (Fig. 19, scanning cavity 254) is defined by a first mirror (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], second reflection surface 262, i.e. top mirror) and a second mirror (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], first reflection surface 260, i.e. bottom mirror) and the biological sample is disposed between the first mirror and the second mirror (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], tissue sample 264 is between mirrors 260,262);
an excitation light source (Fig. 19, laser 252) configured to direct energy at the laser cavity causing an emission from the biological sample (interpreted as a functional limitation of the light source, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119]), the emission simultaneously including a laser emission at a first spectral band and a fluorescence emission at a second spectral band (interpreted as a functional limitation of the light source, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach detection of multiplexed emissions from the sample, therefore the light source is capable of causing simultaneously emission as claimed; [0075] teaches concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample; [0139],[0141] teaches simultaneous acquisition of laser emission and bright field imaging; note that the biological sample is not positively recited structurally);
a first detector (Fig. 19, CCD 274) configured to measure the laser emission generated by the biological sample (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach the CCD 274 measures laser emission from the sample, i.e. LEM image);
a second detector (Fig. 19, spectrometer 278) configured to measure the fluorescence emission generated by the biological sample (paragraph [0200] teaches emission light is analyzed by the spectrometer, thus is capable of measuring fluorescence emission from the sample);
a splitter (Fig. 19, beam splitters 280) configured to direct the laser emission to the first detector and the fluorescence emission to the second detector (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teaches multiplexed emissions from at least two distinct fluorophores from tissue sample 264 are detected since the emission are directed to CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 via beam splitters 280; Fig. 19 shows emissions from tissue sample 264 are directed to CCD imager unit 274 and spectrometer 278 by the beam splitters 280 and the CCD detecting a LEM image, i.e. laser emission microscopy image); and
a controller (Fig. 19, computer processing unit 258) interfaced with the excitation light source, the first detector, and the second detector (paragraph [0102] teaches detectors are outputted to a computer processing unit; paragraph [0172] teaches control of laser signals; therefore, it is inherent that the controller interfaces the light source and detectors in order for the system to properly control and receive information from the light source and detectors),
wherein a reflectivity of the first mirror (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], second reflection surface 262, i.e. top mirror) is greater than a first threshold within the first spectral band (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach the reflectivity of the second reflection surface around the lasing emission wavelength 535-555nm is 99.80%, which is interpreted as greater than a threshold within the first spectral band; paragraph [0094] teaches reflectivity of the second reflection surface for a select wavelength or range of wavelengths) so as to allow the first detector to detect the laser emission (interpreted as an intended use, MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 shows the reflectivity of the second reflection surface 262 allows laser emission to be detected by CCD 271; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach the CCD 274 measures laser emission from the sample, i.e. LEM image), and a transmission of the first mirror is above a second threshold within the second spectral band (paragraph [0198] teaches the top mirror has a high transmission for light to pass through; paragraph [0139] teaches other bands of wavelengths, such as greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror; paragraph [0094] teaches the second reflection surface has a transmissivity and concurrently permits a distinct wavelength or range of wavelengths to transmit and pass therethrough; therefore, the first mirror, i.e. top mirror, has a transmission above a threshold within a second spectral band) so as to allow the second detector to detect the fluorescence emission (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0198] teaches the top mirror has a high transmission for light to pass through, and emission light is directed towards the spectrometer 278, therefore is capable of detecting fluorescence emission) such that the first detector and the second detector are able to simultaneously measure the generated laser emission and fluorescent emission from the biological sample (Fig. 19 and [0075],[0139],[0141] teach concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278; paragraph [0198] teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission; paragraph [0139] teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror; therefore the CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are simultaneously capable of measuring laser emission within the first spectral band and fluorescent emission from a biological sample within the second spectral band).
Note that “biological sample” and “fluorophore” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“biological sample” and “fluorophore”) worked upon by a structure (laser cavity; first mirror; second mirror; excitation light source; first detector; second detector; splitter; controller) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The system of Fan is identical to the presently claimed structure. Fan discloses the claimed laser cavity defined by a first and second mirror, an excitation light source, a first detector, a second detector, a splitter, and a controller as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Moreover, Fan teaches concurrent, i.e. simultaneous, acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]); teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission (paragraph [0198]); and teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror (paragraph [0139]). Thus, the structures of first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
Regarding claim 3, Fan further teaches wherein the first mirror is arranged parallel to the second mirror (Fig. 19 teaches the second reflection surface 262 is parallel to the first reflection surface 260).
Regarding claim 6, note that the “biological sample” and therefore “first spectral band” and “second spectral band” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“biological sample”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Fan teaches an excitation light source (Fig. 19, laser 252) configured to direct energy at the laser cavity causing an emission from the biological sample (interpreted as a functional limitation of the light source, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119]), the emission including a laser emission at a first spectral band and a fluorescence emission at a second spectral band (interpreted as a functional limitation of the light source, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach detection of multiplexed emissions from the sample, therefore the light source is capable of causing an emission as claimed; note that the biological sample is not positively recited structurally). Therefore, the laser is capable of causing an emission of a biological sample wherein the first spectral band is between 524 nm and 570 nm, and the second spectral band is greater than 590 nm at a later time. Note that Fan teaches obtaining laser emission images, fluorescent images, and bright field images (paragraph [0141]).
Additionally, Fan teaches the reflectivity of the second reflection surface around the lasing emission wavelength 535-555nm (paragraph [0120]) and other bands of wavelengths, such as greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror (paragraph [0139]). Therefore, Fan’s first mirror (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], second reflection surface 262, i.e. top mirror) has a reflectivity greater than a first threshold within the first spectral band of between 524 nm and 570 nm (paragraph [0120], 535-555 nm), and a transmission above a second threshold within the second spectral band of greater than 590 nm (paragraph [0139], greater than 550 nm, which includes greater than 590 nm).
Regarding claim 8, Fan further teaches the imaging system of claim 1, further comprising: a motorized stage (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119], scanning stage 256), wherein the laser cavity is disposed on the motorized stage (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 9, Fan further teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 19, computer processing unit 254) further interfaces with the motorized stage (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0119]) and the controller is configured to adjust a position of the laser cavity relative to the excitation light source using the motorized stage (Fig. 19, paragraph [0119]).
Regarding claim 10, Fan further teaches wherein the controller is configured to align a first location of the laser cavity with the excitation light source, and subsequently, to align a second location of the laser cavity with the excitation light source (paragraphs [0119]-[0120] teaches the scanning stage can be translated or moved, thus translating the scanning cavity with respect to the laser source; paragraph [0145] teaches generating a two-dimension scan of the tissue sample; therefore, the controller is configured to align the cavity with the light source at at least two locations subsequently for scanning of the tissue sample).
Regarding claim 11, Fan further teaches wherein the splitter is a first splitter (Fig. 19, first beam splitter 280 below CCD 274) and the imaging system further comprises: at least one of a beam expansion lens set (not required due to “at least one”), a mirror (not required due to “at least one”), a mirror scanning system (not required due to “at least one”), a scanning lens set (not required due to “at least one”), a second splitter (Fig. 19, second beam splitter 280 below element 282), and an objective lens (Fig. 19, objective lens 284) configured to direct the energy at the laser cavity (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 12, Fan further teaches wherein the splitter is a first splitter (Fig. 19, second beam splitter 280 below element 282) and the imaging system further comprises: at least one of a second splitter (Fig. 19, first beam splitter 280 below CCD 274), a tube lens (not required due to “at least one”), and an objective lens (Fig. 19, objective lens 284) configured to direct the emission to the first splitter (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 21, Fan further teaches the imaging system of claim 1, comprising the biological sample treated with a fluorophore (paragraph [0103] teaches tissue samples are stained or labeled with fluorophores).
Regarding claim 22, Fan further teaches wherein:
the first detector (Fig. 19, CCD 274) is configured to provide measurement information of the laser emission to the controller (Fig. 19 teaches CCD 274 obtaining a LEM image; paragraph [0102] teaches detectors are outputted to a computer processing unit; therefore, the CCD 274 is implied to be configured to provide measurement information of the laser emission to the controller for analysis); and
the second detector (Fig. 19, spectrometer 278) is configured to provide measurement information of the fluorescence emission to the controller (paragraph [0120] teaches the spectrometer receiving and detecting emissions from each fluorophore and paragraph [0102] detectors are outputted to a computer processing unit; therefore, the CCD 274 is implied to be configured to provide measurement information of the fluorescence emission to the controller for analysis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Engelhardt et al. (US 20020027202 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04/26/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Fan further teaches wherein the splitter (Fig. 19, beam splitters 280) is configured to separate the fluorescence emission and the laser emission included in the emission from the biological sample (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teaches the beam splitters 280 separate and direct laser emission and fluorescence emission to the CCD and spectrometer respectively).
Fan fails to explicitly teach the splitter is a dichroic mirror.
Engelhardt teaches an apparatus for detection of fluorescent light in scanning microscopy (abstract). Engelhardt teaches a canning mirror 9, mounted tiltably and configured as a dichroic beam splitter, reflects the three partial illuminating beams 8 and deflects them as a result of the tilting, so that specimen 1 can be scanned by the deflection of scanning mirror 9 (Fig. 1; paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the splitter of Fan to incorporate the teachings of a dichroic mirror of Engelhardt (Fig. 1; paragraph [0041]) to provide: the splitter is a dichroic mirror. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known beam splitters for improving reflecting and deflecting desired wavelengths towards optical components.
Regarding claim 7, Fan fails to explicitly teach wherein the excitation light source is configured to perform at least one of single-photon excitation and multi-photon excitation.
Engelhardt teaches an apparatus for detection of fluorescent light in scanning microscopy using multi-photon excitation (abstract). Engelhardt teaches the invention provides a method so that the fluorescent photon yield of the fluorescing materials that are excited to fluoresce by multi-photon excitation is optimized or increased in order to enable optimum specimen detection (paragraph [0006]). Engelhardt teaches a lasers as the light source for multi-photon excitation of fluorescing materials (paragraphs [0027]-[0031]). Engelhardt teaches in very particularly advantageous fashion, to prevent saturation of the excitation of fluorescing materials at a single specimen point, provision is made for simultaneous illumination or excitation of multiple specimen regions; wherein in this fashion, the excitation light output made available by the light source to the multi-photon light source can be distributed simultaneously to multiple specimen points, so that the fluorescing materials located there are simultaneously excited to fluoresce (paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the excitation light source of Fan to incorporate the teachings of fluorescent scanning microscopy using multi-photon excitation of Engelhardt (abstract; paragraphs [0006],[0027]-[0031],[0033]) to provide: wherein the excitation light source is configured to perform at least one of single-photon excitation and multi-photon excitation. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing or increasing specimen detection as discussed by Engelhardt (paragraphs [0006],[0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 6, filed 10/09/2026, with respect to new claim 21, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of the new claim, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Fan et al. (WO 2018125925 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04/26/2024). Regarding the limitation of claim 21, Fan further teaches the imaging system of claim 1, comprising the biological sample treated with a fluorophore (paragraph [0103] teaches tissue samples are stained or labeled with fluorophores).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-10, filed 10/09/2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), specifically regarding amended claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Fan fails to teach simultaneous emissions and measurements of laser emission and fluorescence emission (Remarks, pages 6-10), the examiner disagrees.
Fan teaches:
the emission simultaneously including a laser emission at a first spectral band and a fluorescence emission at a second spectral band (interpreted as a functional limitation of the light source, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 19 and paragraph [0120] teach detection of multiplexed emissions from the sample, therefore the light source is capable of causing simultaneously emission as claimed; [0075] teaches concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample; [0139],[0141] teaches simultaneous acquisition of laser emission and bright field imaging; note that the biological sample is not positively recited structurally); and
such that the first detector and the second detector are able to simultaneously measure the generated laser emission and fluorescent emission from the biological sample (Fig. 19 and [0075],[0139],[0141] teach concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278; paragraph [0198] teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission; paragraph [0139] teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror; therefore the CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are simultaneously capable of measuring laser emission within the first spectral band and fluorescent emission from a biological sample within the second spectral band)
Therefore, Fan teaches an imaging system structurally capable of simultaneous measurements of laser emission and fluorescence emission as claimed.
Additionally, note that “biological sample” and “fluorophore” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“biological sample” and “fluorophore”) worked upon by a structure (laser cavity; first mirror; second mirror; excitation light source; first detector; second detector; splitter; controller) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The system of Fan is identical to the presently claimed structure. Fan discloses the claimed laser cavity defined by a first and second mirror, an excitation light source, a first detector, a second detector, a splitter, and a controller as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Moreover, Fan teaches concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]); teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission around 465 nm (paragraph [0198]); and teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror (paragraph [0139]). Thus, the structure of first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that paragraph [0075] is misleading and does not provide that fluorescence, bright field, and laser emission images are measured simultaneously (Remarks, page 7), the examiner disagrees.
Paragraph [0075] states: “Figures 20A-20G illustrate concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and lasing emission images from the same tissue sample in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. Figure 20A is a fluorescent microscopic image of a tissue sample. Figure 20B is a bright field CCD image of the same tissue sample. Figure 20C is a lasing emission CCD image of the same tissue sample. Laser is only pumped within the dashed square regions in Figures 20B-20C. The bottom-left squares in Figures 20A and 20C show enlarged images of the dashed squares in respective images. For a detailed comparison, Figures 20D and 20E show an intensity profile along the lines in images in Figures 20A and 20C, respectively. Scale bars, 30 μm. Figures 20F and 20G provide another example showing lasing star emissions from a tissue sample. Figure 20F shows pure lasing emission imaging, while Figure 20G shows simultaneous acquisition of lasing emission and bright field imaging.”
Therefore, while paragraph [0075] does further describe each of the figures 20A-20G, and that the specific figure 20G “shows simultaneous acquisition of lasing emission and bright field imaging”, the teaching of “concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and lasing emission images from the same tissue sample” reads on the imaging system’s capability of concurrent, i.e. simultaneous, measurement of lasing emission and fluorescent emission from the biological sample.
With respect to applicant’s argument that paragraphs [0139]-[0141] does not disclose fluorescent and laser images are taken at the same time (Remarks, pages 7-8), the examiner disagrees. Note that [0140] is not used referenced in the rejection.
Paragraph [0139] states: “In certain aspects, the present disclosure contemplates the concurrent acquisition of bright-field imaging and lasing emission images from cells within tissue samples. Bright field image can be obtained directly through the first reflection surface (or top mirror). Because the first reflection surface has a high reflectivity for a certain select band of wavelengths (for example, 510 nm - 550 nm), this band of wavelengths will not appear or show up in the bright field. However, other bands of wavelengths (for example, less than about 510 nm or greater than about 550 nm) can still transmit through the first reflection surface top mirror and form bright field images. In this manner, the bright field images can also be collected concurrently with the lasing emission images and be overlaid with one another.”
Paragraph [0141] states: “[0141] In Figures 20A-20D, various images are shown that can be used to form a composite overlay image in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. Figure 20A is a fluorescence microscopic image, Figure 20B is a bright field CCD image, and Figure 20C is a lasing emission CCD image of identical tissue. Laser is only pumped within the dashed square region for Figures 20B-20C. The bottom-left squares in Figures 20 A and 20C show the enlarged images of the dashed squares in respective images. For a detailed comparison, Figures 20D and 20E show an intensity profile along the lines in images in Figures 20A and 20C, respectively. Figures 20F and 20G provide another example to show lasing stars in tissue samples. Figure 20F shows pure lasing emission imaging, while Figure 20G shows simultaneous acquisition of lasing emission and bright field imaging. Note that the bright field images appear to be red due to the fact that the first reflection surface/mirror, which has high reflectivity centered around 530 nm, blocks the green color. Thus, an overlaid composite may be obtained with the laser emission microscopes of the present disclosure that include one or more of laser emission images, fluorescence images, and/or bright field images.”
Therefore, paragraph [0139] of Fan points to the ability of the top mirror (i.e. the claimed first mirror) to allow for bright field images and lasing emission images to simultaneously collected or measured and paragraph [0141] points to “an overlaid composite may be obtained with the laser emission microscopes of the present disclosure that include one or more of laser emission images, fluorescence images, and/or bright field images.” Further, paragraph [0075] describes “concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and lasing emission images from the same tissue sample “. Since Fan’s CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are structurally capable of simultaneous measuring of laser emission and fluorescence emission respectively, Fan’s teaches the claimed imaging system. As discussed above, Fan’s first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission. Fan teaches concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]).
In response to applicant’s argument that Fan’s disclosure does not enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the invention without undue experimentation (Remarks, page 8), the examiner disagrees. Fan teaches concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (Fig. 19 and [0075],[0139],[0141]). Fan teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission (paragraph [0198]) and the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror (paragraph [0139]). Therefore the CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are simultaneously capable of measuring laser emission within the first spectral band and fluorescent emission from a biological sample within the second spectral band as claimed. Thus, Fan’s disclosure provides sufficient description of the structural elements and functions of the claimed imaging system to allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the invention without undue experimentation.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding paragraph [0140] of Fan and that no solution is provided to simultaneously image laser emission and fluorescent emission (Remarks, pages 8-10), the examiner disagrees. Applicant’s discussion regarding “for fluorescence detection…the top mirror forming the laser cavity is removed” is directed to a different embodiment of Fan (paragraphs [0076],[0140],[0142]). As seen in Fig. 19, which was not argued by the applicant, CCD 274 measures laser emission from the sample, i.e. LEM image, simultaneously as spectrometer 278 measures fluorescence emission. Additionally, Fan teaches concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]). Since Fan’s CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are structurally capable of simultaneous measuring of laser emission and fluorescence emission respectively, Fan’s teaches the claimed imaging system. As discussed above, Fan’s first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
In response to applicant’s argument that paragraphs [0139] and [0198] of Fan do not disclose thresholds of reflectivity and transmissivity which enable simultaneous measurement of laser and fluorescence (Remarks, pages 8-9), the examiner disagrees.
Paragraph [0139] states: “In certain aspects, the present disclosure contemplates the concurrent acquisition of bright-field imaging and lasing emission images from cells within tissue samples. Bright field image can be obtained directly through the first reflection surface (or top mirror). Because the first reflection surface has a high reflectivity for a certain select band of wavelengths (for example, 510 nm - 550 nm), this band of wavelengths will not appear or show up in the bright field. However, other bands of wavelengths (for example, less than about 510 nm or greater than about 550 nm) can still transmit through the first reflection surface top mirror and form bright field images. In this manner, the bright field images can also be collected concurrently with the lasing emission images and be overlaid with one another.”
Paragraph [0198] states: “The FP cavity is formed by using two customized dielectric mirrors. The top mirror (made by Qingdao NovelBeam Technology Co. Ltd, China) has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500 nm - 555 nm to provide optical feedback and high transmission around 465 nm for the pump light to pass through, whereas the bottom mirror (made by Evaporated Coating Inc., USA) has a slightly wider reflection band. The Q-factor for the FP cavity is on the order of 1 x 10.sup.4, at a cavity length of 15 μπ.Math. (in the absence of tissues). Details of the fabrication and characterization of the FP cavities are the same as described above in Example A.”
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, paragraphs [0139] and [0198] is used to teach:
a transmission of the first mirror is above a second threshold within the second spectral band (paragraph [0198] teaches the top mirror has a high transmission for light to pass through; paragraph [0139] teaches other bands of wavelengths, such as greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror; paragraph [0094] teaches the second reflection surface has a transmissivity and concurrently permits a distinct wavelength or range of wavelengths to transmit and pass therethrough; therefore, the first mirror, i.e. top mirror, has a transmission above a threshold within a second spectral band) so as to allow the second detector to detect the fluorescence emission (Fig. 19 and paragraph [0198] teaches the top mirror has a high transmission for light to pass through, and emission light is directed towards the spectrometer 278, therefore is capable of detecting fluorescence emission) such that the first detector and the second detector are able to simultaneously measure the generated laser emission and fluorescent emission from the biological sample (Fig. 19 and [0075],[0139],[0141] teach concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278; paragraph [0198] teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission; paragraph [0139] teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror; therefore the CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are simultaneously capable of measuring laser emission within the first spectral band and fluorescent emission from a biological sample within the second spectral band).
Therefore, since Fan’s CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are structurally capable of simultaneous measuring of laser emission and fluorescence emission respectively, Fan’s teaches the claimed imaging system. As discussed above, Fan’s first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The system of Fan is identical to the presently claimed structure. Fan discloses the claimed laser cavity defined by a first and second mirror, an excitation light source, a first detector, a second detector, a splitter, and a controller as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Moreover, Fan teaches concurrent, i.e. simultaneous, acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]); teaches the first mirror has a high reflectivity in the spectral range of 500-555 nm and high transmission (paragraph [0198]); and teaches the top mirror has a high reflectivity for certain wavelengths, such as 510-550 nm, while other bands less than 510 nm or greater than 550 nm can transmit through the top mirror (paragraph [0139]). Thus, the structures of first mirror, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
In response to applicant’s argument that “Firstly, Fan provides the alternative technique of measuring laser and fluorescence emission separately (Remarks, page 10), the examiner disagrees. Fig. 19 teaches CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are structurally capable of simultaneous measuring of laser emission (e.g. via the CCD) and fluorescence emission (e.g. via the spectrometer) respectively since emission light from the tissue in the scanning cavity 254 are captured simultaneously by CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 with beam splitters 280. Additionally, Fan’s teaching of “concurrent acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and lasing emission images from the same tissue sample in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure” (paragraph [0075]) provides further teaching that Fan’s imaging system is capable of simultaneously measuring the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
In response to applicant’s argument that Fan’s discussion of altering reflectivity and transmissivity thresholds does not provide teaching of allowing simultaneous bright field and laser imaging (Remarks, page 10), the examiner disagrees. As discussed above, Fan teaches concurrent or simultaneous acquisition of fluorescent, bright field images, and laser emission images from the same tissue sample using CCD 271 and spectrometer 278 (paragraphs [0075],[0139],[0141]). Since Fan’s CCD 274 and spectrometer 278 are structurally capable of simultaneous measuring of laser emission and fluorescence emission respectively, Fan’s teaches the claimed imaging system. As discussed above, Fan’s first mirror with the claimed reflectivity, first detector, and second detector are structurally capable of performing the claimed functional limitations to simultaneously measure the laser emission and fluorescence emission.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gourley (US 5793485 A; cited in the OA filed 09/29/2025) teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1) comprising a laser cavity (12), laser (26), two detectors (36,38), splitter (40), display with a computer (42), and sample (100) between two mirrors of the cavity (14,16); wherein emission spectra is recorded with spectrometer 38 and laser mode images is recorded with CCD camera 36 (column 18, lines 22-26), wherein the spectrometer 38 and CCD camera 36 are capable of simultaneously measuring fluorescence emission and laser emission respectively as shown in Fig. 1.Gourley a beamsplitter or otherwise a dichroic mirror that reflects a beam while transmitting a portion of the beam (column 6, lines 23-28). Gourley teaches a channel with two reflective layers that form a Fabry-Perot cavity (paragraph [0134]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758